Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Look Park Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$11.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

"Trump: Never Give Up - How I Turned My Biggest Challenges into Success" by Donald J. Trump with Meredith McIver is The Donald's newest book of success principles that he seems to be putting out regularly the last few years. This, like the others is an enjoyable read and contains simple, but important principles for success.

The book can easily be read in a couple of ways. You could read through the entire book quite quickly. It is not that long, and is an easy read. Alternatively, you could read one or two chapters at a time in little spurts for a daily dose of motivation. The 168 pages consist of 41 chapters. Each of these contains a lesson that Trump learned from experience. Some of the stories you have read before if you have read his previous books. Anyone familiar with Trump is familiar with the Wollman Rink story, but I did not mind reading about it again as Trump told how when you think you can complete a six-year project in six months, you probably can. Other examples in the book have been written about before as well, but they were put here with a new twist. Then there were stories in this book that have never been told before, so the reader gets even more insight into the phenomena that has become Donald Trump. I especially liked reading about his patriotism in the Defending the Flag chapter.

I enjoyed reading Trump's tales and how his persistence and never give up attitude helped him succeed. I agree with him when he states, "Losers give up." I also think this summary paragraph has a lot of meaning for anyone who would heed the advice and live it, " Strive for wholeness, believe in yourself, keep your momentum at full throttle, and be strong and tough in your resilience. Don't expect anything less than that from yourself, and I can assure you that success will become a permanent situation for you, even when your external circumstances may not show it. Never Give Up!"

Reading about the challenges Trump overcame to reach his success should motivate the reader to overcome his or her own challenges. As Trump points out in chapter after chapter, he has faced many challenges and tough situations over the years. Prepare to face those challenges and you will have a much better chance of succeeding. And even Trump failed a number of times. It is all part of life. You won't succeed without failing a few times along the way.

Some of the lessons include: Failure Is Not Permanent: Wholeness and the Art of the Comeback; Is This a Blip or a Catastrophe? Be Prepared for Things That Happen Outside Your Game Plan; Expect Problems and You'll Be Ready When They Come: Getting Trump Tower Off the Ground; Separate Yourself from the Complaining Crowd: You Can Create Your Own Luck; Courage Isn't the Absence of Fear, It's the Conquering of Fear; If You See Big Problems, Look for Big Opportunities: Transforming a Dilapidated neighborhood into a World-Class Hot Spot; Know When to Cut Your Losses; Don't Take Yourself Too Seriously; Don't Get Complacent - Thinking You're Foolproof Is a Good Way to Set Yourself Up for a Big Mistake: How New Trump Projects Happen; Fred Trump's Four-Step Formula for Getting Things Done; Get the Most From Every Day; Think Internationally; and many others. As I stated, there are 41 short simple chapters that illustrate not giving up.

The book also contains Trump's Top 10 List for Success in Appendix A, and Trump's Rules for Negotiating in Appendix B. These again are just simple little one liners, but they are very good advice.

The entire book is a fun motivating read. If you apply the simple lessons and use it to motivate yourself, you won't be disappointed.

Reviewed by Alain Burrese, J.D., author of a regular column on negotiation for The Montana Lawyer.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2009
It is hard to think that Trump, with all his successes, faces any problems, but in this book, he shows us how he dealt with some of the challenges in his life. I found it refreshing to read about his mistakes because I can relate to them, but on a different scale. It was fascinating to read about him being $1 billion dollar in the hole in the 1990s and making the biggest comeback in history, which even put him in the Guinness Book of World Records.

People struggle with being $20,000 in debt, but $1 billion is unbelievable. He said that this was his lowest moment in his entire life. But he did not give up. Instead he focused on the solution, not the problem. He also admits that this event taught him to be a better businessman and entrepreneur. I would hate to go through a similar experience. Instead, I will pay $20 and learn from his mistakes.

- Mariusz Skonieczny, author of Why Are We So Clueless about the Stock Market? Learn how to invest your money, how to pick stocks, and how to make money in the stock market
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2008
I've read all of Donald Trump's books. A friend gave me a review copy of his latest book which I devoured in one sitting. Donald's specific anecdotes about persistence along with his outstanding savvy business acumen are a gift. If you have ups and downs in business and have been through some troublesome relationships, you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2009
Mark F. LaMoure, Boise, ID

TRUMP - "NEVER GIVE UP" gives Donald's viewpoint on a few of his biggest challenges and worst mistakes. With years of winning experience and wisdom, Donald gets very personal. He reveals how he used courage and determination to fight back and get through his biggest challenges. This is one of Trumps "A+" best books and I rate it Five Gold Stars. You'll learn a lot from it. Copyright 2008.

