There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

135 of 137 people found the following review helpful
on July 7, 2013
Verified Purchase
(See the October 26, 2013 update near the end of this review for a solution to the white ring/arc present in the nighttime video.)
(See the August 23, 2014 update at the end of this review for the 14 month update.)
(September 20, 2014: If you own this camera, or one of the other TriVision 720P or 1080P cameras, I strongly suggest installing the just released 5.78B (20140916) firmware version. The new firmware version not only adds the ability to adjust the image brightness, contrast, hue, saturation, sharpness, and auto exposure target for the camera through a new Image Setup menu option, but also significantly improves the default color accuracy, contrast, and image sharpness. See the before and after images that I recently uploaded.)

Description of the Attached Video:
The attached video shows several video clips that were triggered by the cameras' motion capture capabilities (most of the specified motion pre-record video segment was trimmed); a variety of day and nighttime clips are included so that image quality and sound capture capabilities may be judged appropriately. The video clips were imported into an application where subtitles were added, and the video was output as a 1920x1080 resolution WMV video file (12 frames per second, with a 4400kbps target - roughly the same as the original recording) with minimal video or sound quality loss. The timestamp at the top-left of the video was added automatically by the cameras during recording.

I recently noticed that TriVision released their NC-326PW 720P security camera in the same bright white bullet housing as their 640x480 (480P) cameras. I ordered four of those 720P cameras. I noticed a couple of days later that TriVision also offered a NC-336PW 1080P camera in the same bright white housing, so I ordered a couple of those cameras and will buy more when the cameras are in stock again.

The NC-336PW cameras came preinstalled with firmware version 5.40 (build 20130516), while TriVision support provided to me firmware version 5.43 (build 20130620). Other than entering a couple of configuration settings, I almost immediately upgraded the cameras to the 5.43 firmware version, which adds the ability to record three, five, or 10 seconds before a motion detection event, increases the recording brightness, and apparently fixes a couple of bugs. The settings were not lost when the new firmware version was installed. The five second pre-motion detection recording (which helps compensate for occasionally late motion detection), combined with a 15 second split time is just about perfect when reviewing thumbnail previews of the recorded video clips using Windows 7's Windows Explorer.

Positives:
* Motion detection simply works. The motion detection had little trouble picking up and triggering the recording of moving cars on a road 180 feet (55 meters) from the camera. Wasps, birds, woodchucks, and skunks also have a hard time evading the motion detection, as well as just about every passing bug at night. It should be possible to connect a $100 PIR device to the camera to reduce the number of false positives, but such a device decreases the motion detection capability from 200+ feet (61 meters) to just 40 feet (12 meters).

* Works with the Multi-Live software that shipped with the older TriVision cameras, but this software does not ship with this camera. Multi-Live provides a quick simultaneous view of up to 36 cameras. Multi-Live shrinks the NC-336PW camera's native 16:9 aspect ratio to a 4:3 aspect ratio without cropping the edges of the image. The supplied Camera Live software is able to find the NC-336PW and NC-326PW cameras, but could not connect to any of the older TriVision cameras. The MultiLive functionality in the Camera Live software seemed to be useless until I determined that I needed to click an icon near the bottom of the screen to add the detected cameras that were of interest (this step is not described in the otherwise excellent manuals).

* Works with the IP Cam Viewer (Basic) app on Android (Motorola Xoom) tablets to allow simultaneous viewing of multiple security cameras, much like the Windows based Multi-Live program - just without audio. The P2PCam264 app, which is recommended by the manual, is able to find the NC-336PW (and NC-326PW) cameras, but is unable to show real-time video from cameras on the Motorola Xoom tablet.

* The NC Setup utility, which also ships with the older cameras, works well with the new cameras to quickly locate and help configure cameras that are still using DHCP assigned IP addresses (I suggest changing all cameras to static IP addresses as soon as possible - the older TriVision cameras were unstable when using DHCP assigned IP addresses).

* Just like the older TriVision cameras, the NC-336PW records videos in Apple QuickTime (.mov) format. Windows 7 and Windows 8 are able to play back that video format natively using the Windows Media Player, while Windows Vista will require a third party program to play back the video.

* While the NC-336PW camera is advertised as supporting 1080P recoding at 15 frames per second, and with the firmware update seemed to offer 30 frames per second at 1080P, Windows reports that most of the videos are recorded at 12 frames per second, possibly to stay within the 4096kbps maximum bit rate. Why is this limitation listed as a positive and not a negative? There are no JPEG type large blocky artifacts in fast motion, as was experienced with a different brand's 1080P cameras. The motion, while a bit like a "flip frame" of 12 static pictures per second, experienced no pauses in motion as was seen with the other TriVision (including the NC-326PW) cameras. In good daylight, it is possible to pause a video of a vehicle traveling 40 MPH (64 KMPH) at a distance of 180 feet (55 meters) from the camera and determine the stylized hole pattern in the vehicle's wheels. That "flip frame" characteristic should also make it possible to easily read vehicle license plates, even when the vehicle is at an angle to the camera.

