Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Truth About Kerry
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 13, 2012
Finished watching "Truth about Kerry" not long ago (DVD has arrived earlier today) and let me tell you, this movie is a MUST SEE :) For every STANATIC and not only, just for everybody who loves good movies. This movie has it all - great story, wonderful acting from everybody, but especially from Stana Katic, totally shocking ending which leaves you with your jaw on the floor. Great writing and directing, wonderful cinematography and wonderful cast. Independent movie at it's best :) Personally I think that if this movie had been released at least 4 - 5 years earlier, Stana would have been in completely different place with her film career. Every film director must see it and get Stana for the main parts in their movies. She's THAT GOOD :)

Also the music in the movie is beautiful, great job by Ciaran Hope, he deserves some awards for his score.

I know for sure that I'm going to re-watch this little gem MULTIPLE times :)
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2012
Quite enjoyable, with lovely cinematography and a plot that moved along well. The characters all have their secrets, and half the fun is trying to decide who has the biggest secret. The performances were all enjoyable- I especially liked the teenager Seamus. The end? Surprising, yes, but nothing earth-shattering.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2012
First of all, you get to see beautiful footage of Ireland. Yay. (Yep. Sheep grazing on the mountain and everything!)

Emma decides at the last minute to not join her best friend Kerry on a trip to Ireland. While there, Kerry washes up on the beach dead.

Emma travels to the country to try and find out what really happened to her. She feels that the police did not do enough.

This movie rolls right along with you gaining some knowledge of how people from small villages in other countries conduct themselves.
It's a very different way of life there and Emma just wants answers. (I did imagine myself there blowing in like a tornado with my strong willed personality pissing off all the locals making demands left and right. Lol Hmmmmmm)

Everyone seems to have their secrets but even so Emma does gain a couple of new friends that help her during her investigation and are very kind to her.

Then...BAM!!!

Note: I gave the movie 5 stars even though I didn't know any of the actors and usually it takes quite a bit to impress me. I decided to go ahead with the full 5 star rating because of the excellent directing and lead in to the ending. Best actor in this film? Paul Hardiman by a landslide.

WARNING: DO NOT READ PAST THIS POINT IF YOU HAVE NOT SEEN THE FILM.

Now, regarding my thoughts on the death of Kerry. This is modern times. WTH??? Why wasn't the area sectioned off and a CSI team called in to scrape under her nails and do a rape kit?
Then...you swab the inside of the cheeks of every single man she came in contact with during her stay there.

After several STRONG and determined interrogations of all who came in contact with her and then a matchy match to the DNA, then wah la!!! you've got your man and solved the crime.
The one thing wrong with this movie is that it makes you feel like this was set back 100 years ago where the man with da badge say's "Oh well, these things happen" and mosey's on back to his comfy office.
It's as if no crime scene investigation was done. Emma didn't ask about that. She wanted to see the death cert and that's all she asked for. This was filmed in present day. Don't tell me Ireland couldn't or wouldn't solve this crime.
This gal had all kinds of DNA on her. It's really odd that the film made you feel like nothing scientific was done.

In the states, this would have been an easy case.
33 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2013
If your a fan of Stana Katic-especially as Dectective Kate Beckett- you might just find this early movie of Stana a dark trip into her groundwork for the future role in Castle.
Like I said the movie is dark and not that good- Stana carries the movie and watching her in this -now that I have watched her in Castle and other movies- was interesting to watch the contrast.
So, if your fan and the price is not high- add it to your collection.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2013
The plot of the story itself is not perfect but Stana Katic's brilliance really made this worth watching...the other actress, (whose name I will eventually insert) who plays Kerry was also very competent and the other players were convincing in their roles. This film could have been great had the writer taken the time to overcome some glaring plot points...who travels all the way to a country to investigate their friend's murder then suddenly decides it wasn't...I'm hoping this was done to create a possibility for a sequel, because otherwise it does not make much sense. The writer/director mentions something about violence against women in the bonus feature of the DVD but I am not sure what the message is supposed to be, the entire town completely disregarding the evidence of a crime speaks more about their own moral compass and apathy to foreigners than violence against women, but then again I could be wrong.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2013
Just watched this on a rainy Saturday by the fire, and found it very atmospheric indeed. The moody landscape views are the best thing about it imo. There's a sense of fascination with Ireland and with Irish music. It was like seeing my own place through new eyes.
The story follows a decent enough emotional trajectory, for the main character at least. But as others have mentioned there's a huge plot hole in the way the Gardaí supposedly dealt with a death that clearly should have been highly suspicious. An American tourist's body washes up on the shore, battered and half-naked, and the response seems to have been a collective shrug. Ah sure... you know how it is with these young ones.
Note to future American scriptwriters purporting to write authentic Irish dialogue: To bring someone from A to B in your car is to give them 'a lift'. Not 'a ride'. A ride here is something else entirely, and no Irishman who values his facial features will ask a strange woman if they need 'a ride' in his car. Also, here nobody drowns in 'the ocean'. We know the word but never use it. It's 'the sea', folks. And then there's the elderly man with the heavy Kerry accent talking about his son who, unaccountably, has a sharp Northern accent. What's that about? But admittedly, everything I've mentioned in this paragraph is something that might bother a native but would probably sail right past an international audience.
I saw the final twist coming, but I'd still give a lot of credit for how well it was portrayed and acted. If the film was in danger of drowning in its own melancholy landscapes at times, the final scenes sent it out on a good strong narrative punch.
A good effort, overall. Different, and worth a look.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2013
This movie is ghastly! It is disappointing, to say the least! I like Stana Katic, but this movie is just plain awful (Nearly spelled it as the word occurred to me: OFFAL!) If somebody out there wants it, Let me know.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2013
Wasn't prepared for the Stana Katic in this film! The eyes, the smile, the voice, the movements...all familiar but the face wasn't.

Definitely felt the Irish environment if landscapes and bar scenes. The present and past were woven together neatly.

Although I'd picked up on the suggestion of what was revealed in the ending, I wasn't ready for the emotional and physical feelings it caused.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2013
Incredibly, mind-numbingly, nauseatingly boring. I adore Stana Katic, and if you wanted to see how well she could manage starring in a terrible film, this would be it. Stana is great, but this movie is AWFUL.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2013
AMAZON bills this page as Stana-Karic. Don't know what that is all about.
Anyway, Cinematography and scenes shown of the town in Ireland were devastatingly gorgeous.
We are used to seeing Ms Katic with a slight nose bob and highlights in her hair. Stana's look has evolved into a beauty of our time. Breath- taking roles in TV show ,CASTLE, could go on for 10 more years- plus
as far as I am concerned.
The Irish music was haunting and original.
I won't get over the ending any time soon.
This movie is a must see. ###
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$4.99
$3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.