Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value and beats the competition
I purchased the black "spinner" version of this luggage. The quality is great and it is indeed light (just 8.6 lbs, while the rollaboard version (i.e., (non-spinner is even lighter at 7.6lbs). You just have to compare the weight and quality at its price point with the competition and you will see that it blows them away. I actually compared several brands at the local...
Published 24 months ago by DD

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Existing Legs are Vulnerable: Suggested Leg Replacement If or When they Break
Like two other reviewers experienced, one of the legs broke off this luggage the first time I used it. It now appears obvious to me that, given the way the airlines throw luggage around, these legs are more vulnerable than legs on other luggage because of their length and lack of strength. So rather than seeking a replacement leg that would be just as vulnerable, I used...
Published 13 months ago by djk1940


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value and beats the competition, December 23, 2012
I purchased the black "spinner" version of this luggage. The quality is great and it is indeed light (just 8.6 lbs, while the rollaboard version (i.e., (non-spinner is even lighter at 7.6lbs). You just have to compare the weight and quality at its price point with the competition and you will see that it blows them away. I actually compared several brands at the local department store. By the way, this luggage (in black) looks just like what you see pilots and flight stewardess carrying on board aircraft. That's perhaps why Travelpro holds itself out to be "the choice of flight crews (and frequent travelers.")

I am happy that I found great value by finding a great quality product at a good price.

Update as of July 2013:
After using the luggage for awhile, I can say that I would definitely prefer the 2 wheels rather than four for the following reasons:

a) It is difficult to keep a 4 wheeler stationary in one spot. On any surface that is slightly curved, it will automatically slide to the lowest point and this is frustrating especially if you just want it to stay put.
b) I find it easier to drag a two wheeler than to slide a four wheeler.
c) The 2 wheeler is 7.4 lbs vs 8.6 lbs for the 4 wheeler
d) I can't justify a higher price for the 4 wheels based on a) b) and c) above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saved almost 5 pounds at airport weigh-in, February 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I average buying luggage of various sizes every 2 years or less. I have owned Delsey, Atlantic and Travelpro rolling bags and find their quality to be similarly matched. Weight and packability seem to be defining features between them. I require a larger bag for business travel of more than 7 days so when my much loved Delsey's wheels were smashed in transit, I looked to Delsey for a replacement. In the process, I found this Travelpro Maxlite 25" side-by-side at a local retail store. The bags were very similar except for the unpacked weight difference between them. Buying through Amazon saved on both MSRP and the sale price in retail stores. Travelpro's squared and deep design made packing a breeze. I pack nearly the same items each trip so it's easy to compare. Weigh-in at check-in was nearly 5 pounds less than the bag I replaced. I was delighted by the ease of moving the bag effortlessly through the arrival airport, up escalators, on to elevators and through the hotel to my room. The wheels seem to be a big improvement on this roller. I used the mesh packing feature for my dress shirts and was pleased to see they came through with fewer wrinkles than expected. I am rating this product after one trip. My only concern is the exterior ballistic fabric is different than most bags. Time will tell how well it holds up after the first 5 or so trips. If past performance is any guide, I expect the bag to hold up well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Lightweight Suitcase, January 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As the airlines have become increasingly picky about the 50 pound weight limit I have had to replace several pieces of older TravelPro Platinum Series luggage (which weighs twice as much) and were really meant for the older 70 pound per bag limit. The Maxlite series has really fit the bill. Despite the light weight it has proven sturdy on several trips and is really amazingly light. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles of the Platinum series which had multiple exterior pockets, built in suit/dress valets and felt like it was built like a tank, but the Maxlite has enough features to be quite functional. In the end, the extra 7-8 pounds gained in packing space over the old luggage has proved to be invaluable and sturdiness has not at all been a problem so far despite the lightweight feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Existing Legs are Vulnerable: Suggested Leg Replacement If or When they Break, October 28, 2013
By 
djk1940 "Don" (Asheville, NC USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Travelpro Luggage Maxlite 2 25" Expandable Rollaboard (Accessory)
Like two other reviewers experienced, one of the legs broke off this luggage the first time I used it. It now appears obvious to me that, given the way the airlines throw luggage around, these legs are more vulnerable than legs on other luggage because of their length and lack of strength. So rather than seeking a replacement leg that would be just as vulnerable, I used deck wood screws to replace both legs with a 2x2 (measures 1.5"x1.5") piece of lumber about 17" long and painted black. I drilled out the exiting screws and used both the existing holes (screwed in from inside the luggage) and drilled 4 more holes for a total of 8 screws attaching the new leg-bar, making a stronger base and support while adding only 0.7 lbs to the weight of the luggage...still lighter than most other luggage this size. See the picture I added to this site...the luggage still looks attractive, yet much less likely to break again. Other than the broken leg problem, the luggage seems sound. I especially liked the large, rubber rimmed wheels making the luggage easy to pull even on rough sidewalks.

Travelpro: Doesn't it seem obvious you could make this luggage better using a bar rather than two independent vulnerable legs?

Update: The leg repair survived an even longer trip, together with the newly purchased OGIO Luggage Frenzy 25-Inch Bag. If you can get by with about 10% less luggage space than this Travelpro, I'd recommend the Ogio luggage over the Travelpro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight and roomy, April 3, 2013
By 
Carol Page "musical theatre fanatic" (Florissant, Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a very lightweight, easy to handle bag. And super roomy - just got back from 2 weeks in China with it, and it survived beautifully. I can't recall any other suitcase where I actually had left over space at the end of the trip. I should have bought more souvenirs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good piece of luggage, January 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We have already been on one trip with this piece of luggage and it held up very well. We have owned other pieced of Travelpro in the past and we were not disappointed with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of room...., April 28, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
for more than enough clothes for a 15 day cruise. With 4 pair of shoes for walking, sandles & dress and dressy clothes for dress-up dinners I still had room to bring home souveniers and "extras" I picked up along the way. I do wish I had gotten the four wheeled spinner as it would have made it a little easier to handle in tight spaces/crowded airports but overall it was exactly what I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am impressed..., May 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great size suitcase, very lightweight for the overall size. Held more than enough for 1 week travel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not recommend!, June 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One wheel was broken on return flight, first use! The design should have a bar to strengthen the legs. Recycled the box, so unsure of repair procedure! Would not recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ... of this Travelpro Luggage are the color ( a nice grey blue) and the lightness of the suitcase, July 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The positives of this Travelpro Luggage are the color ( a nice grey blue) and the lightness of the suitcase. Unfortunately, there seems to be an inherent weakness in the legs on the bottom. The plastic plate securing one leg to the case fractured after the second plane flight. The suitcase was quickly replaced through Amazon (thank you!), and the leg on the replacement suitcase snapped in exactly the same place during its inaugural plane flight. Seriously? Time to return another. At this point, I will definitely go for a different brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Travelpro Luggage Maxlite 2 25" Expandable Rollaboard
$280.00 $79.99 - $121.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.