* Less than one percent of the videos asynchronously uploaded to an FTP server are unusable due to corruption (some of those videos that appear corrupt may be recorded as just 0.001 second video clips). The video upload speed may be throttled to prevent one camera from consuming all wireless bandwidth due to rolling fog or rolling spiders weaving a web in the camera's view. The throttling and asynchronous upload seems to work great - one of the cameras had six hours of spider web weaving spooled up on the memory card, while the camera maintained the specified maximum throughput until all spooled videos were uploaded.

* Core functionality of the camera allows the camera to minimize wireless (or wired when using the integrated 100mbps RJ45 connection) network traffic caused by the camera - the camera does not need to continuously broadcast its video feed to a digital video recorder device for the video with motion to be captured (although the camera can continuously broadcast its video stream with almost no configuration). With the configuration of two tasks in the camera, the camera is able to record motion triggered video to an installed MicroSDHC memory card (I use a SanDisk Ultra 32 GB class 10 card), and then asynchronously upload that video to an FTP server (I use a Synology NAS with the FTP service enabled). With the two task configuration, the camera will continue to record motion triggered video to the internal memory card if the FTP server is unavailable. Video may be uploaded to a NAS or Windows share using a single configured task in the camera; however, the camera will not revert back to using an installed memory card when the NAS or Windows share is unavailable.

* Optional camera tasks are available to schedule periodic captures of still frame JPG images and send those pictures to email servers (the feature is not compatible with all email servers, the manual recommends Google's Gmail - not tested), FTP servers, HTTP web servers (not tested), and to storage (either the configured memory card or a NAS). Additional optional tasks allow sending one or more still frame JPG images to the same destinations when motion is detected.

* Supports multiple video stream types including MPEG4, MJPEG (no audio, although oddly the NC-336PW somehow included audio in the MJPEG steam while the NC-326PW did not), H.264, RTSP audio, HTTP M3U8, HTTP ASF, and JPG image (with a consistent filename). The free VLC Media Player is able to decode and display many of the stream types.

* The camera seems to work very well with Internet Explorer, on both Windows 7 and Windows 8 computers. An ActiveX control will automatically download when the camera is accessed using Internet Explorer, allowing the live video feed from the camera to be viewed during camera configuration of the up to four motion detection sensitive areas. The camera's Live View web page also uses this ActiveX control to display the live video feed from the camera on a simple web page.

* When accessing the camera with the Google Chrome browser, the web browser automatically prompts to download Apple QuickTime program if not already installed. Once downloaded and the plugin is enabled, the QuickTime control is used when configuring the up to four motion sensitive areas, as well as with the camera's Live View web page.

* The camera supports streaming playback of video stored on the optional memory card, allowing quick views of the video. The older TriVision cameras required a much more time consuming process to view video stored on the camera's memory card, a process which downloaded the entire video clip before playback could begin. The recorded video will play back using either the QuickTime control or the TriVision ActiveX control.

* Video uploaded to an FTP server or NAS is stored in a single folder (directory) on the server, which allows quick review of the video uploaded by multiple cameras throughout the day. A different brand's 1080P camera, in contrast, uploads video into a nested directory storage structure of \ Year \ Month \ Day \ Hour \ Minute - that nested directory structure makes it impossible to quickly review video uploaded by one or more cameras.

* The NC-336PW camera seems to have approximately twice as many vertical pixels per inch as the older NC-306W or NC-316W cameras - so each pixel in the older 640x480 cameras is now described by an average of four pixels. The vertical and horizontal area captured by the NC-336PW camera exceeds the area captured by the older 640x480 cameras - there are approximately 60 to 90 additional pixels of viewable image at both the top and bottom of the video, and approximately 320 additional pixels of viewable image at both the left and right of the video (roughly 50% wider viewing area than the older 640x480 cameras). The NC-336PW and the 720P NC-336PW seem to offer the same resolution - the 720P camera appears to simply crop the captured video to roughly the same viewable width as the older 640x480 cameras, and with a smaller viewable height than the older cameras.

* The recorded video in bright sunlight is fantastic if your computer monitor supports at least 1920x1200 resolution (or 1920x1080 resolution if watching the videos full screen). On high resolution monitors, the captured video is slightly muddy in appearance on cloudy days and in the early morning/late evening. The 1920x1080 recorded video will play back on lower resolution monitors, just with a bit less crisp image quality.

* Allows remote viewing of camera video from outside the network (not yet attempted, but there seems to be no reason why this would not work once the network firewall was configured to permit connections and port forwarding was enabled on the firewall, should be a nearly automatic process with a router that supports universal plug and play (uPNP)).

* Connects wirelessly to 802.11b/g/n WEP and WPA2 encrypted networks even when the network SSID is not being broadcast (tested with multiple Cisco Linksys E2000 routers acting as access points, and a Cisco Linksys E4200 router).

* Automatic light intensity adjustment during the daytime, automatically switching to black and white night vision if the automatic infrared lights are enabled.

* Offers two-level user access security to the camera for administrators and regular users.

* Recorded video may be broken up into 60 second intervals (configurable between 10 and 600 seconds) to make certain that the video is transferred quickly to a FTP server - recording will continue for a user specified duration (configurable between 5 and 86400 seconds) after motion detection ends. Continuous recording is also possible, but only to the optional internal memory card.

