Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CORRECT TRACK LIST
Since Amazon can't seem to get it together & publish a complete track list, here's the one off AMG:

1 Catch the Wind [Single Version] 2:17
2 Josie 3:27
3 Co'dine [demo version] 4:47
4 Colours 2:45
5 Universal Soldier 2:12
6 Sunny Goodge Street 2:55
7 Hey Gyp (Dig the Slowness) 3:10
8 Sunshine Superman [Extended...
Published on October 2, 2005 by BOB

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where Is Celeste?
I can never understand how they can put togetehre a 3-CD box set and leave off an artist's best song. In this case they have managed to do just that - leaving off the incredible Celeste from Sunshine Superman. Instead they have included garbage like Codine - one of the worst songs Donovan ever recorded. What a wasted opportunity!
Published on May 13, 2012 by MJH


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CORRECT TRACK LIST, October 2, 2005
By 
BOB (LOS ANGELES, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Try for the Sun: The Journey of Donovan (Audio CD)
Since Amazon can't seem to get it together & publish a complete track list, here's the one off AMG:

1 Catch the Wind [Single Version] 2:17
2 Josie 3:27
3 Co'dine [demo version] 4:47
4 Colours 2:45
5 Universal Soldier 2:12
6 Sunny Goodge Street 2:55
7 Hey Gyp (Dig the Slowness) 3:10
8 Sunshine Superman [Extended Version] 4:33
9 The Trip [Single Version] 4:34
10 Legend of a Girl Child Linda 6:53
11 Three King Fishers 3:17
12 Season of the Witch 4:56
13 Guinevere 3:41
14 The Fat Angel 4:12
15 Mellow Yellow 3:43
16 Sand and Foam 3:17
17 Young Girl Blues 3:46
18 Museum 2:56
19 Hampstead Incident 4:42
20 Sunny South Kensington 3:49
21 Epistle to Dippy 3:10
22 Preachin' Love 2:39
23 There Is a Mountain 2:35
24 Wear Your Love Like Heaven 2:25
25 Oh Gosh 1:48
26 Isle of Islay 2:22
27 Epistle to Derroll [live] 5:43
28 To Try for the Sun [live] 3:20
29 Someone's Singing [live] 3:55
30 The Tinker and the Crab [live] 3:06
31 Jennifer Juniper 2:42
32 Poor Cow 2:57
33 Hurdy Gurdy Man 3:20
34 Get Thy Bearings 2:53
35 Lalena 2:56
36 Barabajagal (Love Is Hot) 3:24
37 Lord of the Reedy River [#] 3:04
38 Moon in Capricorn [#] 2:03
39 To Susan on the West Coast Waiting 3:13
40 Atlantis 5:08
41 Celia of the Seals 3:00
42 The Song of the Wandering Aengus
43 The Ferryman's Daughter [#] 1:49
44 She Moved Through the Fair [#] 2:52
45 The Traveling People [#] 1:50
46 Riki Tiki Tavi 2:55
47 Clara Clairvoyant 2:52
48 Young But Growing [live] 4:33
49 Keep on Truckin' [live] 2:53
50 Stealin' [live] 4:09
51 I Like You 5:17
52 Maria Magenta 2:12
53 A Working Man [live] 3:09
54 Tinker Tune [live] 2:50
55 Sailing Homeward 2:57
56 Your Broken Heart 3:33
57 Dark-Eyed Blue Jean Angel 3:52
58 Please Don't Bend 4:12
59 Love Floats 4:20
60 Happiness Runs [#] 3:43
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Donovan Captured Quite Rightly, September 15, 2005
This review is from: Try for the Sun: The Journey of Donovan (Audio CD)
The sound on these remastered tracks is terrific. Donovan's earliest recordings are a remnant of a time when innocent musings and magical wonder of the cosmos were a quiet force prevailing against a war machine and deaf leaders. This music can be a medicine that helps sooth human spirits in this violent, self-destructing civilization. With the crystal clarity of the remastered recordings, Donovan's music is new again. Although the documentary on dvd is a dated curio upon first viewing, Donovan's music and the performance footage make it worthwhile.

This description is from Sony Music:

Spanning his recording career from 1964 to 2004, TRY FOR THE SUN presents 60 tracks, 20 of which are in glorious original mono sound. Included are every one of Donovan's 17 U.S. chart singles (and 8 well-chosen B sides), plus more than a dozen signature album tracks, 12 previously unreleased studio recordings, 7 previously unreleased live concert numbers (from 1967 and 1971), 2 live concert numbers previously unissued in the U.S., and a track from his rare 1964 demo. The bonus DVD marks the long overdue premiere of the 1970 documentary, There Is An Ocean. Filmed during a voyage to Greece, the doc presents a revealing portrait of Donovan in the company of friends and family, with plenty of never-before-seen live performance footage included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony finally starts to get it together, December 29, 2005
This review is from: Try for the Sun: The Journey of Donovan (Audio CD)
While Sony-BMG has long been probably the best of the majors (you've got to give props to a major label with an actual customer service division that will replace your defective copies of their CDs at no charge), I feel they have done a very scattershot job on many of their classic artists where remasters are concerned. (Still not quite as horrible as the short shrift EMI has given the Beatles' CD catalogue, which sorely deserve some audiophile remasters--SACD, anyone? Preferably hybrid? Even DualDisc, which I am lukewarm about, would do.) Donovan has probably suffered the most of any artist--the expanded remaster of his Greatest Hits album that Sony released in 1999 showed real promise, but beyond that and the Troubadour set, they dropped the ball. And those two comps only came out as well as they did because Donovan himself was directly involved. They haven't bothered with any of his original albums for Epic, save early CD releases of Sunshine Superman, Hurdy Gurdy Man and Barabajagal. EMI, Donovan's UK label when he left Pye (Hickory in the US), has definitely picked up the slack with their recent remasters, however, and Sony ought to take a page from their book and license those CDs for U.S. release on the Legacy imprimatur--snap to it, Sony!

Fortunately, they *have* presented us with this lovely box set, which redeems them considerably. This, as some reviewers have noted, is certainly not for the casual Donovan fan (they'd do better just buying the Greatest Hits CD) but for the truly dedicated who have great regard for this gentle Celtic bard. And they've presented us with a wealth of gems--this was the first time I'd heard the single mix of "Catch the Wind" (nice, though I feel the version with just Donovan on guitar, voice and harmonica and Brian Locking on bass is superior--for simplicity's sake if nothing else), and there are more of the Pye/Hickory tracks here than on prior Sony comps (although Summer Day Reflection Songs, released in 2000, covers those first 2 albums most completely). I loved the live tracks recorded for (but not included on) the In Concert album--absolutely magickal versions of "Epistle to Derroll" and "To Try for the Sun" that make me wish I'd been able to see Donovan live on his most recent tour of the States--and the unissued Moon in Capricorn tracks like "She Moved Through the Fair" (one of the best versions of that traditional Irish ballad I've yet heard), "Lord of the Reedy River" and Ewan MacColl's "The Traveling People," which Donovan performs just beautifully, and the B-side "The Song of the Wandering Aengus" (even more captivating than Judy Collins' 1962 recording of that song). And this, too, is a career-spanner for Donovan, covering the albums he released in America--there are a number of mid '80s releases for British RCA that remain out of print and which didn't really cover any new material, and his sole Arista album, 1977's Donovan, is not covered here--with a track each from Sutras ("Please Don't Bend") and Beat Cafe ("Love Floats," a sexy, atmospheric song that slightly recalls "Barabajagal").

The real bonus, however, is the DVD containing the documentary "There is an Ocean." While I could have done without watching Donovan's stepson, Julian Jones, having an innocuous little boy's pee on the side of a hill, the rest is certainly worth watching, seeing Donovan, Candy John Carr and Mike Thomson set up and play open-air acoustic sets for native Greek and international hippie audiences, playing songs from the Open Road album and other projects that would surface later on. There are tracks that I wish they had included on the box--I particularly miss "Breezes of Patchulie," "The Quest," "Yellow Star," "What the Soul Desires" and a couple others included on Troubadour--but if one really needs these tracks, Troubadour is indeed still in print, and there are EMI's expanded remasters. For now, we have this set, which is certainly fine. Kudos to Sony for finally getting it together, and kudos to Donovan for all the wonderful music he's given us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THERE IS AN OCEAN,, November 8, 2005
This review is from: Try for the Sun: The Journey of Donovan (Audio CD)
Sony did their homework this time with this Donovan boxed set.

