Customer Reviews


758 Reviews
5 star:
 (561)
4 star:
 (92)
3 star:
 (65)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


175 of 182 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season Five is Fantastic!
The Bon Temps gang returns for the fifth season of HBO's "True Blood". I am a colossal fan of the show, having seen every episode since the pilot. Like every show, "True Blood" has had a few ups and downs in terms of writing. Seasons one and two were the show at its best, in my opinion. Season three was a lot of fun, but suffered from cluttered storylines and tonal...
Published 19 months ago by w.s.

versus
51 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starting to Lose Interest
I've been a fan of True Blood since the beginning, but this past season has begun to test my loyalty. The seasonal villain is too far-fetched. I know the characters are vampires, but it would be nice to see even one of them maintain a successful relationship. If this keeps up, we're going to need a flow chart just to keep up with who is sleeping with whom and who is now...
Published 19 months ago by word and song


‹ Previous | 1 276 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

175 of 182 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season Five is Fantastic!, January 1, 2013
This review is from: True Blood: Season 5 (DVD)
The Bon Temps gang returns for the fifth season of HBO's "True Blood". I am a colossal fan of the show, having seen every episode since the pilot. Like every show, "True Blood" has had a few ups and downs in terms of writing. Seasons one and two were the show at its best, in my opinion. Season three was a lot of fun, but suffered from cluttered storylines and tonal problems. But, season four -- although it still can't top season one or two -- was a solid return to form (and I can't understand the bashing it regularly receives on here from other fans).

So, how does season five compare? I found this year to be even better than the last; the most compelling reason for this is the fundamental shaking up of all things comfortable and familiar on the show. All of the close relationships have been compromised or changed or they've grown apart: Sookie/Bill/Eric, Sookie/Tara, Pam/Eric, Jason/Hoyt, Tara/Lafayette, etc. This was the year of the Break Up (friendships as well as romances). But, the interesting thing is how this made way for all sorts of new and compelling bonds to form: Bill/Eric, Pam/Tara, Jason/Jessica.

Season five was definitely a game-changer (probably because it was creator Alan Ball's farewell season). There isn't even a clear-cut Big Bad this year. The villain could be seen as The Authority and through our infiltration of the system this year, we get the sense of just how ambiguous the concepts of right and wrong, good and bad really are to the vampires of the True Blood 'verse. The most compelling part about this story is finally getting to see the inner workings of the Authority and how fundamentally it changes both Bill and Eric (especially toward the latter half of the season). The members of the Authority themselves, though, are a mixed bag. Christopher Meloni proves himself to be the awesome actor he is as Roman, but he's sadly underused during the season. Valentina Cervi didn't really do it for me as Salome, neither did Lucy Griffiths as Eric's vampire sister Nora.

The regular actors, however, were all in top form. It was a refreshing change to see Anna Paquin's Sookie almost entirely unattached romantically. It led for some interesting directions for her character to go in, as well as Ryan Kwanten as Jason (who had what was probably his most powerful arc this year). Stephen Moyer and Alexander Skarsgard reportedly had a blast filming this season and having Bill and Eric be partners in crime instead of foes and competitors for Sookie's heart. This sense of fun really does show and highlights the fact that these two do have great screen chemistry together.

But, my favorite part of this season was the pairing of Pam and Tara. It was a brilliant turn of writing, in many ways. Tara started off as a great and complex character: troubled but also strong, smart, and resourceful, as well as very funny. But, around the time of season three, she became the "eternal victim" in a way that was really running out of steam. Having her reborn as a baby vamp really breathed new life into the character and Rutina Wesley did a fantastic job of convincingly reinventing Tara while retaining her essence. Her scenes with Kristin Bauer van Straten were easily some of the best moments of the season, as these two actresses have wonderful chemistry. Kristin also had what was her best season yet, getting able to reveal new dimensions as well as the past of our favorite sardonic vampire Pam.

As great as this season was, it wasn't perfect. My sole criticism for True Blood is that they stop with all of the extra story lines. Not every character needs their own arc on the show. Supporting characters, like Terry, Arlene, and Holly, can remain just that. SUPPORTING characters in the story lines of the more primary ones. Some of the fat I believe could've been trimmed included Terry's Ifrit drama, Holly and Andy's romance, and some of Alcide's wolf pack politics. Even Lafayette (one of my favorites) didn't have much interesting to do this year.

