Customer Reviews


211 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book and series
Trickster's Point by William Kent Krueger
Atria Books, 2012
Review by Ed Shannon

Perhaps joy and hope are strange words to describe a murder mystery; but with a writer of William Kent Krueger's skill, suspense and mystery rise above normal descriptors.

The newest novel in Krueger's Cork O'Connor series, Trickster's Point, is not only...
Published on August 21, 2012 by Ed Shannon

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favorite Cork book
I have enjoyed all the Cork O'Conner books but this one seemed to drag a little for me after reading about 40% of the book. I have never been a big fan of flashbacks and this book contained a great many of them. I grew weary of their individual lives and all the baggage they seem to drag around. They must all have had bent backs from the psychological weight they...
Published on September 11, 2012 by Gulliver


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book and series, August 21, 2012
By 
This review is from: Trickster's Point: A Novel (Cork O'Connor Mystery Series) (Hardcover)
Trickster's Point by William Kent Krueger
Atria Books, 2012
Review by Ed Shannon

Perhaps joy and hope are strange words to describe a murder mystery; but with a writer of William Kent Krueger's skill, suspense and mystery rise above normal descriptors.

The newest novel in Krueger's Cork O'Connor series, Trickster's Point, is not only tightly crafted and plotted but also a joy to read. Set in the beauty of Northern Minnesota, the novel begins with O'Connor being interrogated about the death of Jubal Little, the odds on favorite to win Minnesota's election for Governor. The initial evidence points to Cork and drives him to clear himself and search for the murderer of his childhood friend. Filled with credible suspects and motives, the novel follows Cork as the past and present flow together in a mystery that continually surprises and examines the nature of love and friendship, of the complexities of human nature.

An integral part of the joy in this novel, as well as the entire series, is the manner in which Krueger combines a taut mystery and Native American culture with the humanity of his main character, Cork O'Connor. Cork is flawed but also much more. He is named Ogichidaa, one who stands between--between his people and evil. Cork rises above tragedy and danger in a search for truth; but truth is not always justice, justice not always truth. He must strive to balance his Shinnob heritage and his law enforcement background as he faces the darkness of human nature while protecting his people, friends, and family. This conflict as well as the central murder mystery make Cork O'Connor one of the most intriguing protagonists in the entire suspense genre. In fact, he is so well crafted that Krueger's novels rise above the label of genre to those books that force us to face our own humanity, our own flaws.

Joy and hope. Yes, the writing is a joy with its well-plotted mystery and flowing description of Minnesota's natural beauty. Yes, there is joy in Cork's acceptance of the existence of tragedy and evil but also in an unending belief in hope. Hope that light overcomes darkness, that balance can be achieved. This hope is inherent in the Shinnob culture, in Cork's Irish Catholic heritage and is skillfully achieved in William Kent Krueger's novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favorite Cork book, September 11, 2012
By 
Gulliver (New Braunfels, TX, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trickster's Point: A Novel (Cork O'Connor Mystery Series) (Hardcover)
I have enjoyed all the Cork O'Conner books but this one seemed to drag a little for me after reading about 40% of the book. I have never been a big fan of flashbacks and this book contained a great many of them. I grew weary of their individual lives and all the baggage they seem to drag around. They must all have had bent backs from the psychological weight they carried. After reading about 70% of the book, I began to get more interested in the characters again and made it to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trickster's Point was great!, August 22, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Brooklyn Park, MN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After eagerly awaiting the release date of Trickster's Point I devoured this book, reading it all on the day it was released. Like Krueger's past mysteries, this one featured a tightly woven story of both past and present to set up the intense story of friendship, betrayal, love, deceit, and community. About the only thing I missed that was present in some earlier Krueger books was Trickster's Point doesn't focus much at all on Cork's family life. One daughter was barely present except via some electronic communication with him and his other two kids were on the sideline for this installment of the series. Still, Krueger had me guessing until the end with another great novel and I already can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kent Krueger's TRICKSTER'S POINT Brings Out The Best (and Worst) of Its Characters, September 8, 2012
This review is from: Trickster's Point: A Novel (Cork O'Connor Mystery Series) (Hardcover)
William Kent Krueger is one of those authors I have not only come to enjoy as a reader but respect as a craftsman. The way he is able to bring a storyline together full of rich characters and a plot that draws you in is nothing short of amazing. In TRICKSTER'S POINT we see him work his magic yet again.

