Customer Reviews


258 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (75)
3 star:
 (47)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the original, but still fun
If you think the Hollywood movies have been a little slow in action this Summer, the cure has arrived. Jason Statham has returned to repise his role as Frank Martin, The Transporter. Although Frank has traded in his BMW for an Audi, the character is the same and the action takes the first movie up several notches.

This time around, Frank is doing a favor for a...
Published on December 1, 2005 by Brian Reaves

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love Statham, liked the movie.
Jason Statham reprises his role as Frank Martin, the bone busting chauffer that takes his job -very -seriously. While not as good as the first film, Tran2 doesn't pull any punches in the action department. The Good - Statham, The Bad - a few jump the shark stunts, The Ugly - one completely unbelievable stunt! (You know the one I'm talking about!)
Published on December 6, 2007 by K. Olsen-Keyser


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the original, but still fun, December 1, 2005
This review is from: Transporter 2 (DVD)
If you think the Hollywood movies have been a little slow in action this Summer, the cure has arrived. Jason Statham has returned to repise his role as Frank Martin, The Transporter. Although Frank has traded in his BMW for an Audi, the character is the same and the action takes the first movie up several notches.

This time around, Frank is doing a favor for a friend and is "transporting" the son of a government official to and from school. Frank and the boy have developed a bond since the boy's father (played by Matthew Modine) always seems to be away from home on business and has lost touch with the boy's life (Modine's character gets his son a complete baseball outfit for his birthday, only to find out his son stopped playing last year and is now a pretty good soccer player). Unfortunately, a Miami drug runner (played by Alessandro Gassman) has plans to kidnap the child and use him as the carrier of a deadly virus to kill his father. Now it's up to Frank to save the boy and find the antidote to cure him.

If you enjoyed the first movie, this one won't disappoint. The fight sequences here are choreographed again by Corey Yuen (though he doesn't direct this time around) and Luc Beeson had a hand in the screenplay. This movie doesn't stray far from the original formula that worked so well (fast cars, martial arts battles every few minutes, Statham's quiet manner even in the midst of a dozen guys out to get him, etc). Statham keeps the character low-key through everything, as if nothing can worry the Transporter.

Unfortunately, in an attempt to take everything a step further, there are a few sequences that go over the top. Using a wave runner-on land-to keep up with a bus, literally dodging bullets in a hallway, and Martin's unorthodox method for disabling a bomb under his car are just a few of the moments to make you cringe. And the final battle with Gassman is so far steeped in unreality you'll probably find it hard to swallow the premise. Still, when it comes to one-on-ten combat with an angry mob, Statham makes it beautiful. In one scene of the first movie, he takes down two police officers while holding Qi Shu on his shoulders. In this movie, he disables several bodyguards at once in the same non-lethal manner. In fact, the movie wastes no time showing us Martin still has the moves by giving us one of the best fights in the movie within the first five minutes. And through it all, he never wrinkles his suit. And the sight of Frank behind the wheel of a Ferrari made the entire theater start talking when I watched it. If you thought he could handle a Beemer, wait until he shows you what he can do with a really fast car!

The return of a character from the first movie (I won't spoil the surprise, since I never saw them in any of the previews) really shows us Martin's not just a driving machine-he's a man with friends.

If you're looking for deep, Oscar-winning performances and the feel-good movie of the summer, you won't find it here. If you're willing to suspend your beliefs in reality for a little while and want some over-the-top action and fun, you won't want to miss The Transporter 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hate to be Late, March 31, 2008
This review is from: Transporter 2 (DVD)
Transporter 2 DVD

In this sequel to The Transporter Jason Stratham is in Miami working as a chauffer/bodyguard for a wealthy family who springs into action when the young son of his client is kidnapped. The movie is full of high action car chases and stunts. Set in the beautiful Miami, Florida area, so again if you don't enjoy high action movies, just sit back and enjoy the view.
Highly recommended for fans of Jason Stratham , James Bond movies, and high action movies, especially car chases.