Luckily, by the time of the season finale, the writers did a good job of streamlining most of the stories into one cohesive finish. And what a finish it was! Just wondering what season six has in store for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starting to Lose Interest, December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Blood: Season 5 (DVD)
I've been a fan of True Blood since the beginning, but this past season has begun to test my loyalty. The seasonal villain is too far-fetched. I know the characters are vampires, but it would be nice to see even one of them maintain a successful relationship. If this keeps up, we're going to need a flow chart just to keep up with who is sleeping with whom and who is now a vampire and who is still human. I still have hopes for the new season, but I'm only cautiously optimistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you havent seen true blood don't start if you don't have time to finish!!, November 30, 2012
This review is from: True Blood: Season 5 (DVD)
True Blood started as everyone saying you have to see this and me grudgingly taking Season 1 from a friend. I now own all the seasons, know each character by name with background story and am humbly awaiting the release of season five. Its addicting, dont' say I didn't warn you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely LOVE this series!!!, February 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Blood: Season 5 (DVD)
Such a good series! If you have yet to get started on the True Blood sereis...where have you been?! Definitely not something for the young adult to be watching but us adults sure can watch and watch and watch!! I won't dare miss an episode and sometimes find that I will watch the new episode 2-3 times the first night it airs! Really good series just wish there were more episodes to each season and I HATE that this coming season (in 2014) will be the final season! Now that really sucks!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hunk a hunk a burining love!, February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Blood: Season 5 (DVD)
Man, this season proved to be EXCITING!!! From the first episode it had you on your toes wondering who was playing who and who was about to meet the True death!!! Lots of action, sexy bodies and attitude!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 78 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Truly the worst season this show has had., October 31, 2012
This review is from: True Blood: Season 5 (DVD)
Oh, dear. Poor Sookie. After the great ending of the last season with Debbie blasting Tara, and in turn Sookie blowing Debbie's head off, I was so happy. It was going to guarantee that this season would A: Open with a moral dilemma for Sookie cold-bloodedly murdering someone, and B: Do away with the most annoying character this program has (Tara). And it was going to have Christopher Meloni, who stagnated far too long on SVU, to finally play a character that would allow him to have fun. Also, with Bill and Eric playing fugitive, that had some good character conflict set up immediately as well. This had all the earmarks of a very good start.

Alas, none of these things were to be.

The fact that I watched every episode of the season was something befuddling to me, because other than one of the episodes directed by Michael Lehmann, this was an even more confusing and increasingly frustrating season with just some flat-out ham-fisted story arcs.

The main arc of the season was a not-bold-at-all-but-trying-to-be satire of rising fundamentalism and political and religious division in the United States where the Vampire Council slowly start to convert to a more fundamentalist belief that humans are their food, and they should not try to integrate at all but rather feed and kill at will according to the teachings of The Vampiric Bible and Lilith, the god of all vampires. On the human side of the spectrum, you have human groups in Bon Temps going around killing vampires and assorted "freaks", promoting the superiority of humans in the world. And then there's Sookie caught in the middle of everything, as per usual.

There were so many problems with this season, it's hard to list them all without giving away some major plot points, but just about every single character on the show has an arc. The worst arc sadly belonging to Terry, one of my favorite characters, where we finally find out the reason he has PTSD. Of course, because it's TRUE BLOOD, instead of it having a reason that in something mundane, it has to be something supernatural and bat-poop crazy in nature. Even worse is the primary arc of Jason who knows, thanks to Sookie and her Lafayette-as-medium conversations with Gran, that their parents were indeed murdered by a vampire thanks to a generations-old contract that the Stackhouse family had with this one vampire. Loyalties, motivations and characterizations shift with no organic reasons other than, "Oh, here's a new idea; let's have (character A) do (something bizarre) to, or with, (character B)". That's usually not a very good way to get any kind of interesting conflict going, and that's most of what this season is: conflict for conflict's sake. The only story arc that seemed at all interesting was that of Alcide and his father, played by an increasingly grizzled Robert Patrick.

Performances are still good for the most part, with the standouts being Alexander Skarsgard and Deborah Ann Woll. And the weak link of the cast still remains Rutina Wesley, but I don't think it's necessarily her fault as an actress, but more that Tara is just a cringe-inducing character.

The truly bothersome part of the season is the idea of fundamentalism and extremism. Obviously this is the show's agenda to show how these ideas are tearing apart this country and the world, which is particularly pronounced with the pro-human groups wearing Obama masks when they murder the supers, because evidently, the show is trying to make some kind of political statement with that. By having them wear Obama masks is them showing an explicit statement, although, what that statement is, I have no idea. They could have just as easily worn Halloween masks, or ski masks or anything to hide their faces, but... Obama masks. It reeks of desperation to show a socio-political parallel where there doesn't need to be one. On the extremist side of the vampires, though, there is some fun to be had with the Council, which Roman (Meloni) is the leader of, alongside the original Salome (Valentina Cervi), who seems to find a new target of seduction with Bill.

