Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath of fresh air
Let me start off by saying that 'Triliquist' is not for everyone. Heck, I'd even say that it's not for 98% of movie viewers. This film is for people who like a little corn or cheese (creativity) or however you term it. Angelina and Norbert are given the short end of the stick by a junkie mother. They are forced to live with another relative who likes to 'touch' so this...
Published on August 9, 2008 by J. Petrey

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Calling this bizarre is an understatement
From Mark Jones, the writer and director of the original Leprechaun, comes Triloquist; another exercise in pint-sized horror/comedy that ends up being more bizarre than anything else. Then again, calling Triloquist bizarre is a definite understatement. Payden LoPachin and Rocky Marquette star as psychotic siblings Angelina and Norbert, who are making a trek to Vegas,...
Published on January 20, 2009 by N. Durham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath of fresh air, August 9, 2008
This review is from: Triloquist (DVD)
Let me start off by saying that 'Triliquist' is not for everyone. Heck, I'd even say that it's not for 98% of movie viewers. This film is for people who like a little corn or cheese (creativity) or however you term it. Angelina and Norbert are given the short end of the stick by a junkie mother. They are forced to live with another relative who likes to 'touch' so this lays out the personality for Angelina, the Dummy and Norbert who must fend for themselves in a world that they just don't get along with. Watch this film with little expectations and you may be surprised i.e. cop on the side of the road and the Dummy with the shotgun had me rolling! But BEWARE! The DVD from Blockbuster and Netflix is edited while I own an edition that has more references to er..body parts and the like. This may have worked better trimmed down as a 'Tales From the Crypt' episode but I like it just the same. At just over an hour and fifteen minutes even if you hate it you won't have much time invested. Some definitely un-politically correct moments in this so a warning for you 'sensitive' types. Group Hug <3 Ha Ha!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Magically Psychotic Ventriloquist Tour, September 5, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Triloquist (DVD)
If you've seen Leprechaun (who hasn't?)
you should pretty much already know what to expect from writer/director Marc Jones. (something like Leprechaun)
If you're expecting something more than a few cheap tricks,
and a plethora of tongue-in cheek laughs,
you will be sorely disappointed. (3rd degree burn disappointed)

The story here is plastic-wrap thin; (practically transparent)
a perfectly psychotic sister, (psychotically gorgeous)
and her socially deranged brother
set out to Las Vegas to break into show-biz.
(with the wildly popular art of ventriloquism)
With them is the often-hilarious, wise-cracking, possibly magical, family dummy.
(though it's never clear who's hand is up his pants)
Along the way the trio gets into all sorts of zany hi-jinx
(murder, ventriloquism, car-jacking, kidnapping a woman to be psycho bro's bride, etc.)
yet they always manage to find a way out of trouble
using a whole host of unexplained magic tricks.
(nice way to glaze over those plot-holes Mr. Jones)

Don't expect to be frightened, (unless jokes frighten you)
but expect to cringe & laugh
at the low-brow humor that's crammed into every disjointed scenario.
The whole movie feels like a compilation of refreshingly bizarre scenes
you absolutely won't see anywhere else, (unless you're insane)
that have all been nailed together to create some sort of cinematic mutant. (this movie)
Even if it isn't utterly amazing, (it's not)
you gotta give this flick credit
for showing us things no other horror movie ever has.
(you'll never believe what this dummy does with it's mouth)
Have there been ventriolquist horror flix before?
Sure!!!
"Magic", "Dead Silence", The Tales from the Crypt episode "The Ventriloquists Dummy",
but none have ever gone to the ridiculous length this flick has. (Las Vegas)
What this movie lacks in story & character development,
it more than makes up for in entertainment.
This is the movie you don't have to think about; (like at all)
You can just sit back and enjoy it a whole lot more than any ventiloquist act in the country. (unless they have naked ones now)

