Customer Reviews


590 Reviews
5 star:
 (282)
4 star:
 (106)
3 star:
 (57)
2 star:
 (57)
1 star:
 (88)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


659 of 672 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid quality and nice looking luggage for a great price
I'll be honest, I haven't taken this on a trip yet. I bought mine for a long trip to Korea in August. However, I took mine apart, toyed with it all, and stress tested all the handles, wheels, and zippers. It's pretty sturdy for the most part and has good stitching and fastening on the main handles. The zippers ran relatively smooth and didn't catch on any of the...
Published on May 19, 2011 by SocraticMethod

versus
77 of 91 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Workmanship!!!
As an Amazon prime member, I was impressed with the efficient manner in which I received my luggage set. Additionally, the price for this set was more than reasonable. However, being a new luggage set, it is simply inexcusable for one of my pieces of luggage to completely fall apart on a flight from Oklahoma City to West Palm Beach. I understand that checked-in baggage...
Published on February 17, 2012 by KD


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

659 of 672 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid quality and nice looking luggage for a great price, May 19, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: US Traveler New Yorker 4 Piece Luggage Set Expandable (Apparel)
I'll be honest, I haven't taken this on a trip yet. I bought mine for a long trip to Korea in August. However, I took mine apart, toyed with it all, and stress tested all the handles, wheels, and zippers. It's pretty sturdy for the most part and has good stitching and fastening on the main handles. The zippers ran relatively smooth and didn't catch on any of the inside material or anything (a major pet peeve of mine). The zippers are pretty large too which makes it easy, and it comes with simple locks for basic security. There's not many compartments on the set (the pics reveal all), but for the average traveler it should be sufficient. The look of it is also really nice (I bought the charcoal set) and it seems like great luggage for an affordable price.

One thing I'd worry about and stress test in advance: the extending handles used for rolling around on each one. These do seem rather flimsy, especially the release button for it. I'd recommend playing with each a few times and pulling firmly to see if it'll hold without breaking. Mine held fine but I can see where people may snap there's accidentally (especially if you're not careful). I'd be curious if people would give more specifics as to what broke on their handles (the release button, the telescoping part, or the actual handle itself). I'm also curious whether they were using this handle to carry the luggage or if it broke just rolling it around.

Just buy in advance and test it all out well before you leave, don't blind buy and never try it until you pack for the airport.

Update 6/20/11: I took these to Vegas for a weekend trip and they held up well. I used the handles and pulled them around for a while on the trip. I had to take these around the airport for hours since my flight was cancelled and I checked in a two hotels. For a single weekend I got a lot of use out of them and they were sturdy. Everything held up perfectly.

Update 7/23/11: I moved from Los Angeles to Seoul, Korea, then to Gwangju, Korea. This set has had its fair share of use by now and I've been lugging it around a lot in the past couple weeks in Korea. It's still going great and holding up perfectly under stress. No issues whatsoever.

Update 3/28/12: This luggage is still awesome. I took it to Tokyo, Japan for a week and carted it around a lot on subways, trains, stairs, etc. and it's still perfectly intact.

Final update 10/23/12: I noticed this review is the highest now so I'll make one last update. STILL perfect after traveling across SE Asia. I even mailed the medium piece ground (boat) from Korea to the States. The package was beat up but the luggage was still undamaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


235 of 240 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great luggage set., April 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I searched and searched for reasonable luggage. I did not want to spend too much money on a luggage set this time around. After reading reviews from Amazon and other websites I decided to choose this one.

My luggage arrived quickly after my order, which was nice. At first I was a little disappointed because I expected the luggage to be larger but I noticed that these were narrow but deeper compared to my old luggage set (so it was actually about the same size).

We recently went on a weeks long vacation and I used every piece of luggage. I had no problem with this luggage at all. I even stuffed them to the max! The material was strong enough, good compartments, it rolled smoothly, and it was bounced around a lot in the car and I am sure at the airport. I gotta admit for the price I thought they were going to be a cheap and not last long. Definitely a great set, especially for the price. Hope this helps.

