Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Splendid Early Effort By Van The Man!
This is a classic and very popular effort by a young Van Morrison at the apex of his earlier phase in the late sixties and early seventies. There are a number of timeless songs here, including the title cut of "Tupelo Honey", the original version of "Wild Night", later covered quite well by John Cougar Mellencamp, and also "Like A Cannonball". My own personal...
Published on August 20, 2000 by Barron Laycock

versus
33 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars THE EMPEROR'S NEW, AND ONLY PARTIALLY-REMASTERED, CLOTHING
Polygram ceased production of its portion of Van-The-Man's catalog, resulting in 29 titles, two-thirds of his entire recorded output, remaining frustratingly unavailable for the past several years. Even more regrettably, sixteen of those OOP titles had been fabulously remastered and re-released in 1998. Accordingly, prices for these had soared, especially for the...
Published on March 29, 2008 by BOB


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Splendid Early Effort By Van The Man!, August 20, 2000
By 
Barron Laycock "Labradorman" (Temple, New Hampshire United States) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tupelo Honey (Audio CD)
This is a classic and very popular effort by a young Van Morrison at the apex of his earlier phase in the late sixties and early seventies. There are a number of timeless songs here, including the title cut of "Tupelo Honey", the original version of "Wild Night", later covered quite well by John Cougar Mellencamp, and also "Like A Cannonball". My own personal favorites include both "I Want To Roo You", a lovely traditional Irish love song, and "Old Woodstock", referring to his time spent living in the small and now very touristy Woodstock, Vermont, while he lived here in the states for a number of years. It is an elegiac, evocative, and haunting recollection of life lived on the outskirts of conventional life, a man flirting with a countercultural lifestyle, and lovingly extolling the virtues of a simple life well lived. For all his fabled success and uncounted millions, Morrison has never forgotten his humble origins or the ordinary life most people live. This is a terrific album, and one that is most representative of his early work and unforgettable voice and musicianship. Enjoy this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Tupelo Honey" Gets A Superb Remaster - And It's As Cheap As Chips To!!, February 1, 2008
This review is from: Tupelo Honey (Audio CD)
This is the 3rd or even 4th re-issue on CD of "Tupelo Honey" (released originally on Warner Brothers in November 1971) and it's probably the best version to date.

Tracks 1 to 9 make up the original album with Track 10 and 11 being previously unreleased - an Alternate Take of "Wild Night" and a cover version of an old Traditional, "Down By The Riverside". I must say that both bonus tracks are excellent and not at all throwaway crap designed to sucker in punters (as some had feared). The upgraded booklet contains all the lyrics, but disappointingly no history of where the album fits in. The photo of Van, Lady and Horse originally featured on the LP inner gatefold is faithfully reproduced as the booklet centrepiece - a nice touch. There's band and production credits - and even lyrics for the two bonus tracks.

But the best bit is the SOUND. The original analogue master tapes have been 96K/24 Bit digitally remastered by Tim Young at Metropolis Mastering in London for this 28 January 2008 release - and the sound is just beautiful - and that's for almost every track. I say this because, I've had the 1998 remasters for a while and always thought they were `too' loud and `hissy' for comfort. Don't get me wrong, there is unfortunately still audible hiss on the gorgeous "Tupelo Honey" and "You're My Woman" (two on the best on here) but not `too' much to detract. Those without hiss are just unbelievably good. The punch out of them! From the album opener "Wild Night" to "When That Evening Sun Goes Down" - the band might as well be in your living room - it's that vibrant and alive! The session men put in a blinder too - fantastic brass work by Jack Schroer and Luis Gasca on "Wild Night" with equally superb piano touches from Mark Jordan on "When That Evening Sun Goes Down". Ronnie Montrose, who later formed "Montrose" and created one of the hardest and best rocking debuts ever in "Montrose" (1973 on Warner Brothers, also produced by Ted Templeman) plays guitar, mandolin and even throws in some backing vocals too. Not everything on here is genius of course, but there's just something about his Warner Brothers albums (all of them) that's magical. And it's mid-price too - I picked up my copy for £6 in Central London.

All in all, a great sounding re-issue and one I urge fans and the uninitiated to get stuck into pronto.