Getting fans involved is the best thing they could have done. This boxed set has all you need for the hardcore fan. A little of everything from almost every studio album. Like most Donovan fans, I feel there were a ton of classics left out, Ex)Celeste, Summer Day Reflection Song, Turquoise, There is an Ocean, Ballad of Geraldine, Can Ye Dance, The Divine Daze of Deathless Delight, House of Jansch, Marjorie Margerine, Maya's Dance, Peregrine, People Used To, The Sun Is a Very Magic Fellow, Universe Am I, The Voyage of the Moon, Voyage into the Golden Screen, A Well Known Has Been, Ride-A-Mile, The Quest, Heights of Alma, Curry Land, Sleep (from Cosmic Wheels), Appearances etc.... I could go on and on but all fans would have their own setlist preference. The liner notes are almost correct and the photos are amazing, very rare from Donovan's personal archive. Displays Don's hand written setlist from the Isle of Wight show from 1970 with Open Road. Priceless material never scene before. We Also get a glimpse of the alternate HMS Donovan album that was pretitled A Jewel Day. Mind-blowing for the involved fan. The Box is also great for people just discovering the Celtic Bard. Has all the greatest hits and most B-sides, album tracks that will get you hooked. We are teased with a few tracks from what would have been a 1969 album called Moon in Capricorn. The tracks include Moon in Capricorn, She Moved Through the Faire and Ewan MacColl,s The Traveling People. Wish they would have added traditional Willy O' Winsbury to the set which was recorded for this. (Hint) Maybe on an HMS Donovan re-release with bonus tracks. Nice to see a studio version of The Ferryman's Daughter see the light of day. The Set is worth it for the Velvet box, cd's and booklet alone. The bonus is the real selling point of the box. Donovan finally releases the rare documentary There is an Ocean. It was filmed in Greece with his Open Road Band, Candy John Carr and the late Mike Thomson who passed away from cancer a few years back. The film is what all Donovan fans have been waiting for, footage of Open Road playing live and messing around writing songs on Donovan's Yacht. Some of the songs played live include the brilliant Electric Moon, this is one of Don's most beautiful songs ever, needs to be released on cd. Barabajagal came to Blythe Faire, the story of the herbalist. The first appearance of The Garden later released on the 1996 studio album Sutras. Great version of Riki Tiki Tavi. The Very Thing would have fit nicely on the follow up to Open Road Lp and ends with the beautiful There is an Ocean. Sailing Homeward is played a few times during the film, most fans will know this track from being on Essence to Essence. The Pee Song is annoying as always, we get to see son Julian Jones draining the vain. Sadly the film was edited by like 18 minutes. Not sure why Sony decided to do this but we miss out on Two Days Late, Big Moon Rise, Twist and Shout and a couple others. The DVD is a must see, Nigel Lesmoir Gordon is the director and did a fabulous job. This is a very special release for Donovan celebrating his Brilliant 40 year career. Cheers to Sony for an excellent job. You must buy this Boxed set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyman's Musician, January 11, 2006
By 
catfan (dhahran, saudi arabia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Try for the Sun: The Journey of Donovan (Audio CD)
As a Donovan fan since those sunny summer days of the mid sixties when I first heard "Catch the Wind" and "Colours", I eagerly awaited the release of this Donovan jewel box. I agree with many of the other reviewers that these remastered versions of his many classic songs alone make the purchase of this set worthwhile. There is not one weak track here, but for me the most amazing songs are the previously unreleased live cuts. I dare any music lover or aficionado of "fine art" to listen to Donovan's live version of his 1967/68 "Someone's Singing" (originally recorded when he was still 21 or so and just returned from India)and not wax lyrical about this gem. For me, this one track encapsulates Donovan's enduring magic. "To Try for the Sun", another live cut, is yet one more reason to buy this jewel box today. Music as good and timeless as this was always rare; what "artists" of today can even fathom the complexties and simple genius of Donovan's life's work?