* Supports mobile devices (iPad, Android) through third party software, as outlined in the manual (tested to work OK with the "IP Cam Basic" app on a Motorola Xoom when setting the camera manufacturer to Sharx).

* The mounting stand, with a three inch diameter round base, works well for mounting the camera to the sides of buildings. Overhead mounting is also possible with the included male-female extender nut. Screws and expandable concrete anchors are included to assist in mounting the camera. The camera also includes a white (nearly) waterproof enclosure for the converter box that the camera connects to - the converter box provides power, wired Ethernet (and power over Ethernet), and digital I/O connectivity with PIR units, amplified speakers, and burglar alarm systems. The white waterproof enclosure eliminates the need to drill a large 5/8 inch (edit: 3/4 inch) diameter hole through the building's wall to allow running the cable extending from the back of the camera to an indoor power source. With the white waterproof enclosure, a roughly 1/4 inch diameter hole will be required for either a Cat 5 Ethernet cable (if using power over Ethernet) or the end connector on the power supply to pass through.

* Configuration is not terribly difficult, but is a bit time consuming when multiple cameras need to be configured. The configuration process is easier than what was required for the TriVision NC-107W, NC-107WF, and NC-306W cameras, but the steps are roughly the same as required by the TriVision NC-316W cameras.

* The cameras are able to automatically synchronize with external time sources (NTP servers found on the Internet, however the time on the cameras tends to drift a bit more than what is acceptable - roughly 30 seconds per week).

* The power supply included with the camera has a very long cord (roughly eight to ten feet) which helps with installation. The cable extending from the back of the camera is a usable length for routing inside a building, although an extra foot of length probably would make installation easier for some locations.

Negatives:
* The perfect motion detection sensitivity and threshold values that work well for the daytime operation are slightly too sensitive at night time with the infrared night vision. The camera will generate a lot of false positive motion detection events at night due to bugs passing by the camera.

* The camera at times seems to have difficulty selecting the correct brightness adjustment for a scene, possibly adjusting the brightness six or more times in the span of two seconds on cloudy days. This rapid brightness adjustment often causes false positive motion detection events.

* With the camera working in complete darkness, relying solely on its infrared lights, a bright ring of light appears near the border of the recorded videos, with the area inside the ring fairly well lit and the area outside the ring sparely lit. The TriVision NC-326PW 720P camera did not exhibit this bright ring - the location of that bright ring may have been in the cropped area of the NC-326PW's recorded video.

* Black and white night vision video is very grainy compared to the night vision video captured by the older TriVision cameras - the older cameras may have applied an extra smoothing operation to the captured black and white image. The file size of the night vision video is roughly the same file size as the daytime recorded video, while the older TriVision cameras produced a significantly smaller night vision file size than that required by their daytime video.

* There is a slight bowing distortion of the video near the top and bottom centers of the recorded video, as well as near the left and right centers of the recorded video.

* The recommended Android app for P2P video could not playback a live video stream on a Motorola Xoom tablet. The included Camera Live software is not fully documented in the printed manual, making it unnecessarily difficult to simultaneously play back video from multiple cameras. The Camera Live software, while it quickly locates the newer TriVision cameras, does not support the older TriVision cameras.

I recommend contacting TriVision support to obtain the latest firmware version before purchasing the camera; if no response is received from TriVision support, then consider purchasing a different product (even though the preinstalled firmware may be completely usable). In the past I had difficulty contacting their support department through their email address when using two different free email addresses, but was successful with a third non-free email address.

-----

Update October 26, 2013:
I now have eight of the NC-336PW cameras, all of which work well. Some of the cameras are using power over Ethernet with up to 150 feet (46 meters) of direct burial Cat 6 cable. Most of the problems and annoyances that I mentioned in the original review have been corrected or addressed by TriVision support. The fixed problems and annoyances include:
* Bright white ring or white arc in night time video - the video attached to this review shows the problem. Six of the eight cameras that I received experienced the white ring or white arc problem; the two cameras bought in September 2013 did not experience that problem (one with a 3.8mm wide angle lens like the other six, and one a with a 6mm narrower angle lens). So far, I have fixed four of the six cameras using the fix described below; the fix also seems to remove some of the graininess of the night time videos.

* Six or more brightness adjustments within two seconds. One of the recent firmware updates (possibly 5.49 or 5.51) corrected the rapid and repeated brightness adjustments; the cameras now perform a single brightness adjustment. The single brightness adjustment still seems to trigger the motion detection possibly 20% to 40% of the time.

* Update firmware recommendation. The cameras seem to ship from the factory with the latest (or very close to latest) firmware version.

* Quick Guide manual provided with the camera recommends the P2PCam264 app and does not describe how to set up the Camera Live software to simultaneously view multiple cameras. The Quick Guide manual was updated in mid to late July 2013 to address those two issues. The Quick Guide now recommends using the free AnyScene app on Android and Apple iOS devices - that app works well on a Motorola Xoom tablet. Page 13 of the Quick Guide manual now describes how to configure the Camera Live software for simultaneous viewing of multiple cameras.

* Less than two second videos occasionally recorded with no picture. I have not seen this issue in a while, so I am not sure if the problem was corrected by a firmware update, or by locating an up to 29dBm wireless access point within 80 feet (24 meters) of the cameras.

