Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Timely Message
This very concise ebook packs a powerful message on the importance of protecting and preserving human dignity and religious liberty. It's astonishing how much is packed into these short pages. Cardinal Dolan has done an excellent job championing the church as a joyful and vibrant alternative to the "culture of death" that has taken root in some secular circles. Summing...
Published on June 19, 2012 by adien

versus
13 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The title applies to half of the book
I started reading this book, highlighting away, thinking, "This is great! I'm going to enjoy all 37 pages of this" when... boom! Less than halfway through, Cardinal Dolan's inaugural address for the "Law and Gospel of Life Series" given at Fordham Law School's Institute on Religion, Law and Lawyer's Work was over. The last half of the book is an excerpt from another book...
Published on June 19, 2012 by Robert Hoeppner


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Timely Message, June 19, 2012
This review is from: True Freedom: On Protecting Human Dignity and Religious Liberty (Kindle Edition)
This very concise ebook packs a powerful message on the importance of protecting and preserving human dignity and religious liberty. It's astonishing how much is packed into these short pages. Cardinal Dolan has done an excellent job championing the church as a joyful and vibrant alternative to the "culture of death" that has taken root in some secular circles. Summing everything up in a strong call to action, Dolan says: "Churches and people of faith - not exclusively Catholics and their bishops, although I would hope that we play a leading role - understand the inherent dignity of the human person and serve as a safeguard against attacks on that dignity,". Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart, Timely Insights on Dignity & Religious Liberty, June 19, 2012
This review is from: True Freedom: On Protecting Human Dignity and Religious Liberty (Kindle Edition)
It's easy to take religious freedom for granted. It's enshrined in our Constitution and praised by the Church, and most of us have grown up without questioning it. However when this liberty is threatened, when it's not respected as a fundamental right, we're forced to pull back and ask a basic question: why do people deserve religious liberty?

Cardinal Timothy Dolan of New York gives his answer in a new eBook released today. True Freedom: On Protecting Human Dignity and Religious Liberty (Image Books, 37 pages, eBook) shows how respect for human dignity--the dignity of all humans, regardless of their beliefs--undergirds the right to religious liberty. Quoting Pope Leo XIII, he begins by saying:

"True freedom... is that freedom which most truly safeguards the dignity of the human person. It is stronger than any violence or injustice. Such is the freedom which has always been desired by the Church, and which she holds most dear."

Dolan spends most of the book linking religious freedom with dignity. He uses several pages to reflect on Pope John Paul II's magnificent encyclical, The Gospel of Life: Evangelium Vitae, which holds the natural moral law and intrinsic dignity as the twin pillars of the culture of life. Dolan shows how, like the walls of a house, when these two principles are ignored the whole project collapses-including the right to religious liberty:

"In only the last few years we've experienced rampant disregard for religious beliefs in this country with the approval of embryonic stem cell research; legal justification for the torture of prisoners; the provision of tax dollars to abortion providers; the HHS mandates; and, most recently, a redefinition of marriage by many of our leading political figures.

We can see that there is a loss of a sense of truth here, and objective moral norms-rules of conduct that apply always, to everyone, everywhere-and an `eclipse of a sense of God and of man'."

In Dolan's view, three ideologies-a "trinity of culprits"-are primarily to blame for this `eclipse,' each standing athwart to the culture of life. There's pragmatism, which ties man's value to his output and efficiency; utilitarianism, which equates value with usefulness; and consumerism, which determines value by one's ability to fill a need or satisfy an urge. All three systems share a common flaw, namely the preference of "having" and "doing" over "being." This mistake not only fuels the culture of death; it's also behind today's modern assaults on religious liberty.

But what's the response? How can we diffuse these threats and reclaim the primacy of dignity? Dolan answers by channeling John Paul in calling for "a positive, hopeful culture of life [rather] than wringing (our) hands over the culture of death." It's this culture of life, rooted in objective dignity, that will lift religious liberty back to its privileged position and lead to a flourishing society:

"By appealing to the necessary link between freedom and truth and by stressing our relationship with the God who has endowed us with both, The Gospel of Life offers us a pathway to building not just good laws, but a free and virtuous culture as well."

True Freedom debuts at a perfect time, just two days before the national `Fortnight for Freedom.' It's also cheap ($0.99), smart, and punchy, much like Archbishop Charles Chaput's recent eBook (A Heart on Fire). And at just 37 pages you can knock it out in one sitting. It's importance, timeliness, and cheap prices makes True Freedom a must-read for all Catholics in America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Dolan essay - plus John Allen puff piece about Dolan, June 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Freedom: On Protecting Human Dignity and Religious Liberty (Kindle Edition)
This ebook actually has two parts; first the very fine essay by Cardinal Dolan - actually better then I expected. The Cardinal beautifully ties together the thoughts of Blessed John Paul, and Pope Benedict on the culture of life and the present-day threats to life. His use of quotes from Pope Benedict is especially effective. This essay takes only 20 minutes to read. Well worth the 99 cents to have "True Freedom" on the kindle app on your smart phone!

