Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative read for first time travel hackers interested in Norway
I am not a travel hacker or a couch surfer. I have however spent a lot of time travel for fun and work AND I lived for a year in Bergen, Norway as an exchange student.

So why did I buy this book? Since leaving Norway many years ago returning has been high on my list of things to do and if there is one key fact about Norway travelers should know is that it is an...
Published 19 months ago by Craig

versus
13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth the price (free)
On the positive side:
The author has an obvious understanding of Norway and Norwegians, as well as a genuine enthusiasm for this great country. This is more of a notebook of personal tips and impressions than a travel guide, but they are fair and give a good feel for the Norway experience.

On the negative side:
I hate friends writing reviews for...
Published on May 17, 2012 by Just Wondering


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative read for first time travel hackers interested in Norway, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Travel Hacking Guide to Norway (Travel Hacking Guides Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I am not a travel hacker or a couch surfer. I have however spent a lot of time travel for fun and work AND I lived for a year in Bergen, Norway as an exchange student.

So why did I buy this book? Since leaving Norway many years ago returning has been high on my list of things to do and if there is one key fact about Norway travelers should know is that it is an expensive country to visit. The Travel Hacking Guide to Norway held the promise of creative ideas for keeping costs down allowing me to get the most for my travel dollars and hopefully getting exposed to places and experiences I didn't have there previously.

Does the book live up to the expectations? Yes, but not exactly in the way I was expecting.

First off you should know the Scott Meyer can write well and in an entertaining manner. He has also spent enough time living in Norway to develop a love of the people and country that comes through clearly in his writing. This is important because in my experience Norway is nothing short of exceptional and I think Meyer does an a good job of conveying that to the reader.

If you are expecting a traditional travel guide though then you are in for a surprise. Part one of the book is a guide to how to "travel hack" or travel on the cheap. Its a pretty good intro to the topic and I definitely picked up some ideas that I am going to give a try myself in the future but, I think to get the most benefit out of the advice you would need to pretty dedicated to the process.

Once you get past the initial travel hacking advice the book dives into some really good content on the Norway, key places to visit, culture, and some travel advice from a variety of people with great insight into different regions and cities in Norway (many of which are off the beaten tourist track).

Overall the content in this book is excellent. There are a couple of things I would like to see done in future editions (hoping there will be future editions) including:
- Segment the advice into regions a little more concisely
- Add some maps and illustrations to help people get a better sense of the geography being covered (its a big, rugged country)
- And of course more or everything

This would be an ideal candidate to be broken into regions, i.e. Travel Hacking Bergen, Norway, Travel Hacking Oslo, Norway, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth the price (free), May 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Travel Hacking Guide to Norway (Travel Hacking Guides Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
On the positive side:
The author has an obvious understanding of Norway and Norwegians, as well as a genuine enthusiasm for this great country. This is more of a notebook of personal tips and impressions than a travel guide, but they are fair and give a good feel for the Norway experience.

On the negative side:
I hate friends writing reviews for friends. The first 5 reviews are all 5 stars, none are verified purchasers, some acknowledge knowing the author, most have not reviewed anything else on Amazon, and all are over the top in their praise. It is an OK book, but the author ain't Ibsen.

The book is very short and would not be worth the listed price ($14.99 for print and $9.99 for digital!!!!). Probably worth $1.00, the most common price for these types of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspired more travel dreams, December 28, 2012
By 
Sister Becky Swanson (Minneapolis, MN, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Travel Hacking Guide to Norway (Travel Hacking Guides Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was a fun recommendation from friends of the author. It opened my eyes to ways that I can use (even as someone decidedly not in "youth hostel" demographic) to explore Norway. Seems like the tips are transferrable to other countries as well. It inspired me to join CouchSurfing as a host to see how it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a different kind of travel book, May 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Travel Hacking Guide to Norway (Travel Hacking Guides Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a unique travel guide book. Instead listing info about hotels and area attractions, it introduces a new way of traveling. Despite that I have lived in Norway as a high school exchange student for one year and have been going back for short trips to visit my host family and refresh my Norwegian, I find interesting new information about the people and culture of Norway. This book inspires me to backpack thru Norway and see it from a whole new perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mandatory reading, May 16, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Travel Hacking Guide to Norway (Travel Hacking Guides Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a book that should be mandatory reading if you want to visit Norway and understand the Norwegian way of thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First of its kind--will easily save you money, May 14, 2012
This review is from: The Travel Hacking Guide to Norway (Travel Hacking Guides Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
If you're planning a trip to Norway, get this book. It will pay for itself many times over. And it provides an insider's view into what to see and do. Totally worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The next generation travel guide, May 16, 2012
This review is from: The Travel Hacking Guide to Norway (Travel Hacking Guides Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book provides not only great insider information about traveling to Norway, but provides insight into the future of travel guides. It is a travel guide for the next generation of travelers who want a unique travel experience that goes beyond the tourist sites. In a time where many travel answers can be found online, Scott is able to give his readers the ins and outs of travel hacking Norway. What to do and how to do it with a fresh approach that can't be found anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great information, October 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Travel Hacking Guide to Norway (Travel Hacking Guides Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
We found the book to be very informational. If we had traveled inland instead of on a cruise ship it would have been a lot more beneficial to us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bright insights for a memorable trip!, May 14, 2012
This review is from: The Travel Hacking Guide to Norway (Travel Hacking Guides Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A must-to-have in your digital backpack, a well-written, independent and inspiring guide for Norway, full of great tips written by insiders. I lived there for a few years and this book truly reveals the best part of this fabulous country, powered by Nature. The book reflects the fantastic irony of the author, which I had the wonderful chance to meet a couple of times. I'll never forget one of his great jokes to entertain his guests during a tour... "I live here in Tromsø, several hundred miles north of the arctic circle. This makes me probably the northernmost south-Dakotan".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fresh Approach to Traveling, May 15, 2012
By 
JTM (South Dakota) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Travel Hacking Guide to Norway (Travel Hacking Guides Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The Travel Hacking Guide to Norway helped me look at travel in a new way, and not just to Norway. Author, Scott Meyer, makes you understand all the opportunities there are to take advantage of to not only travel affordably, but also more fully. A must read for fans of Norway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.