Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Luxury Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing May4th

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars14
5 star
93%
4 star
0%
3 star
7%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 18, 2012
Anyone in Asia who is a trust creator, a beneficiary, or involved in any way with the Asian trust industry should take Hartley Goldstone and Kathy Wiseman's collection of positive stories as compulsory reading material.

In Asia, for the vast majority of family trusts, the trust creator is still alive. Read these stories to learn about the issues that beneficiaries in the third generation and beyond will have to deal with.

Second, wealthy Asian families are always looking for role models and example of what other families have done well and this book is filled from cover to cover with positive success stories.

Third, this offers a very important reminder that a trust is a relationship, not a product. It will change the way in which you think about selecting trustees and deciding on trust protectors and advisors.

Finally, the focus of this book is squarely on the well-being & success of the family system and its stories model the way to use a trust relationship to nurture mature responsible beneficiaries.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2012
If you're thinking about how to maximize your gift exemption or make an annual gift in a trust, this book is for you. Hartley and Kathy make the often-arcane world of trust terminology transparent to regular readers. They also offer specific strategies for using trusts to grow beneficiaries and help them become independent adults rather than dependent "trustafarians." The stories are the core. They truly illustrate what others have done; what's worked, what hasn't. And if you feel like your trusts have already started to go sour, it's not too late: there are stories here about how things can be made better. This is a great resource for givers, beneficiaries, and advisers. You can also read more and share your stories at Hartley and Kathy's website--navigatingthetrustscape.com. Take a look!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2012
Trusts are a feature of many families, not just the super-wealthy. A trust is a vehicle that allows the transfer of assets across generations. Most trusts are made for tax purposes, or to provide for a young family member. But the creation of a trust also creates a strange relationship between the wealth creator, the people who receive the benefits of the money int he trust, and the special person who is named the beneficiary, who is charged with keeping the rules of the trust. Goldstone and Wiseman focus on the relationships that grow up in this triangle, and their effects on each of the people involved. The book is short, and has 25 stories by people in these relationships who have had positive experiences. The negative experiences we can read in news accounts of family feuds and lawsuits, but we often don't learn much about what it is like when they work. This book should be given to anyone who creates, benefits or is trustee for a trust. The legal requirements are often less important than the personal relationships that are created, and to my knowledge, this is the only book that takes on this topic. It is well written, vivid, clear and useful.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2012
I have been in the family office space for 25 years. Hartley has opened my eyes on the matter of trusts, trustees and beneficiaries. What a breathe of fresh air! Being the beneficiary of a Trust has it's obvious benefits but also subtle (or not so subtle) shortcomings. If a Trustee and beneficiary do not have a good working relationship along the lines of a mentor, then the beneficiary is clearly losing out on some wonderful life experiences as so clearly portrayed in Hartley's book.

John Grzymala
Family office CFO
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2012
Hartley and Kathy are advancing the conversation on this very important topic. Too many times have we seen beneficiaries and trustees stuck in an unproductive (and often adversarial) relationship, and too few times in a productive, mutually rewarding one. The potential for growth and empowerment for beneficiaries of a trust is huge, but so often goes untapped. The stories they share here demonstrate that potential, and we can all use them to inspire us (trust-creators, trustees and beneficiaries alike) to do better and achieve more.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2013
TrustWorthy is a must-read for anyone having a role in a trust. The array of positive stories defies the lore that trusts are necessarily bad and burdensome. The reader will come away from these stories with hope and confidence in the power to shift to a better outcome, along with specific ideas to act upon to build strength in their families. It is easy for both trustees and beneficiaries to become mired in small ranges of behaviors, each for their own reasons. TrustWorthy gives us examples of attitudes and behaviors that are sure to expand the thinking on both sides of the equation, and will lead to more constructive uses of trusts. It is the perfect book to turn a heretofore negative reality into a positive one.

Thayer Cheatham Willis, LCSW, Principal, Thayer Willis LLC and
author of Navigating The Dark Side of Wealth and Beyond Gold
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2013
As a psychologist in practice, I have observed the many unacknowledged family issues that are part
of the trustscape; a subsystem within the larger family system. Unfortunately a quantitative
approach by attorneys and trustees often ignores important personal and family narratives that may
be the key to fostering productive relationships. Goldstone and Wiseman have done a remarkable job
recounting personal anecdotes to transform the "burden" of the trust to a family sustaining journey.
It is an exceptional work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2013
Finally a book that highlights the positive opportunities that exist in the Trustee/Beneficiary relationship. Anyone involved with a trust as either a trustee or beneficiary or anyone planning on creating one should read this book (and discuss it with their advisors!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2015
I didnt find much of value here as I searched for ideas to help me construct a helpful or at least unharmful trust for my family.
They did talk about trustees having some anecdotal successes with problems that seemed rather obvious.
Finding virtually nothing useful about trust provisions or details, I will look further.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2014
As a trust advisor with decades of experience I heartily recommend this book. A must read. No kidding. Its on my short list of books on trusts that I recommend for clients.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse