Prime Music

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Trumpet & Organ - Maurice Andre

Maurice Andre , Marc-Antoine Charpentier , Tomaso Albinoni , Johann Sebastian Bach , George Frederick Handel , Jeremiah Clarke/John Stanley , Jean Baptiste Senaille , Johann Ludwig Krebs , Charles Gounod/Franz Schubert , Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Audio CD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.

Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed

Product Details

  • Composer: Marc-Antoine Charpentier, Tomaso Albinoni, Johann Sebastian Bach, George Frederick Handel, Jeremiah Clarke/John Stanley, et al.
  • Audio CD (November 22, 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: EMI Classics
  • ASIN: B000A2ESBA
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #574,116 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Fanfare
2. Adagio
3. Gavotte En Rondeau
4. Largo
5. Aria: Mein Glaubiges Herz
6. Gloria In Excelsis Deo
7. Ave Maria
8. Trumpet Voluntary
9. Allegro Spiritoso
10. Air
11. Trumpet Tune
12. Bourree
13. Ave Maria
14. Alleluia
15. The Queen's Dolour
16. Chorale: Jesu Bleibet Meine Freude
17. Chorale: In Allen Meinen Taten
18. Adagio
19. Chorale: Jesu Meine Freude
20. Wachet Auf

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant December 8, 2011
By Teemacs
To the best of my knowledge, the combination of trumpet and organ is a very recent one, and there is no 18th-19th century music written for such a combination. Thus, everything on this CD consists of adaptions of pieces written for other instruments/ensembles. To many purists, this is completely off-putting. However, not being a purist, I am not at all off-put.

Super-trumpeter Maurice André always felt the lack of music for his instrument and was always willing to adapt other pieces for it (the versatility of the piccolo trumpet made it possible to play things that could never be played on the natural instrument). The initial trumpet and organ records were made with the French label Erato and Hedwig Bilgram as partner, later with other partners.

To my ears, the combination two sounds, the clear sound of the trumpet and the sonorous richness of the organ, almost seem meant for each other, and the result here is a wonderful listening experience, with André's burnished tone and dazzling virtuosity showcased by splendid accompaniment. Indeed, the only quibble I can think of that listening to it all at once is like having a banquet consisting entirely of your favourite ice cream. You end up totally sated by it all. As a result, I tend to listen to bits at a time. I confess to having played some bits to death, such as the marvellous version of "Gloria in excelsis Deo " to the tune known as "Angels we have heard on high". In this regard, I'd echo Tom Lehrer's famous version of the carol and say:

Angels we have heard on high
Tell us to GO OUT AND BUY!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profound! December 21, 2009
If you know Maurice Andre's trumpet playing, you know the level of excellence he brings to every performance. And if you're a fan of the trumpet and haven't heard Maurice Andre, don't hesitate: This is, perhaps, his most virtuosic recording.

This is Maurice Andre at the absolute height of his powers. His tone is overwhelmingly beautiful and full. His technique is flawless. His range and endurance is uncanny. He can sail into the stratosphere with the most graceful piano, and in a moment can produce the most powerful yet glorious forte imaginable.

This particular recording is a collection of well-known Classical favorites (and a few lesser-known works) in brilliant transcriptions for trumpet and organ. Andre's dramatic, passionate interpretation of Albinoni's "Adagio" is alone worth the price of the disc, and the virtuosic displays in the traditional Trumpet Voluntary and Trumpet Tune (here arranged with challenging variations) are staggeringly executed.

Everyone with whom I've shared this recording responds the same: "I had no idea the trumpet could be played so well. Is this really possible?" It is. Enjoy.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category