As a teenager I attended two sold-out concerts in Vancouver, Canada in the fall of 1968 and 1969. I saw him again at the Roundhouse in London in April 1972. Now, all these years later, his music and poetry are still a soothing balm. It is so true that even in the sixties his voice was said to relieve the anxiety of those strung out on drugs. I remember fondly those three concerts and the admiration we showed Donovan on stage: "our man", truly "everyman's musician". Donovan, with acoustic guitar and harmonium, sat on a Persian carpet (strewn with flowers mostly throw by devotees) and delivered the most exquisite, captivating performances. The capacity crowd showed him the respect he deserved by hardly breathing a word throughout the entire performance. Donovan knew his value, worth and purpose as the bard of a generation. He never failed in transporting us - sans artificial incentives - to planes we couldn't otherwise reach.

Now, if you still are unconvinced of Donovan's genius for the most memorable song writing and musicianship, view the 40 minute bonus DVD that's included with this set. Here, Donovan and "Open Road" friends and family take a sail through the Greek Isles. I have watched this DVD many times now and never fail to be utterly amazed at how Donovan creates his magic. This film is very special; repeated watchings will only make you appreciate Donovan even more. There are some really incredible live outdoor acoustic perfomances that are as good as you could ever wish for. Donovan reads the famous Cavafy poem "Ithika" in which he wishes all travellers a long and eventful journey before reaching "home". This is precisely what Donovan has given us and for which we are eternally grateful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, December 21, 2005
This review is from: Try for the Sun: The Journey of Donovan (Audio CD)
This box set is perfect for 1) hardcore Donovan fans, 2) the moderate Donovan fan, 3) fan of incredible music. There are enough new and rare tracks to make it worthwhile for a hardcore fan to buy. And these new songs, especially the live cuts, are well worth hearing. I've also noticed that some of Donovan's albums are no longer available on cd, so at least you can get a few songs from those rare albums on this collection. Before I bought this box set, my favorite artists included Red Hot Chili Peppers, John Frusciante, and Alice Cooper and after the purchase I include Donovan in the "Big 4"

Another thing worth considering when purchasing is that Donovan's Greatest Hits is about $15, so for $25 more you get 45 more songs and a DVD. It's quite a deal when you consider that. You're only paying like $.67 a song when you do the math.

One thing that I would have liked to have seen in this colleciton though is "Billion Dollar Babies" by Alice Cooper where Donovan sings the chorus with Alice. That song is awesome, but even without that song, the box set still holds up well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best So Far, May 29, 2006
By 
Clyde Bouley "CWB" (Berwick, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Try for the Sun: The Journey of Donovan (Audio CD)
Amazon.com did me a real favor with the better together offer. I had bought the Donovan Box Set "Try For the Sun" and the Autobiography "The Hurdy Gurdy Man". The combination was fantastic and worth every penny. But let's talk about the box set. I believe they did a fantastic job. The sound remaster quality is fantastic. It covers a huge time frame. I'm very satisfied with it. The only problem song wise is 1) it would have been nice to present all the `B' sides. 2) There is one charting single that did not make the set, though it did not break the top 100 it still is a charter, the song `Summer Day Reflection Song'. The book that came with it was not bad but I would recommend getting the autobiography for the real info. Hint for Sony and Donovan you'd be better of if you did a special edition that would include the book. So my recommendation buy the Box Set and The book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MASTER RE-MASTERED, April 16, 2006
By 
Hank Napkin (Makawao, Hawaii United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Try for the Sun: The Journey of Donovan (Audio CD)
Popular forms cast that curious net comprised of the music itself and -- often more important to most listeners -- the way that music sounds. Donovan has always covered both bases exceedingly well: interesting and memorable melodies, distinctive sound. His voice, in both his lyrics and singing, is as capable of defining an era as few others are -- gratefully he's still here, still sharing his work with the world.

In terms of the past, though, this is an exceedingly well assembled collection. There are plenty of alternate takes and live versions of familiar parts of the catalog, but the re-mastering is a wonder to hear. That very particular character of early-ish analog recording, seemingly eccentric decisions about the stereo mix, early amplification and electric instrument design which many now strive to recreate in the digital domain is on display in remarkable detail and feel on every track. The presence, especially voice, is often startling in detail and power.

