Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
27
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 28, 2006
While I found the last volume to be rather bland, I can now see that it was purely setup for this kickarse volume that has got to be one of the best in the series yet! This arc completely breaks the cycle of the gang going to another world, find a feather and move on and brings up several questions, answers and clues about the series mysteries that I didn't know even existed. For example we find out that Mokona can actually teleport everyone to the next world no matter where they are in the current world. I honestly never thought of that possibility before so it came as a very nice suprise when it came out of nowhere. We're also given a lot more focus on the two Syaorans, as well as Fei Wang Reed and his connection to Yuko and Clow Reed.

Speaking of Yuko, fans of xxxHolic will really find reading this volume worth while as we get to see an above average dose of Yuko this time around and find out a little bit more about how she is and how she can help Sakura and Syaoran. It also becomes apparent that she's aware of what Syaoran really is. We know that there's another Syaoran with a connection to him but it looks like there's a lot more to it than that.

Kurogane and Faye are used rather well and mysteriously here with both characters being thrown into a situation that none of them have been before which leads to a showdown between Kurogane and Syaoran which is amazing to see and I can't wait to see it animated in the anime.

I also got the feeling in this volume that at least one character will die before the end of the series, possibly even all off the characters (which would make for a rather dramatic ending in my opinion).

This volume doesn't disapoint on any level and finishes with a cliffhanger that actually makes you want to read the next volume asap! The story is moving very quickly now and it just keeps getting better and better!

5 stars all the way! Grab it now!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2005
Clamp's cross-over chaos manga takes off in this fourth installment, and reaches new heights of excellence.

After bogging down in the Hanshin Republic and an alternate Korea, our heroes reach a world strangely reminiscent of late 18th-century Europe. They find a village where a dead princess is said to be stealing children, and things get a lot more interesting.

The fourth volume of Tsubasa really seems to "click": the story, art (especially the panel and page layouts), and dialogue all seemed to come together suddenly, and I tore through this volume at a teriffic rate, only to spend hours paging through it again and marvelling at the individual panels; they're gorgeous. Moreover, the characters are finally starting to come into their own, and the interactions between our five heroes are often hilarious and sometimes poignant. It's a big plus that Sakura has regained enough memories so that she's no longer a space case; in this volume she officially "joins the group" by formally introducing herself etc (the effect is almost irreproducible in English, but the translation notes make a gallant effort). On a side note, I was a little reminded of the recent "Brothers Grimm" movie, but that's not Clamp's fault, but rather a tribute to their ability to create an atmosphere.

In sum, fans of Clamp, Cardcaptor Sakura, and manga in general should not hesitate to get out their wallets for this one. The story is picking up speed, and it retains its interest by being both episodic (world after world), and a saga as well (who are those mysterious villians who pop up every now and again?). Clamp fans will find hours of entertainment by playing "spot the cameo" or "what Clamp series is this character orignally from?" I don't have enough words to praise Del Rey's efforts at translation; not only do they retain the honorifics, without which it's virtually impossible to understand the relationships between the characters, but their translation notes are well-informed and very useful. Manga doesn't get better than this.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2015
I ordered several books for my son and all were from different places. They were used. Anyway, I like the book just fine and he does too as in the story line and the series of books, but the book place that I got it from used said USED VERY GOOD and so did the others I bought . When this one came it has black magic marker written on the page edges ( all sides of it on the outside where the pages are if you know what I mean-- like if it had gold leaf pages the edges of the pages would be gold colored-- well this has a name on every side--- top, side, bottom) I think that would be used acceptable or at least say it is marked on . It was a cheap price and honestly I paid more for shipping than for the book but anyway, all the others in the set looked nice- all from different sellers who labeled their things USED VERY GOOD , and they LOOKED new whether they were or not and this one book was not in the best shape.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2010
Although it reveals the origins of Syaoran's involvement with Fei Wang Reed, this volume continues the story's blatantly obvious rest stop before the guys face Fei Wang Reed and attempt to rescue Sakura - although even they have not quite addressed the issue of exactly which Sakura they should aim for.

Partly because three heads are better than one but mostly because Syaoran feels lousy about having learned about Kurogane and Fai's histories without their permission (although in both cases he had done nothing wrong), Syaoran offers up his own disclosure and the story of how Fei Wang Reed entered his life - although he still tantalizingly says nothing regarding his connection to Yuko's assistant Kimihiro Watanuki, which is once again hinted at in this volume.

This volume also continues one of the series' subthemes - what it means to be a parent. First and foremost, there's Kurogane and Fai themselves, who we've come to love in no small part because they've overcome their respective violent and self-destructive tendencies to become who the kids have needed them to be and find the best in themselves that was there all along. In spite of Kurogane's difficult decision in Acid Tokyo to allow Sakura to take on the part of the price to save Fai that he couldn't cover in light of the absence of another adult in the group and Fai's major screw-up in not alerting at least Kurogane that something along the lines of exactly what happened in Infinity was a possibility, that the men are as devoted to the kids as any biological parents is indisputable to anyone with a heart. We also have opposite sides of the spectrum in Kurogane's excellent parents who were tragically ripped from him and Fai's sorry excuse for a father whose monstrous superstition played no small part in the ruin of his sons. We now get a closer look at Syaoran and Sakura's parents - and another question to be answered as we find out that Fei Wang had entered their lives far earlier than we had previously known, with Syaoran, like Fai before him, put into a situation that no child his age should have to face.

As with other recent volumes not horrible and with a few good emotional moments, but CLAMP really needs to start wrapping up the exposition before goodwill begins to peter out and the readership starts to lose patience.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 18, 2010
In this volume, we get more backstory from Syaoran. This is not necessarily a bad thing. I'm not much for action sequences, and backstory can be very interesting. In fact, because I have the bad habit of spoiling things for myself via the internet, I know that some of "Tsubasa"'s most memorable story elements are in the backstory. However, you'll have to wait until vol. 26 to get to them.

In this volume, Syaoran tells how he first came to Clow country and met Sakura. He arrives there after his mother has a prophetic dream about someone waiting for him in another world. When they first meet, Sakura is undergoing rights to become a priestess and is not allowed to be touched. Despite this, the two children hit it off. Sakura's mother, though, has been having strange dreams about her daughter's seventh birthday, which is also the final day of her priesthood rights. Syaoran swears that he will protect Sakura at any cost, but what awaits these two when the day arrives?

While a couple of mysteries are unveiled here, they're not especially compelling. And most of the attention is focused on the young Syaoran and Sakura's budding romance. Their relationship is a lot like cotton candy: sugary sweet, but not much substance. But you already know that if you've read the series up to this point.

Overall, this volume is filler. It gives us a lot of fluff instead of really moving the story along. It's not completely terrible; there is some plot, and the art's still really nice. It's one of the weakest volumes in the series, but you kind of have to read it if you want to complete the series. Oh, well, just be glad it isn't Piffle World.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2005
I always hoped that the Clamp writers would put out the continuing story of Syaoran and Sakura, and here it is, in a way.

The manga is fun, intreging and romantic in an innocent way. Syaoran and the others are still looking for feathers of Sakura's memory, and she begins to notice that someone is missing from them, but she still feels close to Syaoran. It's a sad young romance, which makes you hope for a real happy ending.

ButI will say this, the ending is a cliff-hanger (meaning: to be continued) which drives me nuts! But you'll have to read to find out the rest.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2014
I read the hole manga online, but I'm the type of person that if I like something, I buy it to support it.

Vol. 25 os Tsubasa is one of my favorites, because you can see the connections between Cardcaptor Sakura (another manga/anime that I really like) and because it breaks my heart to read all the things that happened to Shaoran. I'm in love with the series so I would recomend this to any Tsubasa fan.

If you read it online, BUY IT. Having it in your hands is an amazing feeling ♥
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2006
I throughly enjoyed the latest installment of Negima adventures in an Japanese private school for girls. The scrapes and misunderstandings abound to my through enjoyment. Can't wait till the next one comes out!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In volume nine of the Tsubasa manga, Syaoran, Sakura, and Mokona are still separated from Kurogane and Fai in the country of Shara, when suddenly they are transported to another world, the country of Shura, which seems to have some connection to Shara. Once again they are separated from Kurogane and Fai, who seem to have aligned with a different side in the war taking place in Shura. This volume reveals more of what's going on behind the scene and about the mysterious people watching the traveling companions from afar. This volume also has lots of sweet, funny, and exciting moments, and more of Sakura's growing feelings for Syaoran. Tsubasa fans won't want to miss this one.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2007
What more needs to be said for this series? Clamp is an excellent group of four female manga artists. The books are each a work of art in their own right.The story is compelling.You can't help but root for the four travelers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse