Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Improvement on Tropico 3
There aren't many reviews on this game so I will try to close the gap. This game is a city simulation game in the tradition of Simcity, where the gamer is given an island to run in the Caribbean -- but the tone is much less serious and much more playful. It is the only such game that I know of for Xbox 360, other than earlier iterations of Tropico. The player must manage...
Published on November 10, 2011 by Nathan B

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review: Tropico 4 Makes The Jump To Modern Times But Is Plagued With Mistakes
It's long been a figure of our imagination to create things to our liking. From stacking countless Lego bricks to make your own personal metropolis, to digital animation used today; or you could choose to avoid the building process entirely and become an el presidente and terrorize the citizens of Tropico Island. The options are up to you for what you want to create...
Published on April 18, 2012 by Alex Martinet


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Improvement on Tropico 3, November 10, 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tropico 4 (Video Game)
There aren't many reviews on this game so I will try to close the gap. This game is a city simulation game in the tradition of Simcity, where the gamer is given an island to run in the Caribbean -- but the tone is much less serious and much more playful. It is the only such game that I know of for Xbox 360, other than earlier iterations of Tropico. The player must manage competing factions and make economic choices regarding how his island will run. The game offers a campaign mode of loosely connected scenarios and a sandbox mode.

The player can choose a single economy type or mix and match. Basic raw materials can be produced, including logs, ores such as gold or iron, farming products such as coffee or sugar, oil, or fish. Raw materials can in many cases be processed into higher grade items: e.g. logs into timber into furniture, gold into jewelry, sugar into rum, or tobacco into cigars. Tropico 4 adds some new industries such as weapons and chemical manufacturing. There are many examples of this, and new to Tropico 4 players may import raw goods for manufacturing - a substantial change. Players may also develop a tourism industry, which is always fun and provides constant income.

As players manage their economy they must also feed (the marketplace actually works now!), educate, entertain, and police their citizens. This sometimes connects directly to the economy: farm goods can be consumed or sold, and educated citizens are required to operate more advanced industry. Various interest groups compete for attention - the religious faction may want churches, communists want more apartments, and the military faction may want more soldiers - but you may not be able to afford all of the above right away. If you have too many unhappy citizens it will lead to higher numbers of rebels, which you can fend off by building lots of soldiers or just appeasing your citizens. It sounds complicated, but it is easy to learn.

You also have an avatar, which you can use to shorten construction times or help in fights. New to Tropico 4 you develop and level up your character attributes rather than just picking them. For example, Level one administrator gives you +2% to commodity prices (along these lines anyway), if you complete a mission with it, you will have +4%. Maximum of 5 levels.

The biggest potential problem with a game like this is the controls. Tropico has been moderately successful because their controls actually work pretty well - it could be quite a bit more successful, but I think the broader Xbox 360 community simply assumes that games of this type simply don't work for the Xbox. Yet menus are surprisingly intuitive, and managing your city proves quite doable. [The Tropico 3 menus were somewhat easier - I preferred using the bumpers to switch between building types; in Tropico 4, you use the stick for both the type of building and the individual building. Using two different buttons somehow made the menus easier in Tropico 3. Yet it is perfectly manageable.]

This game does suffer some programming issues. I have not had a city crash on me, but I have had it get choppy after playing for a few hours. I have the most recent Xbox and installed the game, so I do not think it is Xbox's fault. Graphically this game features more Hawaii-like weather, with more rain and varied weather. It is very pretty, and makes you appreciate the sun. There are some new disasters which are quite visually attractive. The tone of the game is always playful and never takes itself too seriously - the unique, parody-like feel of Tropico is one of its hallmarks.

This game is a step up from Tropico 3. Graphics are better and gameplay is more varied and with more options, but I do wish that there were some more substantial additions to gameplay. Imports change the game the most, and the maps are generally more spacious, but I'd have liked to see a deeper international relations and trade system, or perhaps more varied maps with the option to connect multiple islands together on the same map with bridges or ferries (think Venice or Indonesia like layout). Perhaps they could have added a more serious health system - requiring management of different tropical diseases. Something to distinguish it more from Tropico 3. Yet too many changes and perhaps I would be complaining that it is too different (I loved Tropico 3!). The game already has just enough complexity to make it manageable - too much more and it might just be too much.