Naturally, there's a lot of sex and a lot more blood than in any of the previous seasons, and really it's more distracting window-dressing to keep viewers with gaping mouths rather than asking questions of just what the hell is going on.

This is easily the worst season this show has had, and is going to be one of those shows that I'm going to become increasingly disinterested in if it keeps going in this direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 53 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, September 4, 2012
By 
Nataliya (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Blood: Season 5 (DVD)
Is it just me, or does it seem like the further away the HBO series gets from the Sookie Stackhouse books, the weirder and stranger it gets?
I don't have anything against TV adaptations not sticking 100% to the originals. But if you're going to go in a different direction, make it a better one. In this case the TV series is so far out there and so far from the books, I'm having a hard time holding on to my enthusiasm for the show. The only thing season 5 of the TV series seems to have in common with the book is that someone is killing shifters. The rest of the plot is completely different and not in a good way.
In the books, the drama, for the most part, is very human, despite the fact that not all the characters are 100% human. It's love, lust, greed, sacrifice and it's very relatable. In this season of the show the drama is violent, bloody, weird, confusing and... despite all of that... sort of boring.
Bill and Erik are hanging out with the Vampire Authority while Sookie is left to deal with the attacks on shifters and her own Fey-related drama. One of the most intriguing parts of the book series - the Bill-Erik-Sookie triangle is nowhere to be found. All the characters have their own separate plot lines that don't seem to have anything to do with one another.
Without giving away anything for those who haven't seen it yet, I'll give you my brief assessment: If this is the direction in which the makers of the show are heading, I may be giving up on this series altogether. It failed to keep me interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars im an addict, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
im a true blood addict lol cant wait to buy the next season! i watch entire seasons in two days!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Blood - Back From the Dead, September 17, 2012
By 
ChaCha (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: True Blood: Season 5 (Blu-ray/DVD Combo + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
After season 4, I thought this show was deader than dead. Truthfully, I started to watch season 5 like anticipating a root canal. I made a vow to myself that I only had to watch the first two episodes and if it were intolerable, I gave myself permission to yank the drill out of my mouth. Well color me happy with a big box of crayons - True Blood has redeemed itself as one of the most addicting and entertaining series ever. I feel totally vindicated that all those people who raked us book lovers over the coals for disliking Season 4 because they felt we wanted things to be just like the books were so wrong; we just hated stupid and boring plots, not that they didn't follow the books. I say Were Droppings to them!

Season 5 won me over because it was a return to well written, funny, full of adventure entertainment. There was more fairy fun. Tara has become interesting (can you believe it?) and Jason actually had loads to do this season without it feeling gratuitous to keep him employed on the show. Lots of revealing flashbacks, old characters that we love were brought back, and off the charts humor have succeeded in making my once favorite show a favorite once again. Never thought True Blood come make a comeback. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TRUE BLOOD - IN NEED OF A TRANSFUSION?, May 28, 2013
By 
This review is from: True Blood: Season 5 (DVD)
I've been a big fan of TRUE BLOOD since its first season, catching it on its yearly DVD releases. TB has been inventive, well done and a refreshing alternative to mundane network programming. However, Season 5 finds the drama perhaps needing a blood transfusion. Much of what's kept the show so addictive is lost in the superfluous mini-arcs this season. While appreciating attempts to supply all its cast their "place in the spotlight", these arcs were often more a distraction than an enhancement e.g. the smoke monster, the Obama vigilante group and the overly emphasized religious and political barnstorming in the Authority plotline.
Casting was a little disappointing as well.Both Christopher Meloni's character and performance were less than stellar. The former SVU stalwart didn't bring anything special to the role of Roman. Standout performances came this season from Deborah Ann Woll (Jessica), Jim Parrack (Hoyt), Kristin Bauer (Pam), Chris Bauer (Andy) and Ryan Kwanten (Jason). Anna Paquin's Sookie had a more secondary presence this season probably due to her pregnancy and this lessening had a noticeable impact. Sookie is the heart of TB!
But I still love the series and hope Season 6 brings some of its original magic back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 276 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

True Blood: Season 5 (Blu-ray/DVD Combo + Digital Copy)
$79.98 $34.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.