PS: 30 Van Morrison albums are re-issued in remastered form throughout 2008 and into early 2009. Each title contains an upgraded booklet; previously unreleased bonus tracks and all will be at mid-price. The releases are in 4 batches as follows:

28 January 2008 (7 titles)
Tupelo Honey (1971), It's Too Late To Stop Now (2 CD Live Set) (1974),
Wavelenght (1979), Into The Music (1979), A Sense Of Wonder (1985),
Avalon Sunset (1989) and Back On Top (1999)
(see SEPARATE REVIEWS for all 7)

30 June 2008 UK/1 & 8 July 2008 USA (8 titles)
Veedon Fleece (1974), Common One (1980), Inarticulate Speech Of The Heart (1983), Live At The Grand Opera House, Belfast (1984), No Guru, No Method, No Teacher (1986), Enlightenment (1990), A Night In San Francisco (2CD Live Set) (1994), "Common One" and The Healing Game (1997)
(see also SEPARATE REVIEWS for "Veedon Fleece", "Inarticulate Speech Of The Heart", "Enlightenment", the live 2CD set "A Night In San Francisco" and "No Guru, No Method, No Teacher")

November 2008 (7 titles)
Saint Dominic's Preview (1972), A Period Of Transition (1977), Beautiful Vision (1982), Poetic Champions Compose (1987), Hymns To The Silence (2CD Studio Set) (1991), How Long Has This Been Going On (Live At Ronnie Scott's) (1995) and Tell Me Something - The Songs Of Mose Allison (1996)

January 2009 (8 titles)
Hard Nose The Highway (1973), Irish Heartbeat (with The Chieftains) (1988),
Too Long In Exile (1993), Days Like This (1995), The Story Of Them (2CD Set) (1999), The Skiffle Sessions - Live In Belfast (with Lonnie Donegan & Chris Barber) (2000), Down The Road (2002) and What's Wrong With This Picture? (2003)

PPS: Those hoping to see desperately needed sonic upgrades of his 1st and 2nd album masterpieces on Warner Bothers "Astral Weeks" (1968) and "Moondance" (1970) or even "His Band & The Street Choir" (late 1970) will be disappointed to hear that they're NOT in this re-issue campaign - on either side of the pond. "Astral Weeks" and "Moondance" in particular have both been languishing around on crappy-sounding non-remastered CDs for over 20 years now and they're glaringly obvious omissions in this supposedly 'extensive' re-issue campaign. These universally recognized masterpieces have long deserved 2CD DELUXE EDITION treatment (some tracks in remastered form are available across the 3 volumes of "Best Of"). However, I've recently been informed by a good source that all 3 are NOW AVAILABLE since June 2008 in JAPAN in RHINO REMASTERED form. See the excellent Japanese site CDJAPAN.CO.JP for details (worded in English).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Van Morrison goes country, May 3, 2000
This review is from: Tupelo Honey (Audio CD)
Many people are familiar with "Wild Night" the hit single from "Tupelo Honey" that was inexplicably covered by John Mellencamp a few years ago. Be forewarned, from there Morrison spends much of the rest of the album evoking the sounds of rural America, climaxing with "Moonshine Whiskey," which extolls the virtues of "southern love...deep in the heart of Texas." There are some great songs here, none sweeter that the title track, which has recently been used in several films. Overall, a solid effort from a master artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Remastered, Expanded Version Of Another Great Van Morrison CD, January 29, 2008
This review is from: Tupelo Honey (Audio CD)
The expanded, remastered edition of Van Morrison's TUPELO HONEY is an exceptional version of what was already a great album. Morrison continues his spiritual quest after a jaunty beginning with the carefree R&B rocker "Wild Night", with several songs taking on an almost gospel-y quality; however, even these are so general in their spirituality that even a young Jewish guy like me can identify with them. The most masterful song on here is the title cut, a mystical love song featuring Modern Jazz Quartet percussionist Connie Kay, who'd played on ASTRAL WEEKS, on drums. In this age of punk rock and emocore, it's great to have a true classic back in print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tupelo Shows Van's Extraordinary Range and Styles, May 1, 2000
This review is from: Tupelo Honey (Audio CD)
Purchased on a friend's recommendation, I was somewhat skeptical on how this album can be different from other Van Morrison albums, but I have to say I am pleasantly surprised. Not only am I shocked that the song Tupelo Honey has not found its way onto any "greatest hits" compilation albums, it perhaps ranks up there with "Into the Mystic" in terms of a classic soul and song. This album has a country flavor to it, but not overbearing. Songs such as When That Evening Sun Goes Down and I Wanna Roo You have the country bent to it. You're My Woman is a great love song that ranks up there with Crazy Love off of "Moondance."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting, Joyful, and Romantic, December 21, 2005
This review is from: Tupelo Honey (Audio CD)
I bought Tupelo Honey on vinyl back when it was first issued and got years of enjoyment listening to it. Then as time passed, other music became more immediate, and Tupelo Honey languished in my record cabinet. But then in the last couple of years, Van Morrison or his record company decided to remaster and reissue some of his back catalogue, so I jumped at the chance to get this on CD at a very good price.

