Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This box set is AWESOME
It was only recently, to be honest, that I first learned who Gamera even was. Godzilla? Sure, I grew up on the guy... I've got the lunchbox, have taped the Godzilla's Rockin' New Year's Eve special many times and even saw the Andrew Lloyd Weber adaptation on Broadway during its woefully short run in 1994.

But now there's a NEW guardian of the universe? Why...
Published on February 14, 2005 by Mike Phillips

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some problems keep this set from being totally recommended
Image and sound quality is very good on the three movies, especially on the third one. The cardboard slipcase is colorful and attractive, with a very professional design, much better than other Mill Creek releases. The problem of this set are the subtitles on the second disc: the movie "Gamera 3" has lots of missing and out of sync sentences which make the movie much less...
Published on November 3, 2011 by rortiz77


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This box set is AWESOME, February 14, 2005
It was only recently, to be honest, that I first learned who Gamera even was. Godzilla? Sure, I grew up on the guy... I've got the lunchbox, have taped the Godzilla's Rockin' New Year's Eve special many times and even saw the Andrew Lloyd Weber adaptation on Broadway during its woefully short run in 1994.

But now there's a NEW guardian of the universe? Why didn't anyone tell me?? Finally, someone did. Specifically, it was a co-worker from the main office of the Tokyo-based manufacturing company (it shall remain nameless) for which I have worked for the last 8 years. He was relocated to New York and has become a rather good friend.

Hunushi is a fantastic resource for all things Japanese. One of those is monster movies ("kaiju" as the genre is called in Japan), and I am also a big fan. Knowing this, Hunushi recommended to me the first Gamera film when it was released in English in 1997. Since then, I have been hooked and wanting more.

Why do I like this Gamera series so much? The special effects are AWESOME, and the dubbing is simply masterful. Forget everything that you thought you knew about dubbed dialogue, as that knowledge is now useless and outdated. The story lines are engaging, the characters are well developed. These are great movies, period.

When I heard that a box set of all three movies (Gamera: Guardian of the Universe, Gamera 2: Attack of Legion and Gamera 3: Revenge of Iris) was available, I jumped on it.

I thought I knew why I was buying this box set, but I had no idea at the time that its most entertaining feature was an as-yet-unknown-to-me DVD extra. Within the extras of the second film, Gamera 2, the English-language director has created an entirely new and hilarious version of that film dubbed almost entirely with "red neck" character voices.

This is an absolute stitch, but in no way did it offend my delicate "kaiju" sensibilities. Gamera remains completely untouched in this tongue-in-cheek version of the film. Only the human contingent, scurrying below, is made to look anything less than admirable. The bottom line is this: I have never laughed harder in my life (by the way, there is also a fantastic DVD extra on the 3rd disc but I'll let you discover that one on your own).

I hope you enjoy these films as much as I have. Thankfully, it looks like Japan's best kept "kaiju" secret has just been let out of the box!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like the NEW Big Guy!, December 30, 2004
By 
Robert E. Rodden II (Peoria, IL. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I need to append this; the movies are not in anamorphic widescreen. They are still very entertaining; however, the blu-ray ARE anamorphic. Sorry about the confusion.

I'm amazed by the story lines and special effects in these newer come-back movies of Gamera. The box set was purchased with Christmas money, and I'm glad I did so. Gamera began as low-budget giant monster movies in competition with Godzilla in about 1965. Some of the early films are pretty cheezy, though fun to watch. Kids especially seem to relate to the big turtle. My daughter likes him as much as Godzilla.

The new Gamera pictures carry on the idea that Gamera is here to protect earth, but the story lines are very mature compared to the original films, and the special effects are, at times, amazing. Every bit on a parr with the newer, new millenium Godzilla films of the past five years. The first film in the pack, "Gamera: Guardian of the Universe", was release in 1995, and the others followed about every two years. The origin of Gamera is reinvented here, and explained in a way that is a nice marriage of fantasy and science-fiction. In the first film, Gamara's heroic mythology is backed up by an ancient tablet that predicts a giant creature will rise to combat an horrific darkness. All evidence points to some sort of flesh eating creatures that nearly ate man to extinction in the time when Atlantis was still above water.

The second film, "Attack of Legion", is even better, with an even creepier creature and It's swarming spawn called "Legion" (from the Bible, no less) threatening earth's extinction yet again. The special effects are better in this film, and that's saying a lot, since the first movie was very well done.

I haven't watched the third movie, "Revenge of Iris" yet, but even if it turns out to be disappointing compared to the first two, it was still money worth spending.