**Keep an eye out for a cameo by the son from "Sleepwalkers"**

MORAL OF THE STORY:
A talking dummy is alot better than a _moron who won't shut up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Calling this bizarre is an understatement, January 20, 2009
This review is from: Triloquist (DVD)
From Mark Jones, the writer and director of the original Leprechaun, comes Triloquist; another exercise in pint-sized horror/comedy that ends up being more bizarre than anything else. Then again, calling Triloquist bizarre is a definite understatement. Payden LoPachin and Rocky Marquette star as psychotic siblings Angelina and Norbert, who are making a trek to Vegas, with their equally psychotic ventriloquist dummy (voiced by Bruce Weitz) in tow. It isn't long before they abduct a girl (Katie Chonacas) whom Angelina hopes Norbert will impregnate to keep their family growing. This is about as close to a plot as Triloquist comes to having, which isn't such a bad thing considering the film gets off to a very darkly humerous start, but sadly quickly loses steam once the road trip begins. Still though, hottie LoPachin is clearly having a good time with the material, and turns in a surprisingly good and magnetic performance that will keep you interested in the flick, even when it degenerates into self-parody. All in all, it's easy to see why so many hate Triloquist, but for what it's worth, there's some morbid fun to be had here, even if it doesn't last as long as you'd like it to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pathetic attempt from a once entertaining filmmaker, July 12, 2008
By 
A. P. (Honolulu, HI) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Triloquist (DVD)
From the writer/director of 'Leprechaun,' we're brought another pint-sized horror. After Norbert, the son of a dead ventriloquist, is locked up in an asylum for attacking a young child, his sister, Angelina, and their Dummy break him out and hit the road towards Vegas to put Norbert and Dummy where they belong: onstage.

Where to begin. . . well, I've certainly never seen a film like this. Oh, wait, yes I have, just split up among four (or more) other films. 'Triloquist' plays like a lower-quality mix of 'Pin...,' 'The Devil's Rejects,' 'Child's Play,' and 'Dead Silence'. . . only less funny and a lot worse. It tried to be quirky and cute, but it failed. It tried to be shocking and scary, but it failed. I'm sure it also tried to be well made. Guess what? Failed there too. Other than nervous laughs from my "Oh, it really can't be this bad" thoughts, this film was not funny at all. The plot was erratic and stupid, never settling to get its bearings before moving on to another weak plot turn. The acting was dreadful, except by the mute who did a good job of, um, not talking and looking creepy. The puppet effects were ridiculously bad, and the dummy looked like it had been melted and stuck down a garbage disposal at some point. Dummy didn't have any of the charm, wit, or brutality of Mark Jones's other creation Leprechaun. . . instead, Dummy was just a nuisance. Ugh. There really isn't much good to say, except. . . well. . . it's only eighty minutes.

Final verdict: 3/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Extra star just for the girl, worst movie ever otherwise., July 5, 2008
This review is from: Triloquist (DVD)
There really isn't anything I can add to what has already been said. It was so horrible I almost died from it. HOWEVER, the main actress Payden LoPachin has to be the hottest actress I have ever seen in a B movie horror flick. Seriously, the only reason my friend and I continued to watch this movie after 15 minutes was because of her. YOWZA!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This Flick Sucks! ! Spoiler Alert!, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Triloquist (DVD)
I pretty much agree with all the other one star reviews posted before this one. The idea of a female ventriloquist, psycho mastermind has a lot of promise. The story could almost write itself. How they managed to execute such a good idea so poorly is baffling. I did , appreciate the homage to a scene from the film, Magic (a far superior example of a ventriloquist / dummy horror film) , and the female nude scenes are welcome. Unfortunately those elements cannot save this mess of a horror film. The film has no direction, or identity to it. Its boring, and poorly made. Avoid this one. Instead, watch the films, Magic, Dead of Night, and Dead Silence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, November 30, 2011
By 
A. Murphy (Dorset, England England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Triloquist (DVD)
Its different to the norm and has non stop action/bizarre moments. Its seriously funny and the characters act it well. Certainly not boring more interesting, challenging and will make you gasp time and again in its unpredictability and bizarreness. Entertaining and isnt that the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars P.U. Not even bad funny, just stinks!, September 1, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Triloquist (DVD)
I love b-movies, and I love horror movies and I loved Leprechaun. But tongue in cheek gags, continuity, story line, gore, surprises, and even special effects are all pretty much missing from this stinker. It wasn't creepy. It wasn't offensive. It wasn't scary. It wasn't funny. It wasn't even unintentionally funny.
It was boring. It was dumb. One star for the poor acting that took itself too seriously. That's it. I'll get more use out of this disc playing catch with the dog. Yes, seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WORST MOVIE EVER!, July 31, 2008
This review is from: Triloquist (DVD)
I have never used this term to describe a movie, but this film actually was the WORST MOVIE EVER. Ever since I first read "Night Of The Living Dummy" by R.L. Stine when I was young, I have been fascinated with the idea of homicidal, psychotic, living, breathing ventriloquist dummies. I loved the seris of books by Stine, I loved the televised adaptations of the books, and I even loved "Dead Silence", but I can honestly say I absolutely despised this movie.

