Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Midwestern look at Texas
Calvin Trillin is always a fascinating, insightful writer and one with a sardonic sense of humor His words and stories on Texas lack much of the usual tongue in cheek humor for many of the pieces.
He writes of the Texas justice system and tensions between Anglos and Chicanos and there is much on the antiquarian book trade and book scouting. There are of course...
Published on May 6, 2011 by wogan

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Calvin Trillin has wrtten much better books
I am a great fan of Calvin Trillin's work and would give most of it five stars. This one falls short. It is a collection of essays previously published elsewhere with connections (sometimes very loose connections) to the state of Texas. As he has not written a lot about Texas, the editor seems to have stretched both in topic and quality. Is a story that takes place in...
Published on June 29, 2011 by Contrarian


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Midwestern look at Texas, May 6, 2011
This review is from: Trillin on Texas (Bridwell Texas History Series) (Hardcover)
Calvin Trillin is always a fascinating, insightful writer and one with a sardonic sense of humor His words and stories on Texas lack much of the usual tongue in cheek humor for many of the pieces.
He writes of the Texas justice system and tensions between Anglos and Chicanos and there is much on the antiquarian book trade and book scouting. There are of course stories on BBQ and the Bush family, not much at all on LBJ.

Despite his Midwest background, he does explain his Texas 'connection' and how his relatives wound up immigrating into the US through Galveston.
This is not the Calvin Trillin that we usually expect, but it is, as always a satisfying and worthy of note book to pick up and read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Calvin Trillin has wrtten much better books, June 29, 2011
By 
Contrarian (New York City) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trillin on Texas (Bridwell Texas History Series) (Hardcover)
I am a great fan of Calvin Trillin's work and would give most of it five stars. This one falls short. It is a collection of essays previously published elsewhere with connections (sometimes very loose connections) to the state of Texas. As he has not written a lot about Texas, the editor seems to have stretched both in topic and quality. Is a story that takes place in Philadelphia about an antiquarian book seller who lives in (as I recall) Maryland but who has written some books set in Texas "on Texas"? More importantly, the editor has stretched by including work not up to Bud's usual high standards of humor or insight.

I DO HIGHLY recommend "American Stories" if you are looking for a great collection of Trillin's short pieces similar to this one or "Messages from my Father" for book rather than a collection of short pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trillin is always enjoyable., November 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In addition to the relatively brief humor pieces for which he's known, Trillin also contributes longer articles that demonstrate his abilities as a journalist. They may not be as funny, but they are well-crafted enough to hold one's attention, especially the one about the late Dallas Times Herald and one of its most popular features: Joe Bob Briggs' colorful (to say the least) reports on drive-in movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Calvin Trillin, September 20, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trillin on Texas (Bridwell Texas History Series) (Hardcover)
I have been reading Mr. Trillin's essays for years. His humor, insights, and style get me laughing and thinking. I am retired and love to read. I have a growing collection his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Texans, June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trillin on Texas (Bridwell Texas History Series) (Hardcover)
Trillin not just a great humorist, but this compilation includes his writings as a young journalist for the New Yorker. Good variety of articles - not just because all items have a Texas connection. good vacation reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fan responds., March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I guess I'm just a fan of this author "cause this book was written some years ago and yet it is entertaining and timely. My kind of story teller and I look forward to each piece her writes and I discoverer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tasty, February 3, 2012
By 
This review is from: Trillin on Texas (Bridwell Texas History Series) (Hardcover)
While I enjoy reading whatever topic Calvin Trillin chooses, I think I enjoy his food writing best because of the obvious pleasure that eating brings to his prose. A small collection of Trillin essays was assembled by the University of Texas Press and targeted his connections to the Lone Star State. Titled Trillin on Texas, this book includes pieces on politics and crime, but soars when it comes to food. Some of the connections to Texas are tenuous, but the writing is fine throughout, and will attract readers who appreciate fine writing and the wit of a master like Bud Trillin.

Rating: Three-star (Recommended)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Trillin on Texas (Bridwell Texas History Series)
Trillin on Texas (Bridwell Texas History Series) by Calvin Trillin (Hardcover - March 1, 2011)
$22.00 $19.42
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.