* Grainy nighttime video, slightly muddy daytime video when the image captured by the camera is not in direct sunlight. Firmware version 5.45 seemed to improve the daytime and nighttime video quality a bit. The fix to remove the white ring (or arc) at night also seems to have added a bit more detail to the nighttime video. The camera with the 6mm lens makes objects in the captured video larger, for a more zoomed in picture, allowing even easier identification of the type of wheels installed on a car at a distance of 180 feet when the car is traveling at a rate of about 40 MPH. The 6mm lens, while offering roughly a 40% smaller viewing angle (slightly wider than the 640 x 480 TriVisions), exhibits less image distortion at the edges, and the infra-red LEDs cover a greater percentage of the nighttime image. I understand that TriVision is discontinuing the cameras with the 3.8mm wide angle lens, with the final batch at the Amazon fulfillment center. Once those cameras are gone cameras with 6mm and 12mm (an even narrower, more zoomed in view) lens will be offered.

* Now compatible with the Synology Surveillance Station using an ONVIF camera configuration.

New Minor Issues: Camera firmware version 5.45 seems to have introduced occasional stutters in the video recorded to the internal memory card. The same stutter behavior is seen to a greater extent in the NC-326PW, NC-316W, NC-306W, and NC-107W TriVision cameras. Camera firmware version 5.49 removed the ability to throttle the speed of FTP transfers.

--

TriVision support sent a suggestion to me that eliminated the white ring in the night time picture on the four NC-336PW cameras that I tested (directions that I created for the modification follow). For roughly $1 it is possible to fix up to 15 cameras, and if you have small and steady fingers, the fix requires about 10 minutes per camera.

Go to the hardware store and buy a package of washers for #6 bolts - look for thin washers that are about 1/32 inches thick (I used flat internal star/internal tooth lock washers). Spread a towel or something similar under the camera that is able to trap falling screws. I found that cardboard does not work very well because the screws tend to bounce when striking the card board. You will need a #1 Phillips screwdriver (big box stores sell an entire kit of small screwdrivers for about $5 if you do not have a #1 Phillips on hand) to disassemble the internals of the camera, and a #3 Phillips screwdriver to remove the sun shield. You will also need a thin pair of needle nose pliers to set the washers in position, and the Allen wrench that shipped with the camera.

Unplug the camera. Remove the sun shield and lens cover and set them aside. Use the Allen wrench to loosen the mount and rotate the camera so that the lens points straight up, then tighten the mount with the Allen wrench. There are three very small screws that hold the infra-red lights' circuit board in place, remove those screws and put them in a safe place. Remove the infra-red lights' circuit board from the mount and without unplugging it, let it hang from the side of the camera (do not touch any components on the circuit board, handle by the edges only). There are three screws that hold the lens circuit board in place. Remove the screw that is the hardest screw to reach, and put it in a safe place that is easy to reach. Loosen the other two screws as far as possible, but do not remove the screws. Lift the lens circuit board. Use the needle nose pliers to put one of the #6 washers under the lens' circuit board on top of the screw post belonging to the screw that was removed. Very carefully reinstall that screw just far enough so that it grabs in the threads. Remove one of the other two screws and repeat the process of installing the #6 washer and the screw just far enough so that it grabs in the threads. Remove the remaining screw, install the #6 washer, reinstall the last screw, and then tighten all screws. If any screws or washers fell inside the camera body, use the Allen wrench to loosen the mount, put one hand under the camera, and with the other hand rotate the camera on the mount so that the lens faces down. You may need to swing the camera a bit for the screws and washers to fall out into your hand. Finally, reinstall the circuit board for the infra-red lights on the screw posts and screw in the remaining screws to hold the infra-red light's circuit board in place. Reinstall the lens cover, reinstall the sun screen, loosen the mount, plug in the camera, and reposition the camera as necessary.

If all goes well, the process should take about 10 minutes. Make certain that the lens glass and lens cover glass are not touched when performing the modification.

--

Some people may experience problems when trying to switch the camera from a wired connection to a wireless connection. The explanation of the problem is a little technical, so you may want to skip reading the last paragraph. The simple solution is usually, after unplugging the network cable from the camera, to reboot (unplug the power for 30 seconds, and then plug back in) the device into which the network cable was connected (do not reboot the camera - it is not the problem in this case). The camera may then receive a different IP address, so you may need to use the Camera Setup program to find the camera on the network again.

In simple terms, what happens is the device into which the camera was connected remembers "any time someone wants to access the camera, send the communication to Ethernet port nnn". When you unplug the Ethernet cable, the camera will automatically switch to using its wireless network adapter, which has the same fingerprint (MAC address) as the camera's Ethernet port adapter so that the camera's IP address does not change when you unplug the Ethernet cable. What happens is that the router or switch (or whatever you plugged the camera into) continues to insist that the device with the camera's MAC address is found on Ethernet port nnn, even though the camera announces to the network that the camera's MAC address is connected to the wireless "port". The router or switch (or whatever you plugged the camera into) is effectively blocking the communication between your computer and the camera.