All three pictures are presented in anamorphic widescreen, with language options of the original Japanese with English subtitles, or in dubbed English. The soundtracks are in Dolby digital 5.1. I really enjoyed watching the second film in the original Japanese, thus getting to hear the true emotions of the actors. There are a lot of nice extras included on the disks, so take some time to explore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gamera gets an upgrade, December 23, 2005
Oldschool Gamera is definitely classic kaiju, it just tends to have some of the worst aspects of kaiju built into its roots: annoying little kids, illogical stories, bad set designs, and plots that seem just a skeleton to justify monster fights. Good kaiju, on the other hand, tends to have characters that the viewer can indentify with, a sense of being overwhelmed by the size of the battles, a desperation for survival, allegory to real world problems, and monsters that, though they may be large and scary, are somehow sympathetic at the same time.

That is what I like about this new trilogy. It takes one of the more ludicrous monsters, a large turtle that walks on its hind legs, eats fire and uses atomic jets to propel itself, and gives it as a good of a treatment as I have ever seen a kaiju receive.

The first one has an excellent story, and a great old school "King Kong" kind of feel to it. The second one, which seems to either be the favorite or the most hated depending on who you ask, takes the story a step up (in my opinion) and adds a level of desperation that somehow was lacking in the first one. The fight scenes and effects are improved, though the sense of adventure and human interaction is weakened and the almost add-on moral from the very end seems out of place. The last one is probably the best, and I feel it is such because the story line brings the monster-to-hero so epitomized in the original Gamera idea full circle.

The effects are excellent by kaiju standards (which are still lacking by what some people would want, but I loved them) and the storylines are still a little illogical. The new explanation for the origins is kind of better as far as making sense of the oddity that is Gamera, but not 100% satisfactory. The dubbing and the subbing are both excellent, and I love the fact that I can get wide-screened, well transferred dvds as opposed to the low quality ones with bad dubbing that are normally part of the genre. The features are not the best in the world, but were a nice addition (since I got the movies for the movies, the extras are just some additional icing).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some problems keep this set from being totally recommended, November 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gamera Trilogy (Guardian of the Universe / Attack of the Legion / Revenge of Iris) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Image and sound quality is very good on the three movies, especially on the third one. The cardboard slipcase is colorful and attractive, with a very professional design, much better than other Mill Creek releases. The problem of this set are the subtitles on the second disc: the movie "Gamera 3" has lots of missing and out of sync sentences which make the movie much less enjoyable (for example, Kurata Shinya's explanation of the Gamera graveyard is totally lost if you watch the movie that way). And subtitles on extra features get progressively out of sync until there is a delay of seven seconds between characters speaking and subtitles appearing on screen. It's something regrettable which should have been corrected before release and keeps this release from being totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have For Fans of Godzilla Style Japanese Monster Movies, January 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For movie watchers who love Japanese monster movies - Godzilla in particular - the Gamera Trilogy Blu-ray Set is a MUST BUY.
I would give this set a Perfect Score, but I have to be honest and take a point away as this is enjoyable by All, but will ONLY be Loved by fans of Godzilla Films.
All 3 Films were made in the 90's so there is a noticeable improvement in quality over early Godzilla Films. This Trilogy is a modern HD Reboot of the 1960's Gamera Franchise.
The Following Review will be made in the effort not to Spoil the Joy of watching the movie.

The 1st film entitled Gamera: Guardian of the Universe Sets up the who, what, where, and why.
Gamera is a giant turtle. In the 1st film his Enemies are the Gyaos - Reptilian looking "birds" that were created by an Ancient Advanced Civilization (Like Atlantis) They were created to be both male and female, so they can reproduce and lay eggs as much as they like. However these "Birds" Developed a nasty habit of eating the members of this Ancient Civilization. Before they went extinct the Scientists Created Gamera. But it was too late for them, so they encapsulated Gamera to sleep until a future Civilization needed Him. The Gyaos ran out of food and Died off, but Some eggs survived over the ages hidden in the hills of remote Islands near Japan. Well In modern day the eggs decide to hatch and the birds start of around 15 meters but grow the more they eat (1 by the end of the movie grows to 100 meters). Around the same time an Island mass floats along the currents near japan. Gamera eventually emerges from within this mass and is 60 meters tall.
Typical humans at first believe Gamera is the Bigger Threat and try to kill him (Even though the Gyaos "birds" have shown that humans are on the menu, while All Gamera has done is fight the Gyaos, not harming humans except the unavoidable destruction of buildings etc that is a staple in Japanese monster movies.) By the end they realize Gamera is helping and let him do his thing.

A great subplot involves a daughter of one of the Scientists who discovered Gamera's "Island Capsule". The Scientist gives his daughter one of the dozens of "raptor claw" looking symbols made out of an unknown metal. She Wears it as a necklace and forms a "LIFE ENERGY" link with Gamera. If he gets a cut on the face for example, so does she etc. She can also communicate telepathically with Gamera. She Appears throughout all 3 films.