And in addition to demonstrating Donovan's talent, this collection does us the important service of demonstrating that not every example of popular musical forms are intrinsically transient and, as is so important to maintaining sales today, ultimately and rapidly disposable. Certainly much of the music here, and many of the ideas within and behind it, deserve and seem to be achieving sustained interest and longevity.

This is a great set, a perfect complement for his recent book, "The Hurdy Gurdy Man" and the equally recent and excellent EMI remasters of his early lps. You'll even get a sampling from "Sutras" which, it's hard to believe, somehow finds itself out of print...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Donovan - Singer/Songwriter and Musical Innovator., July 22, 2008
This review is from: Try for the Sun: The Journey of Donovan (Audio CD)
I have always been a fan of the Scottish Singer/Songwriter Donovan, so I knew this boxset, "Try for the Sun" would bring something new to my music collection. When my order arrived, I waited until the weekend to give it a listen. Early on a Saturday morning I awoke with a craving to delve back into the past, where music, artistic and spiritual awakening all converged. Say what you want about the 1960's and early 1970's, but one can not deny that during this time the creative juices were flowing in every area, most notably in the music scene.
I lite some incense and drew back the curtains to let the morning sun in. Begining with disc one, I realized immediately that the music sounded clean and fresh, thanks to the marvelous job of the studio engineers in their task of remastering these lovely songs. The old favorites came alive with a fresh appeal, starting with his early songs such as "Catch the Wind". As there are a number of unleased songs in this boxset, I enjoyed them as if it was this was a new release from the artist.
As Donovan takes you on his musical journey from his early songs to more recent, you feel as though you are peeling through the layer of time. You also begin to realize that Donovan was truely a gifted songwriter and musical arranger. He was ahead of his time, a true innovator. He showcases his talent through a variety of styles, growing and experimenting along the way. I particularly enjoyed the songs with a celtic sound to them, for I had not heard this side of his music, drawn from his Scottish roots. Aye boyo!
The DVD on disc four was great fun to watch and illustrates Donovan's mindset at the time. I enjoyed his grecian sailing adventure, producing a longing to return to Greece myself later this year. Opa!
This boxset is a real gem for any Donovan fan or for anyone that allows themself to take a childlike, wonderous journey through his music and story telling.
Best Wishes Sir Donovan, and to all who played a part in making this boxset.

In Friendship,
Kevin James Devine
Miami, Florida
July 22, 2008
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Try for the Sun: The Journey of Donovan, September 29, 2005
By 
Peter Neski (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Try for the Sun: The Journey of Donovan (Audio CD)
Its about time Sony did this

This set is a bit over priced,I wouldn't mine paying more ,if it was

as Special as that new Band Box set,which adds two cds,and comes

in a much nicer Book/box This thing is pretty shabby for the price.

I am no fan of these stupid long box's,this one has cheap cardboard

sleeves which don't have any inner sleeves,the book is not as bad

as some I seen(That Bird Box comes to mind)and it is a bit smaller

than those crazy ones with jewel cases,that don't fit anywhere.

Its a fine collection of music,Adding too the earlier

two cd set some fine live cuts,and more tracks off albums

and singles.Missing are a few of my favorite tracks,which might just be my taste,

I would have added

"Celeste ","Sun ","The Mandolin Man And His Secret "

"Entertaining of a Shy Girl" ,"Sun Is a Very Magic Fellow" and "Teen angel"

But Like "Troubadour: The Definitive Collection" and The remastered"Greatest Hits" Cd

missing are the remakes of "Catch the Wind"

and "Colours",While some might make a point for the Original

"Catch the Wind",The Remake of Colours is clearly a better

Record.

The DVD is pretty nice,and the film is in good shape,But a

collection of TV Clips would easily fit with it.

The Sound is great,There's a bunch of Single mixes which

seem to be on a lot of box sets now a days,even if the

lp versions are better,They are good for people who have all the

cds anyway

If you are looking for a set for just the collector,this isn't it.

They lelf most of the rare stuff for those english cds with

bonus tracks.

Overall it was worth it ,even if the box isn't anything special
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Try for the Sun: The Journey of Donovan
Try for the Sun: The Journey of Donovan by Donovan (Audio CD - 2005)
Click for more info
In stock. Usually ships within 3 to 4 days.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.