The problem boils down to an issue with the router or switch not correctly updating its MAC address routing table when the camera's MAC address jumps from a wired connection to a wireless connection. I have not yet experienced this problem with the NC-336PW cameras, but did encounter the same problem with Y-Cam's Bullet 1080P cameras, and the older TriVision NC-107WF cameras (and probably the NC-306W also). I am guessing that the reason that I did not encounter the problem with the NC-336PW cameras is either because I updated the firmware in my Cisco (Linksys) routers, or because I had multiple Cisco (Linksys) routers (that configuration effectively allows the first router to see that the camera's MAC address is found on the Ethernet port that connects the two routers when the camera jumps to the other router's wireless connection). Ideally, the camera should use a different MAC address for the wireless and wired connections so as not to confuse routers and switches - the problem is that DHCP servers on the network (which hand out IP addresses) use the MAC address to decide if a device should receive the same IP address (I remember you, here is your old IP address again), or a different IP address; the camera would likely have 2 different IP addresses depending on if the camera was using the wireless or wired connection.

--

Using a "Kill A Watt" meter I checked the power requirements of a TriVision NC-336PW camera when using the supplied 12 volt power supply:
Infra-red lights off, Ethernet connection, one client viewing 1080P stream: 0.06 AMPs (120V), 3.6 Watts
Infra-red lights on, Ethernet connection, one client viewing 1080P stream: 0.10 AMPs (120V), 5.6 Watts
Infra-red lights off, Wireless 802.11g (no antenna to simulate a weak signal), one client viewing 1080P stream: 0.07 AMPs (120V), 3.9 Watts
Infra-red lights on, Wireless 802.11g (no antenna to simulate a weak signal), one client viewing 1080P stream: 0.10 AMPs (120V), 5.9 Watts

So, it appears that the camera requires 3.6 Watts for basic operation, uses 2 additional watts when the infra-red LEDs are used, and uses 0.3 additional watts when connected wirelessly

-----

Update August 23, 2014 (14 month update):
I now have 16 of these cameras. While the cameras still are not perfect (primarily contrast problems when part of the scene is dark while part of the scene is well lit), the cameras have been extremely reliable for their intended purpose as security cameras. Each camera has a SanDisk 32GB class 10 microSDHC memory card installed, with the cameras configured to upload recorded videos to a Synology NAS using FTP. I have not had to replace the memory card in any of the cameras, although I have had to reformat the memory card from one camera using a computer three times, and the memory card from another camera twice.

I still use the MultiLive program that shipped with the old 640x480 TriVision cameras for a quick view of all cameras at a site, even though the MultiLive program does not produce high quality video playback from the cameras (it seems to pull the camera's lower resolution secondary video stream). I recently determined that I could construct a simple web page stored on my computer's desktop to create a MultiLive-like play back with live high resolution video feeds from all cameras within an Internet Explorer web browser window (using the camera's ActiveX control), so I may make the transition to that method of multi-camera live viewing. The Windows version of the CameraLive program (there is now a Mac version included on the CD that ships with the camera), even the latest version with a June 3, 2014 date stamp, still lacks the multi-camera live viewing flexibility of MultiLive (or my Internet Explorer simulation of MultiLive).

I noticed that the night time vision of some of the NC-336PW cameras seemed to be a bit darker than I had recalled. Earlier this week I checked nine of the cameras that are at least eight months old, and found that either the top half or the bottom half of the cameras' infra-red LEDs had failed on four cameras. One or two of the other cameras had a couple of slightly dim infra-red LEDs. I contacted TriVision support through email yesterday, and received a response a short time later stating that replacement infra-red LED light boards would be sent to me for free under warranty - I was also provided with a firmware update that was released on August 18, 2014 (that firmware update uses the Adobe Flash Player for stored video playback, rather than the Apple QuickTime player). The TriVision Tech company is still in business, even if their website is still unavailable.

As some other reviewers have noticed, the current TriVision NC-336PW cameras ship with a 6mm lens that provides a roughly 60 degree viewing angle (not 90 degrees as stated on the product page, as was the case for the original NC-336PW). I installed a 4mm lens into four of my recently purchased cameras to provide a wider angle, roughly 90 degree view. When installing the last two lenses I found that it really was not necessary to remove the infra-red light board, so that procedure change made short work of the lens switch. The wide-angle lenses may be purchased here:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00IHA4C5E/

I installed the 5.57 firmware on all of my NC-336PW cameras in late December 2013, shortly before the polar vortex and the accompanying -14F temperatures arrived. None of the cameras had any problem operating for the day and a half when the temperature did not rise above -13F. I just checked nine of the NC-336PW cameras and found that three have operated continuously for 242 days (the date that the 5.57 firmware was installed), one has operated continuously for 205 days (the memory card corrupted 205 days ago, so the camera had to be powered down), and the remaining cameras have operated continuously for 60, 51, 44, 9, and 1 days (these cameras self-rebooted for some reason). Even for those cameras that tend to self-reboot on occasion, the cameras have always worked when needed.

