Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Train egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 May The Best Garden Be Yours Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoors Gift Guide on PlasmaCar

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars19
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$17.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon August 23, 2007
When Samair Jones loses her boutique job, her boyfriend and her home all in the same day, she hits the ground running with a dogged determination to begin living for herself, damn everyone else and what they might think. When she goes to Risqué, a club where her best friend is a dancer, and she meets the club's owner, Valentine Ward, passions immediately flair. The two begin a heated relationship that's based at first on great sex, but soon they share a mutual understanding of, and respect for, one another. Samair is determined to get her line of clothing off the ground, but at the same time her feelings for Val and concerns over his ex-wife's continued malicious presence in their lives, have her emotions tumbling.

Valentine Ward is used to having any woman he wants and he wants Samair the moment he sees her in his club. He's the owner of a hugely successful club, having built it up himself from nothing; he is extremely proud and determined to make it work. Samair is equally hard working and determined to make her intimate apparel line a success, something Val admires and appreciates. It isn't long before Valentine envisions more with Samair than just a quick fling, but his ex-wife's scheming has put his ownership of the club in a precarious situation. He needs to take care of the business of the club, his very livelihood, before he can think of a future with Samair.

Ms. White has once again given readers a highly erotic story that goes much deeper than just sex. Samair and Val are wonderfully written characters whose story would be just as contagious if it didn't contain sex; isn't that the true measure of a truly excellent romance? Secondary characters are equally intriguing, and Val's friend Karl (whom readers first met in BOUND) will have his story told in WICKED, coming from Sasha White in January `08, which promises to be just as delicious as TROUBLE!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon March 29, 2008
I am an avid reader of erotic books, but for me to find one enjoyable, I prefer a good story along with the steamy sex. This book had no story to speak of, but what was worse, the characters were awful, and not developed. I didn't care if they were together or not. Believe it or not the writing was worse than everything I mentioned above. The sex scenes were forced between two characters we cared nothing about. I only got in the first 100 pages, as that was all I could stomach. Spend your hard earned cash on something else.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon October 13, 2007
Samair Jones is fed up: with her job, her boyfriend and her current best girlfriend too. From what she feels is her worst day ever she just picks up and takes off. Sammie decides it's time to stop settling and go for her dreams.

She calls her best friend from college Joey, who she hasn't seen for years.
Joey is a dancer and works at the hot club in town Risqué. When Samair goes to meet her at work she meets a man who sets her on fire and is determined to make ALL her fantasies come true.

I came to love Samair and Val so much I didn't want it to end. It's a compelling and beautiful love story as well as a steamy hot read. I'm hoping we get to see them again in Karl's story, Wicked, which is coming out soon!

This book was terrific, a fabulous example of the best of erotic romance and highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on December 10, 2007
Samair Jones has spent years trying to be what her family expects her to be, but she's had enough. She quits her hated day job and returns home to discover her boyfriend cheating on her with her roommate. Completely fed up, she walks out, determined to not be anyone's doormat again. Instead, she decides to reclaim her nickname of "Trouble" and to make her own way on her own terms - including starting a business focused on her passion for creating custom designed lingerie and dance costumes.

Valentine Ward owns Risqué, a hot club in Vancouver, Canada. Risqué is Val's baby and one of the few things he wanted during his divorce from his rich ex-wife. She turned him off women completely with her spite and manipulation, but when he spots Samair dancing in his club, he can't resist her sexy allure.

Samair is seduced by the handsome and sexy Val with his offer to indulge every one of her fantasies with no strings attached. The thrill of being in charge of even this part of the new life she's building for herself is irresistible.

But Val's powerful ex-wife has a plan in mind that may destroy everything Samair and Val have worked for, along with their games, and she wants to talk to Samair.

Trouble is the perfect name for this new romance by one of my favorite authors, Sasha White. This story was so good that it hooked me immediately and had me squirming in my chair - in the middle of a convention, no less. Samair never came across as any sort of wimp, but her taking charge of her life, its direction, had me cheering her on. "Trouble" is a nickname that totally suits Samair. Val's inability to resist Samair combined with his difficulties in opening up to her after his ex-wife's actions made me fear that it would doom their relationship.

Trouble is rife with hot sex, rich and compelling true-to-life characters and a story that caught and completely held my attention. Sasha has again managed to pull off a sensual, erotic romance with its sexual and emotional tension building and building throughout the story until its resolution brought a most satisfying afterglow. This is one of my favorites of Sasha's books to date, but I'm eagerly awaiting her next story. If you like a little Trouble in your life, you need to read this book. It instantly went into my keeper pile.

reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 14, 2010
I enjoyed this book, and really liked Samier, the main female character. I loved her struggle to build a life for herself independent of what family and friends envisioned. I also liked Val, but found him a little bland when compared to his VERY hot friend Karl(Wicked)and some of White's other delectable male characters. The romance was kind of sweet, and I empathized with him over his dilemma with the ex-wife, but as far as sexual heat, he didn't put it out there like I'm used to from this author. (That said, I thought the first scene, in Val's office on the desk, was very, very hot!!!).
Its a well-written book, with White's usual compelling secondary characters and strong female protag, but really we have more of a hot romance here, rather than erotica. No where near as steamy as Wicked!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on February 7, 2009
Unlike other erotica novels where the focus is on sex, sex and more sex, this book actually had a well executed plot. I would recommend buying this book; it was my first Sasha White novel and it won't be my last.

