Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for a beginner or experienced wood turner.
I've been turning pens for a couple of years and I'm now starting to get into turning other items. This book has been a big help. It shows in detail how to make several different styles of wood boxes that you can turn on a wood lathe. It shows the different techniques needed and the different tools that you need and how to use them. It's one of the better books on wood...
Published on March 26, 2010 by Colorado Hermit

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars inspiratonal but not very informative
this book is inspirational in that it has some awsome galleries and demonstrates a good variety of boxes. However, the projects demonstrated in this book "which is the majority of the book" often lack sufficient detail in the steps and after reading through all of them there are still some grey areas of technique and tools. maybe these are covered in another book, i...
Published on July 16, 2010 by metalworker420


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars inspiratonal but not very informative, July 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Turning Boxes with Friction-Fitted Lids (Schiffer Book for Woodturners) (Paperback)
this book is inspirational in that it has some awsome galleries and demonstrates a good variety of boxes. However, the projects demonstrated in this book "which is the majority of the book" often lack sufficient detail in the steps and after reading through all of them there are still some grey areas of technique and tools. maybe these are covered in another book, i dont know. i would say this book is a decent buy if you are experianced and looking for inspiration but for a begginer who has never turned a box i would say that one of the genaric introductory turning books would be a better buy as most of them have a basic box in the projects section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for a beginner or experienced wood turner., March 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Turning Boxes with Friction-Fitted Lids (Schiffer Book for Woodturners) (Paperback)
I've been turning pens for a couple of years and I'm now starting to get into turning other items. This book has been a big help. It shows in detail how to make several different styles of wood boxes that you can turn on a wood lathe. It shows the different techniques needed and the different tools that you need and how to use them. It's one of the better books on wood turning that I've got and I would recommend it for any one that wants to get into turning boxes. Even if you already turn boxes this book might help you better your methods. But I definitely recommend it for any beginner that wants to get into box turning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really liked this, July 12, 2010
By 
REB (Austin, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Turning Boxes with Friction-Fitted Lids (Schiffer Book for Woodturners) (Paperback)
I wasn't entirely fond of the instructions and I quickly started doing this my own way but his ideas are great. I was inspired
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting pictures. Very badly written., October 7, 2013
This review is from: Turning Boxes with Friction-Fitted Lids (Schiffer Book for Woodturners) (Paperback)
First, the good. The pictures are lovely(except the particularly ugly and slightly suggestive pagoda box which looks more like something found in the seedier regions of the internet), and I quite like the shapes of the acorn and finial topped boxes. Bowers uses exotic woods in all of the projects and the results are beautiful. The shapes are interesting, and the book progresses from simple to complex. There is good detail at the beginning on how to turn a simple cylinder box, and there is a discussion on friction fitting the lids and the impact humidity has on the fit.

In terms of technique, I would have liked more hints on how to hold the tools and how to move them when hollowing and shaping. I found Michael O'Donnel's books on technique and on turning green wood to be much much more detailed and useful than this one.

This book is written in a strange verbose fussiness which reads as if the author always had a thesaurus at hand. It also has an odd mix of detail and vagueness. For example, the author describes the golden mean as 1.6180339887, a completely useless level of detail, since the tools wood turners use to measure and turn wood are nowhere near capable of that sort of accuracy, and then proceeds to go on about how fractions such as 3/5 and 2/3 are ratios that are off by 0.014 and 0.059. Is this helpful? Not at all, and leaves off the other 7 digits of accuracy the author seems to think important. In order to get down to that last digit of accuracy, for a box where the diameter is 5.0000000000 inches, you would need to measure the height to be 8.0901699435 inches. Good luck. Think this entire paragraph is wasted space on Amazon? Well it's free and it cost you 30 seconds to read. The book, on the other hand cost you $11 and should be better written than its reviews. With all that detail you would expect specific instructions on the angles to hold tools, what difficulties you might encounter and how to avoid them, and how to make the modified tools that are used. More vagueness comes in the form of finishing. There are references to diluted lacquer, but no suggestions on what kind of lacquer or how to dilute it.

Then there's the odd assumptions. Here is a quote from the first page of Chapter 1, The Cylinder Box: "After measuring the 1-1/2 inch opening of the O'Donnell jaws, mark the measurement on both ends of the stock." I'm not sure why the author assumes we all use O'Donnell jaws on our lathes. I think they are mostly used on Axminster chucks and I don't think I've ever seen an Axminster lathe or even an Axminster chuck. (Yes, I know they can be bought in the US.) In fact, it seems that the author assumes we all use Axminster lathes. In any case, it's not like the book starts with a list of recommended equipment and special tools. As another reviewer points out, there are some references to modified tools, but no discussion of what the modifications are. One exception to this is a picture of a "square-nozed scraper with the corner rounded." The picture looks as if the actual cutting edge is actually rounded (as opposed to the sides as I've seen in other books) and I'm not sure how that is used. It looks like it is just used to rub the bottom and sides of the inside of the box but there are no instructions. The author also assumes, that we all know what the Ray Key hollowing tool is, and for some reason thinks it's important that we use a Oneway live center and a 1-1/4 inch Ashley Iles roughing gouge, but doesn't mention the maker of other tools. He also refers to a "modified hollowing tool" and there is no discussion of what the modifications are. Could it be the modified spindle gouge, the Ray Key hollowing tool he mentions in the first chapter? It's not clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Turning Boxes with Friction-Fitted Lids (Schiffer Book for Woodturners), May 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Turning Boxes with Friction-Fitted Lids (Schiffer Book for Woodturners) (Paperback)
There's some helpful information in this book if you can get past what seems to be sales pitches for some of the tools he uses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Christmas Present, January 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Turning Boxes with Friction-Fitted Lids (Schiffer Book for Woodturners) (Paperback)
I got this as a gift for my dad for Christmas. He has been a hobby woodworker for the past 25+ years and has recently gotten into lathe projects. He loves this book and said the pictures and step by step instructions are expecially helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of good pics, December 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Turning Boxes with Friction-Fitted Lids (Schiffer Book for Woodturners) (Paperback)
This book is almost as good as watching a video, there are so many pictures. In fact, this book is MOSTLY pictures. There are 11 projects, each with between 3 and 8 pages, and each page has usually 6 photos. That's a lot of pics. And they are good, close pics. Very clear. A good book to get you started on turning boxes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yurning Boxes, March 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Turning Boxes with Friction-Fitted Lids (Schiffer Book for Woodturners) (Paperback)
A very interesting and informative book. It shows one the many ways boxes can be made, from very simple to the more exotic ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, June 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Turning Boxes with Friction-Fitted Lids (Schiffer Book for Woodturners) (Paperback)
Good design ideas and procedures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor instructions, June 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Turning Boxes with Friction-Fitted Lids (Schiffer Book for Woodturners) (Paperback)
Just a bunch of pictures, very thin in both page count and actual content. Mostly just ideas and designs, no techniques or how-to-do stuff. Not worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Turning Boxes with Friction-Fitted Lids (Schiffer Book for Woodturners)
$14.99 $12.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.