Overall, even though I have experienced some minor issues, I would not hesitate to purchase another TriVision NC-336PW (unless, of course, TriVision or some other company released a 4K ultra high definition resolution security camera with similar functionality).
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
108108 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on August 31, 2013
Verified Purchase
I chose this camera because it advertised all the features I was looking for, which were:

1. Record to NAS cabability. Does not work with large NAS, mine is 3TB. As of this write up their tech support is still working on a fix.
2. POE 802.3af. It does work with POE but the attached POE adapter is bulky about 4inch by 4inch with a 2.5ft cable. When you mount the camera on a ceiling or a wall you have this 2.5ft of cable and the adapter that will remain visible. It won't be a clean mount that only shows the camera and cat6 cable.
3. HD H.264 stream. No problem here.
4. NightVision capable. No problem here, just know It does with IR and picture will be black/white as expected.
5. External weatherproof. No problem here.
6. Record to onboard MicroSD. 32GB max and not included. No problem here.
7. Audio Stream over the H.264. No complaint.
8. Wireless b/g/n 2.4ghz. It would be nice if it had 5ghz n. But no complaint

I am giving it 3 stars because my #1 reason for purchasing it was for the NAS capability, not working with mine because it's too large. My #2 reason was for POE so that I would not need bulky power injectors. This doesn't have a separate power injector, but the attached POE adapter is just a bulky as a power injector and does not make for a clean installation. If recording to NAS is not a feature you need, and you don't need a clean aesthetic install then this camera for the price is worth it.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on September 8, 2013
Verified Purchase
In addition to all of the usual security benefits of a camera, we wanted something that would help us to know when someone drives into the yard as the visibility on that side of the house is poor.

This turned out to be an outstanding choice, there are a ton of features here for the money.

Installation was pretty straightforward & much easier than I would have expected.

I did not use the WIFI features as I had a CAT5 cable run near the camera. I mounted mine on the siding of the garage, right beneath the over-hang, so that is what I will describe here.

The camera itself connects to a mount that you screw into the siding with three screws, which they provide. The mount has excellent tilt/swivel capabilities, so once you have it attached to the wall, you loosen an allen screw and adjust to get the view you are seeking & then tighten it down to lock it in place.

There is a cable running out of the back of the camera. You'll need to drill a 3/4" hole through the siding to get the connector & cable through. The cable is about 2ft long - I didn't recognize it as being any sort of standard cable that you could extend. Push the cable through into the attic.

Inside the attic you screw the cable from the camera into the control box. They provide a nice waterproof enclosure for this box if you need to mount it outside.

You plug your CAT5 cable and/or AC power adapter into the control box in the attic.

If your network switch offers POE you can skip the AC adapter. It wasn't clear to me before I purchased the item if this camera included a POE injector, so to be clear, it does not. They recommend the NETGEAR ProSAFE 8-Port Fast Ethernet with 4 Port PoE Desktop Switch (FS108P).

Once the device is plugged in you need to do the standard IP setups. I was able to configure the camera just fine by putting a DHCP reservation into the router & then connecting to the camera's IP. I always appreciate not having to load unnecessary software.

The web interface is low on beeps & whistles but very functional & it gets the job done.

The quality of the image itself is outstanding, as is the audio recording. I can easily hear people talking in their "outside voices".

I was able to setup the camera to email an alert & a snapshot when it detects motion in certain zones of the camera's vision. Very, very cool. I did have to turn off the motion sensor at night due to the bug's attraction to the IR. I will try turning off IR and putting units elsewhere as another reviewer suggested.

I have it streaming in HD to a NAS device, so far after running for about 40 hours I've used about 64GB of storage.

The P2P option is also excellent - I did not need to do any config in my router to be able to view the camera on my iPhone. That is really cool and a little scary all in one - not sure what the security implications of that really are.

Overall I can't say enough good things about this camera, I am very pleased!

*** Update 1/12/2014 ***
Have had this camera up & running for several months now & I don't know what we did before we had it.

This week temperatures dropped to -30F with wind chills in the -50F range. I was curious how the camera would do outdoors & with the control box in an unheated attic.

In short: it did awesome. It was so flawless I never would have known it was cold outside.

Prior to buying this camera I considered several models that had defrosting capabilities & I'm pleased to say that so far I'm good without it.

I emailed tech support for a firmware upgrade a few weeks ago & they were very responsive & sent me a link to the update. Install went smoothly & knocked out a few minor flaws with time stamps.

Several months into ownership, this is still a 5-star product.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on November 23, 2013
Verified Purchase
After having a horrible experience with the Y-Cam Bullet HD 1080, (with which I lost months of time and hundreds of dollars) I am happy to report that this TriVision NC-336PW WiFi & POE HD1080P camera has not only met, but exceeded my expectations. This will be my "goto" camera from now on for all my clients who are in need of HD IP cameras. It works reliably without any fuss and the light sensitivity of the camera is phenomenal. I've also used the highly praised Sharx outdoor IP cameras, but the Shark's image quality at night time is far darker and the resolution is far less than this TriVision. This is a very nice outdoor IP camera. The only negative is that it utilizes a somewhat bulky junction box/power adapter (which is required for all connection methods be it POE, etc.), but so do the Sharx cameras.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on February 14, 2014
Verified Purchase
Not too user friendly. After spending a few hours trying to make it viewable on my cell phone, I gave up and emailed Trivision for assistance. I was told that I needed to upgrade the camera software. So they sent me a link to upgrade. I upgraded it but still does not work with their Anyscene software given in the camera package. Anyscene App works fine on my Iphone now. The picture is clear, but for the money I expected a less hassle free hook up. I believe when you buy something new you should not need to do any upgrades. It's like going to buy a TV set and need to upgrade it before you are able to use it. I bought an exact looking camera in 2012 under a different name "Sharx". Now they are not around anymore. It's like now they are called Trivision. These Chinese companies come and go and they open under a new name and keep you hanging .
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on October 16, 2014
Verified Purchase
I read the reviews on many different cameras before purchasing, and originally purchased a Foscam FI9806W. While it performed satisfactorily, it was far too large, cumbersome, and not easily camouflaged to blend in. I then purchased a Midas-Link ML-203W with the same thought of not wanting to spend $300 on a security camera. After having two break-ins in one week, we decided that electing not to spend the extra $150 what appeared to be the same specifications was a poor choice. Enter the TriVision NC-336PW.

