Buy Used
$0.01
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by hippo_books
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Very Good: Cover and pages show some wear from reading and storage.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

A Truck Goes Rattley-Bumpa Hardcover – August 11, 2005

8 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover, August 11, 2005
$634.75 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

"My Cousin Momo" by Zachariah OHora
Fans of Peter Brown and Bob Shea will fall in love with Zachariah OHora’s bold artwork and hilarious characters. See more

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

PreSchool-Grade 1–No matter how many truck books you have, certain youngsters will always clamor for more. This one offers a fun twist. Trucks of all shapes and sizes are introduced by three members of a family who, readers discover in the end, are building a new house. The text is spare, but reads aloud well, and the bold, simple illustrations that fill each spread speak volumes. Children will also delight in following a frolicking squirrel throughout the book and finding him on each page. It is the satisfying details like this that make the book a super addition to a much-loved picture-book genre.–Genevieve Gallagher, Murray Elementary School, Charlottesville, VA
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

From Booklist

PreS. Short, rhyming couplets tell about a variety of trucks: what they look like, what sounds they make, where they go, and what they do. Meanwhile, childlike gouache paintings clearly illustrate the brief sentences or phrases on each page. London and Roche show a good sense of what toddlers like in a truck book: a straightforward approach, a simple text, easy-to-decipher artwork that shows a variety of trucks in action, and, in the end, a child behind the wheel. Though the final scene shows a child behind the wheel of a kiddie truck, watching movers unload boxes from a much bigger one, in his imagination, he is driving a big rig. A satisfying choice for little kids who love big trucks. Carolyn Phelan
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 2 - 5 years
  • Grade Level: Preschool - Kindergarten
  • Hardcover: 32 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR); First Edition edition (September 1, 2005)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0805072330
  • ISBN-13: 978-0805072334
  • Product Dimensions: 9.4 x 0.5 x 9.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 10.4 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #581,644 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

5 star
75%
4 star
25%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See all 8 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By M. Allen Greenbaum HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICE on January 31, 2007
Format: Hardcover
Jonathan London waxes poetic about the many kinds of trucks in this rhyming book for toddles. He introduces concepts such as color, length, quanitity, sound, and function--all ably illustrated by Denis Roche's friendly, bright, pictures (gouache on paper). We see long trucks (a lumber truck) and short (a forklift), a truck that goes "chugga-chuggs" (a cement mixer, and one that "goes vroom!" (a truck that flattens the cement--it doesn't seem like a vehicle that could vroom! very easily), ice cream, street cleaning, and moving trucks, among others.

That moving truck gives the book some structure in its last 10 pages. A huge truck, with "Vincent and Francis Movers" painted on its side, rolls over a bridge, drives night and day, and finally arrives, through rural areas, and finally to a little neighborhood, where a young boy (whom we see driving his own toy tryck) joyfully watches the truck arrive at his home. London's narrative gives the boy's perspective, thus further engaging his young truck-loving audience.

"If I were a trucker,
I could polish the chrome.
I could hop in that big rig...
...and drive it on home!"

Below a picture of the sleeping boy--his toy trucks on the floor beneath him--there's a brief note informing us that author London's favorite truck is a '54 Ford pickup; illustrator Roche favors a garbage truck! This is a light book that should hold the attention of would-be truckers, and that may have special value for kids whose families are moving. Most of the trucks are in suburban or rural setttings, this is not a book for those who want to see trucks in the big city.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Mary A. Martin on April 6, 2008
Format: Hardcover
Our 2 1/2 year old grand daughter loves this book so much that she has memorized it word for word and can now "read" it to us. A great little book for either a boy or girl. There's something about it that appeals to children. I highly recommend it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
This is our 13 month old's favorite book at the moment. He will bring it to us saying "bumpa, bumpa" and then ask us to read it over and over and over.

He loves the bright illustrations and the rhythmic words - we even sing them sometimes. Dad and I love the sub-story in the illustrations (the pictures all show a family building and moving into a new home with the help of many trucks) and looking for details. Look for a squirrel on each page and for where the dad spills the paint when the boy anounces that the moving truck is almost there.

I'm not sure that it will be a children's literature classic, but I have a feeling that it will be a special book in our family for years to come.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
My 5 year old son recently checked this book out from his school library. As soon as he got home he wanted to read it. We have read the book several times since then. I have a feeling I will be purchasing this book in the future. The pages are amazingly illustrated and full of color. The story has a rhythmic flow that any kid will love. A must read for children that love trucks of all types. I will be checking out more books by this author.

Originally posted on The Mystical World of Book Reviews.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?