Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heroes Of Truth
Project 86 has been known as one of the most brutal Christian metal bands around. With the release of their self-titled debut, Project turned many heads with the pure brutality of tracks such as "Spill Me" and "Run". The release of their sophomore album, "Drawing Black Lines", raised even more eyebrows as the band improved in essentially every area of musicianship and...
Published on October 20, 2002 by Troy

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great lyrics, merely adequate music
This is good stuff, not as agressive as Songs To Burn your Bridges, but more progressive. The musik is in reality nothing special, look into tool for some more brilliant stuff in this vein.
Alright, now to the lyrics, in my opinion these are some of best since "The Wall". Also the story is intresting, but hard to pin point anything beyond the character's...
Published on May 28, 2004 by Joshua Alex Dolf


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heroes Of Truth, October 20, 2002
This review is from: Truthless Heroes (Audio CD)
Project 86 has been known as one of the most brutal Christian metal bands around. With the release of their self-titled debut, Project turned many heads with the pure brutality of tracks such as "Spill Me" and "Run". The release of their sophomore album, "Drawing Black Lines", raised even more eyebrows as the band improved in essentially every area of musicianship and song writing. It seemed as though it was quite improbable that Project could rise above what they have accomplished in the past, and, quite frankly, they didn't. Project 86's third album, "Truthless Heroes", takes one step forward and two steps back. Musically, Andrew has greatly improved in his song writing abilities showing his talent for generating melody in any situation. Unfortunately, this new found melodic addition is overdone at times. "Caught In The Middle" and "Know What It Means" are greatly overproduced and, overall, fail to capture the essence of what was intended. On the other hand, "Salem's Suburbs" and "Shelter Me" outweigh the aforementioned portraying amazingly written hooks. A hit or miss formula is at work during the majority of the album. Fortunately, the melody driven material doesn't encompass the entire album. "Little Green Men", "S.M.C.", and "Another Boredom Movement" all sound like b-sides of "Drawing Black Lines". Another double-edged sword of the album is the musicianship it exhibits. With melody being pushed forth as a necessity, Randy Torres' riffs quickly lose their bottom heavy savagery. However, Alex Albert's drumming is intensely emphasized throughout the album. He seems to know exactly which beats work best with certain melodies and executes them flawlessly. With any change this drastic in the musical route of a band, there will be some drawbacks to accompany the immaculate. Lyrically, "Truthless Heroes", sticks with the idea of a concept album focusing on the principle of the depravity of mankind. "Little Green Men" points the finger at the ever-present unrighteousness of the media and government. However, Andrew surpasses the likes of the average anti-establishment lyricist by virtue of his beliefs as a born again Christian. "S.M.C." and "Another Boredom Movement" expose the hypocrisy of the modern church and cultish movements therein, respectively. Near the close of the album is where Andrew shines as he did on tracks such as "Chimes" and "Run" in the past. Former Crucified vocalist Mark Salomon, currently with Stavesacre, joins Andrew on the blisteringly frightening track "Last Meal". Andrew takes the perspective of a man experiencing his first taste of hell. He sees the many bloodthirsty demons crawling near him shrieking "We'll eat what's left of you before we're through". Quite the thorough picture of the horrors of the underworld. "Hollow Again" rises above all things previous both musically and lyrically. Again, the context of a man cast into the fiery pit is taken, but with a Luke 16 rebuttal. Maybe an allusion to the parable of the rich man and Lazarus, Andrew's character begins to grasp the biblical principle that a man has nothing to gain in possessing the entire world and yet losing his soul. He then wishes for repentance, but now it is far too late. "And all along here I was told by fallen men in their charade that we could find a hope inside; the safety of this empty place" he regretfully cries desiring a second chance. Indeed, "Hollow Again" is an exceptionally bold look into the greatest fear known to man. "Truthless Heroes" may be considered a sell-out album to some, but as long as Andrew persists in writing such daring, spiritually thought-provoking, lyrics; I, for one, cannot criticize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If this is what "Big Labels" do then what's the big deal?, February 16, 2003
This review is from: Truthless Heroes (Audio CD)
Project 86's new album, "Truthless heroes," is one of the best albums that I have. Project 86 features a great vocalist who can sing and scream, good sounding guitars, bass, and drums, and a very well made album. This is definatley on the best albums that you can own.