This game would sell better if it wasn't released in such a difficult season (think Skyrim, G of W 3, MW3, Bfld 3, Rage, etc. -- all released around the same time). Yet I do not believe it has gotten the attention it deserves. I am a bit of a nerd and have bought all of the new releases for this gaming season; I sell back the ones I don't like after playing them for a while. I will be hanging on to Tropico 4.

EDIT 6/23/12
Tropico 4 has a fair amount of DLC, most of it only fine, but recently a rather large DLC called "Modern Times" was released for 1200 MS points. This expansion is one of the best DLCs available for the price for any game. Offering a new campaign, spanning 12 full size missions, and adding lots of new buildings, "Modern Times" has gotten me back into Tropico 4. Some buildings are entirely new - like the SWAT team building or the new 7-Star Hotel, others replace the old buildings - like the modern apartment building or the organic ranch. Each alter game play, and makes the game feel brand new. The population limit has been raised, and larger populations are much easier to manage with the new buildings. One scene had me watching the fireworks from "National Day" over new office buildings and skyscrapers, while dozens of balloons floated in when I enacted the brand new "balloon day" edict. It is well worth the money, and makes Tropico 4 feel like a true sequel to Tropico 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much fun!, October 20, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tropico 4 (Video Game)
I was a big fan of Tropico 3, while it took a while to learn and was a little 'convoluted' in some of the controls. This version is much like Tropico 3, but it seems like they have improved on some of the control issues and made it much easier to learn with a very useful tutorial. Over all, it hasn't changed that much since the last version but it is still very enjoyable. If you have not played older versions, then it may still take a while to catch on, but I find it addicting. I bought this out right because I knew I would like it- but if you have never played before it is certainly worth (at least) a rent before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really fun game, October 21, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tropico 4 (Video Game)
I am a big fan of Tropico 3 and spent many many hours playing it. Tropico 4 is virtually Tropico 3 with a large overhaul. The game is in HD, so the graphics are better. Most all of the buildings from Tropico 3 are in Tropico 4, but there are a lot of new ones, including the buildings that was on the computer expansion pack from Tropico 3 that never came out for the console version. Tropico 4 has a lot more government needs that will keep you busy through out your play time. The game is also more user friendly compared to Tropico 3. Some times the fine print is still hard to read but it has gotten better. If you like city building games then Tropico 4 is a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review: Tropico 4 Makes The Jump To Modern Times But Is Plagued With Mistakes, April 18, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tropico 4 (Video Game)
It's long been a figure of our imagination to create things to our liking. From stacking countless Lego bricks to make your own personal metropolis, to digital animation used today; or you could choose to avoid the building process entirely and become an el presidente and terrorize the citizens of Tropico Island. The options are up to you for what you want to create.

Tropico 4 by Haeminot Games has never been one to fool an audience. Tropico is real time simulator, which barrows many elements from Sim City, but brings many elements that aren't found in genre and help make it what it is today. One of the things that your easily going to like about the game is you are not invisible. Unlike other games, the citizens of Tropico Island dearly note your actions. If you end up acting like Fidel Castro, the citizens on the island will start a revolution (VIVA LA REVOULTION). Sooner or later, your military will have to suppress the uprising or else the citizen will over throw you from government.

When I first started playing Tropico 4, I killed every protester, let in ever immigrant and didn't supply enough housing for my citizens. Fast-forwarding three years in my el presidente term, my days were numbered with every citizen on the island trying to gun me down. It's these moments that make the series stand out because your actions have deep ramifications and help create a unique experience for yourself. My only gripe with this is I wish this was expanded on in the in the Modern Times expansion.