Tupelo Honey should appeal to anyone who likes Van Morrison on any level. Not only are the songs more "accessible" than much of his later work, the fact that he was still in love at the time this was issued shines through in the music. The tone from start to finish is uplifting, joyful, and romantic.

Those who listened to Top 40 in the early 70s will immediately recognize Wild Night. While good, it is far from the best song on the album. I like the entire recording, but my favorites are the jaunty (Straight to Your Heart) Like A Cannon Ball, Starting A New Life, the loving You're My Woman, and the anticipatory romance of When That Evening Sun Goes Down.

Of all Van Morrison's albums, Tupelo Honey is about as close to Southern music as he gets. It finds Van at the peak of the second period of his solo career. If you like a little romance and a lot of soul, then you should own this if you don't already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double van cocktail with a twang chaser, November 30, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Tupelo Honey (Audio CD)
Brilliant, breathtaking and continuously amazing masterpiece of an album. Never wears on you. Required Van purchase since the title song isn't on "best of" compilations and it is probably his finest song. It's "twang" also makes it a great album for folk, roots-rock, and country fans to get acquainted with Van. If you like Neil, Dylan, Prine, Lucinda, Tom Petty, and/or Mellencamp, you'll love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Summer Album, October 14, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Tupelo Honey (Audio CD)
Not really one better than this for cutting through a humid summer evening with the windows down. If you like ballads these are Van's best and compare to anyone I like - beats anything Dylan or Neil Young has done. Starting a New Life seems trite but its brilliant after 3-4 listens as do almost all songs on "Tupelo". Know all Van fans have it already so suggest it (before "Best of" or "Moondance") as a starter for those trying him out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enhanced masterpiece, January 30, 2008
This review is from: Tupelo Honey (Audio CD)
These melodies sneak up on you and linger long after the music has stopped. That is why Tupelo Honey is one of Van Morrison's most accessible and commercially successful albums. This re-release has been enhanced by the addition of Down By The Riverside and an alternate take of Wild Night. The packaging includes the original artwork and the lyrics to all the songs.

Tupelo Honey is a work of genius: there's the gorgeous title track with its delightful imagery and the swirling I Wanna Roo You with its foot tapping rhythm. The catchy When That Evening Sun Goes Down has a propulsive rhythm whilst the structural complexity of Moonshine Whisky, with its tempo changes and delectable female backing vocals, makes for a magnificent composition, similar to some of those meandering gems on Astral Weeks.

Wild Night is a powerful R&B outing with an old time rock and roll feel and Straight To Your Heart is another melodic rocker. I also love Old Woodstock, a song filled with warmth and joy. And that is what this album celebrates - domestic bliss and the joy of life. In its own way, it is therefore as spiritual as most of his best work, although perhaps not so overtly mystical. Well whether you're into Van for his poetry or for his tunes, this album will please you. It's a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing alternate take of Wild Night makes this essential!, February 2, 2008
By 
J. Niss (Western Mass) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tupelo Honey (Audio CD)
I was focused on the sound quality of this before hand. Wondering if it would be "loud" and compressed to the point of ruining the actual dynamic range of the recordings, as many people are finding with many newly mastered cds (granted if you only listen on your ipod or on a car's auto sound system this is not as evident).

But thankfully the sound is not so loud and compressed as to be unenjoyable (at least for me, though there are moments when I was annoyed with the lack of a truely natural sonic field), and this allowed me to listen through the regular cuts and arrive at the miraculous version of Wild Night that follows.

Amazing! It's a much longer take, the vocal far more up front than on the original which opens the album, some quite different and great playing by musicians, and Van in top form taking the song all over town. You will actually hear Van "cooing" just a bit past the 4 minute mark (who'd a thunk it?). It IS a sound to behold.

This is a major release because of this cut - truly "found gold".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tupelo Honey
Tupelo Honey by Van Morrison (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.