Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great reissue!!!!
This one is even darker in tone than Bananarama (1984), although Venus & More Than Physical are dance-pop classics, the rest of the album is still very worth while and more bonus tracks make this a must for die-hard Bananarama fans (like me). Skip the US reissue and get this one instead, you won't be dissapointed.
Published on March 30, 2007 by Felipe Fernandez

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Banana Breakthrough
After two albums of rather crunchy bubblegum, the Bananas had the blind luck to hook up with PWL/S.A.W. just as their music machine took off. Though "True Confessions" only includes two Stock, Aitken and Waterman tracks (the undeniably infectious "Venus" cover and the decidedly Chic-sounding "More Than Physical"), the team of producers...
Published on May 23, 2000 by J. Collins


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great reissue!!!!, March 30, 2007
This review is from: True Confessions (Audio CD)
This one is even darker in tone than Bananarama (1984), although Venus & More Than Physical are dance-pop classics, the rest of the album is still very worth while and more bonus tracks make this a must for die-hard Bananarama fans (like me). Skip the US reissue and get this one instead, you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bananarama at their best, July 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: True Confessions (Audio CD)
This was the 'Rams transformational period, going from the production teams of Swain and Jolley to the Stock, Aitken, Waterman stable. This album contains contributions from both.
Although S.A.W. provide the 'Rams with the hit (Venus, which is the one the girls will always be remembered for), it is Swain and Jolley who inevitabley steal the album, with a collection of songs about life, but with a pop edge.
I have all of the albums the girls have released in Britain and this cerainly stands out as the best. Gone are the girls weeknesses and insecurities. This album brims with confidence. Even though it was recorded in the mid-eighties, it can easily be listened to over and over again with the enjoyment it provided originally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous! Matured a bit on this album!, September 18, 2004
This review is from: True Confessions (Audio CD)
I thought that this was a superb followup to their '84 album! Bananarama matured a lot on this one! I liked the dramatic first song that clocks in at 6 minutes, a departure from their mostly dance music. Venus is still a hot song to this day. One other song I like is More Than Physical. The rest of the album contains some very smart and breezy pop songs. They really came through on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They've got it, yeah baby, they've got it!, October 29, 2003
This review is from: True Confessions (Audio CD)
Following hard on their self-titled album, True Confessions still found Keren Woodward, Siobhan Fahey, and Sarah Dallin sticking with producers Mike Jolley and Tony Swain, with the notable exception of two songs, one of which would break them into the US in a big way, even more than their earlier hit "Cruel Summer." There are a few surprises on this album, including their tackling jazz and rap.
The title track sports a bass rhythm synth and drum machine and the instrumentation seems smoother and richer, although with a reduced tempo compared to adrenalized burst of their Deep Sea Skiving songs. With string-synths and other keyboards slightly reminiscent of Eurythmics, "Ready Or Not" seem to drown out the girls' harmonies in this mid-paced dance number.
With a weird swirling keyboards opening, followed by a sax, the drum-machine backed ballad "Trick Of The Night" was the Rams' third single here on the night life, focusing on a lady's man who has a different life. "but the wind comes through you try to sell your soul/everyway you go it's a long way/now you're no longer just the boy next door/when they were falling in love with that clean cut smart change of style/just for a lttle while." When I first heard it, I questioned its validity as a single. Now, I think it's one of their best.
"Dance With A Stranger" is another low-key delight that missing link between light Brit-pop and samba or easy jazz, what with the piano, vibes and percussion. The lush string synths kick in during the chorus: "before we kiss the world goodbye (it's only a breath away)/one more dance before you die (so tender as the music plays)/there's no emotion only passion in your cry/love is the last thing on your mind when you dance with a stranger." And this verse vividly adds to this portrait of loneliness on a dance floor. "the spinning room the cold caress/I try to hide my loneliness/cheek to cheek we let the evening drift by/the hollow mask has disappeared/we drown our love through salty tears/the state of night is like a racing car/ I now see you for what you really are." The sax solo that comes in really adds to the jazz flavour of this standout cut.
The spoken word intro spells out the grim tone of the low-key dance song "Love is easy. No complications, in a perfect world" However, the cold hopelessness of the world make sit far from perfect: "His heart is willing/but the world's so cold/oh, how he longs for someone real to hold." The Rams have it down when they sing "All we need is understanding/love is easy/maybe tomorrow we'll try again (no complications)/in a perfect world."
With their infectious cover of The Shocking Blue's "Venus", the Rams dip their toes in the Stock-Aitken-Waterman ocean they would be swimming in with their Wow album. A deservedly #1 hit in the US, with the jangly guitar, bopping drum machine, and Mike Stock's keyboards. This is the most danceable hit for the Rams, until equally body-slammers such as "Love In The First Degree" and "I Want You Back" from Wow, came along.
"Do Not Disturb" is nice danceable fun about a weekend for two spent alone that turns cloudy when the girl turns up alone. Could've been a single. "A Cut Above The Rest" is slowed filler, while "Promised Land" is passable dance fare.
The second Stock-Aitken-Waterman song here, "More Than Physical" flopped Stateside, but this second single wasn't all that bad even though it's a comedown compared to "Venus."