Project 86 is one the of best metal bands out there. They can have good songs, good clean lyrics, and a lot of talent (something a lot of bands lack).
I would have to say the album could be devided into 4 sections, each seperated by the 'commericial' songs.
{Section Number 1}
[Little Green Men] - The first song on the album. It starts out havey and good. The song is very catchy and good. (10 of 10 stars)
[Caught in the Middle] - This song is one of the best on the album. It's a great song, even if it only has a few lines of lyrics. The the tune to this song is very catchy. (10 of 10)
[Know What it Means] - When you first hear the song, you'll notice the 'whiney' sounding vocals. The rest of the song isn't much better than the intro. Of all the songs on the album, this one is the worst. (6 of 10)
[Salem's Suburbs] - A more mellow and quiet song compared to other songs on the album so far. It is very catchy however. (10 of 10)
[...a word from our sponsers] - A 'commerical' song, that basically seperates the first section from the second section.
{Section 2}
[S.M.C.] - Not the easiest song to get into, but when you do get into it (after a couple of listens) you'll realise it's a very good song. It's heavy and fast. The bridge is a little distracting from the rest of the song though. (9 of 10)
[Team Black] - This song follows the basic pattern the Caught in the Middle does. It starts out with chours, then verse, chours, verse, etc. A very melodic song. (10 of 10)
[Your Heroes are Dead] - It's not as heavy as a lot of the songs on the album, but it's still pretty good. The song is very catchy. Unforutnatley it's not quite good enough for a ten. (9 of 10)
[...To brighten your day] - Yet another commerical. On to Section 3.
{Section 3}
[Another Bordem Movement] - Don't be folled by the title. This is song sounds like it could have been on the very first cd. It has a lot of good screaming and heavy guitars. Definatley on the best. The cool feedback and such is pretty cool, but it sort of distracts from the song. 2nd best on the album. (10 of 10)
[Bottom Feeder] - Ahh... the quiet song. A quiet, melodic song. It's catchy, but not a song I turn to whenever I pop in the disk. (8 of 10)
[Shelter Me Mercury] - A pretty good song, although it could have been better. The vocals are pretty good on this song. (9 of 10)
[...and to help you sleep] - A commerical, on to section 4.
{Section 4}
[Last Meal] - Has a 'punk' influence to it. The vocals are catchy on this song, but it just doesn't match up with some of the better songs on the album. (9 of 10)
[Soma] - Well, you could say that Project 86 saved the best two songs for last. Soma and Hollow Again. Soma is the third best song on the album. It's a quiet song, but it has a lot of project sound to it. Extremlty catchy and well written. (10 of 10)
[Holow Again] - The best song on the album. It starts out soft, but then gets hard and breaks into a very catchy song. The vocals are really catchy on this song. The guitars sound really good on this one too. (10 of 10)
[...With regards, T.H.] The final commerical. The ending.
Recommended: Yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very dark and mysterious alum from a likewise band, September 29, 2002
By 
This review is from: Truthless Heroes (Audio CD)
Project 86 has never really been your average band, although they have in the past seemed to wear their influences on their sleeves. Their debut was just another rapcore album (albeit a notch or two above the status quo). Drawing Black Lines had it's glimpses of what P86 could one day become...a unique band with a thought provoking outlook...Then they went and created the next step in their journey: Truthless Heroes. Yes, the grinding guitar, pummeling bass and drumming, and anguished screams are still here, but they are complemented on Truthless Heroes by much improved musicianship (the guitars, singing, and drumming are all much more diverse and loreworthy than on their first two albums), actual singing amidst the whailing (and done in such a way that it doesn't compromise the intensity at all, rather, the singing provides an eerie backdrop and vehicle for the), lyrics...much of this album is conspiracy theory driven (fans of the X-Files can appreciate much of the "question everything and dig until you find the truth" message). I am sure many Sunday Christians will hear this album and take offense and assume it to be an attack on Christianity, but what I hear is a loud wakeup call to organized religion: "you can't buy your way to heaven, and we won't buy hypocracy. be real, or save your effort and just deny Jesus with your lips the way you do your life."
Overall, this album is gritty, opinionated, and very obviously very deliberate. It's a little rough to stomach the first couple of listens, but when you surrender the tempation to judge a book by it's cover and delve into it, you'll hear one of the best records recorded in a very long time from a band that is very quickly becoming one of the best out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truthless Heroes: The Most Imporant Record Since 9/11, October 29, 2002
This review is from: Truthless Heroes (Audio CD)
Project 86 takes a huge leap both musically and lyrically. They chose this record to reflect what everyones' been thinking yet no one has had the guts to say. All the problems facing this nation still persist yet we choose to drain it all out with television and other distracting brain cell killing hobbies. As you may have already read, this is the story of a Man, whome by all means is living in the world of today. At birth he is faced by his peers and see's that already the race to the throne begins at such an early stage. "If tricycles came with guns, we'd all be safe." This is the journey of a man who has no answers, and seeks them in every place imaginable.
While many will question the integrity of the band to shift focus, compared to past lyrics, this album focuses on what's most important right now. It reads like a newspaper that refuses to spoon feed us morals, and tells the truth of what it's like to grow up under all these expectations. Such songs as "Another Boredom Movement" and "Team Black" speak about what we are fed and the more we get the more "it makes us ill." It's the musical revolution led by ex-band Rage against the Machine, and System of a Down. Uncompromising in his lyrics Andrew makes no apologies for the thoughts he makes us think or for how he see's the world is draining us of our free will. In Salem's Suburbs he sings out "Who I am, Who I'll be has been decided for me". Who hasn't felt pushed to become something they are not? I'm sure almost every HighSchool/College Student can relate to that at one point or another in their lives.
As this story progresses in this Milestone of a record, in the end he fails and is eaten alive by everyone and everything that has made him so rich and famous. He fades away and as the record finishes he contemplates all that has become him, and the lyrics say it best "Somehow I lost my way, and now it's clear to me, all that I fought so hard to keep is all I had to leave."
If the lyrics don't pound enough into your skull the incredible melodies, amazing guitar riffs, and other great technicalities of this record will show that this band is more than just amazing writing talent but are very powerful in how they play and the CD is loaded with energy. Despite the whining fans I think Project 86 is still has hard as ever, this aint no Nu-Metal band, and it's not ... pop hard rock. It's the CD of the YEAR, that will no doubt, get mind's thinking and people moving.
While the world will remain "Hollow, and Hallow again." Our minds, and souls, find a space to be complete. Spread the word about this record, and start the revolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great lyrics, merely adequate music, May 28, 2004
By 
This review is from: Truthless Heroes (Audio CD)
This is good stuff, not as agressive as Songs To Burn your Bridges, but more progressive. The musik is in reality nothing special, look into tool for some more brilliant stuff in this vein.
Alright, now to the lyrics, in my opinion these are some of best since "The Wall". Also the story is intresting, but hard to pin point anything beyond the character's despair with everything he finds. The only warmth found here is in bottom feeder, and even then, the love present is a hopeless love.
My theory on the story is as follows:
Section 1 (tracks 1-4)
This section seems to be about the character's teenage years. Its all here, desprate self-destructive ambition (little green men, which also serves as a beginning akin to that in Romeo and Juliet foreshadowing the end), also present is identity crisis (salem's suburbs and know what it means) and the failure to get sought approval or perceived neglect (Caught in the middle).
Section 2 (6-8)
This is about the unfufillment in different presuits, in my opinion it is not the main character singing in SMC, but it is his perception of the church's thought process. Team black seems like the realization of the hollow and addictive nature of either violence or lust or both. Finally, your heroes are dead is the realization that the pop culture climate as destroyed all purity in anything.
Section 3 (10-12)
Perhaps, like in the wall, the character is a rock star, perhaps a business exec, either way, the strain of trying to sell to the public is cheifly expressed in another boredom movement. Following that is the only thing that is shown to give the hero comfort with in the album, his wife/girl friend, basically someone who loves him. However the end is near and she is the only consolation he has because she will miss him. In the despair (have you counted how many times this word can be applied?) of his life, he turns to the entertainment world and probably drugs (hard to tell if it is metaphorical) to take away his problems.
