Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 15, 2012
I had considered the above book an excelent one until I reached the end of chapter 9 where the authors present a statement which goes against the grain! Kouzes and Posner recommend that every leader should focus on her/his weak points in order to be an outstanding leader. I do not need to mention a number of works that recommend just the opposite, that is, a leader must work on her/his strong points at which she/he excels. The only acceptable exception is concerned with a weakness that is vital for his/her performance at work. Nevertheless, the remaining of the book is excellent.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2010
This is a must read book for all leaders! Whether you are an experienced leader or simply an aspiring leader, you need to understand these basic truths about leadership. As an author of a leadership book myself (Victory Principles: Victory Principles: Leadership Lessons from D-Day), I was pleased to see that Kouzes and Posner have concluded from their extensive research over the last thirty years many of the same fundamental principles that I learned from practical experience during my own journey as a leader. As any experienced leader will tell you, there is no magic leadership formula, but there are fundamental principles that all leaders follow. You can find out about them here in this easy to read book which I highly recommend to anyone who is serious about the subject of leadership.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2011
I have read a lot....a LOT....of leadership books in my job as editor of [...]. The Truth About Leadership is on my top five-favorites list. It is based on REAL WORLD leadership, and is founded on what I consider to be the cornerstone of effective leadership: ethical ways of doing the right things, right. This book is easy to read, full of practical advice, AND inspiring. I highly recommend that The Truth About Leadership be a fixture on your go-to leadership bookshelf.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2010
An outstanding book that takes Kouzes and Posner's years of research and thinking about leadership to a new level. The book is brief, well written, and to the point. It builds on their previously published Five Practices of Exemplary Leadership (See "The Leadership Challenge") with Ten Truths About Leadership, which are a great guide for anyone in a leadership position, or who aspires to be a leader.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2011
As the title indicates this is a book about leadership. The authors distill their research and learnings in this area into ten truth "about leadership and becoming an effective leader".

One of the main premises in the book is: "We tell our audiences that as much as the context of leadership has changes, the content of leadership has not changed much at all. The fundamental behaviors, actions, and practices of leaders have remained essentially the same since we first began researching and writing about leadership over three decades ago. Much has changed, but there's a whole lot more that's stayed the same."

The authors then go on to introduce the ten truths:

1- You make a difference

2- Credibility is the foundation of leadership

3- Values drive commitment

4- Focusing on the future sets leaders apart

5- You can't do it alone

6- Trust the rules

7- Challenge is the crucible for greatness

8- You either lead by example or you don't lead at all

9- The best leaders are the best learners

10- Leadership is an affair of the heart

What sets this book apart is the amount of research set forth to bring forward these conclusions in a concise and direct manner. The truths are further supported by stories to further exemplify the behaviors and attributes of leadership. A must read in the area of leadership and remember: "Leadership can be learned"!

Below are some excerpts from the book that I found particularly insightful:

1- "Leadership is not about who you are or where you come from. It's about what you do."

2- "The five practices of exemplary leadership...1- Model the way 2- Inspire a shared vision 3- Challenge the process 4- Enable others to act 5- Encourage the Heart."

3- "Before they are going to voluntarily heed your advice, take your direction, accept your guidance, trust your judgement, agree to your recommendations, buy your products, support your ideas, and implement your strategies, people expect that you will measure up to these criteria."

4- "The capacity to imagine and articulate exciting future possibilities is the defining competence of leaders. Leaders are custodians of the future. They are concerned about tomorrow's world and those who will inherit it."

5- "Here are four actions to keep in mind (trust): Behave predictably and consistently...Communicate clearly...Treat promises seriously...Be forthright and candid."

6- "This means that you need to find a goal that can sustain your interest and the interest of those around you, for some considerable time. To be the most successful, you and your constituents must have a passion for a purpose and the perseverance to hang with it for the long term. This focus gives meaning to sticking through the hard times and to dealing with the often-inevitable disappointments and setbacks that accompany any significant significant accomplishment."

7- "Leadership can be learned. It is an observable pattern of practices and behaviors, and a definable set of skills and abilities. Skills can be learned, and when we track the progress of people who participate in leadership development programs, we observe that they improve over time. They learn to be better leaders as long as they engage in activities that help them learn how."
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2011
I gave this book to my son who graduated from College a few weeks ago. Practical book to learn leadership and to apply basic ideas to our everyday life as good leaders. Easy to understand and follow. Easy to apply to work and home life.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2011
I just can't say enough good things about this book. It is very approachable for CEOs, Moms, Dads, and leaders at all levels in the Marketplace. I just love this book and find myself referring to it often.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2011
...written with clarity, brevity and wit..not a word extra...this is the kind of book about leadership that will help you to better understand not only others but ...yourself as would be leader.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2011
If you ever decided to put together a dream team of leadership all stars--say, for the US Olympic Leadership Team--you'd be smart to hire Jim Kouzes and Barry Posner to coach that team. These guys truly "get" leadership as well as anyone I know. Their original best seller The Leadership Challenge, based on their years of research and teaching, helped us all clarify the five best practices of leadership in a way that took leadership research from voodoo to validation. Reading their new book, The Truth About Leadership, is like sitting down with Aristotle and Yoda for a chat about the collective wisdom surrounding leadership. These two modern sages (Kouzes and Posner) tell you the 10 big TRUTHS about leadership, like trust, learning, caring, and a lot more. What's great about this compact book is that the authors talk about big, important truths in simple terms and then document their assertions with clear-eyed research. Deceptively direct and comprehensible, this book poses a lot of myths and dispels them with reality...or truth. The simple truth is that if you want to read a benchmark book about decades of leadership research, buy this book for every leader in your organization. Then use it, as I will, to teach them the "Truth" about leadership.

[...]
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2011
We had to pick a book to review for my MBA program. This book was an excellent read backed up with factual info. It is a book I'll keep. Has both everyday lessons and business ones.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse