Truth or Dare (Truth or Dare series Book 1) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $18.00
  • Save: $5.74 (32%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Truth or Dare has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Fast Shipping - Safe and Secure Bubble Mailer!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Truth or Dare Hardcover – May 14, 2013

37 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$12.26
$3.34 $0.01

Nowhere But Here
"Nowhere But Here"
Don't miss the start of Katie McGarry's new Thunder Road series. Learn more | See more teen reads
$12.26 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Truth or Dare + Secrets and Lies (Truth or Dare) + Kiss and Tell (Truth or Dare)
Price for all three: $39.89

Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up-Quiet and disturbed Sydney, Ivy League-bound Caitlin, and spoiled beauty Tenley are the focus of this chilling tale. To establish herself as the party queen of Echo Bay, Tenley hosts a huge blowout that ends with an intense game of truth or dare. But long after the game is over, someone forces the girls to keep playing. Sydney would rather be developing photos in the darkroom, Caitlin barely has time to sleep with all of her college application-padding activities, and Tenley is just trying to fit in again after almost four years away. However, the three are receiving notes threatening them with exposure of their darkest secrets if they do not perform dares. The teens vacillate between going along, accusing one another and others of being behind the notes, and involving the police. The game gets deadlier, stakes get higher, and someone won't survive it. Green offers an edge-of-your-seat thriller. The characters are all well drawn and believably flawed. There is a good deal of underage alcohol consumption and some drug use and sex. The protagonists' fluctuating reactions to the horrible game are realistic and everyone is a suspect in this town. With just the tiniest hint of the supernatural, Echo Bay itself seems haunted. Creepy and dark to the core, this is a great offering for fans of Lois Duncan and Christopher Pike.-Tara Kehoe, Plainsboro Public Library, NJα(c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review

"Green offers an edge-of-your-seat thriller. The characters are all well drawn and believably flawed...Creepy and dark to the core, this is a great offering for fans of Lois Duncan and Christopher Pike."―School Library Journal

"A well-plotted suspense tale....Good intrigue designed for the chick-lit crowd."―Kirkus Reviews

"The suspense winds tautly, and the story proceeds at a flawless pace...a perfect choice for vacation reading."―The Bulletin

"An intricate web of secrets and lies, retribution and revenge that will keep you guessing until the very last page!"―Gretchen McNeil, author of Possess and Ten

"A sizzling debut. Fans of Pretty Little Liars are going to love this series!"―Sarah Mlynowski, author of Ten Things We Did (And Probably Shouldn't Have)

"Tense, surprising, and utterly riveting, Truth or Dare is a thriller in every sense of the word. I couldn't put it down!"―Lili Peloquin, author of The Innocents
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Series: Truth or Dare (Book 1)
  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Poppy (May 14, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0316220361
  • ISBN-13: 978-0316220361
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 1.2 x 8.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 7.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (37 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,136,448 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Related Media


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Christina (Ensconced in Lit) on March 22, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
I received an ARC in a contest giving away books.

Truth or Dare was a pleasant surprise after reading some disappointing books prior to it. I usually don't like more than alternating POV's but Green does a great job getting us into the heads of three very different girls: Sydney, the artsy photographer, with a deadly secret, Caitlin, a pretty and popular but sweet girl who is buckling under pressure to get into Harvard, and Tenley, the mean girl who left town and is back to reclaim her throne. Soon, we realize that someone is playing a very nasty trick on these three girls and somehow, they are connected in ways we don't know. Will they figure out who is playing them before it's too late?

I loved the prose in this novel. Usually in books like these that sort of represent the Christopher Pike genre back in the day are not very well written (i.e. the recent Ten), and I can barely get through them. But this book is very well written, and every description is meaningful, every word is on purpose. The plot is very fast paced, and while I figured out who the trickster is about 25% in, I didn't really care because I wanted to find out what happened to the girls, and there are plenty of other mysteries that need to be solved on the sidelines. It was really worth the ride. I started to care or at least be interested in each of the characters and their many secrets and was definitely surprised by many of them.

So you are probably asking now, so why only 4 stars? Honestly, I totally would have given in 5 except for the really big fact that this is the FIRST BOOK IN A TRILOGY. I feel like the remaining mysteries could have been resolved pretty easily in the first and made this an extremely strong stand alone. Instead, this story is going to be dragged out for two more books?
Read more ›
6 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Live Outside on June 9, 2013
Format: Hardcover
I don't know where to start! The book has so much going for it that kept me turning the pages and wondering what would happen next. Truth or Dare, in my world has always been a kid's game but with Tenley and Caitlin, they take it to a new level. Tenley and Caitlin live in a small seaside town and become the popular girls. As the girls got older, they have included others in their game and humiliation and embarrassment are just part of the game. Tenley moves away and in her senior year of high school she finally moves back and she wants it to be like old time but Caitlin has another new bestie, Emerson. I don't have to tell you how this agrees with the girls, but the drama is just beginning. Tenley decides to have a huge party and with all the drinking, the two girls decide to play Truth or Dare. Anyone can play and that is when the ball starts rolling as we start to see how some individuals really are, for what they say and what they make other do really says something about them. For after this night, some individuals at the party will never want to play this game again. A new darer starts to terrorize some of the girls with some typed notes making them do some activities that push their boundaries. These girls fear the darer's retaliation of revealing their past secrets that only each of the girls knows and this put everyone on edge. You can't flip the pages fast enough with all the suspense and the secret finger pointing, to find out who is slipping in these notes in and why. The connection between the characters is so mixed, that I loved it! Some friendships are not questioned but others are put to the test as the tension of the new darer has them inquiring the integrity of the individual.Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By MaryAnn on June 9, 2013
Format: Hardcover
I was hoping that Truth or Dare by Jacqueline Green was going to be a read similar to a movie that I loved back in the day, I Know What You Did Last Summer. A suspense, thriller type read that would keep on the edge of my seat.

What started off as hopeful...petered out for me. It became a really repetitive plotline, with an ending that was easily predictable. And a cliffhanger type ending that should've had me excited for book two, kind of had me rolling my eyes thinking...here we go again...

The story revolves around 3 girls in the town of Echo Bay, Tenley, Caitlin, and Sydney.

Tenley has just returned to Echo Bay after having moved away years ago. After her mother has married one of the richest men in the area, Tenley returns with a goal of being one of the most popular girls again with a reputation of throwing killer parties which are known to be legendary due to their "intense" games of truth or dare. But upon her return, it seems that someone else has decided to take the game to a whole new level with Tenley as one of the targets... and they will stop at nothing to get Tenley to continue to play their heartless game...including revealing secrets that Tenley wants to keep hidden.

Sydney has always been on the outside looking in. With a past that has suddenly come back to haunt her which mimicks that games that she loathed in her younger days, Truth or Dare, Sydney finds solace behind the lens of her camera. But when things start to spiral out of control, Sydney's urge to go back to the things she used to do to release her anger is getting stronger and stronger every day.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Truth or Dare
This item: Truth or Dare
Price: $12.26
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?