Section 4 (14-16)
As what ever he found comfort in wears away or off, he turns his helplessness into focused vengence (last meal). After failing pop culture takes another shot at reshaping him (soma), but he isn't totally gone, and tries to warn others of what he has gone through (hollow again, which almost reads like a confessional).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Drawing Black Lines is still the best!, September 26, 2002
By 
Mochita (ATL , Baby! (Atlanta, Georgia , USA)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Truthless Heroes (Audio CD)
I would have to say that I am a tad bit disappointed with Truthless Hereoes that I RUSHED out and bought. It is clearly a heart-felt, angry CD with lots of mixed emotions. There are also a lot of double entendres hidden in the lyrics as well, which is not necesarily a bad thing. It just doesn't have a sound that I can get into, and since I'm not feeling the lyrics either, it, in my opinion, isn't a good CD. It also doesn't help that this album is several levels below the previous album, Drawing Black Lines, which I recommend. It will totally rock your face off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for those looking for intelligent rock music..., June 19, 2003
By 
"spike_89" (Boonville, IN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Truthless Heroes (Audio CD)
Luckily, with this album Project 86 have separated themselves from the rapcore and nu-metal genres and set their sights as a form of rock commonly referred to as "the thinking man's rock." I must admit, I'm not exactly a fan of `concept albums," but Project 86's "Truthless Heroes" is definitely one of them, and a great one at that. The album sticks to the concept of the world filled with people called truthless heroes: people that are seen as the heroes, but really bring false truths to the minds of citizens. Although the album is filled with rather pointless and annoying "commercials" (on any other album, they would be known as fillers), it's a very solid release from a very respectable band. And now, let us delve into the 13-chapter story (obviously not counting the "commericals") of a boy and his search to find the truth behind these TRUTHLESS HEROES.
1. Little Green Men [8/10] - This song introduces you to the character the album centers on. At first listen, it's a little strange, but this is probably one of the best songs on the album.
2. Caught In The Middle [8/10] - I like the use of the two sides of a person and how people like one side but hate the other and have a hard time understanding that we are individuals.
3. Know What It Means [7/10] - I haven't figured out exactly what this song means (I admire Andrew's complex songwriting), but it's very good.
4. Salem's Suburbs [9/10] - Another unhappy part of this story: his whole future has been laid in front of him, when the powers that be don't even know or care who he is.
5. ...A Word From Our Sponsors [2/10] - This particular filler helps you understand the term "truthless heroes" but it's very difficult to catch behind the music...
6. S.M.C. [6/10] - I personally see this as a song about the corruption of the church today. Although there may be a different meaning, the song talking about altars and steeples and sanctuaries being turned into factories makes me believe that is what the song is talking about. Again, that's only an opinion.
7. Team Black [7/10] - I particularly like the musicianship on this track, but the song seems to be about the character in the "story" being taken advantage of and how he has become dependent on the truthless heroes, so he continues to come back.
8. Your Heroes Are Dead [9/10] - This is another one of my personal favorites. My opinion is that the character realizes the (truthless) heroes never really existed and weren't heroes at all.
9. ...To Brighten Your Day [2/10] - See Track 5
10. Another Boredom Movement [7/10] - Another song about the T.H. taking advantage of the citizens and using them for their own purposes.
11. Bottom Feeder [6/10] - I really don't like this song, but it's very different from the others. I suppose that the character finds true love and she isn't like the others and that she is just like him; a person that realizes the lack of truth these heroes are bringing.
12. Shelter Me * Mercury [5/10] - I really don't like this song... I don't know exactly why, I just never did like it.
13. ...And Help You Sleep [2/10] - See Track 5
14. Last Meal [/10] - This is another rather disturbing song (perhaps about cannibalism???) and definitely not one of my favorites... and it doesn't help that Mark Saloman sounds sort of like a mix of Ozzy Osbourne and David Draiman...
15. Soma [8/10] - This begins the tragic ending to the story... Very strange, but beautfifully crafted at that...
16. Hollow Again [10/10] - The best song on the album in my opinion. This is the unhappy ending that Andrew talks about on the Enhanced CD portion of this album. A very tragic ending to a tragic story, but a wonderfully crafted ending at that.
17. ...With Regards, T.H. [0/10] - I didn't like the way the band linked "Hollow Again" with this track, and has little significance in my opinion.
