Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable book
At first I was skeptical with this book when I decided to get a translation of Shoninki, because of some of the controversy surrounding the author. So I purchased the Axel version instead. But upon investigating the work of Antony Cummins, I came to the conclusion that most of the controversy is not founded in any objective criticism, but rather in personal attacks due to...
Published on December 14, 2011 by Ninpo26

versus
25 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars decent, but get both versions.
it's good to have every version of translations of books like this, as some parts are open to interpretation. My first main complaint is that they inserted their footnotes into the text, rather than keeping them separate, which in turn no longer makes this a very "definitive" translation.

Second of all, Yoshie isn't very good at translating the latter parts...
Published on March 7, 2011 by Shinobi-no-Mono


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable book, December 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Path of the Ninja: The Definitive Translation of the Shoninki (An Authentic Ninja Training Manual) (Hardcover)
At first I was skeptical with this book when I decided to get a translation of Shoninki, because of some of the controversy surrounding the author. So I purchased the Axel version instead. But upon investigating the work of Antony Cummins, I came to the conclusion that most of the controversy is not founded in any objective criticism, but rather in personal attacks due to the author's comments regarding Bujinkan and modern Ninjitsu.

So from a skeptic, I came all the way, to my current opinion that this is a far better translation of Shoninki than the version by mr. Axel. The book is very detailed, and pays much attention to details. The author states that a lot of footnotes were incorporated into the text itself due to publisher's request. This is my only objection to this book, but I know the author didn't have a choice in the matter as much.

In regards to the work itself. It might be a disappointment to those who are used to the popular image of a Ninja warrior provided by media and modern Ninjutsu schools, which are unable to prove their lineage. This isn't a book for kids playing with shurikens. It's a manual on espionage, communication skills, strategy etc.
In fact it is much more usable in everyday life, than any martial arts book could ever come close to be. As the shoninki states itself, the real war is fought with words, not weapons. And the greatest Shinobi is he who manages to have no enemies. If a Ninja has to hit someone or use a sword, then he is a really bad Ninja. This is the whole message of the book.

If anyone is interested in REAL Ninpo, historical Ninpo, as opposed to modern imaginative reenactments, or 80's movies nonsense, I'd recommend this book. If you are, like me, looking to buy any translation of Shoninki and can't make up your mind, I'd advise you to buy this one first(and others then just to compare).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars decent, but get both versions., March 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Path of the Ninja: The Definitive Translation of the Shoninki (An Authentic Ninja Training Manual) (Hardcover)
it's good to have every version of translations of books like this, as some parts are open to interpretation. My first main complaint is that they inserted their footnotes into the text, rather than keeping them separate, which in turn no longer makes this a very "definitive" translation.

Second of all, Yoshie isn't very good at translating the latter parts once they get into deeper topics. Her translation is pretty dry and misses the essence of the original text.

Personally, I prefer the other english version of the Shoninki available [with the black cover] but have this version also to double check things. If you're going to only get one version, get the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, July 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Path of the Ninja: The Definitive Translation of the Shoninki (An Authentic Ninja Training Manual) (Hardcover)
Puts aside the misrepresentation of the ninja as seen on TV and screen..... A easy read and the chapters were not filled with hype..... It put the reader in the era of the Ninja instead of having you believe all the mysticism.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this the pefect book to know what is realy a shinobi., November 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Path of the Ninja: The Definitive Translation of the Shoninki (An Authentic Ninja Training Manual) (Hardcover)
amassing it is one of the best book i ever had. the only regrettable thing is that this one wasn't made twenty years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one to get!!!, June 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Path of the Ninja: The Definitive Translation of the Shoninki (An Authentic Ninja Training Manual) (Hardcover)
True Path of the Ninja is the first authoritative translation in English of the Shoninki--the famous 17th century ninja training manual. Antony Cummins and Yoshie Minami worked closely with Dr. Nakashima Atsumi, author of the most comprehensive modern Japanese version of the Shoninki, thus making this English translation the closest to the original scrolls. The information and insights found in this translation are invaluable for understanding the skills, techniques and mentality of the historical ninja. Whether it involved tips for surviving in the wild, advice on intelligence-gathering techniques, or methods for creating chaos in the enemy camp, the True Path of the Ninja unveils secrets long lost.Also included is the first written record of the oral tradition "Defense Against a Ninja" taught by Otake Risuke, the revered sensei of the legendary Katori Shinto Ryu school of swordsmanship. It reveals for the first time the traditional teachings on how the samurai can protect himself from the cunning wiles of a ninja. Highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real guide into Japanese ancient asymmetric warfare, January 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Path of the Ninja: The Definitive Translation of the Shoninki (An Authentic Ninja Training Manual) (Hardcover)
So it turns out this once secret manual, a manual many were waiting for , for years, is among other things about guerrilla tactics, intelligence gathering, survivalism, bush-craft, sabotage, psychological manipulation , con-artistry and trickery, general military strategy, physiognomy, divination and last but not least asymmetric warfare. The Ninja is a much broader set of skills than previously imagined, they never really cared much about unarmed hand combat "known now as martial arts", and preferred much to accomplish their tasks using deception and winning without a fight a la Sun Tzu. This is truly a masterpiece, its not a detailed step by step manual, but more of a general know-how book on how to become a ninja. While some of the stuff can be recreated , most would need "kuden" or oral knowledge which has been unfortunately lost. If you know what to expect, from what I have written above, this book will entertain you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, September 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Path of the Ninja: The Definitive Translation of the Shoninki (An Authentic Ninja Training Manual) (Hardcover)
If you want the truth about ninjutsu without all the hogwash TV and people trying to make a buck off of the word ninja. This would be a good book for you Very good translation and with helpful and interesting insights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Ninjutsu, February 17, 2011
This review is from: True Path of the Ninja: The Definitive Translation of the Shoninki (An Authentic Ninja Training Manual) (Hardcover)
I would like to thank Yoshie for the hard work she put into this book, I have been to Japan many times not many people are interested in this subject, her hard work and dedication has brought historic information that's not available to the western world. If people are interested in real shinobinojutsu this is the book for you, this book goes into great detail about the real ways of these silent warriors, not martial arts not magic but the real deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, December 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Path of the Ninja: The Definitive Translation of the Shoninki (An Authentic Ninja Training Manual) (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this book it was very entertaining and ... I am not ruining it for any of you, just read it yourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book about Espionage, February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Path of the Ninja: The Definitive Translation of the Shoninki (An Authentic Ninja Training Manual) (Hardcover)
This book hooked me in and I could not stop reading it. It teaches you about Military Strategy and Ninja Survival. Anyone interested in Military History or Japanese Culture should buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

True Path of the Ninja: The Definitive Translation of the Shoninki (An Authentic Ninja Training Manual)
$14.95 $9.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.