The sermonizing anti-drug "Hooked On Love" features rapped verses and sung choruses. From a twelve-year old sucking on butane gas to a girl found in a pool of blood, the Rams say there's a better drug.
The trio would sign on with S-A-W for their next album (Exit Swain and Jolley) which would yield seven singles, including two that became dance chart 12" mixes. WOW! With the exception of the lesser tracks, True Confessions show the Rams evolving in their sound, showing their aptitude in doing lower-key tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Banana Breakthrough, May 23, 2000
This review is from: True Confessions (Audio CD)
After two albums of rather crunchy bubblegum, the Bananas had the blind luck to hook up with PWL/S.A.W. just as their music machine took off. Though "True Confessions" only includes two Stock, Aitken and Waterman tracks (the undeniably infectious "Venus" cover and the decidedly Chic-sounding "More Than Physical"), the team of producers came to be responsible for the girls' biggest hits. As some of their earliest material documents, the Bananas were heavily dependent on their production team to provide lush, dynamic music tracks as a vehicle for their rather anemic vocals and original lyrics. Thanks to the SAW sythesis of irresistable Pop hooks and the Calrec Soundfield Microphone, the Bananas vocal sound was firmed up and buffed to a blinding sheen.
As for the material on this album, Swain & Jolley provide an adequate range of musical settings: the Euro-beach Pop of "Promised Land" is a bouncy reminder of earlier productions (like "Shy Boy"), but the rest of their tracks have darker, almost ominous settings. "Do Not Disturb" (an outtake from an aborted British album release) is a highlight, as are the sultry "Dance With A Stranger" and the strutting "Cut Above The Rest." Prior to the SAW years, Bananarama had a "big sister" appeal for many young Brits, and also had a tendency to write lyrics that offered advice, if not outright sympathy ("King of the Jungle," "Hotline To Heaven" among others). This album goes a bit too far in this regard, given the abundance of such songs. The title track, "Perfect World" and "Hooked On Love" are all examples of lyrical overkill, though well-intentioned. Some of this is probably due to Siobhan's influence, since she made it plain she was unhappy with the overtly Pop-lite material the group was best known for recording.
Like the material on the Banana's best albums, the girl's unison vocal lines provide strength as well as a charming silliness, even when they're trying to be dead serious. And in modern dance music where bigger voices had bigger hits, Bananarama won over listeners with their "everygirl" averageness...like a mini-Pep Squad. Not coincidentally, they remain a huge favorite in the Gay Community.
"True Confessions" boasts some solid songcraft and fun performances, but it's appeal is spotty, particularly for those who bought it hoping there were more songs like "Venus." Old fans (especially in the group's native Britain) weren't always pleased with the changes brought on by SAW, but this album begins the Banana's short run as Platinuum Album artists.
Though it isn't nearly as even as it's predecessor, "Bananrama," "True Confessions" is a great way to hear the transition between the two major production teams. And since it is one of only three original releases still available on CD, it's an obvious choice as well. If you're unfamiliar with "Wow!" or the Brit-only "Please Yourself," these are two SAW-produced Banana-albums that are well-worth a little searching.
-Mic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bananarama / Bananarama, June 24, 2004
By 
John Morton (San francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: True Confessions (Audio CD)
I was so excited when I found out that the first five albums by Bananarama were being re-released by collecatables; a company with a great track record of remastering and re-releasing older collections. I thought that there was a mistake when I opened up the cd and found the flimsey insert thay did not contain any credits or notations but instead simply had an advertisment for the rest of the bananarama re-releases. I could have overlooked the disappointing packaging if the sound had in any way been improved but instead, I was once again let down. These cds sound exactly the same as the original cd releases and are simply embarrassing when compared to London Records'recent remastered very best of Bananarama. These cds are a rip off. Recent re-releases by other eighties artista such as Duran Duran and Culture Club were completely digitally remastered and contained beautiful reproductions of the original artwork. They re-energized the music and retail for $1 less than these amateurish excuses for re-releases. If I was a member of Bananarama, I would insist that all of these low quality cds be recalled immediately and apologies sent to all the fans who were duped into purchasing them. On top of all of that I called their very friendly but ill-informed customer service department six times asking specifically about remastering and I pre-ordered two of the cds directly from Collectables after being led to believe that I would be receiving them before thir release date. I actually received them a day after so on top of feeling ripped off by the quality, I can also add the fact that I paid shipping when I live four blocks from a borders music and close to a Virgin Megastore. I had to pay extra to feel completely ripped off. I will never buy anything from this poor excuse of a record company ever again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Confessions - A Superb Bananarama Album!!!, March 11, 2004
By 
Shaun (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: True Confessions (Audio CD)
Bananarama have stolen my heart away with this album.This was the very first album by the Banana's that I happened to buy,and I loved evey song so much!This LP came out way back in the later part of the 80's...in 1986 to be specific.It was in a way a turning-point in their career,as it was a period during which they came into contact with Stock,Aitken and Waterman (SAW).From this album onwards,they had made worldwide success and the hits just kept coming.I mean for an un-trained female vocal trio...this was really a great acomplishment.All their 80's albums are so bright and lively,some songs could get U dancing like crazy.