The concept of murderous ventriloquist dummies is still a rather unique idea in the world of horror movies, and it can be done well if given the proper mastermind behind it all. So, when you have the guy who did cult classics such as the Leprechaun franchise, then you've probably got something decent on your hands, right? Not at all.

This movie combines elements of ventriloquism, incest, exploitation of the autistic, "Rock Of Love 2 with Bret Michaels" rejects, former WB stars, and the slow methodical killing of a young actor's career.

Rocky Marquatte plays the autistic brother in the movie who is taken advantage of mentally, physically, and even sexually by his sister. I've seen the actor's resume, and I've even seen some of his films. Trust me when I say that whatever work this actor has done to build himself up as one of the fastest rising stars in Hollywood has been stunted, if not murdered like the victims of his character, his character's dummy, and his character's sister in "Triloquist." Rocky Marquatte... I think I'll stick with Mad Men's Vincent Kartheiser thank you very much.

Brian Krause. Ah, how the mighty have fallen. How do you go from doing a
hit show with Alyssa Milano, Rose McGowan, and Billy Zane (okay, bad example) to doing one of the worst low-budget horror movies ever? The only positive aspect of Mr. Krause's performance was that he was only in the movie for about two minutes. Although, he did go out rather unceremoniously after getting bludgened to death by a 17-year old girl. What a way to go out, huh, Brian?

This brings me to the only part of the movie I slightly enjoyed. Destiney Moore. Yes, the same Destiney Moore that competed for the affection, love, and possible gonorrhea of Bret Michaels, former lead singer of Poison. Not only did she degrade herself for Bret Michaels, but she also stripped down and bore her breasts for the sake of cinema during her small role in "Triloquist". Destiney's portrayal of "Stipper #2" (yes, she's not even the first stripper, how sad) is perfect, I'm guessing because after you've played second fiddle to Bret Michael's reflection, you're self-esteem permanently resides around -74, which ironically is the exact level that casting directors for "Triloquist" were in search of. Rock Of Love 2 winner Amber's performance in "Dead End Road", a collection of Edgar Alan Poe stories compiled into one horrible horror movie, was bad. Destiney Moore's performance in "Triloquist" is spot-on. Of course, Amber played a murder victim and Destiney played a stripper, so who's really the future Golden Globe nominee here, aye?

Oh yeah, and there's a hot brother-sister makeout session that leads to the making of a little, deformed, wooden-puppet baby, which is not the way my sex-ed teacher explained it to us. Now, had Coach Rasmussen explained that pre-marital sex and incest would lead to a strange race of marionette-humanoid subspecies maybe Michael Lohan would stop reproducing.

So, let's recap... Incest, autism, bad acting, bad writing, bad directing, sex, drugs, syphillis, Rock Of Love 2 cast-offs, Alyssa Milano's ex-boyfriend, and the shame of forever being known as the one Blockbuster employee to acutally waste an employee rental on this piece of crap. Thank you, and good evening folks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triloquist, August 22, 2013
By 
stoneyloc (20 sullivan drive norwich ct 06360) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Triloquist (DVD)
This Movie I thought was going to be real stupid and it turned out to be a great film, I Recommend This To Others Who Like Horror Films. This Movie Had Me In Stitches Because It Was Real Funny To Me Not All That Scary But Still A Great Film None The Less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Triloquist
Triloquist by Mark Jones (DVD - 2008)
$19.97 $5.51
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.