Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon The Jayhawks Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback May4th

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars52
5 star
94%
4 star
6%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 4, 2012
Having served for 35 years in the United States Air Force, retiring as a four-star general, being executive vice president for operations of a very large railroad, serving on the board of directors of six corporations, and now continuing to serve on three business boards, I've attended many university and military leadership programs and read a number of leadership books, all of which have been helpful through my careers. The Vanoureks' book is based on the authors' personal knowledge and what they learned and share through interviews with very successful leaders in many types of organizations. They "stirred" all the key leadership points into a book that is a rich amalgamation of thoughts and recommendations by successful business leaders. Triple Crown Leadership is very readable and will be valuable to new entries into the business world, mid-level managers, senior staffs, CEOs, and boards of directors. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2012
If I was a baseball lover, I would have called Triple Crown Leadership a Grandslam. I like baseball, but a horse race--now that's exciting ... and with Triple Crown Leadership, it's either a Silky Sullivan type who mucks around and finally gets his hoofs in gear and brings the stands to their feet .. or a Big Red, Secretariat, who leeaves his opponents in the dust from the get-go and never looks back. Some leaders come out of the gate a heck of a lot faster, smoother and smarter than others. Triple Crown Leadership is a winner.

The Vanoureks are the new dynamic duo in leadership--Bob with his immense experience as CEO of a billion-dollar NYSE company and son Gregg, who is an expert in leadership and teaches internationally--the wisdom is deep, the advice--incredibly practical, and take on where leadership needs to go is visionary. Throughout you will hear (and feel) their voices extensively--in their personal experience and recommendations ... and the voices of executives from a variety of companies and countries. Not only is Triple Crown Leadership written well, it is designed with ease for the eyes and mind, this goes to the top of the must have leadership book list. Odds are a 1000 to 1 that all business schools will make it required reading ...

Judith Briles, author of The Confidence Factor
The Confidence Factor: Cosmic Gooses Lay Golden Eggs
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2013
My perspective - I am a general manager - I hold my MBA and have more years of experience than I care to admit.

For those seeking new buzzwords or 7 steps to reinventing the world, just wait - a silly business book will be forthcoming somewhere - this is not it.

I found this book to take a refreshing approach in reinforcing and recasting some of the best management concepts of the past 30 years - and it adds data and perspective to support the case for ethical, effective and enduring organizations. It is a valuable read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2013
Triple Crown Leadership identifies five leadership principles that are essential for creating high performance, lasting organizations in any field. Each of these "big ideas" is connected to a horse racing metaphor and story, adding to its memorability and reading interest. It is then supported with numerous business examples of where it has either been applied successfully or ignored to an organization's detriment. The five practices focus on: 1)choosing the right people who fit well with your organization's character; 2)providing them with a motivating vision and set of values; 3) leading with sensitivity but also a hard edge when necessary; 4)empowering people to share responsibility and contribute creatively to improved solutions; and 5)creating a management system that aligns values, practices and rewards with consistency and fairness. After laying our this template for excellence, the Vanoureks delve into specific challenges that can cause companies to abandon their best intentions about values and culture: internal and external crises that pose a survival threat; performance deterioration that requires a dramatic turnaround; start-ups where resource constraints don't seem to allow for any cultural niceties; and organizations committed to deliver both societal benefits and financial sustainability. Finally, the authors do a more in-depth analysis of three outstanding organizations that have succeeded while embodying the five triple crown principles: Infosys, KIPP and Google. The Vanoureks have done an outstanding job of identifying the common practices of leaders who are succeeding today across a range of diverse organizations. The authors recognize that simply driving people to deliver results, using the inherent intimidation built into hierarchical organizations, can cause short spurts of improvement in an economy where everyone needs their job. The goal of Triple Crown Leadership, however,is more profound: To arm leaders with a toolkit that will create organizational excellence that endures without cutting ethical corners, because it is built on a cultural foundation that inspires the abilities, affection and loyalty of all those people who are doing the actual work. Any manager today will benefit from mastering these principles and applying them to whatever leadership task they face. Improved performance will inevitably come as a by-product of following these five practices, and the promotion to higher management levels will naturally follow. Hopefully this will create a new generation of skilled, authentic leaders who can avoid the pitfalls that have so often plagued companies and disappointed stockholders in the past.
--Richard Chandler, Adjunct Professor, UC Irvine and former NYSE company CEO
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2012
Man, just to say that this is a powerful book that lays down some principles that over the course of professional life of anyone who takes the time to read they will experience real growth in their work. I am just sad it took me awhile to see it,
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2013
Triple Crown Leadership is one of those rare books a dedicated student of leadership carries with them from office to office as one travels up the career ladder. It ranks up there with Leadership Challenge and On Becoming a Leader. The chapter on Steel and Velvet was particularly riveting. Leaders make minute by minute decisions in facilitating long-term strategic plans. Knowing how to flex your strength or soften your approach are key elements to being a successful leader. After all, don't we all want to be the leader others want to follow? Well written, insightful and a gracious example of leadership in action, this is a must book for your professional library.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2012
This book is an excellent guide and should be required reading for those organizations regardless of size that wish to instill a company culture that can withstand the test of time. All levels of an organization can benefit from this book from the CEO/President down through the ranks as there are discussions throughout on how middle managers and others can influence and bring about positive change to an organization. There are specific examples of companies in various stages of what the author describes as characteristics of Triple Crown Leadership as well as a "How To" in terms of implementation of the principles.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2012
No photo-finish here - this is a clear winner. i'm so grateful for the emphasis on 'ethical'as a key to creating and sustaining an enduring culture. Having over 20 years of background in the field of culture change i wish this book had been written decades ago. And, the timing is perfect for those leaders that know there is something better and are ready to be the reason the essential change happens.

