Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide
Highly recommended reading if anyone is contemplating making the consecration to Jesus through Mary. Does a good job of explaining the process, the scriptural and biblical background, and how to apply it to daily life. The first few days are fairly quick, however the prayers and readings become longer as you get deeper into it, so allow yourself ample time as not to be...
Published 19 months ago by Tammy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A classic... but full of typos
This book is THE classic of Catholic spirituality regarding devotion to Mary. The Kindle edition is on the whole well done, with a good table of contents and even real page numbers. However, the proofreading is poor. The book is full of typos, *especially* the parts in Latin, which are ridden with mistakes.
Published 11 months ago by Andre


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Highly recommended reading if anyone is contemplating making the consecration to Jesus through Mary. Does a good job of explaining the process, the scriptural and biblical background, and how to apply it to daily life. The first few days are fairly quick, however the prayers and readings become longer as you get deeper into it, so allow yourself ample time as not to be rushed. Sometimes needed to read the passages a second time later to help it all sink in. A wonderful devotion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go Right to the Source, November 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
St. Louis de Montfort has a unique view of Mary's role in salvation. After reading 33 Days to Morning Glory, I wanted to know more about Marian consecration from de Montfort himself. His French is beautiful, with the words he chooses and images he paints, even when translated into English. It's truly enjoyable to read. True Devotion to Mary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, December 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There are some definite typo's in here. If you're reading it out loud, you will notice them. The old English is difficult to read through sometimes, but if you're reading it by yourself, it shouldn't pose that much of a problem. The only other thing that I would like to see is a way to link back to the day of the prayers that lists the litanies assigned for that day. For example, if you select the Litany of the Holy Spirit, after you are done praying that, I wish you had an option to return to the day of prayer so you can then select the next litany. As it is now, you have to go to the table of contents, and by memory, select the next prayer assigned for that day. Also, since this is the kindle edition, it would be cool if the decades of the rosary were written our and included to "read" through them as you pray. Otherwise, this poses no real advantage over the paper edition. All that aside, this is a WONDERFUL devotion to Our Lady!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary is the living tabernacle of God, July 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Many people think they understand the Catholic faith but have no idea what it is really about. Please read to educate yourself and understand the reasonableness of being Catholic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total Consecration to Jesus Through Mary, September 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Several years ago I went through the Total Consecration process; so great. Now that I have an I pad. I'm happy to be able to have the prayers on it to remind me of the process and to utilize them as in a renewal, or just have them available to use at any time. Purchasing books for my I pad is so easy that I've gone through my personal library and obtained many books to have on hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gold standard for consecration to Our Lady., September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the definitive work on Marian Consecration! St. Louis de Montfort covers every aspect of TRUE Marian Devotion. Marian Devotion is widely misunderstood by Protestants as well as most Catholics. This IS NOT worship or adoration of Mary, nor does it take away from the rightful worship or personal relationship with Jesus. If lived sincerely it only brings us closer to Jesus. St. Louis, using scripture and orthodox theology explains and teaches the difference between true/legitimate devotion to Mary and warped superstitious or self serving pseudo devotion to Mary. True devotion and consecration to Mary can only bring us closer to Jesus whereas pseudo devotion will do nothing but feed our misguided idea of religion. It is made very clear in this book that placing ourselves under the queenship of Mary, as Jesus was as a child and as He placed John at the Cross, will serve Him and bring a soul closer to Him much faster and better than we can reach on our own. This is by no means the only way to get closer to The Lord, but it is clearly a most beautiful and effective way. This is a classic work by a saint who is most highly regarded by the Catholic Church including Pope John Paul II, St. Maximilian Kolbe and many other canonized saints who made and lived this Consecration to Mary. It is well worth the read and the effort!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Devotion., February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We have done the 33 day devotion in this book a few times now. The prayers following each day could be easier to access in the order in which they are prayed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A classic... but full of typos, August 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is THE classic of Catholic spirituality regarding devotion to Mary. The Kindle edition is on the whole well done, with a good table of contents and even real page numbers. However, the proofreading is poor. The book is full of typos, *especially* the parts in Latin, which are ridden with mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Archaic Language is Difficult, April 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It serves the purpose I wanted, which is a guided meditation on devotion to Jesus through Mary. It is sometimes hard to read. It was written in the 1700s in French and has been translated into English, but not modernized. Still, the price was right and it was available on Kindle, unlike 33 Days to Morning Glory, which I originally searched for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ave maria, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
you will loose yourself in this book. but what you gain is so much greater. hail mary full of grace!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

True Devotion to Mary: With Preparation for Total Consecration
True Devotion to Mary: With Preparation for Total Consecration by Saint Louis De Montfort (Paperback - August 1, 2013)
$8.60 $7.74
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.