The second part, which they don't tell you is part of the deal, is an excerpt from NCR's John Allen's book "A People of Hope" a conversation between Allen and then Archbishop Dolan which was published in November, 2011. The book has very good reviews on amazon, but I found the excerpt to be a bit cloying and over the top - a sugar-coated view of Dolan. It takes about 25 minutes to read.

If you are interested in a very cogent and succinct defense of natural law and Church teaching vs. our secular, consumerist culture then you can't do better then this ebook. I'm giving four stars because I just found the Allen excerpts a bit off-putting and unnecessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Religious Freedom and Human Dignity Matter, November 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Freedom: On Protecting Human Dignity and Religious Liberty (Kindle Edition)
Cardinal Timothy Dolan is an imposing figure in Catholic Church today. His influence on American Catholicism and American culture in general are undisputed. However, he is increasingly projecting his influence beyond American borders. Dolan's unwavering commitment to "affirmative orthodoxy," his personal charm and charisma, and his media savvy are all qualities that the modern Catholic Church needs in its leaders.

This short Kindle single is an insight into Cardinal Dolan's thinking and the issues and causes that animate him. The first one of these - protecting human dignity in all of its particularities against the assails of the modern relativistic culture - has been a major source of concern for the Catholic Church for several decades. The second one - protection of religious liberty - has unfortunately become increasingly prominent over the past few years. Many have heralded the fall of communism, myself included, as the final victory for religious freedom among other things. Regrettably, that sentiment now seems to have been premature. Recent trend have witnessed and increasing encroachment on the individual and institutional religious freedoms, all under the guise of greater social good. This book is a simple and succinct attempt to elucidate and define the stakes in this battle.

Cardinal Dolan is a very direct person, and this directness comes through in this writing. This ebook opens with an anecdote from his life as a parish priest in Saint Lousi, Missouri. It concerns an elderly couple that had to receive the communion at their home because of husband's crippling paralysis. It puts in vivid and personal terms what's at stake when it comes to the defense of individual human dignity and why it matters.

Cardinal Dolan is often criticized as a staunch conservative, especially in matters that pertain to American domestic politics. However, his criticism in this book is not just of the left and its policies, but it cuts across the political spectrum. This book will probably give pause to people of all political persuasions. It clearly shows that Cardinal Dolan is primarily concerned with defending Church's own values and perspective, regardless of the prevailing political trends and attitudes.

The latter part of this ebook contains the introduction to A People of Hope: Archbishop Timothy Dolan in Conversation with John L. Allen Jr. It is a very well and balanced take on the person of Cardinal Dolan, and his significance in today's Catholicism. It gives an outsider's perspective on this charismatic and genial Church leader, and it may induce you to take a deeper look at him though a book-length interview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Freedom, May 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Freedom: On Protecting Human Dignity and Religious Liberty (Kindle Edition)
It is a great book. Was that a sale book or can I order the whole book?
Please answer me for if the complete book is available. Thank you Mae Mitchell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful apeaker, May 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Freedom: On Protecting Human Dignity and Religious Liberty (Kindle Edition)
We love this book and would recommend it to anyone who wants some inspiration left in their hearts that this book creates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dolan is right on, January 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Freedom: On Protecting Human Dignity and Religious Liberty (Kindle Edition)
Great read and well written with the truth of the churches teachings and where we should be in protecting human dignity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommend Highly, July 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Freedom: On Protecting Human Dignity and Religious Liberty (Kindle Edition)
As a practicing Catholic, I thoroughly enjoyed Cardinal Dolan's writings, thoughts, and real-world vocabulary. True Freedom was easy to read and a call, for me, to better protect all of our freedoms and to better appreciate every single day of my life! From the very first page this book had me thinking, smiling, and thanking God for the blessings He's given me. I highly recommend every single page! I hope Cardinal Dolan continues to write and enlighten us all. God Bless you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars short read, very meaningful and on point., July 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Freedom: On Protecting Human Dignity and Religious Liberty (Kindle Edition)
Cardinal Dolan is an inspiration and true leader for the Catholic faithful, and, indeed, for any God fearing, Christian or non-Christian. He speaks the truth with fervent zeal. I recommend this book to anyone who values freedom and the pursuit of happiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Freedom, July 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Freedom: On Protecting Human Dignity and Religious Liberty (Kindle Edition)
Outstanding in its approach to Human Dignity and relgious freedom. A thought provoking, refreshing, eye opening, short and excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.