Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only the best album I own
Truth and Soul is Fishbone's best album, in fact I would put it up against any album anywhere, it's that good. But in all reality you should own all Fishbone albums. If you're looking for a good place to start, this is it. Once you hear Ghetto Soundwave once, you will be a Fishbone fan. Ma and Pa is simply amazing. Fishbone's musicianship cannot be questioned, every...
Published on December 18, 2000 by J. Brittman

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Fishbone and this album are fantastic. The cd we received is not
Do not, under any circumstances buy this or any other cd if it's been "remastered, restored or reimagined" by Columbia. Fishbone and this album are fantastic. The cd we received is not...it sounds like it was recorded onto a cheap cassette tape from another older, cheaper cassette tape. The recording quality is horrible. Flat. Shallow. Sounds very little...
Published 6 days ago by Mylee


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only the best album I own, December 18, 2000
This review is from: Truth And Soul (Audio CD)
Truth and Soul is Fishbone's best album, in fact I would put it up against any album anywhere, it's that good. But in all reality you should own all Fishbone albums. If you're looking for a good place to start, this is it. Once you hear Ghetto Soundwave once, you will be a Fishbone fan. Ma and Pa is simply amazing. Fishbone's musicianship cannot be questioned, every member in this group has master his instrument. Best tracks are Subliminal Facism, Question of Life, Bonin', One Day. If you don't like Fishbone after hearing this, you never will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, August 26, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Truth And Soul (Audio CD)
Man. Man, I don't even listen to this type of sound. Couldn't care less for it. But Man. Man. My old roommate turned me on to these guys and this album and I've thanked him for it in my heart ever since. It's a shame, Fishbone deserved so much recognition for this album, but hey, they're black, they're talented and they don't give a damn. These are not ingredients for mass appeal. I recommend to any and everyone who love tight musicianship and a little love and politics in their songs to buy this album. It defies convention, there really isn't much to compare it to - hence it's poor sales. But any rock guide will have the maximum rating for this album. Fishbone should be proud. I know I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funk it up Fishbone!, September 11, 2006
By 
H3@+h "Over 1500 reviews!" (thanks for the helpful review votes) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Truth And Soul (Audio CD)
Some may not agree, but I call this easily their best album. It should have made them huge. "Truth And Soul" is a wonderful mesh of funk/ska/rock/punk, and usually gets me jumping around the living room. Great lyrics too. Few songs have the energy that "Ma And Pa", "Bonin' In The Boneyard", and "One Day" do. This album is also a must for fans of the old movie "Tapeheads", as this includes "Slow Bus Movin' (Howard Beach Party)" which the soundtrack missed. But it's not all horn-blowing and bass-slapping. "Change" is a beautiful song played on acoustic guitar, that's about making the world a better place for all. Any fan of older Chili Peppers or Bosstones needs to hear this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Criminally underrated., January 16, 2002
This review is from: Truth And Soul (Audio CD)
Without a doubt in my mind, I can honestly say that Fishbone (along with Faith No More, Metallica, and Living Colour to name a few others) was one of the most interesting and innovative musical forces that emerged from the 1980s. The band played just about every musical style conceivable with musicianship that can only be described as amazing. Even though combining multiple musical genres may not sound so impressive nowadays, Fishbone had a unique flair and sense of humor about it that to this day remains unmatched. And what better place to start with this great band than 1988's Truth and Soul.
The album starts off with a headbanging cover of Curtis Mayfield's "Freddie's Dead" and ends with the soulful acoustic ballad "Change." In between there's punk ("Subliminal Fascism" and "Deep Inside"), ska ("Ma and Pa"), jazzy pop ("Pouring Rain"), funk ("One Day" and "Ghetto Soundwave"), and even a little country ("Howard Beach Party [Slow Bus Moving]"). The lyrics walked the fine line between being humorous in an adolescent way and being as serious as the proverbial heart attack - and sometimes you couldn't tell which one the band tried to be.
Yet there is a reason why I can't give this album 5 stars: the cheesy production that sounds better suited for a dance act like C+C Music Factory (remember them anyone?). It seems like the people responsible for the sound quality listened to either too much dance music and/or new wave or not enough real rock. Which is a crying shame when you consider how watered down the guitar riffs sound. I mean come on, Fishbone deserved much better. But even with the lackluster production, TaS is head and shoulders above the multi-genre acts that are so popular today.
Overall rating: 4.25 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fusion Pioneers, August 28, 2009
This review is from: Truth And Soul (MP3 Music)
The big buzz in the music scene over the last decade or so has been "fusion bands." Well, no one does Fusion like Fishbone, and no one did it WHEN they did it! Funk/Punk/Ska/Speed Metal...with horns. I dug Truth & Soul out the other day and it still is fresh and modern. How can a 20 year old album not age a day? I think it starts with the use of real instruments, so the sound is full and rich, unlike the hollowness sythesized sound creates. Also, the album's creativity seems endless. Each song brings a new sound with it. There is no tired repetition like alot of other artists who work by "formula."
Why isn't Fishbone the best-known band in the world right now? After listening to this album, you may want to know. Shhh...the secret is...they're black. They made music white people listened to; it was not rap or R&B, so they didn't get the support from the black community that contemporaries did. Other black bands who did "white" music, like Living Colour and Bad Brains, also excelled in their genres, but got little credit for it.
Fishbone predates No Doubt, Mighty Might Bosstones, and even the popular days of Red Hot Chili Peppers, but if you like any of the above, give this a listen. If you like more than one of the above, buy it - no preview neccessary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best album by an underappreciated band, January 17, 2007
By 
R. C. Kopf "curtis kopf" (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Truth And Soul (Audio CD)
is fishbone the great undiscovered band of the 1980s/early 90s?