After purchasing and returning 4 separate systems, I elected to order two NC-336PWs, with low expectations. I received them in two days (thanks Amazon Prime!). Upon arrival, I found that the cameras were packaged extremely well, and the contents appeared to be of much higher quality than anything I had seen thus far. I plugged in the cameras, and setup was complete in a matter of seconds. After configuring the cameras, I set them in their locations and ran a test. Wirelessly I am consistently getting over 1mbps, 20fps videos in 1080p resolution while simultaneously running both cameras. The night vision and microphone perform flawlessly, bringing in HD quality video night and day.

The TriVision AnyScene software that is free to download for Android and iOS works almost perfectly. I can view all of the feeds from any of my mobile devices, as well as on my MacBook Pro using SecuritySpy (set up with Y-Cam settings).

To sum this review up - if you are looking to purchase security cameras for your home or office and are worried about the price, take your security seriously. I was not willing to spend the extra money up front, and returned 4 systems until I found the quality and reliability I was looking for. BUY THESE CAMERAS. The peace of mind you will get from constant recording, cloud updates, HD video, sound monitoring, and reliable and easy to use software will more than satisfy your requirements and expectations about what a camera should be.

One word of advice - the cameras are not small, but are far more attractive looking than many of the other cameras out there. The Midas-Link cameras are far smaller, but run on ActiveX which is COMPLETELY incompatible with Mac OSX. These TriVision cameras are regular ip cameras that will run on any computer or device with an internet browser. I HIGHLY recommend them!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on January 5, 2014
Verified Purchase
I bought this camera because of the consistently great reviews (for TriVision in general) compared to other cameras. It's a little more expensive than sum, but I figured this is because it's a better camera, hence the better reviews. I bought it to install at a vacation home, both for security and to check the weather remotely. The camera was easy to set up with Apple Airport utility 5.6. The instructions that came with the camera were for setting up with Airport 5.6, however if you email tech support they will send you instructions for setting up with Airport 6.3. I found tech support to be very helpful and responsive. I received replies with one day on two separate occasions. I am using the camera with WiFi. No problems with range or stability, which were complaints from some of the other cameras. I use the "Anyscene" app for both iPad and iPhone. It works great. One suggestion for use with a Mac OS system, the installation CD is a "mini" cd which is unusable by most Mac computers. Tech support will email you a link to download all of the software on the CD, and I would suggest that you get that. There is a camera setup utility in the package which will make things easier. It's not necessary, but it's easier.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on October 30, 2013
Verified Purchase
Let's be honest. Charles Hooper's review is spot on. I bought this camera based on his thorough and detailed review. This security camera is top notch and worth every penny. Wireless connectivity, power over ethernet feature, nightvision, built in microphone, motion detection, etc. this security camera is simply awesome!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on February 8, 2015
Verified Purchase
I'm very happy with my two TriVision NC-336PW cameras. This forum has been more than helpful to me so I thought I'd post my initial findings too. Hope it helps someone. You wont regret your purchase!

Some notes and comments:

Camera Quality: Solid construction, every seam and screw or connection is sealed and despite "only" a 1 year warranty it at least feels like it will last longer than anything else I've used. As others have noted, for some outdoor locations there is a bit of a large (but sealed) j-box like connector that you will have to deal with.

Price: Clearly this camera is almost double the price of many others that might appear comparable. If you care about image and camera quality, flexibility in configuration then you will assuredly not have buyer's remorse. On the fence? Buy one of the other crap cameras and you'll be back here shortly trolling the reviews again. Sometimes you have to experience pain before you know what to do. I did.

POE: After talking to support it appears that the NC-336W model now also includes the Power Over Ethernet (PoE) feature. It seems to be that if you order a NC-336W model you will receive the NC-336PW. It would be helpful if Trivision would update their listing to confirm. I'm using a TP-LINK TL-SF1008P which has 4 PoE ports and it works great. No extra power supply needed by the camera - just one Ethernet cable.

Image Quality: Image quality is amazing. Crisp color all around. Blows the Foscam FI9804W 720P out of the water (to be fair I compared a secondary stream setup with similar parameters). Night vision seems to be very good. I still need to play with the Moonlight only option vs LED. The Foscam had a huge halo around it - this does not.

