Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concise, Friendly Guide to Making the Tax System Work for You
In 52 concise and engaging chapters, author S. Kay Bell covers the basics of federal taxes and how to plan your financial decisions to take advantage of various tax breaks. Unlike a detailed instructional manual, "The Truth about Paying Fewer Taxes," functions more like a road map, guiding you to tax-saving ideas, explaining often complex tax rules.

William...
Published on March 30, 2009 by William Perez

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just not for me
Got this as a free download and would be upset had I paid for it. Having done my own taxes for years I was looking for something other than a rehash of what is on each form. Didn't make it out of chapter 2.
Published on March 26, 2011 by Jan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concise, Friendly Guide to Making the Tax System Work for You, March 30, 2009
This review is from: The Truth About Paying Fewer Taxes (Paperback)
In 52 concise and engaging chapters, author S. Kay Bell covers the basics of federal taxes and how to plan your financial decisions to take advantage of various tax breaks. Unlike a detailed instructional manual, "The Truth about Paying Fewer Taxes," functions more like a road map, guiding you to tax-saving ideas, explaining often complex tax rules.

William Perez, [..]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tax guide, March 7, 2011
By 
This book is mostly basic information about tax, IRS, and related topics. I picked this up free and will keep it as a handy reference. A good overview for filing your tax documents, and for those going through an audit. Some repetitive sentences in the kindle version - maybe headers that are not formatted right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taxes and Truth, March 19, 2009
This review is from: The Truth About Paying Fewer Taxes (Paperback)
Posted with permission from mauledagain.blogspot.com

"In a world that permits just about anybody to publish his or her assertions about any topic, it's not surprising that we've been bombarded with all sorts of statements concerning taxes and taxation, some accurate and some misleading or downright false. In a world drowning in information, it might seem surprising that many people don't know or understand all that they need to grasp with respect to taxes. In many instances, these folks end up paying more in taxes than they are required to pay.

So it's fortunate for these people that S. Kay Bell, who blogs at Don't Mess With Taxes, and who also is a member of the Taxpayer Advocacy Panel, has come out with a book called, "The Truth About Paying Fewer Taxes."

"The Truth About Paying Fewer Taxes" is not for the tax professional. Anyone claiming to be a tax professional who does not know what Kay explains in the book ought not be claiming that distinction. On the other hand, people who enter into the tax return preparation field when January rolls around, and who haven't been keeping on top of tax law changes, should pick up this book and read. So, too, should people who do their own tax returns and, yes, they exist.

The book's price would pay for several cups of expensive coffee. In other words, for what it delivers, it's a bargain."

Read full review at [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great primer for every taxpayer, May 10, 2014
By 
Kathryn Morgan, EA, NTPI Fellow (Haughton, Louisiana United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Straight forward step-by-step guide to lowering your taxes. This is a great guide for every taxpayer to the ins and outs of the tax system. Whether you are a DIY filer or use a professional tax preparer this book will give you the edge to make the right decisions and ask the right questions. As a twenty plus year tax professional I recommend this for anyone who wants to better understand they system and how to pay their fair share and it a penny more. Great job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just not for me, March 26, 2011
By 
Jan (Michigan) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Got this as a free download and would be upset had I paid for it. Having done my own taxes for years I was looking for something other than a rehash of what is on each form. Didn't make it out of chapter 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea, April 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When I downloaded this I thought it might be interesting and I might take a look at it. Well I couldn't get into this so I just deleted it. Not sure how it is so don't base your purchase on my review....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Truth About Paying Fewer Taxes
The Truth About Paying Fewer Taxes by S. Kay Bell (Paperback - January 16, 2009)
Used & New from: $1.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.