Gunner March, 2008
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Martial arts guilty pleasure, European-style, September 5, 2005
The Transporter is a lot like a live action version of Riding Bean. What, you've never seen that anime?

Okay, let me try again. Imagine the sad restraint of Bruce Willis in The Sixth Sense. Then add the martial arts skills of Jet Li in Romeo Must Die and the driving skills of Robert DeNiro in Ronin. Mix well. Voila! You have The Transporter, a martial arts action flick with a bald Special Forces guy (Frank Martin, played by Jason Statham) in the lead.

The Transporter is one of those hidden gems amongst action films. I stumbled upon it through Netflix. When I told my family to watch it, they instantly became fans. It's one of the first DVDs I bought after renting it (the second being Donnie Darko).

The plot is almost ancillary to the point of the movie, which is to watch Frank drive real fast, kick butt and take names. The attractive wife (Audrey Billings, played by Amber Valletta) of a politician with an anti-drug agenda (Matthew Modine), hires Frank to shepherd her son (Jack Billing, played by cute-as-a-button Hunter Clary) to and from school. An Italian terrorist known only as Gianni (Alessandro Gassman, chewing up the scenery) and his psycho gun-toting girlfriend Lola (Kate Nauta) kidnap the boy. But of course, there's a twist as to why they want the boy in the first place...

There are a few attributes that distinguish The Transporter from the genre. For one, Frank is a cool, collected character. He lives by rules, always arriving on time and impeccably dressed in a black suit, black tie, leather driving gloves, and white shirt. If he were merely a wheelman for other lead protagonists, that would be enough, but Frank has much more going for him. He's a martial arts monkey, capable of climbing, jumping, kicking, and wielding just about anything he can get his hands on. Frank also has a heart of gold, for young women and kids.

Transporter 2 plays on all these foils to kick off the film. Frank creates a guessing game for Jack each time he picks him up from school. Isn't he sweet? The ladies love Frank: Audrey can barely keep her hands off of him. But Frank's a good and respectful kind of guy, so he rejects her advances. What a guy!

Once Jack is in danger, the gloves are off. Frank sets out to beat the living tar out of the bad guys, and he does it despite the fact that guns are frequently pointed at his head. It's all action, all the time.

Unfortunately, the movie frequently overreaches itself. Frank does some utterly ridiculous things, like launching his car over a ramp in order to scrape a bomb off with a hanging crane. As opposed to say, just reaching under the car to pry the bomb off. Frank leaps down to the ground thirty feet without a scratch, smashes through a wall (twice, once with his car and once with his body), and none of it seems to be more than an inconvenience. At one point, one of the characters asks, "Are you trying to be some kind of superhero?" Thanks to Louis Leterrier's over-the-top filmmaking...why yes, yes he is.

The other problem is that all these superheroics require a lot of CGI and the artists assigned to the movie were just not up to the task. Everything looks fake: the exploding helicopter, the sinking plane--whenever an effect is called for, a big pink sign screaming, "THIS IS CGI" practically accompanies the shot.

As an Italian-American, it's refreshing to see a bad guy who isn't a mobster. As a particularly loathsome piece of Eurotrash, Gianni comes up with an insane plan at the end that makes no sense except to set up a peculiar requirement: now Frank must keep the bad guy alive if he is to save the boy and his family.

The martial arts are amazing, as expected. Fans of the first movie will notice that Frank seems to be in a bit of a rut, as he fights guys with axes (yet again). And fans of Jet Li will be surprised to see Frank perform almost the exact same martial arts routine with a fire hose as Jet in Romeo Must Die. The connection: Corey Yuen, who obviously is hoping you didn't see both films. I'm not kidding, it's almost an exact shot-for-shot take of Romeo Must Die.

That said, Gianni also turns out to be a wuss. After watching what can only be described as Matrix-style Kendo training, Gianni provides meager resistance to Frank, battles in spinning Lear jets not withstanding. Why set up the bad guy to be so dangerous when he can be socked in the head a couple of times? Heck, Lola was more dangerous.

