Treasuring Emma (A Middlefield Family Novel Book 1) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $15.99
  • Save: $9.59 (60%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 2 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Treasuring Emma (A Middle... has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Item in good condition and ready to ship!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Treasuring Emma (A Middlefield Family Novel) Paperback – Bargain Price, August 2, 2011


See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, Bargain Price
"Please retry"
$6.40
$1.16 $0.73

This is a bargain book and quantities are limited. Bargain books are new but could include a small mark from the publisher and an Amazon.com price sticker identifying them as such. Details
Best%20Books%20of%202014


Frequently Bought Together

Treasuring Emma (A Middlefield Family Novel) + Faithful to Laura (A Middlefield Family Novel) + Letters to Katie (A Middlefield Family Novel)
Price for all three: $31.46

Buy the selected items together

If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for only $2.99 (Save 66%). Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.


Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Series: A Middlefield Family Novel
  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson (August 2, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1595547754
  • ISBN-13: 978-1595547750
  • ASIN: B007K4G40E
  • Product Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.4 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12.8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (90 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,471,907 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

Well-drawn characters and a homespun feel will make this Amish romance a sure bet for fans of Beverly Lewis and Jerry S. Eicher. --Library Journal

This novel is a sweet romance with amazing characters who are just trying to get through each day. Stories relating to the Amish are a treasure to read and Fuller has a way with words. (****Rating) --Romantic Times

About the Author

Kathleen Fuller is the author of several bestselling novels, including A Man of His Word and Treasuring Emma, as well as a middle-grade Amish series, The Mysteries of Middlefield. Website: www.kathleenfuller.com Twitter: @TheKatJam Facebook: Author Kathleen Fuller

--This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

More About the Author

I was born in New Orleans, Louisiana, grew up in Little Rock, Arkansas, and currently live in Geneva, Ohio. I've been married to James for 21 wonderful years (really, they have been wonderful!) We have three terrific children, three dogs, and have raised cattle, pigs, and chickens at various times over the years. We would have gone into the goat business, but I had to draw the line somewhere. I started writing in 2000, and published my first short story a year later. Since then I have authored several short stories, novellas, novels, and have done a lot of freelance non-fiction work. I have also worked as an editor. I have a Masters degree in Special Education, emphasis on teaching the blind and visually impaired, and a Bachelors in Early Childhood/Elementary Education. I have taught all age groups ranging from age 4 to age 21. A few of my favorite things: my relationship with Christ, chocolate (of course!), autumn, a satisfying book, good friends, a sense of humor, people who don't take themselves seriously, haunting melodies, NFL football, and did I mention chocolate?

Customer Reviews

In most Amish novels I read, the Christian faith and Amish way of life is a big part of the story.
H.J. van der Klis
I really enjoyed it and I am looking forward to reading more about these characters from her in the next book in this series.
Diane M. Ulitsch
His part seemed a bit jumbled to me, and I'd have been just as satisfied with his not being a part of the story at all.
J. Bennington

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By C. Kendall VINE VOICE on September 12, 2011
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
I have not read much from Kathleen Fuller, mostly because of my tumultuous relationship with Amish fiction. There are a few Amish fiction writers that I really like, so branching out is something I am hesitant to do. But, when I saw that Treasuring Emma was the first book in a new series by Kathleen, I thought it was the perfect time to get to know this author better. And hopefully become a fan.

I tend to be a fussy reader, but I am fussier about Amish fiction than any other genre. I don't know why this is so, it just is. My impressions of Treasuring Emma are pretty positive. I enjoyed this story more than I was expecting. One of the things that I liked about it was that it was not the usual Amish story. It had a uniqueness all its own that I responded to. I did feel that there were some things missing from this book that should have been there, but being the first book in a series, I am certain the books that will follow will fill in any gaps and answer any questions. It's actually good that Kathleen left me hanging because she piqued my interest enough to make me want to read the rest of the series.

Overall, Treasuring Emma is a worthwhile read. Not the best Amish novel I have read, but certainly very good and enjoyable.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Smile on January 31, 2014
Format: Paperback
First let me begin saying that I read Amish fiction to stay away from the filth that a lot of books nowadays have. Example : Immorality, drugs, sexual intercourse out of wedlock and I could keep going but I'm not but for the sake of time. I'm very frustrated that first this is even considered Christian Fiction. It saddens me that today, society’s carefree thinking on sex out of wedlock is simply, “Why not?” The characters actions in the beginning of this book is just ridiculous. I only listened to the first part of this book and threw it out. I advise any christian not read this book unless you think its okay to have sexual intercourse out of wedlock. I have read numerous of Mrs Fullers books and enjoyed them but this threw me for a loop and I will never read any of her books again. It also saddens me to see that the publisher would actually publish this and call it Christian Fiction.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Coffee Addicted Writer's Reviews TOP 1000 REVIEWER on May 27, 2012
Format: Paperback
Emma Shelter's life is turned upside down when her mother passes away, leaving she and her ailing grandma to run her falling apart farm. Her only other family is Clara and her unemployed husband, Peter. Clara wants Emma to sale of the family tools, so she open a fabric store in the old workshop, but Emma isn't ready to let go of the past, until Adam Otto returns to town.

Adam had left the Amish community years ago and moved to the big city where he took odd job. After buying a car, a television, DVDs, and ending his on and off again relationship with Ashley, he realized that his life was missing something. Then one day, he retrieved his mail and found a letter sent by an Amish friend, who informed him of Mrs. Shelter's death. He packs a bag and heads home. Despite Adam's shunning, his mother welcomes him home with loving arms, but his father gives him a cold shoulder.

Peter's cousin, Mark, also returns to the community and he is interested in one thing - stealing Clara away from Peter. Meanwhile, Emma and Adam reunite and their old feelings return, but will Adam's new life interfere with their future.

Treasuring Emma is heartwarming story about second chances. I have read a few other books by Kathleen Fuller and this one doesn't disappoint. I was instantly hooked from the first chapter where Emma is dealing with her mother's death and ponders her future. Adam would have to be my favorite character from the novel, a young man who is lost in the world, but desires a family of his own. With all the economic problems in the world, I thought the character Peter was a nice touch, along with his wife, Clara, who loves and supports her husband despite the fact he cannot hold a job. I pleased to able to review this delightful novel that put a smile on my face.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Debra M. Hoosier on October 1, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
I have read several other books by Fuller so I was excited to read Treasuring Emma. However, I wasn't too far into the book before I realized that this novel was not going to be anything like Fuller's other books. I had to make myself endure to the end. Major disappointment.

There are several things about Treasuring Emma that are lacking. First, the intro into the characters and storyline lead you to believe that Emma is going to start a business with animals. This never happens. Emma is also described as "frumpy" and "old maid-ish" but really? she is only in her early 20s? Fuller could have come up with something better than the typical "frumpy old maidel" Amish character. That girl gets played more in the Amish genre than anything else. But what about Adam? Emma's main love focus. This should be fully developed and woven in the story but it seems that Fuller spends too much time introducing secondary characters without getting all the main characters in place.

Emma's sister and family are some of those secondary characters. While her sister is a tad annoying I didn't really mind her in the story. The dilemma is why is she the kind of character she is because it doesn't add to what is happening. It seems to just bring chaos vs. climatic tension.

Overall, this book seems like Fuller took a bunch of different characters and plot lines from various stories and tried to weave them all together in one book. It didn't work. It is by far the worse book I have read by her. Very disappointing.
2 stars

I was given a complimentary copy of this book by Booksneeze in exchange for my fair and honest review.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?