Thank you Bob and Gregg for giving such a simple road map. The weaving of how this all relates to the pinnacle of horse racing brings deeper levels of clarity on what it really takes to create the culture you'd most want to be part of.

Race to start your own run for the win.The Missing Piece In Leadership

Doug Krug
Author, The Missing Piece in Leadership: Hopw to create the future you want.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2012
I guess I should not have been surprised that the triple crown was a reference to horse racing (but I was). And ironic part of me could not connect ethics and horse racing (perhaps because my puritan parents would be mortified by any form of gambling and it did not seem in line with high

integrity). So I did not really like the horse racing examples they used.

But still, I enjoyed the book immensely. It was all about great leadership and many things I believe in. The gist of the message is leadership is a stewardship responsibility. Leadership is long term. Leadership requires ultra dedication.

It is a book about ethics and values and what place they have in leadership and business (clearly they have a huge place and successful people and organizations have them)

One of my favourite sections was one on alignment. Alignment is much harder and more important that vision. 99% of the time is spent on alignment so figuring that part out is the key.

The points are illustrated with real world examples of businesses in various situations (like J and J and the Tylenol recall). This helps readability and brings points across better.

I loved the many quotes scattered throughout the book - it gave me lots of material for my twitter feed and Facebook updates. I had previously blogged a review on the Tao of Twitter bemoaning the 140 character limit. One quote above that limit:

"I look for three things in hiring people. First is personal integrity, second is intelligence and the third is energy level. If you don't have the first, the other two will kill you."

Warren Buffet (I like Buffet - not because of his wealth but because of his common sense and long term approach)

and A river cuts through the rock not because of its power but because of its persistence. James Watkins
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2012
Are you frustrated with mediocre performance, unethical behavior and short-term thinking on the part of individuals, organizations and governments around the world? The Global Financial Crisis comes to mind, or how about unethical behavior at the top of world organizations, such as Lehman Brothers, the International Monetary Fund or FIFA. Or how about the unfolding at Penn State? Are you wondering what can be done? I am.

In my search, I came across a book recently published, called Triple Crown Leadership by Bob and Gregg Vanourek. The book is about how to build excellent, ethical and enduring organizations. In addition to incorporating their own vast experience in diverse leadership positions, they have interviewed 60 organizations in 11 countries. Based on their research, they identify leadership practices that will lead to the three Es - Excellence, Ethics and Endurance. They discuss the need for people with 'head' and 'heart.' They identify the need for purpose, values and vision. They acknowledge the need for collaboration, as well as the firmness necessary to be consistent. The authors go on to define new responsibilities for the stewards, senior executives, board members and other influencers. And they discuss the need for alignment to establish a sense of flow.

But they don't stop there.

This book also gives valuable insights into how to put these practices into action, even in challenging situations, such as turnarounds and start ups. Bob and Gregg Vanourek are a father and son team spanning two generations and two continents (Gregg lives in Sweden, Bob in Colorado). Not only are they bridging the cultural divide, they are also bridging the gap between what is now and what we are striving for. They have successfully researched and written a book that challenges and inspires equally.

If you are interested in having a positive impact in this world, I'd recommend this book. But beware. This is not just a book for senior leaders. Triple Crown Leadership is a call to action for all those who want to make a difference, regardless of your leadership level. It's a book written for you and directed at you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.