Throughout, Tarconi (Francois Berleand, reprising his role as befuddled French detective) helps Frank get the information he needs out of the U.S. government's databases and provides a good dose of humor along the way. The entire film has tongue firmly in cheek, so it's difficult to be too harsh on a movie that doesn't take itself that seriously.

All in all, Transporter 2 is a welcome entry in an otherwise crowded genre, with European sensibilities and style. Forget XXX, the Transporter is my candidate for the James Bond of the 21st century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good action with some silly effects, September 5, 2007
This review is from: Transporter 2 (DVD)
I was not much of a fan of the original The Transporter (Special Delivery Edition), a film which had similar elements to this sequel, but by the end of the movie had pushed itself to such ridiculous levels of disbelief as to leave you rolling your eyes. "Transporter 2" is also patently ridiculous, but this time director Louis Leterrier (who did not direct the original) manages to keep the movie flowing and it's transferable fun manages to overpower the moments that lead our rational brain to say "What the . . ".

Once again, Jason Statham is Frank Martin, a 'Transporter', who moves a customer's valuables from one location to another. He asks no questions about his cargo, keeping to a code that allows him professional detachment. Frank has taken up a temporary job to help out a friend by transporting the son of a U.S. Senator (Mathew Modine). Frank has taken a liking to the boy (Hunter Clary), while his mother, Audrey (Amber Valletta), has taken a liking to Frank. In the midst of this, an international thief for hire, Gianni (Alessandro Gassman), assisted by his borderline dominatrix associate, Lola (Kate Nauta), have kidnapped the son, Jack, with the intention of holding him for ransom, and also making it appear that Frank had a hand in it at the same time. Frank escapes the kidnappers, only to start to believe that there is more to the kidnapping than meets the eye.

"Transporter 2" is one of those films that should come with the warning label to check your brain at the door. Lots of things happen in "Transporter 2" that are outside the boundaries of reality. Cars defy gravity, human beings perform incredible stunts and survive and people are often in the right place at the right time. Yet, the film has a strong charm that is hard to ignore. A lot comes from the presence of Jason Statham. He is all business as Frank Martin, and he cements the film with his no-nonsense attitude. Statham is the epitome of cool in this film, and that is just what it needs. We can't not help but root for this man at the center of the film, and our interest in seeing him pull himself out of his scrapes is at times just plain lifting. Alessandro Gassman has just the right amount of boldness to be fun as the villain and Kate Nauta seems to be channeling a punk rock superstar as a deadly, but sexy assassin.

The film's action, while borderline impossible, is well-staged. Unlike many recent action films that over-edit their action, director Leterrier keeps everything clear and the running. The fight scenes, choreographed by fight-master, Corey Yuen, are as good as anything in recent martial-arts action movies, with a lean towards slightly more realism than, say, Hero or Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon.

If you are looking for some entertaining action then this is it, just don't believe everything you see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You really want to play superhero, don't you?", September 8, 2005
By 
This is it. The ultimate super-cool/martial-arts/drama/action-fest. This is the summer movies you have been waiting for (and wonder why it came out so late in the year with so little fan-fare). From the mind that brought you The Fifth Element came The Transporter, and now all your sequel wishes are finally fulfilled.

Who is The Transporter?

The Transporter is the ultimate anti-hero of modern movies in the classic sense (sorry Batman fans). He doesn't play by the rules, he makes his own. He's brooding, expressionless most of the time, and borderline personality-less. He drives sports-cars with precision instead of reckless abandon, dresses in a smart-looking suit, and transports all kinds of unsavory goods for the right price. Yet somehow, this man with seemingly no scruples or morals when it comes to dealing with the criminal element again and again finds himself getting involved in saving innocents from BAD people. Like Roger Smith from the Big O (anime), or John Steed from the Avengers (television), he'd rather live a quiet life of comfort and deal with people in a professional manner than have things get stirred up (it would unstraighten his tie and stain his upholstery), but in a world gone mad a ronin samurai (a knight with no master/champion in search of a lady to defend) is probably the best you could ever hope for. Of course that just describes who HE is...