What I mostly liked about this story was the lack of "misunderstandings" between the hero (Val) and the heroine (Samair). And by that I mean where the hero overhears or oversees the heroine saying or doing something and blows it out of porportion and causes a rift, etc etc. You know, the typical way to keep the drama going. I liked that even though the two characters never came out and established trust, it was between them. It was very refreshing to read a straight-forward book that blended passion and romance with story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on March 11, 2008
You buy this genre of book for a reason but it is really nice when the story is good. Definitely a story of coming to terms with what you want out of life and who you are truly living for. Samair is a great character and under all of her issues, you see a really nice person and you find yourself pulling for her. Of course, it helps that Val is really hot and sexy. And you meet Karl, Val's friend, who is the main character in the sequel, Wicked.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 12, 2012

Samir Jones had quit her job at a boutique as she just could not take her boss any more but once she found her girlfriend and her man having sex in her bedroom, it was the last straw! She was used to being the black sheep of the family and had tried to please her parents for three years by having their idea of a normal life and she has not doing it any more! She grabbed some clothes, left the two, and fled to Vancover to her friend Joey. Knowing that by the time she got there that Joey would be at the nightclub, she went in search of her friend. The music was bumping and the place was packed and she let her inner self come out.

Valentine Ward had built, Risque' up from a warehouse through blood and sweat and soon it would be his and his alone. He had come up through the system and had many foster homes but in the back of his mind he knew that he would always leave again as just when he had gotten used to the one foster home he was placed in another. He had married Vera thinking that he had finally found love, but once she found out that she could not control him he left her and her wealthy parents behind. Val looked out the one way mirror in his office and saw a hot blond in black slacks and a white blouse who looked so out of place with the skin that most women were showing. She had an innocense and freshness about her than had his blood heading south.

Sasha White has created the perfect steamy book that will curl your toes and when Samir and Val get together they both go up in flames! Trouble is one very hot and erotic read that had me gasping for breath and no sooner that I caught my breath than they were at each other again! Val is leery of trusting another female and Samir is afraid of her feelings for Val when they had only known each other for a short time and she remembered that Kevin and her had been together for three years she never wanted to trust again so easily. Trouble is an excellent book and one to be enjoyed!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon September 30, 2012
Trouble by Sasha White is every girls fantasy about finding a lover that not only fulfills all your secret wicked desires but he also is a lover to die for that will go to any lengths to keep you satisfied. And it's an added bonus he's got this quite Alpha thing going on. You know the type, surrounded by an aura of dark sensuality and power, Valentine is all that and a bag of chips. Samair is the perfect match for Val, she is 10yrs younger with a helluva sparkling personality that allows her to take the lemons in her life and make lemonade. She's no Marysue, there are the normal desires to be respected by family and friends for the life choices she makes, and when that doesn't happen she refuses to be consumed by thier disappointments. Instead she makes the decision to march to the beat of her own drum. She has earned the nickname of Trouble due to her mischievous streak and her ability to naturally attract attention.

Val and Sammie meet when they were both dealing with some serious issues in their lives, They make the decision to become lovers with no strings attached. They both needed an outlet for their physical needs while they dealt with their issues separately. That is one of the things I loved about this book, Sammie & Val were not trying to heal each other, they actual liked themselves. There was no big misunderstanding, no stalkers, just 2 individuals that slowly gained each others trust, and realized that together they could have it all, a loving relationship and careers they both loved. Once Sammie started living her life for herself she embraced her sexuality, and demanded what she wanted and to her surprise Val stepped up and delivered the goods, and in the process he found the woman he was always looking for. The love scenes were sizzling hot with a heavy dose of intimacy that I have come to expect in a Sasha White book. There is one scene when Val & Sammie participate in a threesome that clearly showed how much they were willing to test their relationship. They were aware of the risk they were taking, but knew if they could past this test their relationship would be unshakeable, and Sammie would finally experience her ultimate fantasy with the man of her dreams. There is one last test Sammie issues to Val that will take your breath away and have you eagerly turning the pages to see what Val will do next. I loved this couple and the world they inhabit. To me nothing is more stimulating than reading about 2 strong individuals falling in love, trusting and supporting each other.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on March 21, 2008
Am I the only person who couldn't take this book seriously? I'm all for erotica books that have hot sex scenes and not much plot or character development to speak of (after all, who reads erotica for a plot?)... but this was just ridiculous. I can't take this book seriously because the writing is just so cheesy and awful.

I'll give you some examples of some of the horrible, cheesy writing that I simply could not overcome:

- "Friday night and the place was packed and the music was pumpin'." (pumpin'?!)
- "She worked crappy hours in a small boutique so she could be near what she really loved: clothes." (What a poor, noble soul!)
- "... turned to see a striking readhead climb into one of the platform cages and start shaking her booty." (her "booty?" Is this book written for 15 year olds?)
- "Three steps from the top she saw a good-looking stud on his way up." ("stud???" seriously?)

And by the way, these quotes are all from the first seven pages. I couldn't make it past page 20. Especially when the way the male love interest was described reminded me disturbingly of Steven Seagal.

I have no doubt that the sex scenes are steamy and plenty throughout this novel. But any intelligent person might have a hard time getting past the horrifically cheesy writing, one-dimensional characters (our heroine loves clothes and *sigh* poor thing, she lives a "boring" life and it's the worst thing in the world!!!), and the ridiculousness of their so-called attraction to one another (he sees her across the dance club and thinks she has nice hair and tits, and he buys her a drink so she has sex with him).

I love erotica, but come on, it has to be slightly believable! (VERY slightly... and even then, this book doesn't cut it).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Wicked by Sasha White (Paperback - January 2, 2008)

Bound by Sasha White (Paperback - June 27, 2006)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.