Customer Reviews


392 Reviews
5 star:
 (264)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


99 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NEEDS THE BD TREATMENT
This is one of my favortie movies and is one of the most neglected releases. not even enhanced for 16x9 TV's on DVD. This title screams for a Blu-Ray Release. FOX? Please get this one out there. I will be 1st in line!
Published on April 20, 2009 by retrogamecave

versus
37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic movie, crappy DVD
"True Lies" is one of my favorite action films, being at the same time one of the prototypical mid 1990's action films and a parody of the same genre. It strikes a perfect balance between humor and action throughout the course of the film. It's a must see if you like Arnold.

However, the DVD release presented here is brutal. Do not let the THX certification on...
Published on June 18, 2007 by John Lynch


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

99 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NEEDS THE BD TREATMENT, April 20, 2009
This review is from: True Lies [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is one of my favortie movies and is one of the most neglected releases. not even enhanced for 16x9 TV's on DVD. This title screams for a Blu-Ray Release. FOX? Please get this one out there. I will be 1st in line!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic movie, crappy DVD, June 18, 2007
By 
John Lynch (Ann Arbor, MI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
"True Lies" is one of my favorite action films, being at the same time one of the prototypical mid 1990's action films and a parody of the same genre. It strikes a perfect balance between humor and action throughout the course of the film. It's a must see if you like Arnold.

However, the DVD release presented here is brutal. Do not let the THX certification on the front of the DVD case fool you. The film is presented in 2.35:1 aspect ration, but is not anamorphic widescreen, a format optimized for widescreen televisions. It is presented in letterbox format instead, which means that the picture is much, much worse than its anamorphic equivalent because the black bars at the top and bottom are actually encoded into the video stream. This process leaves less room in the video encoding for the actual image, reducing its quality. Anamorphic widescreen leaves the black bars out of the video encoding, preserving more of the video stream for the actual image and allowing the DVD player and TV to add the black bars if necessary. Since a widescreen TV does not have need for these bars, they can be left off entirely, leaving only the high quality image.

Anamorphic widescreen has been a standard feature of DVDs for years now, so it's easy to forget that not all DVDs have it. Old DVDs are especially suspect on this front. If you have a nice television, the lack of anamorphic widescreen will be very noticeable and distracting throughout the film. Maybe it will be out on Blu-ray soon...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Arnie's and Cameron's best films!, December 30, 2002
By 
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
Meet Arnold Swarzennegar - amazing James Bond type spy who's absolutely clueless as a husband and father. He starts out as impeccable as 007, who he is obviously spoofing, but then loses it and goes crazy when he suspects his wife (Jamie Lee Curtis) is cheating on him.
his best buddy, Tom Arnold from "Roseanne" fame, is the perfect comic foil. It's really Tom that makes this act/adv stand out from the crowd. The dialogue is fast, funny, and Tom takes it to the limit. Also up for a laugh is Bill Paxton, another Cameron regular (Aliens), who plays a seedy used-car salesman posing as a spy in order to seduce women. He really goes all the way, completely unafraid of playing a true idiot!
It's just so great to watch an act/adv with great action that isn't limited to the usual, off-hand quips from stoneyfaced he-men. This movie is one of my favorites because it's a great popcorn movie that delivers on many levels. It's not just an excuse to blow things up and no one takes themselves too seriously. Everyone obviously had a great time making this film and it shows. I hope they make the sequel soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved the Used Car salesman, February 13, 2008
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
True Lies DVD

True Lies is a movie about an U. S. spy (played by Arnold Swarzennegger) who tries to keep his true occupation a secret from his wife( played by Jamie Lee Curtis, the daughter of Tony Curtis, and her mother was Janet Leigh.
Anyhow this movie has some hilarious moments, I especially like the used car salesman, who reminds me of an ex-friend.

Highly recommended for fans of Arnold Swarzennegger and Jamie Lee Curtis. I didn't realize she could play a sexy role.