The Job

The plot is simple. Our slick/code-of-honor-driven/cooler-than-ice protagonist Frank Martina finally finds himself a nice job and a quiet life shuttling a kid back and forth for his rich parents (and a jerk of a father who's a government big-wig). Then some bad guys try to inject something in the kid when he goes in for a medical check-up. Our hero saves the kid, only to have to surrender him to the thugs when they give him no choice (laser-sight snipers with armor-piercing bullets have a bead on the kid). He delivers the kid to the bad guys, and gets away. He investigates the scene of the crime, finds a link to one of the thugs, tracks him down, convinces him (the criminal) that he's injected with the same stuff the kid was, chases the guy into a med lab where they have an antidote, gets the antidote, gives it to the mom, tells the mom that the bad guys are trying to kill the father and everyone at a conference by infecting them (they have the kid back at this point), and then finds and captures the head bad guy who has the last of the antidote inside of himself. Simple. R I G H T.

The Action

From the very start of the movie we know there is going to be action (some street thugs make FOOLS of themselves when they try to car-jack him {and should have taken the hint when he told them to let him take off his jacket before he beat the stuffing out of them}), and the action only gets better from there. When he finds out there's something up at the doctor's office, it leads to a crazy bullet-dodge fest that leads up to him using an oxygen tank as a missile. When he has to take the kid to the bad guys to save his life it involves a crazy car chase that includes driving the car off the top floor of a parking garage and into another building, then off that and onto the street. When the kid is dropped off a bomb is attached to the car which is removed at high speed by use of a giant crane-hook and rolling the car. When the antidote is finally within grasp a scientist throws it out the window (and says my favorite line in the movie). What does our hero do? He jumps after it of course (straight out the window from a few stories up)! Of course he's right in the middle of a road and so has to leap straight into the air between two oncoming cars (my favorite stunt in the movie)! Whoa. And that doesn't even mention the action scene of the chase to the med lab wherein our hero chases a bus on a wave-runner, and runs straight up the front of a truck onto a bridge.

I could go on and on about the action in this movie. The Lamborghini/airplane chase, the out-of-control-plane fight scene, the garage fight where the only one unarmed is Frank, the countless times he has to disarm cops who try to apprehend or shoot him, ect, ect. The point is obvious though. This movie is filled with slick, smooth, cool, CRAZY action sequences. Our hero's action involves medical equipment, watermelons (for boxing gloves), a fire hose, handcuffs, and more. Every one is wildly inventive and keeps you on the edge of your seat (thanks to the wonderful fight scene choreography by Corey Yuen). Personally I think Frank's nemesis (not the crazy evil guy with the accent, the girl who walks around half naked with the two huge guns) is very cool. You don't quite know what to make of her, except that she's totally insane, and very unpredictable. I really don't know whether this super-thin, never-fully-dressed, Millia Jovanovich looking/sounding chick is more cool/hot/disgusting/insane/bizzare. Some things you just have to see for yourself. And there are so many fight scenes/chase scenes that I actually found that a few days after I saw the movie I had forgotten a few really cool scenes because there were so many to choose from that I couldn't remember them all. Makes me want to see it again to refresh my memory...

Statham Shines Again

What really makes this movie great though is still the character and what he represents. Genuinely I haven't seen this kind of character interaction and anti-hero characterization in a long time. There's scenes between Frank and the kid's mom where she is clearly trying to get close to him but he plays it totally cool. It's not that he doesn't like her. He does. And a family is probably what he wants more than anything. But he's not the kind of guy who breaks up a family. She puts her arms around him and he starts to do the same, then pulls back. He has honor, there are certain things he just will not do. And then there's that scene at the end of the movie where he goes to see the mother in the hospital and just walks away when he sees that the couple is back together (so clique in other movies, so classic here). That's just great stuff.

