Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ENJOYED EVERY PAGE OF THIS ONE!, November 20, 2006
This review is from: Turk and Runt: A Thanksgiving Comedy (Paperback)
This is simply the story of a family of turkeys, not unlike many human families you may know. Mom, Pop, The Golden Boy and of course the Runt. This is an absolutely hilarious Thanksgiving tale. The illustrations are great and the story line will keep you snickering from front to back. This is actually quite a useful book for the class room. After reading the book and finding out how runt saves the day, have the children write you a letter, as a turkey, talking you out of not having him or her for your feast. Out of a class of third and fourth graders, you get some very interesting stories. I enjoyed this one, thought it was funny and well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful!, November 11, 2002
By A Customer
Laugh-out-loud funny! The kids loved it and the adults had their funny bones tickled as well. Read this one out loud to the whole family, then plan on having tacos for Thanksgiving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turk and Runt will tickle the elementary school crowd, March 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Turk and Runt: A Thanksgiving Comedy (Paperback)
I got Turk and Runt after my kid fell in love with the Dino-Sports series by Lisa Wheeler. My five year old loves this tale about a fat juicy turkey named Turk and his little "Runt" brother who tries to save him from becoming someone's Thanksgiving Day feast. The parents are extremely proud and clueless.... Before the selection begins (people coming to select their bird on the farm) the parents are sure Turk will be the first one chosen. But chosen for what? They think he will be in a broad-way hit or part of a sports team. "He's a dancer," said his mother. "He's an athlete," said his father. "He's a goner," said his brother, Runt. No one seems to know what is going on but Runt. We will be reading this every Thanksgiving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sassy, silly, fun!, November 24, 2003
This "Thanksgiving comedy" highlights gratitude of an unusual sort--that of not ending up basted on a Thanksgiving Day platter. Which is important if you happen to be a turkey on "Wishbone Farm."
Turk's parents are proud of their big, strong son. His mother thinks he'll be a dancer. His father is sure he'll be a star athlete. No one listens to Runt when he warns that his brother "is a goner."
While his family is blissfully ignorant of the impending signs around them, Runt, small but smart, devises ways to keep them from the roasting pan.
This sassy wobble-gobble of a story is stuffed with word play, energetic drawings and imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, November 27, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Turk and Runt: A Thanksgiving Comedy (Paperback)
This book is hilarious! I read this book every year in my kindergarten class and the kids just love it. For two years now I've used the book as the script for our class play. Its a great hit with parents and friends who come see the kids. There are also enough one or two liners so that the kids can memorize the parts. The story line is simple enough so young children can follow along but silly enough to engage all ages. My students and I give it two thumbs up each year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love This Book!, January 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Turk and Runt: A Thanksgiving Comedy (Paperback)
What an awesome book! I first read it to my daughter three years ago. We had checked it out from the local library. Since that time my family and I were always quoting the funny lines from the book. Later we just couldn't remember the title until my recent search.

This book is clever and entertaining. It's a must have for your children's book collection. I am sure the whole family will enjoy this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanksgiving, March 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Turk and Runt: A Thanksgiving Comedy (Paperback)
This was perfect for the 6-8 years old in the family. It prompted lots of "plays" for the family to watch throughout the weekend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HIlarious :), January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Turk and Runt: A Thanksgiving Comedy (Paperback)
LOL! You have GOT to add this book to your library. Not only will it teach your child some good lessons - that not everything in life is as it seems but that family can stick together and when they do, it really is the best.

This is a large book with great illustrations. Easy to read & your kids will smile from ear to ear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a great book, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Turk and Runt: A Thanksgiving Comedy (Paperback)
IU would recommend it to anyone with kids - it's a very fun book about Thanksgiving.kes are great fun & it is a spoof of sibling rivalry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious fun!, December 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Turk and Runt: A Thanksgiving Comedy (Paperback)
I read this book every year to my 3rd and 4th graders and they love it! Full of great humor as well as vocabulary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Turk and Runt: A Thanksgiving Comedy
Turk and Runt: A Thanksgiving Comedy by Lisa Wheeler (Paperback - October 1, 2005)
$7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.