Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer bschs2 bschs2 bschs2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Learn more

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 21, 2001
Thoroughly charming - one of those rare films that is unabashedly what it means to be: a simple movie about a man learning to love something besides himself. In this case, it happens to be a dog (a very unusual beloved beast). There are little gems of performances, John McIntire as Amos, who brings the old saw about "people look like their dogs" to life, and Mare Winningham who really shows how powerful a performance understatement can make. And of course Tom Hanks, who is as always the most charming human being in the world. He also brings this very flawed person to admirable life. Then Hooch, of course, whose real name is sadly lacking in the list of credits.
The screenplay itself is a marvel of simple, unassuming comedy. If we want to get "appreciatin'", then Hanks' urgently yelled, "I got a muffin for you, Hooch!" is a far more immediate and understandable cry of the everyman than "Reuben! Reuben!" And there can be no more perfect cry of human frustration than Hanks imploring Hooch (who has, after eating, sleeping, and going on his nightly "rounds", continued to howl all night), "What?! What?!"
Hooch's ending is very sad, especially if you have young ones in the house, but the sadness is redeemed by a hopeful ending. I love this movie. It never ceases to make me smile after the worst of days. And no film can have a higher commendation than that.
22 comments|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2006
This is a great light and funny comedy that I think everybody can enjoy. It does have a bit of violence but it is not over the top with it. Hanks is his usual funny self and this is one of his early roles before he became the serious icon that he has become and rightly so. But the STAR of the movie is HOOCH the Dogue de Bourdeaux (or French Mastiff). This dog has the most charisma I have ever seen in a dog. The big red beautiful (in the eyes of the beholder)beast has everything it takes to steal the spotlight from Tom Hanks and everybody else in the movie. He is at the same time one of the ugliest and cutest animals ever on film. The dog has the chops, the look and the acting ability to make Turner and Hooch and all time favorite for both adults and kids (maybe not too young though cause of the crime plot) but watching Hanks play off the dog is hilarious.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2015
Cop is ready to move on but then a crime takes place. He stays to figure it out and finds a new life in Monterrey to keep him there.

This movie was the Tom Hanks before the political charged Hanks. It was back when movies were just sorta entertainment. There is a really really sad scene in this movie though. So if you don't like seeing animals hurt then I suggest you skip this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 30, 2015
Before Tom Hanks was Hollywood royalty, he costarred with a drooling, though loveable canine named Hooch to solve a murder. As far as cinematic quality goes, the movie is something of a dog (no pun intended), but then again, it wasn’t intended to speak to broad themes of the human condition. It was designed to be fairly light-hearted fun as this neat freak bonds with this slob sort of like human and canine version of the Odd Couple or something.

While it takes a brief turn towards the serious, they even back out of that fairly quickly because no one apparently wants to laugh for ninety minutes, only to be brought to tears in the final two minutes. How you feel about this movie probably is dependent on whether you can accept the movie and suspend disbelief and go with some of the more extreme situations, if you can’t do that, this movie isn’t for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2015
I love Turner and Hooch. I grew up with shows like this and Tom Hanks. It a police film, Turner is using the dog to find the bad guy. There is action, romance and even a little bit of sadness. Good family movie. Maybe not for younger kids, your teens and pre-teens would probably enjoy the film, even if they think it is old. My son loves all the old movies and TV shows I grew up with in the 80s and 90s. He also thinks most of them are hilariously funny.

Spoiler…… don’t go further if you don’t want to know.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

The only think I don’t like about this movie is they kill Hooch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2007
What a great movie. Ever since this movie came out my daughter has wanted a mastif just like Hooch. Thank goodness she can satisfy herself with this dogs antics by watching the movie over and over again. Although this movie looks very eighties/early nineties it has timeless appeal. Definately worth owning.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2006
This movie is a classic. There are many funny parts when hooch tears everything apart in tom hanks neat clean home. But sometimes i think i prefer k-9 not that k9 is better, both are great dog comedies, but the dog in k-9 with jim belushi lives at the end. To me, i find the ending to turner and hooch to be devastatingly sad, even though there was a brilliant attempt to make it less sad, and not completely ruined, the scene that was put in at the end when the puppy looked like hooch when we didnt know that camile and hooch mated till that point. But still, it's awful when it shows the dog being shot in the air, it's a little graphic, and to back that up, this film was on tv the other day on tnt, and they had to cut that part out, when it shows the bloody spot on his fur when he is shot. It's a bit much, there is enough violence in movies. I'm fine with people getting killed in films because it is fake, and the animals also getting killed is fake, but still too unbearable for me, and animal lovers. Not that the ending ruined the film, because i can still enjoy the film, and laugh at the parts that were meant to be funny as a distraction from the horrible ending. Also, the way that hooch died. Like k9's do, and any animal that loves his owner, they will risk their own life for you, it's a reminder to the world to treat their dogs/pets/any animal good and humane, because you wouldnt believe how loyal animals are. They would put their lives on the line to save you, just out of love for you, and they dont ask for much in return. What person do you know that you can honestly say that about?? End animal cruelty now, and raise your children right, to respect and be kind to animals who are more capable of extraordinary things than you would realize. They are living breathing beings, and they should be respected and cherished. I cant even watch animal cops on animalplanet, because of how stupid and ignorant people are. Hopefully in the future there will be less animal abuse and animal neglect. There is always hope for the future.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2015
really good movie. itd been a long time since I watched this and was surprised to enjoy it just as much if not more than I had growing up. Moving, funny, and a surprise ending... two surprise endings actually. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2013
This is not a high brow film but we bought a ton of Tom Hanks movies (just the comedies from the 80's, like The Burbs, etc) to watch during the winter break, and this was a hit with our 12 year old. It brought back a lot of fun memories of when Tom Hanks was more like his former SNL self. Love him both ways, but movies like Dragnet, The Burbs, Turner and Hooch and The Money Pit are still a set of fun stuff...not all of them for kids but still fun and old but new if you haven't seen them for a while.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2014
I adore Tom Hanks, and this movie brings out the more tender side when Hooch becomes
his best friend and partner. He is a good actor and puts all he has into each film. I am an
animal lover from way back, so this one rates high in character and portrayal of a dedicated
criminal investigator!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.