Throughout the whole movie we get a great feel for Statham's character. When the crazed female assassin starts flirting with him in the extreme the look on his face is priceless (YUCK!). When he walks the trunk of his car in the rain, torn up and covered in various staining substances, we see him reach not for the all the crazy weapons, but for a clean suit of clothes (pressed and plastic wrapped). The understated way that Statham acts (or doesn't act depending on your perspective) makes him the ultimate cool. Sorry The Rock, sorry Vin Diesel, and sorry everyone else. This guy is just WAY cooler. How many action heroes can wear a suit and tie in an action movie and make it look more like a super-hero than a businessman (James Bond has really disappointed me in recent years)? And yet this same guy cares about a promise he made to a child and taught that child to play guessing games on the way home from school.

Comic Relief

And of course we have the French police officer from the first movie who comes to visit our hero on his vacation. He provides some great comic relief, but never becomes irritating superfluous. When he gets arrested and detained for the duration of his vacation (and the movie it's hilarious {as he starts cooking for the Federal Investigators and finds various ways of deceiving them into not knowing that he's talking to the man they're looking for on his cell-phone), but he also serves a needed function. From inside the police buildings he repeated taps into the police computer networks to retrieve the data that our hero needs to proceed.

In the End

This movie doesn't focus on the unnecessary. Everything is kept taught and tight for the duration and there's plenty to make action fans and teenage guys giddy. The movie's precision-driving mythos is so cool people keep quoting the Transporter's rules (Rule #1:Respect the Car). The music is great. The side characters are likable (except maybe for the dad) and the main characters are cool (let's face it, you GOTTA have a cool hero and cool villains or the movie just doesn't work). The action is way over-the-top (kind of like the cars which just exploded on impact in the first movie), and reality-driven movie watchers will no doubt roll their eyes at the IMPOSSIBLE things that happen on-screen.

In the end though this movie contains some of the best dialog, scene direction, camera use, special effects, action sequences, car chases, friendship, romance, and just plain old HEROICS I have seen in a long, long time. And more importantly, this movie is, is fun, fun fun! When the last line leaves way for a sequel you can't help but smile. Now if only I could have my wish of a Driver vs. Transporter movie (you know, with Clive Owen, The Driver from those awesome BMV commercials). But that's a discussion for another time. Right now I feel the need to dress up, prep my ride, buckle up, and transport some goods...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FROM POINT A TO POINT B ONE MORE TIME, October 2, 2007
Professional transporter Frank Martin (Jason Statham) has surfaced once more for movie fans everywhere. A specialist in transporting goods from one spot to another without getting involved, Frank is the best there is. His current gig? Chauffer for a well to do family, the father of which is a member high in Washington's bureaucracy.

Making sure that the official's son gets from one place to another, Frank ends up not only driving but getting involved with the young boy as well. So much for not getting involved. The two have a strong rapport and Frank teaches the boy things as well. On an ordinary trip to the pediatrician, the boy is kidnapped and Frank is thought of as the most likely suspect.

Face it, fans of the TRANSPORTER films know right up front that there is no way that Frank Martin will let this kidnapping go on without a hitch or un-avenged. While the FBI and local police search for clues, Frank begins his one man battle not only to find the boy but to make sure that he is returned unharmed. The same can't be said for the bad guys that cross Frank's path.

Both TRANSPORTER films relied heavily on action and taking a not so serious look at the genre that they attempt to command. And they both do just that, making us believe that Frank is capable of the feats he performs when fighting hand to hand or when using whatever objects are at his disposal to render those who cross his path inoperable.

Jason Statham is not the usual gorgeous face that most leading men offer when a role like this comes along. Instead he seems more real, more deadly. And this sense of reality in appearance coupled with the unreality of the story lines and action seems to be a match made in heaven.

Corrie Yuen returns as stunt choreographer for the fight sequences of this film and his work is probably the best that there is today in film. Nowhere else can you find the kicks, leaps and pummeling fists provided in such a ballet like form as in those that feature his work. Its enough that it makes you want to seek out more that he has been involved with.

