Prime Music


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Delightful Add to Cart
$6.99  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
talesandtea Add to Cart
$9.25  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Amazon.com Add to Cart
$10.21  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tree City
 
See larger image
 

Tree City

Robbers on High StreetAudio CD
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (22 customer reviews)

Price: $3.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock.
Sold by The_Disc_Connection and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Monday, Oct. 27? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
MP3 Music, 13 Songs, 2010 $9.49  
Audio CD, 2005 $3.99  
Vinyl, 2005 --  

Amazon's Robbers on High Street Store

Visit Amazon's Robbers on High Street Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

Tree City + Grand Animals
Price for both: $10.79

Buy the selected items together
  • Grand Animals $6.80


Product Details

  • Audio CD (February 22, 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Watertower Music
  • ASIN: B0007IO7EA
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (22 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #143,031 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Spanish Teeth
2. Japanese Girls
3. Beneath The Trees
4. Amanda Green
5. Descender
6. Love Underground
7. Dig The Lightning
8. The Price & Style
9. Bring On The Terror
10. Big Winter
11. Killer Bees
12. Hudson Tubes
13. Montefiore

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

A sonically-charged 13 song rollercoaster ride of infectious tunes over swaggering rhythms, boasting bold songwriting and myriad melodic gems.

Amazon.com

This New York City-based band sounds a lot like Austin, TX-based Spoon. A lot. And seeing as this is their first full-length, and it’s rock music (so of course musical theft is involved to some degree), not to mention that Spoon is a pretty excellent band to start one’s career sounding like, the act will not be judged too harshly for sounding so much like Spoon. Even though they totally do, from singer Ben Trokan‘s wide-mouthed enunciation to the piano-driven, vaguely Beatles-y melodies, and rhythm-guitar heavy crunch. The production seems a bit slick, as if the group was going for some Interpol-type success, while the songs would perhaps be better served at a studio like Easley in Memphis. The lyrics are bright and not too serious ("Some things you can do in the city: walk around in circles/ meet Japanese girls"), while the band really plays these pretty waltz-pop songs well. Just, someone, anyone, please buy them some other records before they record again. The results are eagerly anticipated. --Mike McGonigal

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
(22)
4.3 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Format:Audio CD
I am honestly astounded by all the harsh criticism I find here for a band that is now in my top 5, all time. Though I started with (and raved over) Grand Animals, Tree City contains some of my very favorite Robbers On High Street tunes. This band (and this album) for me was love at first listen, and a lasting love. A month later I'm still listening to little else. Spanish Teeth, Beneath the Trees, and Dig the Lightning are probably my favorite 3 of their songs, on any album. Naysayers who call this music less than earth shattering or imitation music are straight up crazy, if you ask me. The soaring melodies, intriguing lyrics, and unique sound of these songs are drop dead fabulous. I can't stop listening. If I were to compare them to another band, I'd call the Robbers a cross between The Strokes and The Natural History. I get the Spoon references made, but they're way better than Spoon. A must own.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars they're not spoon February 28, 2005
Format:Audio CD
i have a feeling that "Tree City" is going to be one of the most underrated albums of 2005, but i do hope i'm wrong, because Robbers on High Street deserves as much success as other "indie rock" bands of late have received for their debut albums. this album just SOUNDS SO GOOD TO ME and quite a few of the songs have a certain sexiness to them. for someone who focuses on lyrics often, it took me at least 10 listens to "tree city" before i even thought about them - the melodies and piano lines are that intoxicating. my favorite song on the album is the oh so delicious "dig the lightning" but other standouts are "spanish teeth," "amanda green," and "the price and style." if you've ever enjoyed catchy/moody rock music that features pianos, buy this CD!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this CD - it's excellent! March 17, 2005
By Someone
Format:Audio CD
I'm already addicted to this CD and listen to it constantly in the car. The songs are bouncy, each one is great, not a single clunker on the whole CD (which is more than I can say about many other indie groups ROHS have been compared to!)

