Customer Reviews


213 Reviews
5 star:
 (137)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (44)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Shocking tour-de-force exposing the truth about Nilbog
Since the 1950s the US government has covered up the truth about a little town called Nilbog. Gene Freak was a young up and coming scientist with a covert government operation that cross-breeds plans and humans to "further medical advances." Somehow Gene got involved in the occult and that is where the horror started. A superior race of burlap wearing goblins was created...
Published on July 21, 2001 by ssegruB miT (Tim Burgess backw...

versus
83 of 103 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You're a genius big sister!
I've studied this film over the last couple of months and this is my analysis of Troll 2. I would like to begin my review by saying that watching this movie will be like taking a hot fork and shoving it in your eye socket for some people, whereas for others it will be the funniest F'n thing you've ever seen.

Before I get into the meat of the story or as I like...
Published on August 29, 2005 by Joe LoBello


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No... no more popcorn..., January 6, 2000
By 
"nilbog3000" (Lovettsville, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Troll 2 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I have dedicated my life to the love of this movie. I can't believe that the actors are trying to act because no one can be that bad. No script writer (like there was a written script for this) would/could have ever come up with lines that are this bad. "We don't even have enough weapons to defend our selves." "We will have to soak the meat in vineger all night just to get the blood out" This movie features the greatest music video of "you can leave your hat on" where a Witch with some sort of speech problem (unless that acting) and one of "Eliot's Boys" eat corn on the cobb while watching some movie about monkeys with jets on their feet... it gets a little fuzzy here because I can't say for sure if I have ever maintained consciousness throughout the scene but somehow they end up filling the trailer they are in with popcorn.
This is a MUST SEE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The poorest attempt at filmmaking ever...anywhere., August 21, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Troll 2 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
No matter how hard I try, I would never be able to make a movie this bad. Every aspect of this movie is worth laughing out loud at. I thought I was the only person in the world who had discovered this travesty and when I showed it to my friends, they were in complete disbelief. I mean, the troll people - they give unknowing victims green food to turn them into trees and goblin food. Piss poor acting, $20 costumes, and elementary school level story line make this movie a must see for anyone who can tell the difference between a good movie and a bag of sh*t. This movie makes you feel better about yourself because you know you'd never make an abortion such as this. If anybody out there thinks this movie is actually good in any way other than how bad it is, let me know so I can make fun of you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so awful it must be seen--more than once!, November 9, 2003
By 
bibliophile (Churchville, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Troll 2 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A friend of mine at college had seen this movie with her ex and it was so awful she bought it. Since it has become a great way to spend Friday nights with tea and popcorn ("all you have to do it--heat it up!"). The acting is dreadful but the actors are so convincing--they could not possibly have known how bad they were. We're often torn between thinking the movie was a serious attempt at a horror film and thinking it was deliberate. But I think it was unintentionally dreadful. Believe me, you will not be wasting your time watching this movie. The lines are great and memorable as are such images as a youthful version of the witch making out with one of the boys and an ear of corn with popcorn randomly filling the camper. The music is priceless. The townspeople (really goblins) clapping to a repetative and annoying tune while surrounding the seated family expecting them to eat the suspicious-looking food is memorable, as are the scenes with the sister dancing in front of the mirror or lifting weights, and the mother insisting, "sing that song I like--sing my favorite song Joshua," at which Joshua breaks into "row, row, row your boat..." Troll 2 is great group movie worthy of multiple viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slow and steady wins the race, December 20, 1999
This review is from: Troll 2 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A little boy has trouble convincing his family that the town they are vacationing in (as part of a weird family exchange program) is enhabited not by normal human beings but a convent of cannibalistic vegan trolls. If the fact that their town is an anagram for GOBLIN isn't enough to convince this family that something's up, than may they all gain artificial intellegence. Though this is a pretty sick and lame sequel, the plot is good and the details are interesting enough to keep you glued to the edge of your seat, where this movie puts you and keeps you til the final frame. Really should have been talored for R rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, December 31, 2004
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Troll 2 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Strictly an exercise in so bad,it's good B-movies is a true classic filled with really,really bad acting,bad special effects(the blood was green and the costume looked like bags and the actors wore masks),and everything was bad but the movie entertains because it offers laughs and you and others could make fun of it.