Director Louis Letterier, who helmed the first film along with Yuen as well as the recent UNLEASHED, will be a force to reckon with in the world of action films. Imaging his eye for detail and views of action sequences put to use in a Bond film would make the most die hard fan salivate.

Sequels never seem to live up the expectations of fans of the first film. There is no way to replicate the first viewing of something different. It becomes old the second it is seen. The same can be said of this one, though it runs circles around most new films being released. And though a sequel, it does what so many films these days seem unable to do. It entertains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best in the Business is Back..., September 14, 2007
This review is from: Transporter 2 (DVD)
Three years after achieving box office and DVD/Video sales success with the 2002 action packed film "The Transporter", director Louis Leterrier returned to helm the further adventures of ex-special forces operative Frank Martin in 20th Century Fox's hit sequel, "Transporter 2". Joining Leterrier would be star Jason Statham who skyrocketed to fame with his martial arts abilities, charm, and quick wit in the first film. But could a sequel to such a surprise hit do as much business and possibly better than the original? Not to mention the story, could "Transporter 2" continue what was started in "The Transporter" by having an over-the-top action film actually having a decent story to tie the fights together or would it crumble into another meaningless pile of fight scenes with shoddy dialogue mixed in for good measure, like so many other wannabes before it?

"Transporter 2" finds Frank Martin, retired from his transporting profession, living a quiet chauffeuring a wealthy Miami family around. However, peace is not meant to be long-lasting for Frank, as the son of the family is kidnapped, leaving Frank as the main suspect. Now, the best in the business must get himself back in the game so that he can fight insurmountable odds to save the boy and clear his name.

So, was there any hope of "Transporter 2" possibly rivaling the original in terms of quality, fun, and high-octane action, I personally didn't think so. Well, let me say that I was wrong, not only did "Transporter 2" equal the original film, but also I believe it actually surpassed it on all counts.

The story was equally as fun and entertaining, by having Frank be a chauffer instead of a transporter of dangerous and/or illegal goods, was an interesting change of pace for the character, and one that worked well for him. As he was in the first film, Jason Statham managed to grab the audience instantly, taking them on an incredibly fun, high-energy thrill ride. One facet of the original that I thought was so impressive were the fast-paced fight scenes that were no doubt painstakingly crafted to perfection. Plus, the fact that Jason Statham did the majority of his own stunts added to the quality, but as great as most of the fights were in "The Transporter", the sequel managed to step it up several notches. Every move was much faster, the choreography much more precise and natural, leaving me feeling as if the first film seemed too rehearsed, lacking the fluidity that the sequel offered. Both films contain visually impressive fight sequences that are both somewhat realistic and over-the-top at the same time (which is where a lot of the appeal lies for these two films), but I do believe that "Transporter 2" definitely has the upper hand in this contest.

Overall, "Transporter 2" is an excellent, equally over-the-top (one particular car scene involving a bomb, may be too much so, but I'm not complaining) sequel that surpasses the original film, and leaves the audience craving more, just as any good movie should.

"Transporter 2" is rated PG-13 for violence, language, and brief nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Transporter 2, January 4, 2006
By 
Isaac (Raleigh, NC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Transporter 2 (DVD)
"The Transporter" was an absurd little piece of work that I found to be quite good. "Transporter 2" is even more rediculous, but its a better film. I have a nack for defending the Jason Bourne films by arguing that the action and violence are plausible, and now I'm baffled. The "Transporter" films are escapes from reality, in a way that the "Matrix" films weren't, and what an escape this movie is.

One thing I admire about "Transporter 2" is that it takes pride in being implausible. Frank Martin (Jason Statham) isn't just a driver, but an ask-questions-later action hero. So of course he is able to wipe out platoons of bad guys, at one point with a water hose, and maneauver through narrow hallways polluted with gun-toting thugs. And since he is an expert driver, he is able to get rid of the bomb under his car by driving up a ramp, making a complete rotation so the bomb is unlatched by a hook, and land on all for wheels as the bomb explodes in the air above and behind him. The movie takes itself seriously in these kinds of moments, but at the same time it gives us a wink and grin.

