Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a fine set, June 24, 2002
By 
p dizzle "p dizzle" (augusta, georgia, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Triangulo (Audio CD)
mr. camilo is a wonderful latin jazz pianist, but with a different approach than say chu valdes. whereas mr. valdes literally burns up the keyboard, mr. camilo, on this album, takes a lighter approach avoiding the sameness of bossa nova, but with a gentler swing than mr. valdes' eruptions. the nood is more like a warm evening looking over the gulf--the rhythm is there, but it swings like the waves coming in. the orginal tunes shine, but for me the highlights were dizzy gillespie's "con alma" and the haunting, almost nothingness of "just like you." the delicacy leaves leaning toward the speakers to catch every whispered note. enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best ever!, July 3, 2002
By 
Gustavo L. Moré "Cuquito" (Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Triangulo (Audio CD)
The interplay with Horacio and Anthony is simply superb. Relaxed but with plenty detail, this record its truly a genuine work of art, the result of a well honed process towards maturity...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a drummer!, October 9, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Triangulo (Audio CD)
There's an intense interplay between all three players on Triangulo. Michel Camilo plays with wonderful melodic and harmonic imagination, and truly amazing rhythmic intensity. Team him up with Horacio "El Negro" Hernandez , and explosions occur. He's like Elvin Jones and Tony Williams combined. I loved "On Fire", but this one's astonishing. Not all the numbers are fast , I guess to give you a rest , but when they crank it up it sounds like they might break something. This is a beautiful CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful record period., September 15, 2004
This review is from: Triangulo (Audio CD)
I bought this record because I'm a fan of the bass player, Anthony Jackson. But now I'm a fan of Michel and El Negro as well. What an amazing recording/performance. I especially love the mature, tasteful interplay between all three musicians. Obviously, Michel is the focal point. But the contributions of Jackson and Hernandez must not be overlooked or understated. Their performances have helped make this an instant classic. This is a mature, well-written and executed live recording from start to finish. No wonder it won a Grammy. Wonderful recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Jazz, Great Melody, Great Record, June 5, 2002
By 
Samuel Diaz Rojas (San Juan, PR Puerto Rico) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Triangulo (Audio CD)
I saw the trio at the Puertorican Heineken Jazzfest and I thought there just amazing. For those of you who like fast paced Latin Jazz and also a little bit of slow jazz, you will love this record. I just can't seem to put the record down. Buy it!! I'm sure you won't regret it! Keep on rocking to the clave!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Latin Jazz Triangulo Excites, May 18, 2002
By 
This review is from: Triangulo (Audio CD)
Latin jazz is often recorded with large ensembles and heavy percussion-and some of Michel's best recordings have been in this setting. This record, however, is a glimpse at Latin jazz in a trio setting, and these 3 artists offer truly exciting interplay. They unite a focused, intimate approach with startling physicality for a trio. It's important to note that this is not merely a solid Latin or trio record- it's jazz at it's finest; spontaneous and highly expressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying, July 6, 2009
By 
Karl W. Nehring (Ostrander, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Triangulo (Audio CD)
Triangulo is a satisfying Latin-inflected piano trio recording by pianist Michael Camilo, who is admirably supported by Anthony Jackson on bass and Horacio "El Negro" Hernandez on drums. Six of the 10 cuts are by Camilo, plus there are tunes by Mike Manieri, Dizzy Gillespie, Ernesto Lecuona, and Chano Dominguez. As good as Camilo is on piano, it is Hernandez who really steals the show with his energetic, imaginative, but never overbearing work on drums. Whether the tune is slow or fast, things seem to cook right along, with the three musicians working together to keep the drive alive.

The cover proclaims that Triangulo is a DSD recording; curiously enough, however, the liner notes assert that the recording formats included 2" 24-track (!) analog, 15 IPS Dolby SR, and Sony DSD. In any event, the sound quality is up to the usual Telarc standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cooooool, baby, real cool, April 18, 2002
By 
John L. Anderson (Lynchburg, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Triangulo (Audio CD)
Yeah, this is a modern jazz recording, but it is a laid-back, sophisticated, mellow modern jazz recording. And none of the pieces gets more mellow than track four, "Afterthought." This is one of those, turn-the-lights-down, take-the-phone-off-the-hook recordings that needs to be listened to as dusk is slowing morphing into nighttime. And the sound? It's great -- you've not heard jazz (or any music, for that matter) until you've heard it on an SACD recording. Telarc's very fine multichannel SACD recording is the absolute best. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When sidemen rule..., March 21, 2007
This review is from: Triangulo (Audio CD)
...you get an album like triangulo.

The playing is stellar, the writing , as usual with michel camilo recordings " a little sweet...".

Since I received this it has become one of my very favourites.

To a large extend this is due to the rhythmsection who , In my eyes outclasses Michel, and that means something ,I think...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Camillo cd Triangulo, July 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Triangulo (Audio CD)
Pianist and composer Michel Camilo was born in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, in 1954. Fascinated with music since childhood, he composed his first song at the age of five, then studied for 13 years at the National Conservatory. At 16, he became a member of the National Symphony Orchestra. This just leads to a great cd, Mr. Camillo is the greatest composer piano player in the world including Anthony Jackson on bass and one of the greatest drummers. This is a must for you Latin music lovers, like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Triangulo
Triangulo by Michel Camilo (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.