Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG!
This Date Nut Cake is delicious. Frankly, after receiving it, I was a little disappointed in how small and dense it was. I opened it up and took a nibble and said Oh My God. It is really rich so I'd recommend a very small slice with an cup of coffee in the evening. The perfect way to end the day.
Published on December 8, 2010 by Gloria M.

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars -hmmmm
I ordered this because I wanted to support the monistary, and the photo showed a substantial fruitcake size. I was so tiny I was really appalled! For $15.00, it was definitley not worth it, due to the miniscule size. It was about 3" X 3", and the photo did not show how very tiny it was.
It was well made, very moist, wonderfully delicious, but way over priced for...
Published on January 2, 2012 by pen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG!, December 8, 2010
By 
Gloria M. (California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trappist Abbey Monastery Date-Nut Cake 1lb (Misc.)
This Date Nut Cake is delicious. Frankly, after receiving it, I was a little disappointed in how small and dense it was. I opened it up and took a nibble and said Oh My God. It is really rich so I'd recommend a very small slice with an cup of coffee in the evening. The perfect way to end the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tasty, February 6, 2010
By 
Gay Abarbanell "photo nut" (North Fork, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trappist Abbey Monastery Date-Nut Cake 1lb (Misc.)
The fruit cake is very tasty and pricy (as all the good ones are). Glad I found it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars -hmmmm, January 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trappist Abbey Monastery Date-Nut Cake 1lb (Misc.)
I ordered this because I wanted to support the monistary, and the photo showed a substantial fruitcake size. I was so tiny I was really appalled! For $15.00, it was definitley not worth it, due to the miniscule size. It was about 3" X 3", and the photo did not show how very tiny it was.
It was well made, very moist, wonderfully delicious, but way over priced for the very tiny amount of cake delivered. I was frankly shocked that clergy and people who supposedly are honest and God fearing would do such a scam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy!, October 30, 2013
By 
Chad Holtquist (PORT ORCHARD, WA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trappist Abbey Monastery Date-Nut Cake 1lb (Misc.)
Very moist, dense and full of good fruit cake flavor. Was really a treat and I will be buying one again and would give as a gift to a friend that likes a good fruitcake because this one is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small cake great flavor!, March 29, 2013
By 
Gail (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trappist Abbey Monastery Date-Nut Cake 1lb (Misc.)
As several others have commented, it is a small cake with big flavor, This is fruitcake with wonderful flavor and texture is great,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sinfully Good, February 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trappist Abbey Monastery Date-Nut Cake 1lb (Misc.)
The much maligned fruitcake is getting a bad rap for a host of reasons but this Date-Nut Cake is heavily loaded with nuts,dates and other good natural items. It is really great as a small desert being sweet and tasty with a great aroma. The reason I did not give it a 5 star rating is very high cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas fruit cake, December 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trappist Abbey Monastery Date-Nut Cake 1lb (Misc.)
Excellent real fruit cake. Seriously solid and dark and heavy true english style traditional heavy fruitcake. The closest I have ever come to finding one as good as my old Mum used to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Date cake is delicious, December 31, 2012
By 
Tim Wiley (Oldsmar, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trappist Abbey Monastery Date-Nut Cake 1lb (Misc.)
A bit pricey for a 1 lb cake but if you like dates, you'll love this cake. Consume this slowly. It's too good to eat all at once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars No way!, January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trappist Abbey Monastery Date-Nut Cake 1lb (Misc.)
I did not like this, and, in fact, gave it away. It was too dense, and I could not taste the dates or the nuts. I will not order it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Fruit Cake I've ever had, January 6, 2014
By 
JM (Brookline, MA, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trappist Abbey Monastery Date-Nut Cake 1lb (Misc.)
I got two 1lb old style Monastery Fruitcakes for Christmas, like some of the other reviews my first thought was its so small, however first taste and I knew just a small piece with milk would be just fine. 2nd thought was thank god I'm the only one in this house who likes Fruitcake. And for the reviews that said it was expensive, remember you get what you pay for, and this is worth it. Irene from Connecticut
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.