Stand out tracks are "True Confessions","Ready Or Not","Venus" of course and "Do not Disturb".The other tracks are also strong supporting tracks worth mentioning.I rarely have so many favs. on just one album!
The title track is a real teaser,it has some great keyboard,and superb druming to go with....The initial part of this track has quite a long introduction,before the girls start singing,I find this something special and rare.Most of today's tracks just don't give us these superbly crafted no's....what do u say.The drumming is by A. Linn,he is also good at what he does!
So "true Confessions" track is definitely a rhythmic,dancey number...as usual.
"Ready Or Not" is also so HOT,I love this one too!Really god on a dance floor.They say..."Ready or not,I'm coming,and I'm gonna find U baby so U better stop runing...." mmm!!gets me excited everytime .
A bit more sultry track in here is "A Trick of The Night".This track and the previous two were produced by Swain and Jolley.It takes some time to make an impression though...but is a great one to listen.This song was a big hit for them,is also included on "The Greatest Hits",in a little more stylish version,with alot of keyboards.I loved that version better.
The next two "Dance With A Stranger " & "In A Perfect World" follow on the same note,are quite serious sounding and sultry.They were obviously trying to prove themselves as serious artistes...I love both these tracks,the latter one making use of some heavy computerised drumming and is of a mid-tempo beat.These drums were also something that Madonna had used in her earlier albums.....I love that sound alot.Bananarama really know how to make great sounding dance music..
Now "Venus" is the best song not only for me but,most people,and is a real dance favorite...This song has eventually become their signature tune! I love that heavy drum beat.....fast and bouncy as always."I'm your Venus,I'm your fire,your desire".....nice words too!This song reached the US top 3! Great work!!The re-mixes of Venus are also stunning pieces of work...really!!U can get one re-mix on the Greatest Hits Collection.
Another hot dance dance number follows "Venus",..."Do Not Disturb",this is a high energy one with the usual fast drum beats.It somehow tells us of the need for privacy for lovers...whereever they may be!....They sing it well,as good as any trained female would,who ever said they can't sing?
"A Cut Above The Rest" is again a mid-tempo song and serious sounding again.It's a likeable one,not very spirited enough,especially after the previous two or three hot dance numbers.....
Well "Promised Land" is a Euro-dance style of music which Bananarama are usually great at....I loved this one too so much.Great drumming again,the keyboards just took me to heaven....what a feeling!!!U will dance to this too! So many dance No's!!!
"More Than Physical" I have to say is noy my fav. all that much,although it was a huge hit and most definitely will suit the clubs.I don't like this all that much cos,it get's so monotonous,the vocals in chorus...repeating over and over and the music remaining on the same plateau...."baby I'm waiting,anticipating...This is more than Physical....."
Finally "Hooked On Love" is another mid-tempo,but amazing piece of work,it's got attitude to it,advicing or warning a girl on getting into a steamy love affair......(addicted to it)."So don't use your body better use your brains,generations goin' insane,when your hooked on Love......" Nice advice for me too!haha!!
This is truly pure 80's ecstasy....great music and vocals.The cover picture is also so attractive.It's worth a try...at least.Most people who I've played it before wanted their own copies,but I can see it is already out of stock...so RUSH!!!!!On the back cover you can see the three of them with their backs turned towards us...and On Siobhans half-coat...there is a nice tattoo..."True Confessions",Damn!! Very sexy indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Bananarama, May 12, 2007
By 
William (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Confessions (Audio CD)
True Confessions is classic Bananarama, always a good listen. Of course all the tracks sound clearer, and sharper remastered, a big bonus. New songs never heard before like Set On You, White Train, and especially Scarlett are a real treat to discover. Scarlett should have been included on this album, not sure why it wasn't. This remastered album is a must for Bananarama fans everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different version of "More Than Physical", October 16, 2004
This review is from: True Confessions (Audio CD)
"True Confessions" is a really fun Bananarama album. Includes their big 1980's radio hit "Venus" and a lot of other pop tunes. The album also includes the song "Trick of the Night." One thing about the album that I didn't appreciate was the version of the song "More Than Physical." I bought this album for this song since it didn't appear on the Greatest Hits compilation and the version of "More Than Physical" that is on "True Confessions" is not the same one as the United States single. If you can catch this one on sale it's not a bad addition to your 80's pop collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars molly age 18, December 2, 2001
By 
M. Smith "poet" (Oregon. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Confessions (Audio CD)
I just got this tape. I love it.I have been singing these songs for
days. And I can't get enough of this tape. I like the songs- Do Not Desturb,Trick of the night, Cut above the rest, Venus, and Ready or Not. They don't have dumb lyrics like so many popsingers
do today. They sound smart. I absolutely love the songs Dance with a stranger,True Confessions,Promised Land. These songs are really well done.The songs have feeling.They sure aren't boring!
I like it. I totally recommend getting this tape.Dance with a stranger is such a beautiful song. This doesn't really matter, but, I like the outfits the girls are wearing on the cover! there awsome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

True Confessions
True Confessions by Bananarama (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.