The poorly written plot deals a family that travel to a town called Nilbog and battle the goblins.

This has to be the funniest movies since MANOS HANDS OF FATE.

Buy this one,though it's hard to find look at your nearest Hollywood Video,Blockbuster,or Movie Gallery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Troll 2 The Best Worst Movie, June 3, 2000
This review is from: Troll 2 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Troll 2, what can I say, I love it, since the first time I saw it, I thought it was the funniest movie I have ever seen, even though it was supposed to be scary. The best part was when the "hero" "peed" on the food and the dad had to "tighten his belt so he didn't get hunger pains" that part always makes me laugh. The acting is horrible and the plot is even worse, but that is what makes it enjoyable and funny to watch, even though no where around here has it for sale, I recommend you pick it up as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See the documentary first!, August 20, 2013
By 
Todd W. Hemphill (St Petersburg, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Troll 2 (DVD)
For those of you who are new to the Troll 2 experience I highly recommend that you start by watching Best Worst Movie, the documentary made by the now grown up child star of Troll 2. (Available on Netflix) To really appreciate Troll 2 you have to understand that the Italian boneheads who made it thought they were making a decent film when they shot it and, astoundingly, STILL think its a good film! The screen writer was serious, the director was serious, the cinematographer was serious, and the editor was serious. The editor is even laboring under the delusion that the Harry Potter franchise traces its origins back to Troll 2! Even one of the lead actors, the woman who portrays the Mom, thinks that its a fine film and compares it to Casablanca!

It is only after you understand that the people who made this train wreck of a film did so as part of an earnest effort to make a good movie that you can really enjoy it in all of its splendid awfulness. And, when you do watch it, do stick with it until the final 20 minutes or so. As bad as the first hour+ is, it isn't until the final reel that this thing really soars into a new realm of almost surreal poopitude. There's a prolonged scene involving an ear of corn that has to be the most delightfully bizarre thing ever captured on film. It is so funny that I almost can't bear to watch it.

Troll 2 stands alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a Train Wreck..., March 12, 2011
This review is from: Troll 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
A few friends of mine contacted me sometime last year, raving about this flick. They spoke for hours on end about how this film had the worst acting, effects, plot, etc., that they had ever seen. They began to quote the movie and ramble endlessly about the different shortcomings in the movie. After a while, I decided to check it out for myself, just to see how badly they were exaggerating.

It turns out, they were selling it short.

There is no possible way that ANYONE would ever be convinced that this is a good movie. The acting borders on the unbearable (especially the kid, who looks like he may have hemorrhoids, and the mom, who reacts to every little thing as if Charlie Sheen were killing someone right in front of her), the plot is impossible to believe (a family needs a vacation, so they do the logical thing: they trade houses with a family of complete strangers), and the special effects could not have been worse if a class of kindergarteners had done them (burlap sacks, crappy masks, and green...stuff).

If this all sounds negative, however, let me reassure you; I enjoyed every minute of the film. The film appears to try really hard to be 'scary,' so much so that it ends up being one of the funniest films of all time. There is a slew of impossibly brilliant lines (*as Goblins eat his mom* "They're eating my mom!") and the whole film just feels like something the Monty Python guys would come up with. I would recommend this movie to anyone who likes bad movies, or anyone at all who isn't really uptight about their movie experiences.

Oh, and by the way, the town in the film is called Nilbog ("Goblin" spelled backwards). If that doesn't get you rushing over to your nearest video store, I don't know what will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NO EXTRAS???? WTF!, October 19, 2010
By 
Donald A. Prentiss (minneapolis, mn United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Troll 2 has deleted scenes that have still been unreleased to this point and I thought this Blu Ray would have them - I was wrong and that upsets me. I love this so bad it's good movie but this just means I'm gonna have to triple dip on a DVD when they release a disc with some extras on it and that irritates me to no end. I only recommend this if you don't have it already (Troll 2) otherwise WAIT for a release with commentary, extras, deleted stuff and behind the scenes if won ever comes. I'd rate this higher if I wasn't so P.O.ed about the lack of anything on this Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Nilbog (where vegans strike fear in all), August 28, 2010
By 
This review is from: Troll 2 (DVD)
"Troll 2" should have been doomed to obscurity, much like the first unrelated-but-actually-fits-the-title movie. But because of that one short scene with the nerd, his three lines of corny dialogue and a fly on his head, the movie had its internet 15 minutes of fame. There was even a documentary about its cult acclimation, and I would certain give my time and day to view that film. The most interesting aspect the whole nerd character, who's name is Arnold BTW, is the fact he's only a bit character (but don't worry, he has plenty of corny moments besides that iconic scene).