I haven't even scratched the surface of the film's craziness. Frank Martin endures gunfights, explosions, and car and foot chases without breaking a sweat or ruining his suit. But even if his suit is ruined, he has a spare in the trunk of his car. At times the movie stops for a comedy break, and sometimes laughs emerge from Jason Statham pulling off some slick moves, like Jackie Chan does in his movies. Then, right when the film slows down for a second, it takes off again, making it's 88 minutes seem a lot longer.

But there is method to this madness, because the film has a plot that is convincing enough and tends to twist in ways that are unexpected. Frank Martin is the temporary driver of a rich little kid named Jake (Hunter Clary), whose parents, Audrey (Amber Valletta) and Jackson (Matthew Modine) are on the edge of a divorce. Not that we or the film cares about their marital problems. It jumps rather quickly into the action when Jake is kidnapped at a doctor's clinic by a lethal vixen named Lola (Katie Nauta, in a performance that allows her to show cleavage and have wars not only with the Statham character, but also with her makeup). She, of course, is at the command of Gianni (Alessandro Gassman), whose real plan is one of James Bondian proportions and only temporarily requires the kidnapping of Jake.

I don't want to describe Gianni's plan in detail, but I will say that I was concerned as to whether or not it was fully dealt with at the end. I guess I shouldn't concern myself with that, because "Transporter 2" isn't the type of film to get wrapped up in. It involves you momentarily with it's real story and then feeds you another big action sequence. Think of it as voluntary distraction.

Jason Statham has at last leaped into stardom. From what I understand, he did most of his own stunts for the film, including driving and fighting. That means that in a technical sense, some of the things that happen on screen are possible, but I can't think of any examples off the top of my head. What Statham does with Frank Martin is similar to what Matt Damon does with Jason Bourne: he manages to give his character emotional drive as well as heroic force. Its just that Frank Martin and Jason Bourne are on opposite ends of the plausible scale, but Statham can't help that. He does what he has to do with his role and he does a good job.

Its interesting how a movie so full of energy can hold it's balance and be good. Not many films hold themseleves together so easily, heaving action set piece after action set piece without sustaining any relevance. Oddly enough, "Transporter 2" is just as eager to set up action as it is to present action. Example: a horde of villains empty their automatic weapons at Frank Martin and stop to reload when they realize they...ahem...forgot extra clips. The proceeding sequence convinced me that watching hand-to-hand combat is more entertaining than watching a gun fight.

Rated PG-13; 88 minutes; Directed by Louis Leterrier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's unbelievable, October 5, 2006
This review is from: Transporter 2 (DVD)
Really - it is!

The stunts in this movie range from "okay, that could happen" to "no freaking way", but the one thing it has going for it is the non-stop action. Hunky Jason Statham is the main (the only) reason to watch this movie, and this time the delivery man with nerves of steel is slumming it as a chauffeur (as a favor to a friend). Things get complicated when his young passenger is kidnapped, and the Transporter has to draw on his military training to get him back to his parents in one piece.

The bad "guys" include the usual criminal mastermind who knows martial arts, and an assortment of goons in various sizes and shapes, but when we get to the pistol-packing babe in the underwear and the dumb and disheveled looking dude who's supposed to be a scientist, you can feel your eyebrows heading towards your hairline. Fortunately, you're so busy watching Statham do his thing that you can actually swallow the storyline, killer virus scenario and all.

Matthew Modine and Amber Valletta do their best with this jaw-droppingly impossible plot, but Statham again saves the day. Forget reality for eighty seven minutes or so, and let the Transporter do his thing.

Amanda Richards, October 5, 2006
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it was good for me, February 24, 2006
This review is from: Transporter 2 (DVD)
I can only say this in so many words.......

Action!
Outlandish action, unrealistic action, but this movie is still a thrill ride and good movie. watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Transporter 2
Transporter 2 by Louis Leterrier (DVD - 2006)
$14.98 $7.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.