PS I don't travel too often but I do have kids who jump on the luggage hide in it and basically abused it. The luggage survived! LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


125 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, January 1, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The price was great, the shipping was fast and it held up very well on our trip to Jamaica and back. I love the lining on the inside and it seems to be very tough. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Purchase!, June 28, 2011
This review is from: US Traveler New Yorker 4 Piece Luggage Set Expandable (Apparel)
The US Traveller New Yorker 4-piece luggage set (Red) looks awesome. It actually isn't as bright as it appears online, and comes with a pleasant mix of red and black, which makes it look really elegant. I can take it for work related travel as much as for holidays. The finishing, stitches, material and zippers all look very neat and professional - not at all cheap quality like a lot of online reviews indicated. I will be travelling to India from Seattle next month, and have a lot of domestic travel in India (by air, road and train) so I'm sure I will be testing the durability of this product, which I plan to report back on this website after my travel. The prices on Amazon and ebags were comparable but I actually ended up buying from ebags since it came with free shipping and no taxes (so saved a bit there too).

UPDATE on 11/13/2011 (Based on India travel experience): We used these for our India trip this summer and they were VERY DURABLE and reliable. Seattle->Bangalore (International flight with 1 hop) -> Goa (road trip during monsoons) -> Delhi (domestic flight) -> Dehradun (Train) -> Delhi -> Seattle (1 hop Flight). Not a single problem. I would recommend this to anyone in a heartbeat. I'd STRONGLY RECOMMEND buying this if you are looking for one. I'm extremely happy with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars US Traveler Luggage, April 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well built luggage with beefy zippers... My only complaint is that the fabric (although tough) picks up a lot of dirt... After our first trip, it looks like its been through a war!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great luggage for a great price!, June 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: US Traveler New Yorker 4 Piece Luggage Set Expandable (Apparel)
I recently purchased these items for a family vacation. I was so surprised once I actually received them! They are much more sturdier and larger then I had anticipated. Lots of little pockets (I'm a pocket kinda person so this really pleased me!) The size of the largest one could fit a medium sized child in it comfortably (for those of you flying moms and dads, lol). Overall, I am extremely excited about the luggage. I love the handles since they go flush with the top of the suitcase so there is no added inches and awkward size to fight to get into the vehicle. Another thing I noticed that I also thought was great, was that the bars for the handle to the rollers is hidden inside the suitcases. So there are no ugly added hardware on the outside of the bag. Great purchase and I highly recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 91 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Workmanship!!!, February 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As an Amazon prime member, I was impressed with the efficient manner in which I received my luggage set. Additionally, the price for this set was more than reasonable. However, being a new luggage set, it is simply inexcusable for one of my pieces of luggage to completely fall apart on a flight from Oklahoma City to West Palm Beach. I understand that checked-in baggage endures abuse from airline staff. But, this was NEW and arrived to West Palm Beach with a large rip down the seamline. All my belongings were exposed and thankfully nothing fell out. Upon further inspection, the seamline to many parts of the bag were coming undone. It will be an absolute inconvenience ensuring my bag arrives back home safely. Despite the warranty, I highly doubt I will ever do business with this company again. Do yourself a favor and think twice before purchasing this set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the price, April 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have a hard time spending a lot of money on luggage as I know it will be thrown around and put to all kinds of abuse. Don't get me wrong, I appreciate quality, I'm a backpacker who realizes you get what you pay for. But all of my backpacking equipment stays in my care and is well taken care of. Luggage, who knows. The old cheap stuff had worn out after many trips domestically and internationally so it was time. I wanted at least 3 suitcases for under $100 and got it here. We traveled cross country, and stuffed these bags to the brim (the largest topped out at 50.2! No extra fee!). They held up and did the job nicely. I'm fairly confident they'll give us a few years of use and we'll get our money's worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survided tough international trip, May 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: US Traveler New Yorker 4 Piece Luggage Set Expandable (Apparel)
I bought this set because I needed new luggage to fly back to Brazil. We checked in at Boston, picked them up at São Paulo, then checked in again, and picked them up again in Belo Horizonte, Brazil. The set survived the whole trip in perfect condition, no tear, no broken wheels or handles, just dirt :). For the price, I am more than pleased. Nice colors too, made it easy to spot at the baggage claim area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Suitcases, May 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just got theses suitcases and I have already used them 3 times and it still is in great condition. Plus the largest of the suitcases is Huge! I was able to fit so much more stuff in them compared to my old "large" suitcase which was the same size as the medium suitcase. Also I got the Royal Blue suitcases which made it very easy to see at the airport. I would suggest not getting the balck suitcases because 85% of suitcases at the airport are black and hard to find. The only negative is that from my last trip there is a small black stain on the front of my suitcase and I am assuming its residue left from another suitcase that was placed on top of it, so hopefully it will come out. Overall, its a great suitcase set for the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9d8e0240)

This product

US Traveler New Yorker 4 Piece Luggage Set Expandable
$199.99 $85.87 - $109.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.