Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Paced Action Thriller
Clive Cussler's Treasue starts out like any other og his books. On this historic flashback, a roman named Julies Vernator sails a fleet of ships carrying a unknown cargo across the ocean. He hides the cargo in a cave somewhere on the unknown continent they sailed to. Vernator and his crew come under attack by primitives and never make it back to Spain. One ship makes it...
Published on May 19, 2008 by Danielle Nuhfer

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Compelling action and intriguing setting
When reading this book, remember that it's entertainment, like regular television programming is in contrast to the movies of Kurosawa, so expect mediocre prose, dramatic characters, gratuitous violence and quasi-lurid encounters to keep us groundlings happy. If you can accept that level of quality, you will find in "Treasure" a compelling story because of the way it is...
Published on November 13, 2005 by C. Blanc


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Paced Action Thriller, May 19, 2008
This review is from: Treasure (Mass Market Paperback)
Clive Cussler's Treasue starts out like any other og his books. On this historic flashback, a roman named Julies Vernator sails a fleet of ships carrying a unknown cargo across the ocean. He hides the cargo in a cave somewhere on the unknown continent they sailed to. Vernator and his crew come under attack by primitives and never make it back to Spain. One ship makes it away and it's final resting place was unknown. Many centuries later, Dirk Pitt stumbles across the wreck of the ship and an assination attempt on the Egptian Secretary General, Hala Kamil. The mystery unfolds as Pitt tries to find the treasure that was mentioned on tablets in the sunken ship. The treasure just happens to be a portion of the Library of Alexandia. NUMA is recruited to help find the Ehyptian national treasure so that the Egyptian leader, President Hasan, can stay in office a little longer so that a terrorist leader named Akmid Yazid does not take over Egypt. In his insane attempt to take over Egypt, Yazid orders his mercenaries to steal a ship with the Egyptian and Mexican leaders on board. They steal the ship and lose all the follers whil disguising the ship as an iceberg and sailing near Antarctica. Pitt and a team from NUMA track the ship and lead an American SOF team to retake the ship while stopping the terrorists and saving the hostages. Pitt then finds the treasure and peace is restored to Egypt. This is one book that has you by the pages. You wil not want to put this book down.

