Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Gifts Under $50 Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals BestoftheYear Shop Now Tikes

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars9
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on May 15, 2013
Ragedly composed, and expressed, these are the strengths of this unguarded disorderly passionate book. Of course we need Cheny, Bush, Rumsfeld, Wolfowitz on the gallons, look what they have done!
Barett puzzles the reader as he wanders through his life - why is he telling us all this? Then he starts in on the psychopaths, our leaders. Haven't we heard all this before? Must he detail every insult and his responses to his critics? Well why not? He selflessly recommends the more calm work of Griffin and others and restrained himself enough to get a PHD. Let's welcome our allies and Barrett is an ally, we need him, he says it, says what needs saying.
Barrett discusses folklore, myths, legends and he has read and reports on many books. His exuberance and unrestrained mouthing off improbably coupled with careful, well studied points of view make page after page interesting. God bless those who hire, publish and repeat Kevin Barrett.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on July 11, 2007
The still diffuse 9/11 Truth Movement has been making quite an impact on public awareness over the past two or three years, with many significant works emerging. Dr. Barrett, as a writer and an organizer of seminars, ranks right up there in the pantheon of intellectually and physically courageous leaders devoting their "lives, fortunes, and sacred honor" to bringing the lies down and bringing the liars to justice.

I've covered a few 9/11 exposés in my columns and reviews; I have a particular affinity for Dave McGowan's iconoclastic/ everyman hard-headed analysis proffered from the very next day after the crime via his cleverly named Website, Center for an Informed America. In fact, Davesweb analysis is what started my serious questioning of the official story...

For my complete review of this book and for other book and movie
reviews, please visit my site [...]

Brian Wright
Copyright 2007
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on March 17, 2007
Few autobiographies reach this level of brutal honesty, but if Dr. Barrett has a weakness, he reveals it in Truth Jihad. While a man of amazing moral fortitude and deep convictions, he clearly does not pretend to be perfect. Truth Jihad is an eclectic journey with a storyteller of great courage and conscious as he confronts the widespread myths held by his community and within his own home. Although the subject of 9/11 is difficult, the account skips along playfully...dancing under the possibility of a world of truth.

A man of great awareness and a keen alertness, Dr. Barrett shows his ability to recognize opportunities the rest of us would miss. He demonstrates the use of humor and playful provocation to engage the adversary into revealing their vicious nature...and using that action to the truth's advantage. Instead of fighting his enemies unproductively, he uses them to his benefit and models how precious victories can be achieved along the way. The big and small victories alike are described in loving, playful detail. He involves the reader in the thrill of engaging the enemy of narrow vision and broadening the minds of the audience he engages.

After he reveals his mind and heart through personal and professional stories, the reader explores the theological and philosophical implications with this man of rare morality. Though Dr. Barrett peels many layers off the 9/11 onion, never do the vapors' intensity overpower the peace revealed in the magnificent transformation that is possible when the 9-11 truth struggle reaches victory. Although his Muslim perspective is repeatedly shown, it reminds the reader that all people of conscious are not so very different-no matter their own faith- and the Muslim holocaust is an affront to all of humanity.

I didn't know what to expect from such a unique book. Even the name Jihad had so many prejudices attached to it in my mind, but the book showed me how to wage peace at war's pace...whether a Muslim, Christian, Jew, or Spiritual. He shows that every inch of ground can be hard fought and won, but ground can be gained, and must be! We are lucky that we are able to wage peace from our American position...not from fox holes. As Dr. Barrett demonstrates and journals, "truth is our trench" and we must dig in deeper! One thing's for certain, we're lucky to have people like Dr. Barrett in the fox hole with us.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on June 10, 2007
The strength of this book is the author's personality. Kevin Barrett is an articulate and original thinker and even a humorist who, at great sacrifice, allowed himself to be embroiled in the ugliest but most important topic of our time -- the overwhelming evidence that the 9/11 attacks were an inside job.

I don't think anyone embraces this perspective because they enjoy it. It is, in fact, NOT adequately embraced by the American public because it is so UN-enjoyable, so downright horrifying. But Kevin romps the reader through the truth as the master educator he is. And as indicated previously, his personality is so authentic and his style is so congenial, the reader feels safe in coming to terms with such a terrible topic at last.

This book is an opportunity to spend time with Kevin Barrett -- to hang out with an extremely good and honest man and to, well, yes -- ENJOY learning about this subject that is so hard but so necessary for all Americans to understand.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on July 10, 2015
If you enjoy the National Enquirer or Mad Magazine, you might find Barrett's highly fictionalized accounts of 9/11 to be amusing examples of conspiracy writing. I have read several books describing an alternate explanation, but have yet to find one that's really believable. So, why believe in an alternate theory when jihadists have taken credit for 9/11?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on July 10, 2015
This consists of the rants of an desperate person who has embraced Islam, the creation of a pitifully delusional, mentally ill person who convinced himself that he was a prophet, the last prophet, one who could not perform miracles yet claimed that he was far more important than Christ.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on April 18, 2008
Among books on 9/11, Truth Jihad is in a category by itself -- it enlightens and entertains.

Kevin Barrett, in Truth Jihad -- a book that's hard to put down, mixes alternative views on 9/11, faith, philosophy, and humor. In doing so he reveals a lot of himself, his life since his college days, his battles with the establishment in attempting to seek the truth about 9/11, and his remarkable journey to Islam.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on October 6, 2009
Judging a book by its cover is normally poor practice, but the semiotic justice of this cover portraying the author engaging in symbolic autofellation makes such judgment apt.

Barrett fell in love with his own image on FOX TV news back in 2006 and never got over himself. The book's opening is revealing: "It was just a few days after Steve Nass had made me famous." Like we should care? "Call me Ishmael" it's not. As presidents tend to confuse maintenance of their own public image with national security, Barrett came to confuse his own self-promotion with 9/11 Truth. His incorporation of his own (presumably previously unpublished) poetry in his text suggests the author had a high degree of artistic control in this work.

The book's title, juxtaposing the word "truth" with about the most despised word in the English language, does about as much damage as any two words can do to the 9/11 Truth movement. His insistence that "jihad" means what Barrett wants it to mean (struggle and self-improvement) and not what it means to the American mainstream (religious war) reveals a solipsistic myopia that serves to marginalize truthers in proportion to the influence and attention Barrett gets. His disregard over the years for journalistic standards of accuracy and verifiability certainly shows truth to be a struggle for him, and recent interviews suggest he's losing the fight for self-improvement as well. Unfortunately, Barrett considers himself a leader of the truth movement, and the mainstream media are happy to cast him in the "Kooky Truther" story they love so well. Barrett obligingly trips himself up on facts.

In promoting another book Barrett appeared on a mainstream AM radio station that reaches half the country, revealing an amazing ignorance about the Nuremberg trials while claiming to be an expert in international law. He also characterized the holocaust as "toasting six million Jews", demonstrating a cultural insensitivity that lends credence to the suspicions of many of us that his alleged interfaith organization, the Muslim Jewish Christian Alliance, has been a sham organization--nothing more than a website--all along.

To see a video on Barrett's radio comments about the holocaust, google: Kevin Barrett room
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on April 7, 2008
Funny how the 4 people that wrote reviews all sorta sound familiar? Come on, even people who read alot have bad grammer and typing skills!! Don't write your own reviews! Write a better book!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
We Are NOT Charlie Hebdo!: Free Thinkers Question the French 9/11
We Are NOT Charlie Hebdo!: Free Thinkers Question the French 9/11 by John Andrew Morrow (Paperback - April 2, 2015)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.