We find our beloved main character Cork O'Connor involved in a murder investigation where HE is the suspect. And this is not just any murder, but the murder of someone who is a friend of O'Connor, someone he has a deep history with.

As the story unfolds we are able to go back into the history of O'Connor and the slain politician Jubal Little and see not only what it is that brought them together but also what threatened to tear them apart----as well as the woman at the center of it all.

There is a real message for readers of this book that I kept coming back to time and again: you can't save someone who doesn't truly want to be saved or doesn't think they need to be saved. To go down that road can lead you into a place and situation that could tear apart all that you have done and what you can become.

For O'Connor we are able to see exactly what kind of friends he had surrounded himself with, and the book allows us to take a closer look into the man he has become and how his past has affected who he has become. With any book written by Krueger you couldn't discuss it without also acknowledging the silent characters of the book that are the location and the surroundings. They also help to bring the book to life and serve as partners along the way for their human counterparts.

Trickster's Point definitely shows how events can bring out the best and worst of individuals, and once again author William Kent Krueger does it in a way that will keep you glued to the pages until the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great story from Krueger., August 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Krueger returns with Cork O'Connor and his family. They live in Aurora, Minnestota - a small town abutting the reservation. Cork is part Shinnob and walks the fine line between the Indians on the rez and the whites of the town.

The story opens with the death of Jubal Little. Little was once O'Connor's best friend. Someone put an arrow through his heart, and knowing he was going to die Cork stayed with him for three hours and listened to the final words of his friend. Of course, the arrow - which turns out to be one just like Cork's handmade - puts O'Connor squarely in the middle of the investigation.

Little was about to be elected governor of Minnesota - on a platform that did not sit well with the Indians of the rez or anyone who loved the great Northwoods. A number of people, both from the past and present, have motive to want him dead. But who has motive to want him dead and Cork convicted of the killing? As former sheriff of the town Cork understands the necessity of the thorough investigation, but human nature makes him push back against the suspician.

Krueger's books are like being enveloped in a warm blanket. His description of northern Minnesota and the natural beauty of the land is woven masterfully throughout the book. The familiar cast of O'Connor's family and friends are like literary comfort food. The mystery keeps you turning the pages, but the physical beauty of the area and the spiritual nature of the Shinnobs reel you in as well. Krueger masterfully weaves the present and the past - finding Little's killer is presented against the circumstances that make O'Connor and Little friends so long ago.

A great series, highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sloooowly gathering a clue here and there, October 20, 2012
By 
Giordano (Georgia., Ga. USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trickster's Point: A Novel (Cork O'Connor Mystery Series) (Hardcover)
I've enjoyed the series over the years Krueger can write and move his story along........but this latest book was a bit flat for me. The current time period was very thin, the characters and the crime Cork had to solve didn't really work. Cork spent a lot of time driving around revisiting the same places, people and landscape as he sloooowly gathered up a clue here and there.

The flashbacks had more energy plus a good coming of age story.

All in all the book read like two novellas spliced together. I'm glad I got my copy from the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trickster's Point, September 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have read ALL of William Kruegers's books and this one for some reason did not hold my interest like the others have .The book sort of bounced back and forth from past to present ...this writing did not have the strong character profiles most of his other books have had .After waiting a year for his book ...I was somewhat disappointed .....would also love more about Henry Meloux's younger life ...I look forward to this character in each book ...I will still follow Krueger next year in hopes of a better book ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much more than a mystery novel., June 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the first of Krueger's novels that I have read. It won't be the last. His characters are not one-dimensional cut outs. They are satisfyingly complex, and reveal themselves slowly over the course of the novel. I found myself becoming moe and more involved with the individual characters' stories as the author confounds your expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mature Mystery and Great Read, June 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well-written mystery with good character development. The complexities of human relationships and behavior are explored. I was sorry when the book ended, and I look forward to reading more of Mr. Krueger's works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars after reading the first one, bought them all, June 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I made a list and tried reading them in order that they were written. Now another family member has done the same and read more in 2 months than the previous 5 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Trickster's Point: A Novel (Cork O'Connor Mystery Series)
Trickster's Point: A Novel (Cork O'Connor Mystery Series) by William Kent Krueger (Hardcover - August 21, 2012)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.