Favorites: Amanda Green, Big Winter, Spanish Teeth, but they're all great! Sometimes they remind me of Elvis Costello, Maroon 5, even John Lennon! Whatever they remind me of, they sound fresh and I could listen to them all day!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't live up to the NPR hype September 2, 2005
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
I heard about this album on NPR, and from the blurbs they played on air, it seemed like something I might like. But when I played the album, all the songs sounded pretty much the same, and nothing cought my ear as I had hoped it would. I may give it a few more listens, and who knows, maybe it will grow on me.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Format:Audio CD
...gimme a break, just don't Gimme Fiction when ROHS' debut record is a lot more exciting that Spoon's latest. I'm sick of hearing about Robbers on high street ripping off Spoon (apparently the indie rock equivalent of blowing up a school bus).
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star debut album January 31, 2007
Format:Audio CD
This is such a good debut album, that if this band only gets better with future releases, they will not be a best kept secret in indie rock for very long. The singer's voice is pretty much perfect: he hits the low notes & the high notes, sings soulfully & at times, seductively. The drums, piano, bass & guitars sound like they were never without each other: sounds like music made by good friends who are having a lot of fun. The words sound vague, but purposely vague. The enigmatic lyrics keep you listening after the melody hooks you in. In the future however, I would love to hear more open lyrics from them because the singer's voice could really do wonders with painfully honest words. In that respect, I would say they COULD be like Spoon, who started out making cool, short, addictive, but obscurely-worded songs, and later went on to open themselves up to different musical styles & more open lyrics, always re-inventing their sound. That is what I hope for, for this immensely talented band. As for THIS release, the seductive voice of Ben Trokan over the tight (sometimes dreamy, see Descender or Price & Style), catchy melodies makes for a fantastic 5 star debut.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Ride April 8, 2005
By J.F.Lin
Format:Audio CD
Tree City is an album that although good, there is nothing that will keep it in your mind day after day. When you are listening to it it is enjoyable, and although nothing earth-shattering it is good, very good.

The piano and singing is superb, the songs short and transitioning quickly from track to track, you will finish the album before you know it. With great tracks like "Spanish Teeth", the more upbeat "Japanese Girls" to the deeper accounts "Big Winter" it is very peaceful, the kind of music many enjoy on a car ride home or before going to sleep.

The songs are all nice, but that is just it nothing stirring or new. When asked "Where's the rock." the guys simply replied, "What are you talking about where's the rock? It's just different." And thats what this record is different, its not a bad thing, but it's not a good thing. Thats my feeling about Tree City, I liked it, just not more than other albums out there, but when the time is right and the wind is blowing I pull out my copy of Tree City and let the relaxation begin.

A Bliss of 7
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars This year Spoon's coming out with 2 albums! March 16, 2005
Format:Audio CD
I heard "Japanese girls" on the radio and was psyched that modern rock radio would play new spoon. Then I found out, to my bewilderment, that it was not actually spoon.

I don't really get the point of completely copping someone's style, unless (a) they've been gone for 20 years (joy division -> interpol) or (b) you're just trying to make money and don't care about music (jet, presumably). These guys sound pretty good, but it's kind of bizarre that they would crib so shamelessly from a band that is still around, making good music.

You'd think if they really had confidence in themselves as a band, they'd strike out with their own style. So that's confusing. But anyways, it's not too bad.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Great
I'm really glad to have heard of this band! Their music is just wonderful, and I really enjoy this album.
Published 13 months ago by Jennifer
5.0 out of 5 stars simpaaaaaatico.
I genuinely enjoyed this album. FANTASTICO! check out their new stuff and their first ep is fantastic as well.
Published on July 22, 2010 by J. A. Fragoso
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid effort that grows on you
First things first: Amanda Green is an A+ song. As for the rest of the album, it's solid- nothing more and nothing less, if it needs to be put that way. Read more
Published on October 3, 2008 by Omnitarian
5.0 out of 5 stars Spoon Move Over
This album is awesome my faves Spanish Teeth, Japanese Girls, cool lyrics....play it all the time in my car...their live shows rock... Read more
Published on December 9, 2006 by Appolonia
2.0 out of 5 stars They are sooo like SPOON
The lead singer might as well be doing a Britt Daniel impersonation. Poor man's version of SPOON. Also, the people who keep incorrectly saying "the Spoons", seriously, who are you... Read more
Published on May 4, 2006 by Em
3.0 out of 5 stars Unspectacular
This album is ok. Not great, not bad, just ok. A few catchy tunes but alot of repetition. I read comparisions to Spoon, I'm sorry but Spoon absolutely piss all over these guys
Published on February 16, 2006 by Tyron
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, great live performance!
Have had the pleasure of hearing and seeing this band live... None of the previous reviews mention that they were discovered and picked up by Scratchy Records, the label of James... Read more
Published on December 17, 2005 by n6
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome cd
The Robbers on High street are a hidden jewel. I recently saw them on tour in Florida and then back home in NYC. Their live performance is great as well. Read more
Published on November 9, 2005 by Anna L. Winwood
5.0 out of 5 stars I can love that band in 3 notes
Watching Last Call with Carson Daly one night, the guest house band played their 3 notes of segway music and I knew I had to hear more. It was Robbers on High Street. Read more
Published on October 1, 2005 by NB
5.0 out of 5 stars i bought it.
Grand music. Good stuff, pretty popular for the "underground ecletic" scene. NPR interviewed this band and reviewed their music, too.
Published on September 30, 2005 by Jonathan Decker
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 



Look for Similar Items by Category

The_Disc_Connection Privacy Statement The_Disc_Connection Shipping Information The_Disc_Connection Returns & Exchanges