-Hans Fertig
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book that hooked me to Cussler, August 12, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Treasure (Mass Market Paperback)
Since the beginning of being able to read I hadn't found a book to satify my historical needs as well as my entertaiment needs! But here we go, a book, packed with history, packed with entertaiment and I read it. A MUST for every Cussler fan, a MUST for every history fiction fan. 100% pure thrill!!!! Keep it up Clive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cussler at his best!, April 2, 2006
By 
ALu69 (Hamburg, Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Treasure (Mass Market Paperback)
I read almost all of his books to date but "Treasure" is still the very best Clive Cussler ever wrote. Might be because of the ever charming characters Pitt and his best buddy, might be because of the thrilling suspense with surprising twists and turns or might be because the subject of the book the library at Alexandria is one of the last secrets that were never really revealed.
This book really is a must read Cussler adventure.
Get rid off "Sahara", turn off the TV and grab this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! Bring on the Dixieland band!, July 29, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Treasure (Mass Market Paperback)
I've read every Dirk Pitt book to date, but this one has to be the best. Treasure has everything you could want from a Dirk Pitt novel, the mix or locations, action, and a wonderful last scene, there's just so much plot! I've seen people describe these books as shallow and unrealistic, but if you want realism, look out of the window, not in a Cussler book. What more can I say, fantastic stuff, keep them coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fans of James Bond and Indiana Jones will love this book, June 2, 2002
By 
Chris Hinrichsen (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
Having recently started reading Dirk Pitt and his Numa Gang, I read this book for the first time and it introduced me to Dirk Pitt and his friends at Numa. As I have read this book twice already I have enjoyed every aspect of it especially with a new twist to fans of Indiana Jones and James Bond. Clive Cussler has really caught my attention after reading his novel Treasure which discusses Dirk Pitt and Numa's hunt for the Lost Library of Alexandria. In it Clive Cussler catches all us fans of modern day adventure and action which involves the fight of counter-terrorism with one of the main villains being kinda like the terrorist assasin known as the Jackal.
In the way the James Bond and Indiana Jones brought the thrill of Saturday Movies back Cussler keeps the reader moving and continually wanting to read more of his book. I especially love the way Cussler brings the final showdown of this book in an unexpecting area where people would not find the legendary Library of Alexandria. Cussler even adds the famous James Bond comical wit and finesse in his book between Dirk Pitt and his partner in crime Al Giordino and the other characters within this book. It always make you laugh and smile once the finesse and wit are done throughout the book. At times when the story can be serious in his writing.
Treasure has really opened my enjoyment and interests in Clive
Cussler and his hero Dirk Pitt and Numa gang. To the new reader of this book it will make you enjoy Clive Cussler as one of our best action adventure writers in the 20th and 21st Century. Thanks so much Clive for the enjoyment of reading your hero and his exploits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Compelling action and intriguing setting, November 13, 2005
This review is from: Treasure (Mass Market Paperback)
When reading this book, remember that it's entertainment, like regular television programming is in contrast to the movies of Kurosawa, so expect mediocre prose, dramatic characters, gratuitous violence and quasi-lurid encounters to keep us groundlings happy. If you can accept that level of quality, you will find in "Treasure" a compelling story because of the way it is knit into geopolitical and economic and historical factors; Cussler very ingeniously integrates modern and ancient motives and comes up with a puzzle for his characters - we, the readers, are just tagging along, although he gives us hints. Through some wisdom of his audience, he does not overindulge in descriptions of technology or the means of hunting for archeological finds, but he does show us the excitement and surprise of an unexpected windfall. Yes, I know the characters are like cardboard cutouts of real people, but look at it this way: this book is a dramatization of events that, if described accurately, would render in excruciating detail a 2,100-page tome full of committee meetings and radio conversations. Strangely, it seems that even in pulp literature, there's room to lyricize experience and make from it a myth, albeit a cheap one, and Cussler does this successfully with this Dirk Pitt novel. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a good read and is uncritical of hyperbole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars StupendouS! I vote this for the second movie!, August 15, 2005
This review is from: Treasure (Mass Market Paperback)
Sure, it's a bit of a stretch that one hunk of a man would score dates with two women involved in an international catastrophic acciddent, (It's so romantic that he saw past all the blood on their pretty little faces ;op) but Male Ego aside, this is the best Dirk Pitt book to date. If you want to read gross new methods of murder by crazed anarchists who think of themselves as reencarnated gods and you thrive on intense action, this is a great book! Clive Cussler is great at making old ideas seem like they've never been written before, or at least not well, until now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cussler's Best, January 19, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Treasure (Mass Market Paperback)
I loved it.
Cussler's best books weave history together with adventure and mystery to keep you turning the pages. Treasure is his best effort, ranking just above Raise the Titanic. While you can't imagine the events of the novel actually coming to pass, the plot is solid enough to avoid the "Oh, come on!" that accompanies most of Cussler's plot twists (which reminds me: avoid Sahara).
Besides, realistic analysis of ethnic geopolitics is not why you read a Dirk Pitt book: You want to read a story about a cool guy who always says the right thing at the right time and who comes up with new ways to be courageous at every turn.
Treasure is that book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, October 21, 1999
This review is from: Treasure (Mass Market Paperback)
I absolutely positively love it! It has just enough politics to match in with action, and the plot is great: I tried to guess what would happen next but didn't really succeed at anywhere else but when the Ibn guy entered the cave at the end, where I just guessed that it was him who entered and not one of the soldiers. Anyway, I recommend this to anybody who likes good plots... it's like an Agatha Christie with a lot of action put in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE first and so far best i read from clive cussler!!!, February 15, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Treasure (Mass Market Paperback)
This was a great story!!!Although this was the first book i've read from Clive,the story was so brilliantly place together,an archealogical find in ice capped greenland to discovery of how the roman empire was expanded beyond what the history books tell you.Don't forget the attempt to kill Hala kamil,mexican president Delorenzo.The only fault with this book was at times the story can get unbelievable,but still this was a great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Treasure (Dirk Pitt Adventures)
Treasure (Dirk Pitt Adventures) by Clive Cussler (Mass Market Paperback - April 26, 2011)
$9.99 $6.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.