Customer Reviews


176 Reviews
5 star:
 (134)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Down Here In New Orleans
"We got magic, good and bad
Make you happy or make you real sad
Get everything you want, lose what you had
Down here in New Orleans"
Dr John

'Treme' HBO's magnificent season one, introduced us to the New Orleans of post-Katrina, the music, the people, the problems, the lives of the everyday people trying to make it work. In Treme's second...
Published on July 16, 2011 by prisrob

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ... this series from the creators of one of the greatest shows of all time
I had high hopes for this series from the creators of, what I think is, one of the greatest shows of all time, "The Wire". The music is great. The acting is generally good. I'm from the Delta and I have family in Louisiana and Southern Mississippi who were affected by Katrina. All reasons why I'd expect to love this show but I find myself repeatedly drifting off and doing...
Published 1 month ago by M. Swinford


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Down Here In New Orleans, July 16, 2011
This review is from: Treme: Season 2 (DVD)
"We got magic, good and bad
Make you happy or make you real sad
Get everything you want, lose what you had
Down here in New Orleans"
Dr John

'Treme' HBO's magnificent season one, introduced us to the New Orleans of post-Katrina, the music, the people, the problems, the lives of the everyday people trying to make it work. In Treme's second season we see and really feel how the natives live and die.

'Treme' season two moves to the lives of the musicians, the businesses trying to thrive and into the police stations and politicians pockets. The regulars like Antoine Batiste, played by Wendell Pierce, find themselves trying to rebuild their lives. In his case, he is a trombonist and works in the local school band by day and in the clubs by night. Terry Colson, played by David Morse, is a detective in the police department, where he feels out the greed and graft of his colleagues. Melissa Leo, plays Toni, the local lawyer who fights for her clients and now finds herself trying to help her daughter, Sofia. Sofia, played by India Ennenga, who is reacting to a tragic loss, has become the teenager with rebellion andresentment. Chef Janette, played by Kim Dickens has moved to New York City to try and ply her wares in the big time. Professional trumpeter Delmond, played by Rob Brown also moved to NYC to find his profession.

'Treme' season two looks at the day-to-day journey of its people. A lot going on in the second season. In every episode there are surprising finds. I became involved in the characters lives, and their struggles. Ladonna, played by Khandi Alexander, has a personal tragedy that leads to more grief. There is so much personal grief and trauma that all of the crinme in New Orleans takes its toll. We look at the spirit of the people of New Orleans and in particular, the people we follow. Anthony Bourdain contributes to the food scene. New romances abound, crime increases, the musicians become more authentic. Jon Seda, who plays Nelson Hildago, gives us a glimpse of the FEMA corruption that we have heard about all throughout the aftermath of Katrina. Such wonderful character development by the superb writing team of David Simon and Eric Overmyer. Treme may become as important and as wonderful as my all time favorite series, 'The Wire'. Treme gives us a wonderful drama, a snapshot of a city, and its people, all changing with the seasons.

Highly Recommended. prisrob 07-16-11

Homicide: A Year on the Killing Streets

The Avon Barksdale Story: Legends of the Unwired

Biography - Overmeyer, Eric (1951(?)-): An article from: Contemporary Authors Online
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't understand the bad reviews, April 12, 2012
By 
Eric Rufa (Hendersonville, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Treme: Season 2 (DVD)
One of my favorite shows of all time. People who gripe about lack of specific plot development just don't understand that the show's creators are just trying to create a tapestry. Interwoven layers looking into the lives of the characters... Smart intelligent writing and brilliant acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Only TV Drama That Matters, April 5, 2012
This review is from: Treme: Season 2 (DVD)
David Simon's "Treme" is simply the best dramatic series currently on TV. Period. The second season continues the story of New Orleans with its mosaic of characters from musicians, chefs, chiefs and carpetbaggers looking to make a quick buck from the Big Easy's misfortunes caused by Katrina. If you require loads of explosions, buckets of blood and a car chase ever five minutes this well written program is Not for you. "Treme" is like a great American novel with its many characters and layers that gives the viewer a Dickensian look at one of America's greatest cities, New Orleans. While there is plenty of drama (The Danziger Bridge killings, street crime and City Hall backroom deals) it is the music and the musicians that are consistently the focus in this outstanding series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another New Orleanian weighing in, May 6, 2012
By 
mswnola "msw" (New Orleans, LA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As another New Orleanian who struggled through Katrina and its aftermath, I disagree with the reviewer who says this series depicts life in New Orleans as boring! The subject matter is too close to home for me to speak for other parts of the country, but for me, the 2nd season is as gripping as the first. Each episode surprises me with at least one or two scenes that take my breath away or give me goose bumps as I relive an event I had pushed under the surface. A deceptively mundane example is when Toni's colleague says she is leaving the city, about 18 months after Katrina; I had an instant and visceral flashback to the increasing depression I would feel when another family I knew gave up and left after having been back. There are still plenty of reminders of why the city is worth continuing to stay and rebuild, but overall the city at large seemed to be sinking into depression at this point. The Mayor, the police, violent crime, drug overdoses and back-room deals dealing away a whole neighborhood to build a new hospital when repairing the old ones would have been better for everybody except the developers and the politicians - all of these are touched on.

My only real criticism at this point is the supplemental audio commentary. It is supposed to be about the music, but they skip over some important musical scenes and, like Delmond's New York friends, they make inane cliche-ridden comments on the events of the time; they even make mistakes about the plot line. These guys should stick to filling in the facts about the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not sure what those other people are watching..., April 18, 2012
This review is from: Treme: Season 2 (DVD)
But "Treme" is the best thing I've seen on t.v. in a long, long time. It is pure magic. And for once they got New Orleans spot on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treme Season 2, November 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Treme is one of the best things on TV these days. Just catching up with Seasons 1 and 2. How come I didn't hear about this before? There seems to be plenty of advertising for shows with lots of violence like Boardwalk Empire, etc. but not nearly as much promotion for intelligent drama such as Newsroom and Treme. Kudos to HBO producers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Orleans native., June 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Being from New Orleans and living though Katrina, this series is special. I do not suscribe to HBO. I loved the first season and couldn 't wait for the second set of DVD's. Took a LONG time to get here.
Looking forward to the third season. Has become one of my all time favorite series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Storyline, June 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Treme: Season 2 (DVD)
As always the actors were superb, and the music is out of this world. As soon as you get caught up in drama, the music brings you into what makes New Orleans so exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treme just keeps gettin better, October 7, 2012
I've never enjoyed a television series more... everything about Treme is amazing, but it's the music that I love the most. The story lines are captivating, the characters are real and the musicians make it all come together! Watch it over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Splendid and thought provoking!, June 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Treme: Season 2 (DVD)
Treme enthrals. entertains and educates. The relationships and events in series 2 feast the senses and will have you question the very heart of humanity yet celebrate power of the human spirit in post Katrina New Orleans. Underpinning the process of renewal is the music and musicians... OMG! Amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Treme: Season 2
Treme: Season 2 by Steve Zahn (DVD - 2012)
$59.99 $20.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.