Gunner February, 2008
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must own for 5.1 systems, November 2, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
I bought the DVD before I got my 5.1 system and thought the sound was great with normal stereo but WHOA NELLY! Watch the volume levels, though as comfortable dialog quick becomes sonic booms in this one.
This has the best picture (via S-video) and audio quality I've seen so far on a DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arnold at his best., June 13, 2000
By 
Christopher Ware (Fremont, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Lies [VHS] (VHS Tape)
There are two ingredients for a great Arnold flick: tonue in cheek comeday and unbelievable action. This movie has enough of both of these for two movies.
When Arnold gets together with James Cameron, you know the action's going to be unbelievable. I can't wait for TRUE LIES 2. The chase scene in the snow, the bridge chase, and the Harrier scene...some of the best action I've seen in years.
Jamie Lee Curtis as Arnold's unsuspecting wife is just great. She can play both the vulnerable housewife and the hard as nails woman protecting herself...plus she can scream really well! The chemistry between her and Arnold onscreen is great.
The comedy in this movie is great. Tom Arnold plays Arnold's partner and just gets walked all over by him. Has to take all the abuse and cruddy jobs...just hilarious. Then there's Bill Paxton's bit role as a sleazy car salesman. He does an unbelievably funny job.
This is probably Arnold's best movie since TERMINATOR 2. Definitely a must see for any action junkie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FOX HAS NO EXCUSE!, May 7, 2009
This review is from: True Lies [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I agree with the 2 reviews on True Lies. Fox should be ashamed because all it really tells us is A MARKETING PLOT to make fans wait to long for a great movie like this to be released on Blu Ray. Why is it that from all the big companies Fox has many titles that are not (Anamorphic: Enhanced for widescreen TV's)

Are they laughing at us? Come on get real. Take a look at many low budget or crappy titles out there that get released anamorphic or on blu ray faster than the big titles. We don't want to wait until we get grey hair to enjoy the new technology available. FOX you disappoint us big time!
IT'S TIME TO WAKE UP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CHEESY BUT THOROUGHLY ENTERTAINING ROMP THROUGH FILM CLICHES, May 15, 2004
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
Wholesome entertainment: suspense, intrigue, romance, and some high octane action, all rolled into a thrilling *comedy* that's clearly meant to be a spoof of all the unrealistic, "filmy" stunts of Hollywood. Delectable.
Reviewers who complain about over-the-top action probably missed the telltale signs of this intended parody: the horse-motorcycle chase, or the scene with Arnie jostling with a terrier in the sky. That's the idea, Beavis. Others complain that the militants shown are Islamic. So? There are plenty of movies where the villians are not Islamic, should we sit and pull hairs about each ethnic group being mal-represented?
If you can live in the world without a hypersensitive political correctness radar, you'll love True Lies as a stylishly done popcorn piece that blends spectacular action with some pretty laconic wit. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Arnold's acting resume "True Lies" would be his best film, August 17, 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (COMMUNITY FORUM 04)   
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
Now might be a good time to check out "True Lies" once again, simply because most of the principles are in the news a lot these days. After all, Arnold Swarzenegger is running for governor of California, Jamie Lee Curtis is getting great reviews for her work in the new version of "Freaky Friday," a network has shown enough faith in Eliza Dushku to star her in a new television series "Tru Calling," and Tom Arnold is hosting a sports talk show on television while being dissed by ex-wife Roseanne Barr as she prepares for her new reality show. Of course, you have to wonder whatever happened to James Cameron, the director of this 1994 action comedy (my own guess is that the spirit of David O. Sleznick is whispering in Cameron's ear, "Okay, now that you're `King of the World' what are you going to do next?").
Arnold is Harry Tasker, a special agent for a super secret government organization, but his wife Helen (Curtis), thinks he is just a boring computer salesman. While he is dealing with cracking a ring of international terrorists, she is looking for a little more excitement in her life. Ironically, she thinks she has found this in a fast talking used car salesman who hits on lonely wives by pretending he is a secret agent. Of course, the irony gets a bit more intense as the movie progresses and the chief attraction is that Harry is trying to save his marriage along with the free world. If there is one lesson this film teaches, then it would clearly be the old adage that it takes two to tango.
This week my thinking is that "True Lies" is ultimate Arnold Swarzenegger film, combining the action of the "Terminator" films with the appealing comedy of "Kindergarten Cop." This is a film that is able to have it both ways when it comes to Arnold's cinematic persona, being faithful to his larger than life action sequences while also carrying off some tongue-in-cheek parody. Meanwhile, Curtis turns in the second best performance of her career, which I can now say because I just saw her best in "Freaky Friday" this afternoon. Tom Arnold has never been better an the second banana, which is something he probably knows, and Charlton Heston has a choice bit part as the head of the secret organization for which Harry works. I have heard there is supposed to be a sequel to this film, which might be derailed by Arnold's candidacy (especially if he gets elected), but that might be just as well because a sequel could not be better than the original in this case.
Schwarzenegger movies will be on hiatus, at least in California, for the next couple of months. Fortunately, the movies of actors running for political office are a lot more accessible today than they were went Ronald Reagan was running for president (Note: "Bedtime for Bonzo" is a very good B-comedy and primarily a joke to those who have not seen the film). If you are thinking of watching a Schwarzenegger movie to mull over his viability as a political candidate, then "True Lies" seems the obvious choice. As for me, I watched it again because I wanted to see more of the funny (and sexy) Jamie Lee Curtis, and Laurie Strode just does not suffice any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Lies - An extremely entertaining action/drama film!, February 9, 2004
By 
K. Wyatt "ssintrepid" (Cape Girardeau, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
"True Lies" is quite simply, one of the most entertaining, fast paced and hilarious films that Arnold Schwarzenegger has ever starred in. From the very first time I saw this movie in the theater to several viewings both in VHS and DVD format, I've found that the superior script and exceptional acting in this film entertains every time. I've read of and heard many lament over some aspects of this film and the best I could say to those is that quite often the movies that Hollywood produces are a sensationalism of real life events and ultimately a movie such as this one is for entertainment not making statements about any one group or individual and as a medium for entertainment, this film succeeds completely!
Performance wise, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Jamie Lee Curtis, Tom Arnold, Bill Paxton, Tia Carrere and Art Malik all deserve great honors and the accolades they received for their respective parts in this film. "True Lies" was probably Arnold Schwarzenegger's best overall performance both in the action and the dramatic sense. Jamie Lee Curtis couldn't have been any better in this role and I can honestly say that I was impressed with Tom Arnold's performance in this movie whereas any other film or show I've seen him in I was not impressed. I believe the only other movie I've seen that Art Malik was in was "The Living Daylights" and in both that movie and this one his work has been exceptional.
Say what you may like about director James Cameron but you would definitely have to admit that prior to the current but most likely "temporary" culmination of his career as a director with the movie "Titanic" and heading off to run the "Dark Angel" television series, few directors could come close to matching his accomplishments. "True Lies" was James Cameron's fifth highly successful hit in a row and with this movie and "Titanic" one could definitely say that during this run of box office hits, he had the pulse of the fans as he wrote screenplays and directed these extraordinary films.
The Premise:
Harry Tasker (Arnold Schwarzenegger) is a high speed "spook" working for a highly secretive government agency that is a watch dog/operator spook agency that identifies and handles terrorist threats to the United States. Along with his handler Albert Gibson (Tom Arnold), they uncover a major terrorist operation which is bent on using nuclear warheads against the US to accomplish its goals. As Harry, Albert and their organization are working to uncover the terrorists plot; his family becomes heavily involved in the story which is where Helen Tasker (Jamie Lee Curtis) comes in to play and some extremely hilarious scenes involving Simon (Bill Paxton). What follows from there is one of the most hilarious and exciting action/drama films to have come out of the nineties.
I highly recommend this film to any and all who are interested in seeing a great, fast paced, highly intriguing and hilarious action/drama movie and aren't interested in reading too much into the plot or the characters in the plot that are used as plot devices. {ssintrepid}
Special Features:
-Original Theatrical Trailer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

True lies
True lies by Arnold Schwarzenegger (Hardcover - 1988)
Used & New from: $1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.