The real stars of the film are Joshua and his family. To be frank, I hated that little brat, Joshua. He whines all the time, and always has that whiny expression, even when nothing horrible was going on; imagine all of his lines being read in Eric Cartman's "But Mmmmaaah!" vernacular and you'll understand how annoying he is. Conversely, his bodybuilding sister always smiles even when she's suppose to be angry, which is weirdly amusing when she's fights against her boyfriend. Her boyfriend, by the way, was just there; doesn't play the hero when trouble's afoot, he's just excess baggage. The mother has the creepiest dead eyes since Mia Kirshner, and her line delivery's just as dead. The father...well, he's a pansy. Finally, there's Grandpa, who was dead but became a spirit who can only talk with Joshua about great danger as his family goes on a vacation to Nilbog (clever).

Grandpa's entire existence pretty much destroys the whole plot. Initially, it's established he could only communicate to Joshua to warn him about danger, and what the kid should do to prevent it. But at one point, Ghost Grandpa accidentally communicated with Joshua's sister, which showed that he can speak to just about anyone. So why couldn't he just pop up and warn his entire family not to go to Nilbog? His shocking appearance would have even the most scornful of his kins to believe him. He could show proof of his trust by showing his ability to FREEZE TIME as a convenience. Why bother having the kid take on such a heavy duty? Josh's actions are usually done in stupid ways: for example, when Grandpa froze his family from eating the tainted foods so Joshy can have the time to find a solution, instead of taking the food from them and throwing them in the trash, he urinates the food. Not a bright move, kid. If Grandpa would had warned his family directly in the first place, they wouldn't go on that trip and one of them wouldn't turn into vegetable munchies in the end.

And now for the bad guys. The family is dealing with little people wearing rubbing masks and potato sacks (pretending to be goblins), and the main villain is a plant witch named Creedence, who's even hammier than Poison Ivy from "Batman & Robin". And let's not forget the fact that they can be defeated by eating a ham sandwich. Gee, aren't they a scary bunch.

The story really got stupider and sloppier as it went on, right when the family went into Nilbog and met the civvies of the town who plan to eat them in veggie form. When Joshua went in a hidden meeting (out of the blue) and spotted the human-disguised goblins, he left his skateboard JUST near an open ramp in the attic so it can slide down and the noise would discover him. It had an arbitrary scene when Creedence donned a cheap Elvira outfit and seduced one of the boyfriend's best friends (they were also in Nilbog) with an ear of corn. She didn't really kill him, just covered him in popcorn, and she just left him to be written out of the film; not even the family acknowledged him when they escaped. That poor excuse for softcore porn was a completely pointless moment, even with Creedence's nice figure. Goblins surrounding the family but just stood there as they walk away, the family running into the house but not into the car to drive away from the monsters, there's more of those dumb moments to throw around.

No doubt "Troll 2" is a terrible movie, but I thought it's terrible in a gleeful way. Not terrible in a boring way, or terrible in an agonizing way, but it's the kind of terrible that caters to those who like to see the foundations of filmmaking destroyed like watching a condemned building explode. Terrible acting, lazy writing, cheap special effects, lousy music straight out of an SEGA CD game, amateur cinematography, all disastrous accounts equal into one somewhat enjoyable package. Whether you like to pay for the film or see it legally for free with multiple ads, it deserves to be seen at least once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Troll 2 [VHS]
Troll 2 [VHS] by Claudio Fragasso (VHS Tape - 1998)
Used & New from: $19.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.