Everyone know Godzillas powers etc...so lets go over Gamera's. Unlike Gozilla's energy blasts, gamera can shoot giant fireballs from his mouth...Not just normal fireballs these suckers can blow up entire city blocks. He can also FLY by way of Jet like energy that blasts out of where his legs retract. He also shows the ability to absorb the energy of Nearby Fire and heal/power up.

The 2nd Film, entitled Gamera 2: Attack of the Legion involves Gamera Fighting off hundreds of Alien Insect like Soldiers dubbed the "Legion" They arrive on the scene when NASA informs Japan that a Cloud of meteors will land near and on Japan. The tipoff that these aren't just metoers is the fact that they are found to slow down before impact...Turns out the "Legion" are sent by Extraterrestrials hoping to Colonize the Earth. Gamera Works his mojo and fight all the legion small and Very Large and saves the day. In the Final battle Gamera has to absorb energy from around the earth and launches a devastating fire blast from his Stomach.

The 3rd Film, Entitled Gamera 3: Revenge of Iris take place 4 years after the 1st film and sees the return of the Gyaos from the 1st film. Only this time there's more of them, and they have a new member named IRIS, who was raised by a young girl whose parents were accidently killed by Gamera in the 1st film. The IRIS Creature is not a Gyaos. There is a subplot involving Japanese lore Where a Tortoise(turtle) is the Defender of the North and the Phoenix is the defender of the south and fights the enemies of the south. When the girl who raised it bonded with the phoenix creature (not a red bird rising from the ashes, this has tentacles that in the beginning Suck a human dry until they look like a mummy) it telepathically linked with her and Mimicked her hatred for Gamera, because Gamera had also killed its ancestors.
I hope this Review was Helpful in your buying choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So close, yet so far...., November 12, 2011
By 
AnimeCwboy "justin316a" (Johnson City, TN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gamera Trilogy (Guardian of the Universe / Attack of the Legion / Revenge of Iris) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was really looking forward to this set the minute I saw it. The picture quality was awesome and the deleted scenes and behind-the-scene extras were a nice bonus. However, the fact that English subtitles drop 1 in 8 lines of dialogue is inexcusable. They didn't even re-dub the English version, simply reapplying the ADV dub. The only improvements I can find about this version is the picture quality and the box art..... It's a terrible shame because these films deserve so much more than this lack-luster treatment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RIDICULOUSLY GOOD RIDICULOUSLY INEXPENSIVE, July 2, 2013
This review is from: Gamera Trilogy (Guardian of the Universe / Attack of the Legion / Revenge of Iris) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have every single Godzilla movie, and quite a few other kaiju movies and this Trilogy is of the highest quality and the movies are nothing short of superb in every way. This would be deal at $50. The $9.99 is, well... RIDICULOUS! Please, if you or someone you love, loves this type of stuff as I and many others do, click to put it in your cart and let "quantity" be your only concern.

Also as a side note. You will read reviews here raving about the "Texarkana" audio selection on the second film. It is not in this bluray set. That is only available in the DVD form apparently. This isn't a gripe, but I did want to clarify that. They have some clips on YouTube by searching "Gamera Texarkana" and if that appeals to you just know that you will have to seek out that movie in DVD form. Still, I'd recommend buying this set first for the picture quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible localization, October 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gamera Trilogy (Guardian of the Universe / Attack of the Legion / Revenge of Iris) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The movies themselves are excellent, but the subtitling is perhaps the worst professional work I've seen, especially with the first and third films. In the first, none of the Japanese on screen text is translated, despite the movie using a large number of things like newspaper headlines to provide information. The third is the worst by far, with a good 20% of it not being subtitled at all, and quite of few of the subtitles being mistranslated. It's an absolute shame, since these are great movies that deserve much better treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gamera's back and Kickin' Butt!, September 13, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It had been a really long time since I had seen a Gamera movie. Couldn't even tell you what the title of the last one I saw was.

This collection is awesome. Much better than the older versions. Of course technology has advanced, but I thought the story lines were pretty good and the newer Gamera is much more "viscous" looking.

All-in-all a great buy. What a way for me to introduce Gamera to my children! Loved it, would recommend it to anyone.

Go turtle power!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For a new Kaiju fan, mindblowing, September 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gamera Trilogy (Guardian of the Universe / Attack of the Legion / Revenge of Iris) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A friend of mine is a die hard Godzilla fan and had recently been getting me into it. However, as we watched it the campiness started to lose its charm and became a bit annoying as I started to crave a more serious take on the series a la the original Gojira.

This trilogy is that desire fulfilled as completely as possible. This is what kaiju films should have been doing for the last 30 years. Watch these movies. Watch them now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.