Customer Reviews


1,227 Reviews
5 star:
 (700)
4 star:
 (250)
3 star:
 (104)
2 star:
 (56)
1 star:
 (117)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars State download is free to e file it is extra.
I just finished my taxes. One thing I will suggest for those having issues downloading state for extra $39.99 is to update state software, sign out of turbo tax and sign back in. State will be downloaded at no additional cost other than to e file state for $19.99. Those that claim its $19.99 plus $29.99 processing fee to e file state are not mentioning that the $29.99...
Published 22 months ago by Lucy

versus
42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Software is Great, Support not so much
I expect that this software cut my tax bill by 30% over what I would find had I rummaged through the tax code myself. I used turbotax online since 2009 and liked it. This was on-sale and cheaper then the online price. It works just as well as online without the pesky multi stage authentication each time you login.

Why 3 out of 5?
I logged into turbotax...
Published 22 months ago by Percius


‹ Previous | 1 2123 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars State download is free to e file it is extra., February 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TurboTax Deluxe Federal + E-File + State 2012 for PC [Old Version] (Software Download)
I just finished my taxes. One thing I will suggest for those having issues downloading state for extra $39.99 is to update state software, sign out of turbo tax and sign back in. State will be downloaded at no additional cost other than to e file state for $19.99. Those that claim its $19.99 plus $29.99 processing fee to e file state are not mentioning that the $29.99 processing fee is only if you want them to deduct the $19.99 directly from your return. You can pay by credit card to e file and it will only cost $19.99, no processing fee. So my federal and state taxes are completed and both filed electronically for a total of $60.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Software is Great, Support not so much, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TurboTax Deluxe Federal + E-File + State 2012 for PC [Old Version] (Software Download)
I expect that this software cut my tax bill by 30% over what I would find had I rummaged through the tax code myself. I used turbotax online since 2009 and liked it. This was on-sale and cheaper then the online price. It works just as well as online without the pesky multi stage authentication each time you login.

Why 3 out of 5?
I logged into turbotax online to download the .tax file for last year. When I clicked on "I need year xxx taxes in .tax format" it took me to buying turbo tax again. It took 45 minutes on the phone with a guy who wouldn't listen to me to finally get my taxes in .tax form so that I didn't have to re-enter information (employer ein, family demographics, etc) that are not on the 1040 you would print.

For anyone else needing to know, if you want to import that data from turbotax online into turbotax desktop.
1. Start a new 2013 tax filing online. Don't pay for it.
2. Click "Home"
3. Save my 2013 tax information on my computer.
Don't go through the "previous filings" link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


381 of 451 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UPDATE: 03/21/13 - Amazon has updated the description, January 21, 2013
By 
Dan (Lincoln, NE United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TurboTax Deluxe Federal + E-File + State 2012 for PC [Old Version] (Software Download)
UPDATE: 03/21/13

Amazon and Intuit have updated the product page with several notes and bullet points that more clearly explain exactly which services this piece of software offers and which cost extra. The included services are: federal prep and e-file and state prep, but state e-file is extra. The entire purpose of this review was to explain the fact that for most people, there would be an additional cost should they want to file things electronically for both the federal and state returns. This was because the product listing's main description never listed out that the state e-file was not included in the price. It was only included as very tiny text at the very bottom of the description and was very easy to miss. I appreciate that Intuit and Amazon have updated this listing accordingly. The software itself is easy to use and since everything is filed electronically, you usually get your return pretty quickly. It also looks through a lot of deductions to make sure you're getting the biggest refund. Now that things have been updated and the description is more accurate, I can fully recommend the product.

I appreciate the fact that these companies listened to all of our feedback and actually took action!

----------------------

I really enjoy TurboTax's software and have used the online version for the past several years when filing my tax returns. I saw that Amazon had a complete downloadable version for what appeared to be an acceptable price, so I decided to give it a try. Everything seemed to be going well until I got to one of the final screens in which I was prompted to pay an additional $20 just to E-file my state return. This caught me off guard because the title of the software said "Federal + E-File + State." That makes it sound like both Federal and State are included with E-file. But, you'd be wrong to think that. No where in any sort of legible way does the Amazon.com product listing say that state E-filing is extra. It's only until you're almost done that you're made aware of the fact that you need to pay more and by that time I believe they expect most people just to pay it. Why? Because you've already paid the money to download the product. It's silly that you have to pay for software and then pay more AFTER you've already paid just to use a complete product.