this band is so good on so many fronts that it's criminal they are not a household name. this album, in my view, is their best. they should be revered with the likes of the replacements, the red hot chili peppers and husker du.

few bands have so successfully mixed intelligence, raw punk-funk energy, great musicianship and soul, without ever being pretentious. i saw them live several times and those shows stand out as among the most raw & powerful I ever saw, as good as red hot chilis (but clothed).

how do you categorize this band? Ska? Funk? Soul? Protest music? Punk? Who cares! It's all there in this disc from the brilliant cover of "Freddie's Dead" to the punk of "subliminal fascism" to the hilarity of "bonin' in the boneyard" to positive protest power of "change."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fishbone On Their Way Up, September 26, 2004
By 
Gordon Kyd "G-Bone" (Sydney, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Truth And Soul (Audio CD)
Truth and Soul is a portrait of a band that were ready to take on the world with every musical style possible and there was no better way to see the 1980's off. Fishbone were on their way up to the peak of their career at this stage and by the early 90's, they had evolved into one of the tightest and diverse multi-genre acts to come out of the US. Some say that this was when the band was at it's most exciting live, being dubbed "the ultimate high energy live experience in the world" by punters, fans and fellow musicians. Les Claypool's praising comments in notes of Fishbone's "Essential Collection LP" express how amazing and influencial he thought the band were during this period.

Truth and Soul is a mixture of ska, rock, punk and soul all underlined with the essence of funk, but even that desciption sounds cliche when talking about Fishbone's sound. The bands relentless youthful energy can be felt in their music on this release and their frustrations toward racial and musical type-casting start to contain more power and anger than just a passing lyric that their previous releases contain. The band's child like innocence was still present but the darker side of Fishbone was surfacing on Truth and Soul.

Containing a collection of fun filled high energy tracks, catchy choruses and clever cross genre arrangements, Truth and Soul would probably be the most digestable album for the general public or Fishbone virgins. It's only let down is it's thin and trebley production which was common for late 1980's recordings due to over-compression and over-processing. As a result, the drums and guitars sound a little sterile and irriating on particular hi-fi's. However, the performance and song writting on Truth and Soul make the production nearly irrelevant.

It is hard to believe that this album was released nearly 15 years ago but like most Fishbone albums, it is unusual and different enough to have a timeless quality about it.

Unfortunalty Fishbone never commercially brokethrough but were/are remembered as musical pioneers that changed the face music in LA even though the majority of the population never knew it.

Truth and Soul is a classic and so are the memories that are associated with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How the hell did Grunge eclipse music THIS good?!, August 22, 2004
This review is from: Truth And Soul (Audio CD)
"Truth and Soul" is my favorite Fishbone album. I feel blessed each time I discover music this good. The thoughtful, soulful, beat-thumpin' music Fishbone created is still an anomaly to this day; a bare beast indeed. "Change" is gorgeous. "Freddie's Dead ", "Ma and Pa", and "Ghetto Soundwave" are all jubilant in their bounciness. "Subliminal Fascism" sounds like a deranged carnival nightmare. This album has tons of mood swings, and I love every one of them. I don't consider this music to be Ska. To me, Fishbone sounds more New Wave than anything else. For anybody who cares, the band sounds very similar to Oingo Boingo, so you might enjoy them too. I agree that Fishbone is sickeningly underrated, especially when it comes to this album and "The Reality of My Surroundings". Fishbone definitely didn't get the appreciation they deserved. The last album Fishbone did came out around 1991, when Grunge was just beginning to eclipse the music world. It's total shame that lazy, untalented bands like Nirvana were hailed as the best thing since God. It's even worse that everything Nirvana did was the gauge by which all music in the 90's was judged. Nirvana set the bar as low as they could get away with, and the public just ate the band up. I doubt the masses would ever be able to embrace a band like Fishbone anyway; it'd make them use ears and their emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FISHBONE'S best--should have made them huge stars, April 1, 2005
By 
TomDinNJ (Maplewood, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Truth And Soul (Audio CD)
This is Fishbone's best album--it has it all, the fun songs, the fast ones, the serious ones, the silly ones, the rockin' ones.

This album because (and remains) a cult hit--a staple of the well stocked music collection--but it should have made Fishbone into a huge, stadium packing rock band. They should have received the acclaim and sales that the Chilli Peppers and No Doubt (and, briefly, the MM Bosstones) received. Fishbone was better. They burned hot and in this album their flame was at its peak.

This one should be an Amazon Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FISHBONE gets recognized and more mature, still fun, their best album!, December 20, 2004
By 
capaBILLity (Morristown, New Jersey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Truth And Soul (Audio CD)
I love FISHBONE's humor. It shows us all that life is NOT all that bad,especially when there are others worse off than us (the ones that can't buy CD's,etc...). FISHBONE tried to get serious some on their first full-length 'IN YOUR FACE' but the funk-filled fell on deaf ears (not def).

The seriousness comes from KENDALL JONES and CHRISTOPHER DOWD. The writers of songs like "Change","Pouring Rain" and "Ghetto Soundwave" are just heart-touching songs about piece (I mean peace) The songs you really don't hear much of since JOHN LENNON. The other songs written by various members of the band is more on an issue related like "Slow Bus Movin' (Howard Beach Party)","Ma And Pa","One Day","Deep Inside","Question Of Life" and "Subliminal Facism". The rest of the album is just funky fun. The hard-rocking cover of CURTIS MAYFIELD's "Freddie's Dead",the bass crazy,funked up to be damned "Bonin' In The Boneyard" and the rock bounce "Mighty Long Way".

6 freaky guys from L.A. putting knowledge,peace and fun all into one CD through different phases of music. The last song should be the title of this album because we do need a "Change".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Truth And Soul
Truth And Soul by Fishbone (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.