Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 11, 2008
In the early nineteenth century as England fights Napoleon, Royal Navy Captain Alan Lewrie learns that he has been sentenced to death in absentia by a Jamaican court allegedly for stealing slaves. Those who arranged the sham trial have come to England to execute him, claiming they carry out a legal sentencing that England by law must adhere to.

Meanwhile William Wilberforce and his abolitionist backers see Lewrie as an opportunity to focus on the inhumanity of slavery. They hire him a highly regarded barrister to defend him in court once his case appears on the docket. Freed because he is an aristocrat, Lewrie returns to his ship the H.M.S. Savage, blockading the seas off southwest France. Instead of sitting around, Lewrie sees a chance to cause havoc by leading a naval assault against the French coast.

The Lewrie historical naval novels (see A KING'S COMMANDER and A KING'S TRADE, etc.) are always some of the best Napoleonic War military tales around. TROUBLED WATERS is much more although the at sea battles are as great as ever. However, this time the audience also gets a chance to follow the English legal system that makes the DNA double helix look like a kindergarten puzzle. Dewey Lambkin keeps his excellent series fresh and exciting.

Harriet Klausner
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2014
Lambdin does it again. I have to say this is an extremely enjoyable series. I recommend them all. This is another clever installment that continues to move the story along on several levels. The linear evolution of the story advances, past loose ends are tied up and the stage is set for future action. Lewrie matures as a leader and a human as well. When combined with outstanding story telling, great descriptive color in time and place along with multidimensional characters this book comes alive and reminds me once more why Dewey Lambdin is one of my favorite authors in this genre. Not only is this book worth your time, it's worth your money. As I've said on a number of other Lambdin reviews, inexpensive entertainment that creates a rich experience. Okay, I never said it that way before but that's the gist of other recommendations.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2013
I love this book; I have read and enjoyed all of the books in this series, and will, with dedication and joy, continue to read further books in the series. The writing is engaging, and the depth of historical research is highly admirable.

The Kindle version is riddled and rotten and absolutely reeking with scanning errors! The publishers and the author ought to be damned ashamed of themselves for allowing such a messy scan to be sold. Question marks turn into curly-braces "}" and exclamation points turn into right-parentheses ")". Words are mangled: rig turns to fig and so on. Italicized passages remain italicized for words and words before or after the typographic enhancement is called for. Quote marks come away from the words they are associated with and often attach themselves to other words nearby; in many cases they vanish entirely.

The book, per se, is a joy and a delight, and I am not at all reluctant to give it the five stars it deserves. The people who prepared the manuscript for Kindle publication need to be bent over a cannon and given forty stout lashes with the end of a rope. Shabby, sir! Shabby!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2008
I really enjoy this author's books. None of the Alan Lewrie books have been a disappointment. They are a clever, witty story that leave you excited for the next installment in the series.

If you're looking for a story with lots of cannon fire, smoke, guns and swords crossed then look no futher. Be sure to start at the beginning of the series with book #1 Kings Coat.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2014
Love the series and Lambdin is a terrific, hugely enjoyable writer. However, these later novels, enjoyable as I find them, rely on spending a great deal of the book rehashing previous adventures. A character from a previous novel will pop up to cause our hero some difficulties which are resolved when the said person gets killed in combat. I confess to a good deal of page flipping. Once Lewrie weighes anchor and sets sail, so does the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2009
Remarkably, this 14th Alan Lewrie novel begins with a new ship and a new 1st Lt. for Capt. Lewrie, eliciting pages of retellings of all the earlier tales of lucky, rakehell Lewrie. Strange. We don't get our cutwaters wet with a new adventure until halfway through this book; half way! But, I admit, the earlier legal wranglings come to a nice head by then--if ye have a mind fer ancient social mores and courthouse antics.

What new views of naval life do we get here? Capt. Lewrie is fitting out a new, better frigate, but we see more details of his ward, Sophie's, wedding. And more of the long-running, potentially lethal law case against him that fearfully drags on--with interesting details of how witnesses would be handled at trial. Remarkably, we finally get to read one of the infamous, anonymous, scurrilous letters that for years now have strained Lewrie's relations with his wife. Ah, whot troubl'd waters this mighty captain swims. Yet not so explicitly compromising as it would have been, I bet, if published in the days of Lewrie's rather graphic amours early in the series.

The title refers as much to the ongoing law suit against Capt. Alan Lewrie for theft and impressment of slaves, as to the French river mouth where his new ship patrols in 1800. The mission for small ships which Lewrie concocts on station is pointless--what do the British gain from their harrassment if they don't also plan to destroy the French ships abuilding? Lewrie should be charged with pointless murder, instead.

My title is also a recommendation to Dewey Lambdin.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2015
Another fantastic tale of Alan Lawrie in an equally awesome series. Great fun for fans of C.S. Forester and Patrick O'Brien.
The only downside to this book is the TERRIBLE punctuation and spelling, obviously the fault of whoever prepared this book for kindle, not the author.
Sidenote for the author: Pogey Bait means candy...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2014
I love Alan Lewrie.. Some complain that books can be slow when he is involved in other things such as his domestic issues or that there are not enough battle scenes. I just look as this as being more about his life, problems and career. His legal issues are just more of Alan Lewrie doing his thing. Here is the prefect vehicle, his freed slave and St. Alan the Liberator.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2013
The possible down side would have been had I not read the prior books with all of Alan's adventures. The first third of this book was about what he did before and how actions will cause him to go before the legals system back then with possible death sentence. Then it crank up and dorve into he sea adventures and battles with the French.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2013
Dewey Lambdin never lets you down. This is a little less edge of your seat than the run, thus only 4 stars. Still rate it money well spent. Honestly, th descriptions of British daily life alone would earn at least 3 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse