Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars this was sent in a break proof package and was send quickly thanks.
This is a great story and a great lady that plays the leading role. I would have loved to be the man she chose as her husband. but alas i am older than she and i will find my Juliet some day and be happy also. but the packet was nicely done and the time send was great. sincerely i thank Amazon the seller and all included in my getting this product. jdelton
Published 10 months ago by James D. Elton

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Low Expectations, Better Results
Watching TRUTH ABOUT LOVE (is this a double entendre about the star?) is like plugging in white noise or manufactured water sounds to help you sleep - you put it in the DVD slot because there is nothing else left on the store shelves and you are in need of distraction after a hectic day. And it works for that for that purpose: being a British romantic comedy it is a bit...
Published on October 31, 2005 by Grady Harp


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Low Expectations, Better Results, October 31, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Truth About Love (DVD)
Watching TRUTH ABOUT LOVE (is this a double entendre about the star?) is like plugging in white noise or manufactured water sounds to help you sleep - you put it in the DVD slot because there is nothing else left on the store shelves and you are in need of distraction after a hectic day. And it works for that for that purpose: being a British romantic comedy it is a bit more.

The story is a rather simple one about a wife Alice (Jennifer Love Hewitt) married to an increasingly distant husband Sam (Jimi Mistry) who has put their love life on hold due to the burdens of his busy law practice. His partner Archie (Dougray Scott) is fond of both Sam and Alice, but has a longtime attraction to Alice that goes beyond friendship. Alice pals with her sister Felicity (Kate Miles), a free love advocate, who encourages Alice to have affairs. On Valentine's Day, after a drinking binge with her sister, Alice mails a card to Sam signed 'Anonymous' as a test to see if Sam responds, testing his fidelity. At the same time Archie mails a radish seed packet to Alice on which he has inscribed a suggestive love not. Both have ex post facto regrets. Sam in fact is spending time with a lover Katya (Branka Katic) and is indeed cheating on Alice. Alice arranges assignations with Sam via email and phone calls and plans to meet Sam in disguise as 'Anonymous' to test his fidelity. The entire cast of characters gets caught up in the silly charade and the ending proves that real love must be based on truth - and how that results in the various pairings is the surprise (of sorts) of the fluffy script.

British comedies work because of the quality of writing and the tight quality of acting. Perhaps had director John Hay elected to cast a British actress as Alice instead of pasting a phony accent on Jennifer Love Hewitt the result may have been improved. But in the end this story by Peter Bloore bounces between mildly humorous and pathetic in its messages. One terrible distraction is a musical score that is consistently so loud that it covers all the dialogue and is intrusive. There are some nice scenes of London and a few moments of passable humor, but in the end this little film is truly best utilized as background music/white noise. Grady Harp, October 05
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars JLH Finally Grups (Acts Like A Grown Up)!, July 21, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Truth About Love (DVD)
I know every other reviewer here says Hewitt is horrible, but those are fans writing. I've always found her immature and stilted, with a severely limited range. But this Direct-to-DVD finds her appropiating the facial complexity of a real woman instead of a perpetually pouty twenty-two year old. And I confess I've never found her sexy (again, because she seems child-like), but at thirty-three she finally acts her age and looks effortlessly sexy. With her sky-high forehead, the curly Louise Brooks bangs-bob she sports covers it, making her look older and more sophisticated; if she only had the guts to cut her hair that way off screen. Perhaps she drops her usual shtick because she's a bit off-kilter being the only Yank in a British film and stuggling with an unfamiliar accent. And about that "accent": it's very clearly DUBBED, as is her co-star cad husband, a terrific Jimi Mistry. It's hard to to tell whether it's her voice or not, but her original vocals obviously needed fine-tuning so the film makers ADR'd it (Automatic Dialog Replacement). To cover up the incompetence, they also ADR'd her scene partners as well. All in all, the best acting she's ever done, in a cliche-ridden plot with some someprisingly well scripted dialogue in parts. They should really just stop making films with "The Truth About" phrase in the titles because they are inevitably awful: The Truth About Cats and Dogs (1996), The Truth About Charlie (2002) and The Truth About Love (2005). Stop. Just. Stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars JLH w/ british accent, January 28, 2007
This review is from: The Truth About Love (DVD)
That was the hardest part to get past in the movie was her accent. Could't really tell if it was dubbed or not. Her laugh was normal, but her talk almost seemed dubbed. The movie was decent, but was odd. The main character's husband is cheating on her with some tramp, and then the wife gets an idea to be "naughty" and pretend to be a mistress. It ends with the husband being found out that he was cheating on his wife, but also cheating on his mistress with his wife, whom he thought was someone else. The man is just slime and I felt he didn't get the right amount of punisment. So, it left me wanting to see someone just beat the crap out of him because of the way he treated is wife. Oh well, at least I have a not so common JLH movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, September 25, 2008
By 
Jen (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Truth About Love (DVD)
I am a huge Jennifer Love Hewitt fan, but this is not worth your money!!! Since I am a huge fan of hers, I wanted every movie she was in, but I wish I hadn't wasted the money on this one folks...it's just simply not good!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Take Me And Raddish Me", July 14, 2007
This review is from: The Truth About Love (DVD)
The British '04 film `The Truth About Love' stars America's sweetheart Jennifer Love Hewitt masquerading as a Brit in this somewhat jaded drama of love, betrayal and rediscovery is, shall I say it, a bust. To be fair, it isn't Jennifer fault, I thought she did quite well overall, she looks great as always and demonstrated the ability and range to do more than just light comedy. I hope she'll get the opportunity to act in more serious roles in a good production in the near future.

I'm not exactly sure where to place the blame for this dismal failure, all I can say for sure is that nothing seems to work in this film. The usually likeable Jimi Mistry is totally out of character and a non-factor in the movie while Dougray Scott fairs a little better but not well enough to spark any real interest in the viewing audience. I guess you'll watch this one if you're a die-hard Jennifer Love Hewitt fan, there's no other reason to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet love story, Crappy British Accent, July 17, 2007
By 
Kharabella "Kharabella" (Somewhere in the midwest . . .) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Truth About Love (DVD)
I hadn't heard of this film, but I am a romantic comedy fiend, so I had to try it. There were funny parts, but it wasn't really a romantic comedy. The love and betrayal part was more on the serious side -- both the attachments and the betrayals are more real than they are comedic.

I like Jennifer Love Hewitt, and I enjoyed the cast of this movie generally. The plot was not incredibly original, but it was cute. And the comedy part was not overdone -- some parts are genuinely funny, rather than bordering on the completely absurd. The only drawback -- JLH does not do a very good accent. I think she might as well have played an American expatriate married to an Englishman. But she plays cute, wronged, and vulnerable well, so otherwise, the character fits her. Don't watch if you expect seriousness or substance, but it you want cute love story, this may do the trick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Jennifer's better films, February 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Truth About Love (DVD)
Jennifer Love Hewitt looks good in this, as she always does. But, except for a couple of scenes, I felt the film was a bit weak, overall. There is some fairly good footage of Bristol, England. There is also the novelty of a man cheating on his wife with his wife, but not knowing that is who he is cheating with. Won't say how that comes about, it would ruin the film for you. Overall, though, I cannot give this a thumbs up for anyone except a big Jennifer Love Hewitt fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this was sent in a break proof package and was send quickly thanks., March 14, 2014
By 
James D. Elton "jdelton" (Camden Arkansas 71701 USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Truth About Love (DVD)
This is a great story and a great lady that plays the leading role. I would have loved to be the man she chose as her husband. but alas i am older than she and i will find my Juliet some day and be happy also. but the packet was nicely done and the time send was great. sincerely i thank Amazon the seller and all included in my getting this product. jdelton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, January 23, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Truth About Love (DVD)
This is very fun, romantic comedy. I enjoyed it very much and have watched it several times. Dougray Scott in particular is very endearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth About Love, December 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Truth About Love (DVD)
Light and enjoyable for a night of entertainment without TV. A "chick flick" with no murder or terror in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Truth About Love
The Truth About Love by John Hay (DVD - 2005)
$9.98 $6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.