COURAGE AND CONFIDENCE
I have long respected Donald as one of the most successful self-help authors. The man is exceptional. Trump is a fascinating man with guts, grits and glory. A man who loves a big challenge, he's someone we can use as a precedent to learn from. Plus, reading and learning about Trump's billions of dollars of debt is far less expensive for us! Best of all, Trump shows a titanium backbone of bravery in sharing his difficult challenges for us to learn from. Donald is a great leader and excellent role model. Big and bold, its one of Trump's most gripping books for readers.

NEVER GIVE UP
As Winston Churchill once said: "Never, Never, NEVER GIVE UP! Like Churchill, Trump writes with vision on how failure is never permanent when you don't stop fighting to win. He states that after you've made an intelligent decision to move forward, don't let fear stop you. "Courage isn't the absence of fear, its the conquering of fear," he says. But sometimes its important to know when to cut your losses and move on to another success. The first-class book is 41 short Chapters, 168 Pages and 2 Appendixes of exciting material. Trump's charisma exemplifies Churchill in our modern times.

PREMIUM BOOK
TRUMP - "NEVER GIVE UP" is a premium book with gold blended into every sentence. BUY IT! You'll love the book. Its a quick, fun read with incredible insight and wisdom for wealth building. It may even transform your life.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2008
Having read and enjoyed all of Trump's previous books, I knew that I was in for more Trump storytelling punctuated with lessons learned. I wasn't disappointed and you won't be unless you are one who will resent that the stories are about his personal triumphs.

Kudos to Trump's writer (Meredith McIver) who fashioned 41 vignettes into quick read stories all nicely illustrating the theme of persistence. And, did so in a way that has the feel of Trump telling you each of the stories in a one-on-one setting.

Be forewarned; this book is written in the new quick read style designed for an ADD world. Not a heavy tome, in the Bill Clinton style of writing, but an enjoyable quick read. Most importantly, the message of the importance of persistence resonates in a most effective way.

I debated, with myself, as to whether the book deserved 5 stars and decided that Trump deserves such for crafting a book that balances the thinking of the currently popular Law of Attraction authors with a mandate for consistent, persistent action as one of the keys to success. Readers looking for easy, quick success will not find it in this book. Trump has toiled long and hard to achieve his success and the essence of his advice is consistent with what has made him such a success.

Full, full disclosure: Having just last night watched The Donald and Gene Simmons go mano/mano in the boardroom on Celebrity Apprentice, I think Trump deserves this 5 star for being such a stand-up guy. Gene Simmons was 100% right, but so too was The Donald in firing the other superstar of his show. Neither Trump nor Simmons operate in a manner with which I am personally comfortable, but I do respect greatly their intellect, their stand-up style, and their success over an extended period.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2016
I found this book to be initially interesting and even very inspirational and motivating, but about 2/3 into the book, I found it became repetitive, with the same old trite advice being repeated over and over again: “If unexpected challenges ever come your way, keep your head up, plow through them and never give up.” Donald Trump gives constant examples of how dress rehearsals went wrong for him, city councils blocked him from developing properties and even how he ended up on a three-hour cruise of Manhattan by accident one night. In each instance, he puts on a positive attitude and everything always miraculously turns out great for him. I found this to be so trite, superficial, hackneyed and divorced from reality; as though all you need to do in a difficult situation is put on a smile and everything will work out great. Time and again, he gives examples of how he got through situations by just adopting a positive attitude. I found his stories initially interesting but increasingly unbelievable and lacking any real depth or analysis.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2016
It was the worst period of my life both financially and personally. Unemployed, and struggling. I thought about quitting. I reached for a book on my bookshelf and put it back when I noticed Donald's book. The tittle stood out to me. I am glad I did, because, I read it and I got fired up, and started focusing on solutions and not the problems. A must read for anyone who is struggling and needs help!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2016
People should read all of Trump's books. We finally have a candidate who is a businessman. He knows from that perspective what our businesses have to deal with - all the laws and regulations put on them by politicians who have never run a business. Businesses create jobs. Not politicians.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2008
This is the first book by Donald Trump bought or read I could not give it more than three stars - I appreciate Donald Trump was not in the best financial situation in the early 1990's but the fact remains he came from a rich family if he did not have the contacts to get him out of trouble then I'm sure he could have turned to his parents. Most of the stories written in this book are straight forward problems associated with real estate development and are completed within two or three pages, WHAT made me buy the book was the interest in Donald Trump overcoming those financial problems that caused him so many troubles in the early 1990's BUT no such luck very little detail of the problem and very little detail as to how he overcame them.
33 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2016
Even if your might not like Trump he gives you insight into his thinking. At the end of each chapter he gives you a summary of his thought. The man refuses to get in the weeds of problems. He immediately looks for solutions. We all can complain about how it can not work or gives reasons for not coming up with solutions. Trump just rejects it can not be done. He investigates all possible angles for success. If things change he is willing to look for a solution to make his project work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse