Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Trapped in Hitler's Hell
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
70
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 13, 2006
Anita Dittman's story is a vivid testimony to the sovereignty and faithfulness of Christ in the life of a little German-Jewish girl who finds in her Savior both courage and strength to meet each day in the midst of painful persecution and the terror of war. As Anita grows up, abandoned by her father and rejected by her non-Jewish teachers and schoolmates, her spirit grows more lovely with each passing year as she learns that Jesus will never leave her nor forsake her.

This story is not gloomy or depressing in any way. It is full of faith, hope, and glorious glimpses of the power and the love of God. I could hardly put it down.

There is a compelling immediacy to Miss Dittman's story. I felt almost as if I knew her. My faith in the Lord has been challenged and renewed as I've followed her through her trials and triumphs in the pages of this book.

There is a warning here also, with a striking parallel to the present. Just as many of the churches in Nazi Germany fell quickly to the seductive message of the Third Reich, so many of our churches of today are falling quickly for the seductions of the Emergent Church's apostate theology and the allure of occult eastern mysticism through so-called "christian" contemplative spirituality.

As many have described Hitler as a "type" of Anti-christ, so the apostate German church may be said to pre-figure the apostate worldwide "christian" church which the Bible warns will arise in the last days. Is that what we are seeing unfold?

If you want to be uplifted, forewarned, and encouraged during these "perilous times," read Trapped In Hitler's Hell.

[I'd like to thank Miss Dittman for writing this book. I will never be quite the same. :)]
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2006
Trapped In Hitler's Hell by Anita Dittman is the epic and personal recollection of the hardships and difficult times during the second world war in Nazi Germany. Dittman righteously describes the anguish she suffered throughout her captivity and solitude. Trapped In Hitler's Hell is an inspirational tale of one young woman's only certainty being that the God above her would protect her, and is highly recommended for all Christian and Judaic practitioners and students, as well as students of history during World War II, as this book is as informative as it is encouraging.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2006
This is an excellent book told from the first-hand account of a holocaust survivor. The account is very well written and edited and you won't be able to put it down.

How Anita Dittman survived is simply a miracle and one can see God's hand in sustaining her existence and planning the extraordinary sequence of events that delivered her from her Nazi captors. God's love for the Jewish people and allowing her to survive to tell her story is a witness for all of us that Jewish people have a remarkable future desiny to play in the prophetic timeline leading up to the return of Jesus Christ.

I have heard Anita Dittman and Jan Markell present this story in lecture format. Talk about having a lump in your throat for an hour.

The sad part of this story is that Anti-Semitism since World Warr II has not really gone away. It's always there and there are disturbing signs all around the world that it could return even worse than the holocaust. We now have world leaders such as Iranian President Ahmadinejad and Palestian Prime Minister Mahmoud Abbas openly deny the Holocaust and the world's media and United Nations don't call them on the carpet for it.

The Book of Zechariah Chapters 12-14, Jeremiah Ch. 30:7, Revelaton Ch. 12 and many other biblical texts indicate that Israel will go through even worse trial and tribulation immediately preceding the return of Jesus Christ. If those times are worse than what Anita Dittman and her mother experienced, the world truly needs Jesus Christ to return to save the Jewish people from complete annihilation.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2006
When I first read "Trapped in Hitler's Hell," it was called "Angels In the Camp." From the miraculous acts that God preformed for this faith filled German-Jewish girl, there certainly were angels watching over Anita Dittman. For example, while in the hospital the Nazi nurse who attended Anita refused to provide her with food. Knowing Anita was Jewish, the nurse was trying to starve her to death. A Chritian friend in the next bed shared half of the one potato she received for food each day with Anita. They hid under the covers and ate their potato. The nurse was certainly surprised when not only did Anita not die, but actually gained weight and was soon well enough to go back to work. The book is filled with faith building stories such as this one.

Recently I had the privilege of hearing Anita speak. Her book had really spoken to my heart. I rememberer many of the stories of her experiences during WWII and quoted them every so often. What an inspiring lady she is. She concluded her testimony with a saying I shall always remember. Anita told us, "Safety isn't found in the absence of danger, but in the presence of God."

As one reviewer summed it up, there are important lessons we need to learn from Anita's experiences. She said, "Just as many of the churches of Nazi Germany fell quickly to the seductive message of the Third Reich, so many of our churches today are falling quickly for the seductions of the Emergent Church's apostate theology and the allure of occult eastern mysticism though so-called "Christian" contemplative spirituality." Before it's to late, we need to get our lives right with the Savior. We need to let Him show us any sin and pray that He would lead us out of any erroneous doctrine and into His truth.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2013
Anita's story is fascinating in its own right. Her sister escapes, but her mother and her just barely miss the last train out. What is unique is how she identifies that being a Jew who was also Christian shielded her initially from the most heinous treatments. I had never read this before. However, the day comes when the footsteps do come to her door, and she is taken away to endure hard labor.

Yet, hers was a life of faith under tremendous pressure. She continues to trust through extraordinary circumstances and ultimately is one of the few who escaped the trap of Hitler's Hell. She gives great appreciation for the Christians who defied Hitler to help their Jewish friends at their own peril.

Definitely worth the read. You can put the book down, to be sure, but not for too long.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
I've read lots of first-hand accounts of both Christian and Jewish people who survived Hitler's concentration camps, but this one was different in the sense that Anita was a child when imprisoned, and that she was also already a believer. While the book does not shy away from mentioning atrocities, it doesn't delve into them and focuses more on miracles and hope. I truly believe Anita encountered angels unaware during her wartime experience. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2014
This is history as lived by Anita Dittman during WWII in Germany. Absolutely heart breaking to take a walk through the horror she, her family and friends went through day by day. Jesus shines in her life as her Savior and friend. Jesus never leaves anyone at any time. This is an excellent lesson in Jesus and His wonder working power in Anita's life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2014
A must read book for people interested in the World War II activity of how Hitler and the Germans treated the Jewish people. What faith this girl had as she went through all the terrible day by day atrocities imposed upon her and her people! Only God's grace let some of us be born in this country where we haven't had to endure such horrible, frightening times. If you read this book, your faith and thankfulness to God will surely be enriched and strengthened.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2011
Awesome book, would recommend reading for anyone that wants to know more about the history of our country and how
the Jews were treated and those that survived. How God worked in this woman's life and saved her.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2011
This is the story of a young girl/woman (from seven to seventeen) during Hitler's rise to power and to his end. She (Anita Dittman) was the daughter of a Jewish mother and German father. Anita became a Christian at age seven and as a result her mother became one as well (later). Unfortunately, her father and sister lived out their lives (somewhat unhappily) as atheists. This book is difficult to put down. Her faith carries her through the most troubling of circumstances as she is forced to work for the Nazis and the family is split up and several events occur that seem somewhat miraculous as a result of her faith.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.