Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by book-exchange
Condition: Used: Like New
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Trittico Botticelliano / Pictures at an Exhibition
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Trittico Botticelliano / Pictures at an Exhibition

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, October 24, 2000
"Please retry"
$11.68 $11.93

1. Botticelli Triptych: Spring: Allegro Vivace
2. Botticelli Triptych: Adoration Of The Magi: Andante Lento
3. Botticelli Triptych: Birth Of Venus: Allegro Moderato
4. Frescoes Of Piero Della Francesca: Andante Poco Moderato
5. Frescoes Of Piero Della Francesca: Adagio
6. Frescoes Of Piero Della Francesca: Poco Allegro
7. Pictures At An Exhibition: Promenade
8. Pictures At An Exhibition: Gnomus
9. Pictures At An Exhibition: Promenade
10. Pictures At An Exhibition: Il Vecchio Castello
11. Pictures At An Exhibition: Promenade
12. Pictures At An Exhibition: Tuileries
13. Pictures At An Exhibition: Bydlo
14. Pictures At An Exhibition: Promenade
15. Pictures At An Exhibition: Ballet Of The Chicks In Their Shells
16. Pictures At An Exhibition: Samuel Goldenberg And Schmuyle
17. Pictures At An Exhibition: Limoges: The Marketplace
18. Pictures At An Exhibition: Catacombae: Sepulchrum Romanum
19. Pictures At An Exhibition: Promenade: Con Mortuis In Lingua Mortua
20. Pictures At An Exhibition: The Hut On Fowl's Legs: Baba Yaga
See all 21 tracks on this disc

Product Details

  • Orchestra: Long Beach Symphony Orchestra
  • Conductor: JoAnn Falletta
  • Composer: Bohuslav Martinu, Modest Mussorgsky, Ottorino Respighi
  • Audio CD (October 24, 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Albany Records
  • ASIN: B00004ZE1X
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #106,386 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Erik North on November 11, 2005
I respectfully disagree with the previous reviewer regarding this recording by JoAnn Falletta and the Long Beach Symphony, even though my opinion may be partially based on a certain regional bias. This recording may have a few problems with sound quality; but having actually heard this orchestra in concert, there really isn't very much doubt in my mind that this is one of the best regional orchestras in America, and that this recording is proof of that.

I will, however, review what is on the CD itself, which are works by, respectively, Ottorino Respighi ("Botticelli Triptych'), Bohuslav Martinu ("Frescoes Of Piero Della Francesca") and Modeste Mussorgsky ("Pictures At An Exhibition"--in the memorable orchestral transcription by Maurice Ravel), based on paintings. All three works have great orchestral color to them and require a very solid effort on the part of both conductor and orchestra, which is indeed what Falletta and the Long Beach Symphony (an ensemble that had been under the shadow of the far more prominent Los Angeles Philharmonic, only twenty miles away) give in this recording, despite fairly minor technical flaws. It is a great move on the part of them to place the lesser known works of Respighi and Martinu beside a towering edifice like "Pictures", and create a theme recording, much like their previous "Impressions Of The Sea", which featured works by Debussy and Mendelssohn, among others. The performances themselves are first rate; and even if the L.B.S.O. isn't of the L.A. Philharmonic's caliber, its status as a great regional orchestra is secure here.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in