Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource.
An excellent overview of Calvinism and with some insight into Arminianism. Recommended for anyone struggling to understand the difference or just get a basic grasp.
Published 2 months ago by ElizAnne

versus
16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Helpful Primer to the Arminian/Calvinism Debate
Dr. Frank Page, pastor of First Baptist Church in Taylors, SC, has written a short book of 80 pages entitled Trouble With The TULIP in which he expresses his concerns over Calvinism and their rise in the Southern Baptist Convention. Many prominent Southern Baptists such as Dr. Al Mohler, president of Southern Baptist Seminary, have expressed a reformation of Baptist...
Published on May 1, 2009 by Seeking Disciple


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Helpful Primer to the Arminian/Calvinism Debate, May 1, 2009
This review is from: Trouble with the Tulip (Paperback)
Dr. Frank Page, pastor of First Baptist Church in Taylors, SC, has written a short book of 80 pages entitled Trouble With The TULIP in which he expresses his concerns over Calvinism and their rise in the Southern Baptist Convention. Many prominent Southern Baptists such as Dr. Al Mohler, president of Southern Baptist Seminary, have expressed a reformation of Baptist theology calling Southern Baptists to embrace five point Calvinism. Dr. Page wants to counter that call with this book in which he writes to defend what he calls "the true teachings of grace."

Overall the book is more of primer on the Arminian/Calvinist debate. One reviewer at Amazon gave the book a poor rating saying that Dr. Page misunderstands Calvinism but I thought he did a good job of presenting the five points of Calvinism (commonly expressed through the acronym TULIP) in a limited number of pages while trying to be corrective without being negative toward Calvinists he knew would be reading his book. Granted the book does not dive too deeply into either the history nor the exegesis of Calvinism but Dr. Page covers the basics quickly and I believe accurately.

Like many Southern Baptist preachers, Dr. Page does not want to be identified as an Arminian and so he seeks in the book to distance himself from either label. He writes that he simply wants to be a Christian. I think both Calvinists and Arminians would agree with that. Our first and foremost desire should be to be Jesus' disciples and not the teachers of men (1 Corinthians 1:10-12; 3:5). Our first love should be Jesus Christ and not the theology of Arminius or Calvin (Revelation 2:4).

In order for Dr. Page to distance himself from Arminians he seeks to build his own acronym using the word "Grace" which he calls "Five Points of Scriptural Soteriology." Here are his points:

G - Given Through Christ
R - Rejected Through Rebellion
A - Accepted Through Faith
C - Christ Died For All
E - Everlasting Life = Security of the Believer

However, if you examine Page's five points you will find that he is a 4 point Arminian. For example, taking the TULIP and comparing it to Arminianism you will find that Armimians essentially believe:

Total Depravity
Conditional Election
Unlimited Atonement
Resistible Grace
Necessary Perseverance of the Saints

Page, in his book, affirms all but the last point to which he holds to "once saved, always saved" which most Arminians reject as we see the Bible as teaching that true disciples of Jesus must persevere in faith in Jesus and that our salvation is found only in Christ alone (Galatians 5:1-4; Philippians 2:12-15; Colossians 1:21-23; Hebrews 2:1-4; 3:6-19; 4:1-16; 5:8-9; 6:4-20; 10:19-39; 2 Peter 2:20-22; 3:17; 1 John 2:3-6; 3:6-9; 2 John 9; etc.).

In fact, I believe the greatest weakness of Page's book is not that he misunderstands Calvinism but that he misunderstands reformation Arminianism. For instance, Dr. Page claims on page 26 that the heart of Arminians disagreement with Calvinism is over free will. This is simply not true. The core issue for Arminians is the nature and character of God. We believe that our theology flows from viewing God as a loving God first (Romans 5:8; 1 John 4:10). We believe that it was the love of God that motivated Him to send His Son (John 3:16). We believe it was the love of God that created human beings in His image with a free will. We believe so strongly in the love of God that we believe that Jesus came to die for all (1 Timothy 2:1-6; 2 Peter 3:9) for God does not delight in the death of the wicked (Ezekiel 18:23) but He wants all people to repent (Acts 17:30-31). Dr. Page is wrong in his assertion that Arminianism begins with free will. Arminianism begins with the love of God for the world.

Overall this is a worthy book to read. It is a bit pricey for such a small book but I believe Arminians should keep this book in your library. Again, it is a decent primer for those wanting to know more about the Arminian/Calvinist debate. While it does not add much to the debate and is not a theological study of the debate, it is an easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource., April 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trouble with the Tulip (Paperback)
An excellent overview of Calvinism and with some insight into Arminianism. Recommended for anyone struggling to understand the difference or just get a basic grasp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book!, April 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trouble with the Tulip (Paperback)
This is a great book! It is too bad that it is not in greater circulation to be read by more people. People need to know the fallacies of the doctrine of the Tulip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic, meticulously researched, yet easy, read, May 14, 2013
This review is from: Trouble with the Tulip (Paperback)
Dr. Frank Page does a wonderful job in The Trouble With the Tulip laying out five points in an easy to understand, easy to read fashion. The book truly helped me, a simple follower of Christ, to understand the Calvinistic, and non-Calvinistic views of Christianity. An excellent read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A "troubling" attempt at debunking Calvinism, June 17, 2014
This review is from: Trouble with the Tulip (Paperback)
Three stars is probably a generous rating for this book. Dr. Page's unscholarly attempt to rebut the five points of Calvinism falls woefully short. The brevity of this book and the lack of adequate research causes it to read more like an undergraduate Theology 101 paper than something produced by a PhD. Granted, Page is a pastor and not a theologian (although he lays claim to being one on the back cover), so his failure to produce an adequate defense for his anti-Calvinist position may be forgiven. I was hoping for a better presentation of the Arminian position, but the author does not consider himself as being in that camp either. Frankly, he appears to have developed a hybrid soteriology founded upon diminished divine sovereignty. Only someone with a preconceived bias toward reformed theology would appreciate this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect fit, January 31, 2014
By 
Phil and Laura Leslie (Bellefonte, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trouble with the Tulip (Paperback)
Dr. Page succinctly put into words what I have always believed in my heart for as long as I have been a follower of Jesus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good short read, March 12, 2012
This review is from: Trouble with the Tulip (Paperback)
This was a very good short read for someone who is not a theologian and wondering what is all the hype about Calvinism and Arianism in our Baptist circles. It was very informative and short for those who don't have hours to mull over the differences in theology. GREAT BOOK! A little pricey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth reading,,,,, January 13, 2007
This review is from: Trouble with the Tulip (Paperback)
I read this book recently. Dr. Page demonstrated throughout this book that he really doesn't understand the theology of Calvinism. This book is comedy, not an honest logical critique of Reformed Soteriology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Trouble with the Tulip
Trouble with the Tulip by Frank S. Page (Paperback - 2000)
Used & New from: $21.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.