This album is what some would say biased, but I personally prefer creatively opinionated, toward the corruption of the music industry (as well as other forms of media). The band will continue their fight against the corporate music industry by releasing an EP independently (without the help of Tooth and Nail or Atlantic Records) through their website later this summer. If you are in any way close-minded and aren't open to others opinions, leave this album on the shelf. If you're open to very creative material, you must pick up this album...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different from D.B.L. but whats the matter with that, November 3, 2002
This review is from: Truthless Heroes (Audio CD)
I was with this band since d.b.l and then bought their furst album, which is also an amazing expirience. But this one is getting critiscm for being different from their other two albums. It's supposed to be, You have to approach this abulm with a completely open mind or you will hate because of expectations. Just keep it open and you'll be in love. I'll count 'em now.
Little Green Men: Hard and awesome, best opener of all their albums. The lyrics make you sing along, and the beats just make you at the very least tap your foot. ( in my case my whole body is going along with it) 10/10
Caught In The Middle: It is good but lack of lyrics make you skip it from time to time. 8/10
Know What It Means: another track that I like but can't always stay with it the whole song, I just want to get to a better track. 8/10
Salem's Suburbs: Just amazing lyrics. I can't understand how this band can make you feel the way you do. You will love this song, if you approach it openly. 10/10
A Word From Our Sponsors: One of the "Commercials" in the Mans life.
S.M.C.: Really good, always listen to it, the lyrics are pretty sweet, always singing it. 9.5/10
Team Black:Really good, one of the first i heard from the album. 10/10
Your Heroes Are Dead: My second fave on the album, just listen to understand. 10/10
To Brighten Your Day: another commercial.
Another Boredom Movement: Lots of emotion in this one. 9.5/10
Bottom Feeder: The quiet one of the album is jast as good as star which is totally awesome. 10/10
Shelter Me: Another goodie that hits all it needs to hit and hits is hard. 9.5/10
And Help You Sleep: Commercial.
Last Meal: Lyrics will scare you, figure out their true meaning and you'll be blown away. 10/10
Some: Goodie but an opening act for the next track. 9/10
Hallow Again: Really awesome, just flows through you. Best on the album. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Boy Who Cried "Sell-Out", July 6, 2004
By 
"pxian_rocker" (Collinsville, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Truthless Heroes (Audio CD)
Okay, i'll get to my thoughts on the album in a bit, but first I need to address all these cries of Project 86 "selling out" and "going soft." Look, if you know what you like and you like hardcore, in your face rock, good for you. Personally, I like dabbling in a bit of every - well, most every - type of music. Regardless of your openess to more than one type of music, it is UNFAIR, and IGNORANT to expect every album from a band to sound the same. If you don't care for the new sound, ok, don't buy it, but just because you don't doesn't mean other fans won't. And it sure don't mean it sucks. I personally feel that more pathetic than changing one's sound is simply regurgitating what you started with...using the "don't fix what ain't broke" approach, if you will. So they've changed. That means they care about the music!
Ok, PERSONALLY, I think this is an amazing album. The harmonization, and more complex, mellow sound are more fitting with the mature concept and lyrics. I think that because the lyrics here are so important, it makes sense to have more singing than screaming, and mixing the two emphasises different phrases...it's music, there are crescendos and decrescendos, tempo changes...it's melodic, which might be strange for some, but if you are a metal fan looking to expand your tastes without taking a huge leap, this is a great addition to your collection.
Oh, and I think the sell-out of fellow Christian rockers P.O.D. that many people refer to was them expanding on their infulences...they were likely tired of being compared to Limp Bizkit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was my first P86 CD, and I still love it!, July 7, 2004
By 
J. Pence (Jacksonville, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Truthless Heroes (Audio CD)
Every time I listen to this album, it reminds meof Andrew Schwab's lyrical genius! Every time i take a look at the lyrics, I am puzzled, but after a deeper enquiry, I figure out the meanings, and I'm usually still a bit puzzled. This album shows that Project isn't afraid to slow things down a bit, as demonstrated by songs like SMC, and the little "commercials", as they call them.
My favorite thing about Truthless Heroes is that it's all revolving around a central theme, and it's fun trying to link all the songs together. You won't regret getting this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Truthless Heroes
Truthless Heroes by Project 86
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.