Tropico 4 finally welcomes it's self into the 21st century with the latest expansion called Modern Times and with that comes the latest goodies. New building, taller landmarks and a more traditional look that make cities resemble with what you are currently living in. If you think it was impressive how Tom Cruise scaled the tallest tower in the world in Dubai, then it's easily to do so (if you have the money of course) to create your own 21st century empire. Along with updated buildings, real time simulator fans will greatly appreciate the curved roads options to adequately customize your city. All together however, the look just feels like fancy re skin. Don't get me wrong, modern times gives the player more options from the outset and I love what it brings to the table, but the expansion fails to fix problem found in the original game.

The presentation values in Tropico 4: Modern Times are one of the biggest disappointments about the game. Either it's the Xbox 360 or the game it's self, the regardless of amount of time you spent ruling the city as el presidente. Tropico 4 fails to create a living breathing city, even though it dose a lot of things right with customizable buildings, eco friendly options and etc, but it miss a crucial part.

Citizens on Tropico Island won't appear on screen, even though you have a huge population in your city. Now to a certain extent the game dose do this, with the citizen's frequently revolting and sparking revolutions on the island, but it's still very few and far between. I wanted to see my citizens in my town crowded together, or see mass traffic jams due to the amount people on the island. For this reason alone, I felt kicked back from the experience and never was fully immersed.

Besides personal problems, the user interface on the Xbox 360 is still behind where it should be. Organize and micromanaging your city can be troublesome and frankly a pain to create your city to your liking. Rotating objects isn't as automatic as it should be, but it's still doable none else. What is going annoy most players is the of lack on screen guidance. Placing a farm in the right area can be a difficult for some because it doesn't explain what you should be aiming for and what to avoid. Now the game dose have a great tutorial system, but outside the tutorial system the game fails to teach you the proper success.

Modern Times is a good addition to the Tropico series, but the expansion still has the same mistakes. It's great that the Tropico 4 made the jump to the 21st century, but it's almost to little to late at this point. When you start digging and finding out what the expansion is all about. You will still see a game that has great potential, but is squandered by mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New and improved Tropico!, December 9, 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tropico 4 (Video Game)
Sometimes the sequels to games are not as good as the original. This is not the case with Tropico 4. I played Tropico on my PC. Missed 2 and 3, when a good sale came up I discovered this for the Xbox, and now fight with the kids for time on the Xbox! The first reviewer did a great job of summarizing what you have to do which is basically build an island, economy, people, housing, industry, transportation, and government. The graphics are great IMO. I love SIM games so this is right up my alley. My kids don't seem too interested, but my son is more the "shooter games" type, and my daughter is really not into games at all.
So for this 40 year old kid at heart I say go for it and enjoy that Xbox, not just for kids anymore thanks to Tropico 4!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun in the Sun... While Sitting at Home in Front of the TV, May 29, 2012
By 
Greg (SEATTLE, WA, US) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tropico 4 (Video Game)
Dipping it's toes into the under frequented pool of Console Sim games (for the fourth time, no less!) is Tropico! It's tropical turbulance as you lead a small island nation (that's totally not Cuba) through a cold-war era world as the young and enthusiastic new dictator (who totally is Fidel Castro, if you want him to be).

I actually have not played the other three installments of Tropico, so i can't speak of improvements or let downs or anything else. But what I can say is this: Tropico 4 is addictive. Highly, highly addictive.

Which is kind of surprising, considering that the scope of the game is so small! You only control one island, just the one, little, bare-bones tropical paradise. When compared to the SimCity's and Total Wars of the industry, gaming Sims where you rule over areas of thousands or even millions of people, one little island that tops out at a population of around 600 seems... weak. But here's the kicker; you can interact with each of those 600 islanders on the smallest of scales. You even have a little avatar of yourself that can be sent on various missions and tasks to improve morale. You can, at any time, see what you're subjects are thiking, what they need from life, what their politcal aspirations are. You can fire them from their jobs, or demolish their homes. You can even have the more troublesome ones arrested or killed. Provided you have the right buildings for the job, that is...

Like any city planning Sim, Tropico is all about placing buildings and making money. And you've got some pretty fabulous control on how you do so. The grid is very minute, so buildings are arranged almost entirely free-form, giving each city (even each neighborhood) you make a truly unique feel. You've got dozens of potential cash outlets to choose from (from agriculture all the way to tourism) to pull in income, based on your islands starting resources and (again) what buildings you put up.

What keeps the game alive and feeling unique are all the events that happen behind the scenes of building a tiny empire. Sure, there are natural disasters, but those are actually pretty tame to watch and more of a hassle over all. No, it's the battle of wits with the political factions at play that truly stands out. All the internal parties: the loyalists, the nationalists, the religious sector and others - all have their expecations and hopes for how you should run the island. Keeping them all happy is tricky (and expensive) and eventually someone's going to be out for blood come election time... or, you, just whenever. The foreign powers, also, have their say. Chief among them being the US and the USSR (cold war era, remember?), either of whom can invade your paradise and take over if you don't play nice with them.

Tropico's layers upon layers are what make it compelling and extremely addicting - there's always something going on and always some way to make your island better. The interface is smooth and clean, proving that a game of this type can work just fine on a console. The graphics are tight, and always visually interesting. There's a series of missions that can be played, giving you a specific island with specific resources and specific goal and chronicalling your rise to power; and they're plenty of fun. But Tropico truly shines in Sandbox mode - you've got an island and some cash and you're imagination to play with. And, to be honest, failing and watching the island fall into utter chaos is just as fun as making something beatufil and successful.

It's a goofy, oddball, somewhat cutlurally insenstiive game (the middle-eastern guy likes CAMELS! GET IT!) that not everyone will have the patience for. But I highly - HIGHLY - recommend giving it a shot if you're in the least bit curious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addicting Simulation Game, February 17, 2012
By 
B. Daisy (Virginia USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tropico 4 (Video Game)
I got this game because Amazon had it for only $19.99 and because I love strategy games like Civilization and Age of Empires. If you liked those games you will like Tropico 4. Once you start a game it is hard to stop. There have been a few times where I said "I will play for just another half an hour" and three hours later I am still playing and have to force myself to stop to go to bed. I was a little leary in buying Tropico 4 because I hadn't played any of the earlier versions and the series seems to have a history of buginess. I haven't experienced any problems so far with this one though, and I haven't heard of anyone else really having any problems either. Bottom line is if you like stategy/city building games you will enjoy this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun game, but a bit unstable, November 12, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tropico 4 (Video Game)
I've played this game now for probably about 20 hours, but all on the "Sandbox" mode. It is a lot of fun to tweak the island settings and see how you can impact the outcome of the game. I've found the game to be a lot of fun and will jump into the missions as soon as I get bored with the open play mode. I'm expecting to get a lot of hours out of this game, it was definitely a good purchase.

I only give this game four stars because it is a bit unstable. I've had it lock up four times already. The first time I lost three hours of gaming, including the autosaves. Twice it has locked up on me during a save action and corrupted the save file. It required me to manually shut off the Xbox. My advice is to save often and have multiple save files for the same mission. It is a five-star game once this gets fixed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!, February 27, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tropico 4 (Video Game)
Great game it is so much fun. It gets really challenging sometimes based on certain scenarios. Tropico 4 has a great mixture of both challenge and fun and will make you relive your Simcity days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SimCity, updated., January 18, 2012
By 
Alex (Illinois, USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tropico 4 (Video Game)
If you love sim games like SimCity, SimTower, etc, you'll love Tropico4. I have not played any of the earlier games in the Tropico series, and I was very nervous to buy a sim game on a console, but T4 is really fantastic. The controls took a bit of getting used to (specifically, the panning/zooming) but within 5 minutes it felt very natural and now I can't imagine it any other way. This game is a lot more detailed and intricate than any of the Sim games I've played in the past- down to each citizen's thoughts, needs, wants, etc. It can get a bit overwhelming at times when you have a bustling city but that is part of the challenge. I could play for hours, and I have.... it is quite addicting. I was also impressed at how the X360 handles the graphics and playability. It kept up even when there was a ton happening on the screen. Not sluggish or slow. I am impressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tropico 4
Tropico 4 by Kalypso Media (Xbox 360)
$29.99 $20.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.