TurboTax should immediately update the name of this product and make it very clear that while state "preparation" may be included, E-filing is not and requires additional money. Your total price for the service is basically 50% more than the price you pay to download the software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TurboTax Deluxe Federal + E-File + State 2012 for PC [Download], January 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TurboTax Deluxe Federal + E-File + State 2012 for PC [Old Version] (Software Download)
I've been using TurboTax Deluxe for several years now and I think it's great! I had no problems downloading the product (Windows XP) or installing it. The one thing I really like about it is the automatic update feature. When I run the software, if there are any updates for the program, forms, etc., it automatically asks me if I want to download and install them which I do so I have the most current versions of everything. Years ago I used to do my taxes manually spending literally hours filling out worksheets to see if I qualified for a particular deduction and how much I could deduct. Having seen many TV advertisements for TurboTax, I decided to try it. Boy oh boy, what a difference in the time it took to prepare my taxes. I don't have a real complicated return, at least I don't think I do, but TurboTax found deductions I wasn't even aware of or that I qualified for. If you can read, follow directions and answer all the questions honestly, I think TurboTax is the only way to go to get your maximum refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deceptive title, wrong charges, February 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TurboTax Deluxe Federal + E-File + State 2012 for PC [Old Version] (Software Download)
Even though it mentions state is included, it charged extra $39.99 to start the state returns.
No resolution on email is provided by intuit, your options are to either wait for 2 hours to catch a chat representative of 45 minutes to speak with someone on phone
Once you are done paying for states, there is another $19.99 for filing state returns
What a ripoff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars turbotax deluxe very deceiving, February 2, 2013
By 
Lori (Connecticut) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TurboTax Deluxe Federal + E-File + State 2012 for PC [Old Version] (Software Download)
I have been using TurboTax Deluxe for many many years. I had no problems following the software except when I got to the end where you choose to E-file or mail your forms. Federal E-file is free but they wanted another $19.99 to E-file the state taxes PLUS $29.99 for processing fee. I'm not happy with this at all. I went ahead and Efile my federal and took the mail route for my state taxes. The title made me think you were getting both federal and state free efiling. I will not be using this next year as you can efile your federal on line for free and I'll just do the mail route with the state taxes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars deceptive product, January 30, 2013
This review is from: TurboTax Deluxe Federal + E-File + State 2012 for PC [Old Version] (Software Download)
State E-file is not included and will cost you an additional $20! Very misleading and while it is a quality product otherwise I will never use turbotax again due to these deceptive business practices!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good, Bad, and Annoying, February 2, 2013
By 
Xenon77 (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TurboTax Deluxe Federal + E-File + State 2012 for PC [Old Version] (Software Download)
I've used TurboTax for two decades to prepare my federal and state tax return. It does the job. For better or worse, I'm used to it. Yet it has needless weak points and provides needless annoyances.

VAGUE ERROR MESSAGES: When TurboTax checks for errors in your return, the messages explaining the possible errors are often hard to understand.

NAVIGATION: In preparing a long-form return on TurboTax, you will navigate through many, many pages (in my case, over 200). To reach the next page, you must go to the bottom of the current page and click "Continue." But the "Continue" is hidden behind the Windows 7 taskbar (at least on my Lenovo Thinkpad), even on pages that contain only a few lines of text. You need to click on the page and scroll to the bottom before you can see and click "Continue."

EXTRA CHARGE: TurboTax will charge you extra for e-filing your state return. It should disclose that charge clearly and specifically before you buy the product.

UPGRADES: Be wary of buying the many upgrades and additional services TurboTax will offer. Most users of TurboTax Deluxe will derive little additional benefit from them.

SELF-SERVING CHATTER: As you proceed through your return, you face recurring chatter implying that you owe your deductions and credits to TurboTax. It labels your total federal deductions, "federal deductions we found for you." It labels your total state deductions, "state deductions we found for you." As though you would have had no deductions or credits at all but for using TurboTax.

PERSONAL INFORMATION: When you first open this software, TurboTax demands a full page of contact information, including your mobile telephone number. It says it demands this information so it can notify you if the rules change. I provided all the requested information except my phone number. But that wasn't good enough for TurboTax. For the next ten or so times that I opened the software, it made me start with the contact-information screen. I'd already given TurboTax my e-mail address; it didn't need my phone number. Once TurboTax has your phone number, it's free to make telemarketing calls. To prevent those calls, you need to go through the separate exercise of changing your contact preferences. And you can't do even that without giving TurboTax your daytime phone number.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars State Filing, January 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TurboTax Deluxe Federal + E-File + State 2012 for PC [Old Version] (Software Download)
Be sure to read the fine print, there is an additional charge for E-filing state returns. Runs about $19.99 extra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Did you have an issue with the purchased State File?, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TurboTax Deluxe Federal + E-File + State 2012 for PC [Old Version] (Software Download)
I originally could not use the state file that I paid for with this product. Turbo Tax was prompting me to pay an additional $39.99 for a product that I had just paid the same amount for here on Amazon.

This is how I fixed my problem:

1) Saved my current work file in Turbo Tax.
2) Closed the Turbo Tax software completely.
3) Re-started Turbo Tax.
4) Opened my previous work file and my missing state file started without an issue.

I hope this information will help other users.

SherLockHolmez
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2123 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.