Built in NVR: I love this feature. For my setup I push high resolution images to the cameras SD card (purchased separately) only on motion/alarm. Thus far the 64 gig MicroSD seems more than adequate especially since I'm writing only on motion. It will delete the older images - a rolling first in last out. My only complaint (ok, it's a feature request) is that when using the "Send files in storage to FTP server" camera option it sends everything on the MicroSD card. This issue is that you can configure the camera to write .mov or .jpg files there depending on what you want. I'd prefer to be able to select which files I push/archive to my FTP location based on a mask or maybe even by type (ex; .jpg only but not .mov files). Workaround is to simply FTP jpg images on alarm directly without locally storing them first. However, I kinda liked the background storage process coupled with the auto delete on FTP with the "send files in storage to FTP server" option.

Access to local camera Video/Snapshots: Getting to the camera videos is a snap from either the Anyscene (I used iOS) app or by simply connecting to the IP directly with a browser. Beware that Quicktime on Google Chrome 64-bit for Mac is no longer supported so you'll have to use Firefox or something else for the video playback. Small inconvenience. The Anyscene app uses P2P so it's pretty simple to connect from your phone when not at home on your local network to take a look at the live or recorded video (no router config generally required for most people OOTB). I tested the Anyscene with a few of the sample ID's that were floating within the comments. It gives you a good sense of the camera/images but remember this is from a different lower quality feed to help with bandwidth. I like the camera control from the app - ability to change a few key settings.

Offsite/Cloud Image Storage: I'm still going back and forth on an offsite (cloud) storage option. The local camera MicroSD HD storage is obviously only good if the camera is not destroyed or stolen itself. I like the option to have a plan b in place so I can play back the tape as necessary. I'm not a fan of having a local NVR or FTP server on premises somewhere in my house. I'm also willing to compromise a bit to have HD images on the camera that I can pull from as a first course of action and then taking a bit of risk by having an offsite plan b option even if it means image quality is a bit lower. I've used MangoCam for over a year now and love it. They have options to direct stream to the camera. This requires you to know how to setup your local router with DynDNS or similar and to open ports direct to the camera - TriVision docs are good here if you've not done it before. With the MangoCam direct streaming option it is always connected "viewing" your stream. You have the option to record 24x7 and/or record on motion to help limit your remote storage consumption. Playback, motion thresholds, notifications etc can then be configured within the MangoCam website. Price is right too and they have plans with various storage/retention options. Potential downside for some is that you are using upstream bandwidth from your location to the Mangocam servers 24x7 and you generally need to compromise with your camera stream configurations to be sub-1080p and with fewer frames/sec. Pushing 1080p full can swamp a link. Alternatively, Mangocam has an FTP option too which allows you to "push" jpg images to their site (up to 1 meg each) from your camera (easily configured from the NC-336PW camera interface - "FTP Alarm Sending" or "FTP Periodic Sending"). This is maybe a bit more flexible as you can easily configure when and how much you push. For this FTP setup I also like CameraFTP.com - wavering a bit between the two but I like the more direct stream option with Mangocam. BTW - the camera supports pushing to a DropBox account too. I've not used.

Look alike Models: It appears that the Sharx or Y-Cam cameras are physically similar with key differences in firmware/software. You've seen how several cars use the same running gear/platform but they look a bit different or have different badging (aka - Chevrolet Traverse/Buick Enclave/GMC Acadia - all the same car). It seems similar here. Maybe someone has more details on this. I would have liked to have known a bit more but could not find any details here. An example (FWIW, I could be incorrect) - appeared the Sharx did not support P2P (see above Trivision does) connections. I nearly went with a Sharx but took a bit of a leap here based on the support and setup flexibility. Some have made comments about the look and feel of the UI in that the Trivision may not be quite as polished. This has not bothered me. My focus was on feature/function.

Support: Support has been GREAT. Big shout out to Pingan Chen in particular. Turn-around is pretty quick. Do I wish there was an 800# to call? Maybe. Thus far the VERY clear responses and guidance has been great - despite some initial concerns of their location and time zone differences. Here is how I look at it. I'm willing to wait a few hours for a knowledgeable and complete reply as opposed to calling a support number and fighting with a telephone tree and then only to get a level 1 person who has NO idea how to help you. Email the support address with firmware version, specific details and you will get a solid response.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on July 22, 2013
Just finished setting up the new Trivision NC-336PW HD 1080P, I have to say what a surprise, the clarity of the camera is amazing, just like HDTV. The build quality excellent, IR at night time, seriously you have to see it to believe it, I've used other cameras but this one is really leaps and bounds above the rest.
What an easy camera to set up, simple instructions easy to follow. I found the first one so good that I purchased a second one and I am delighted with both. I have downloaded an app"Anyscene"from the android store for my Galaxy 4S which works fine and also the app"Anyscene" from the apple app store for my iPhone which also works well, both were easy to set up. Installed the"cameraLive" apps on attached installation CD for my PC, so I can manage multi cameras viewing from my windows computer, it would be fair to say I do have some but not a lot of tech ability, so if I can do it I guess most could with some limited tech knowledge. To install the app on the phone was so easy I would say most people could follow that quite easily and be up and running in no time. If you get stuck contact the camera support via email ( address provided in the initial pack instructions) and you will find they are very helpful and very quick at responding. Overall I am well pleased with this product.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 146 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.