Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Napoleonic War military tale
In the early nineteenth century as England fights Napoleon, Royal Navy Captain Alan Lewrie learns that he has been sentenced to death in absentia by a Jamaican court allegedly for stealing slaves. Those who arranged the sham trial have come to England to execute him, claiming they carry out a legal sentencing that England by law must adhere to.

Meanwhile...
Published on January 11, 2008 by Harriet Klausner

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old friends & weak story.
nearly 200 pages before any sea action. Lambden's style is one of my favorite in genra. That's all that carries this one.
Published on August 30, 2008 by James Nelson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Napoleonic War military tale, January 11, 2008
This review is from: Troubled Waters: An Alan Lewrie Naval Adventure (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures) (Hardcover)
In the early nineteenth century as England fights Napoleon, Royal Navy Captain Alan Lewrie learns that he has been sentenced to death in absentia by a Jamaican court allegedly for stealing slaves. Those who arranged the sham trial have come to England to execute him, claiming they carry out a legal sentencing that England by law must adhere to.

Meanwhile William Wilberforce and his abolitionist backers see Lewrie as an opportunity to focus on the inhumanity of slavery. They hire him a highly regarded barrister to defend him in court once his case appears on the docket. Freed because he is an aristocrat, Lewrie returns to his ship the H.M.S. Savage, blockading the seas off southwest France. Instead of sitting around, Lewrie sees a chance to cause havoc by leading a naval assault against the French coast.

The Lewrie historical naval novels (see A KING'S COMMANDER and A KING'S TRADE, etc.) are always some of the best Napoleonic War military tales around. TROUBLED WATERS is much more although the at sea battles are as great as ever. However, this time the audience also gets a chance to follow the English legal system that makes the DNA double helix look like a kindergarten puzzle. Dewey Lambkin keeps his excellent series fresh and exciting.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Troubled Waters, February 9, 2008
By 
Karen Thompson (Mountain Home, ID) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Troubled Waters: An Alan Lewrie Naval Adventure (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures) (Hardcover)
I really enjoy this author's books. None of the Alan Lewrie books have been a disappointment. They are a clever, witty story that leave you excited for the next installment in the series.

If you're looking for a story with lots of cannon fire, smoke, guns and swords crossed then look no futher. Be sure to start at the beginning of the series with book #1 Kings Coat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Troubled Waters - a review, February 9, 2008
By 
David Schultz (Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Troubled Waters: An Alan Lewrie Naval Adventure (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures) (Hardcover)
The entire Alan Lewrie series is immensely readable and enjoyable. It is, of course, not brilliant, high brow "naval adventure literature" like O'Brian but it doesn't try to be. It is simply rollicking action packed good fun. To be fully appreciated, this new installment (#14) should not be the first Lewrie book you should read. It is best enjoyed in the context of the full series (very highly recommended in its entirety).. I very, very seldom buy a book in hardcover -- but I did this one and will do so for #15 due, presumably, in 2010.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional series, November 29, 2010
Having just finished book fourteen of this series, I want the author to know that he should keep writing. I've read the Hornblower series and the Aubrey-Maturin series. This Lewrie series is a little more bawdy, but very comparable to the Aubrey series and better than the Hornblower series. With each book the author is improving his stories. By "Troubled Water", the protogonist is now a post capitan with real life worries - marriage, work, legal. Although to modern sensibilities some of the predicaments seems bizarre, I suspect that they are historically accurate. So if you liked Aubrey, give this series a try. A few scenes are R rated, but the vast majority of the book is G.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Troubled Waters, December 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Alan Lewrie series doesn't come close to the 18th/19th century British naval adventure series by Patrick O'Brian but then he is the gold standard of this era in British naval history. And it doesn't speak to the realism of the Hornblower series but then that was based on fact. However, when Lambdin sticks to the naval side of things the books are quite enjoyable. His era socio-sexual scenes can both be quite lewd and disgusting while remaining boring to boot. The rest of it has been good enough though that I continue to look forward to each book as it becomes available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First, shoot the lawyers, May 19, 2009
By 
tertius3 (MI United States) - See all my reviews
Remarkably, this 14th Alan Lewrie novel begins with a new ship and a new 1st Lt. for Capt. Lewrie, eliciting pages of retellings of all the earlier tales of lucky, rakehell Lewrie. Strange. We don't get our cutwaters wet with a new adventure until halfway through this book; half way! But, I admit, the earlier legal wranglings come to a nice head by then--if ye have a mind fer ancient social mores and courthouse antics.

What new views of naval life do we get here? Capt. Lewrie is fitting out a new, better frigate, but we see more details of his ward, Sophie's, wedding. And more of the long-running, potentially lethal law case against him that fearfully drags on--with interesting details of how witnesses would be handled at trial. Remarkably, we finally get to read one of the infamous, anonymous, scurrilous letters that for years now have strained Lewrie's relations with his wife. Ah, whot troubl'd waters this mighty captain swims. Yet not so explicitly compromising as it would have been, I bet, if published in the days of Lewrie's rather graphic amours early in the series.

The title refers as much to the ongoing law suit against Capt. Alan Lewrie for theft and impressment of slaves, as to the French river mouth where his new ship patrols in 1800. The mission for small ships which Lewrie concocts on station is pointless--what do the British gain from their harrassment if they don't also plan to destroy the French ships abuilding? Lewrie should be charged with pointless murder, instead.

My title is also a recommendation to Dewey Lambdin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great chapet in the Alan Lewrey saga., April 16, 2009
One of the best nautical fiction series now available. The series should be rated R due to the "rowdy/randy" main character, but you cannot ignore the brilliance of the author in portraying life on a man-o-war in the age of sail. His historical accuracy is refreshing as is his character development. Most main characters in this genre' of novels are princes, nearly perfect; but not Alan Lewrey. His lack of self control when away from hearth and home land him in more trouble than the combined fleets of the U.S. Navy, France, Spain and Holland. With the warning to the character flaw of the main character, you can't help but wish the author could write FASTER! Hang in there Alan, it can't get any worse... or can it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Lewrie, June 14, 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Genoa, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love Alan Lewrie.. Some complain that books can be slow when he is involved in other things such as his domestic issues or that there are not enough battle scenes. I just look as this as being more about his life, problems and career. His legal issues are just more of Alan Lewrie doing his thing. Here is the prefect vehicle, his freed slave and St. Alan the Liberator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lewrie matures, March 16, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Lambdin does it again. I have to say this is an extremely enjoyable series. I recommend them all. This is another clever installment that continues to move the story along on several levels. The linear evolution of the story advances, past loose ends are tied up and the stage is set for future action. Lewrie matures as a leader and a human as well. When combined with outstanding story telling, great descriptive color in time and place along with multidimensional characters this book comes alive and reminds me once more why Dewey Lambdin is one of my favorite authors in this genre. Not only is this book worth your time, it's worth your money. As I've said on a number of other Lambdin reviews, inexpensive entertainment that creates a rich experience. Okay, I never said it that way before but that's the gist of other recommendations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great in the Lewrie Series, January 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I can't stop reading this series, Alan is no angel, he is alas human. The saga continues and I will read them all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Troubled Waters: An Alan Lewrie Naval Adventure (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures)
Used & New from: $2.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.