Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent game for a 11 and up.
I recently gave this to a 13 year old who describes it as one of the best of the year. I've been watching over his shoulder (he was so much better at this game than I was), enjoying the lush jungles - the bushes that move as you move through them - and the hundreds of dinosaurs and other animals populating the environment. Is it too violent? I don't think so. Its bloody...
Published on September 16, 2002 by David J. Field

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What is the hype all about?
I remember my friends raving about original Turok (N64) and how great it was. I read couple of reviews...and it seemed that all the people loved this game but probably most played only the demo instead of the full version. But being hyped by great reviews I decided to give it a try. Well I wouldn't call this game a total disappointment but a huge letdown. Things that...
Published on September 17, 2002 by Matt Jachyra


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent game for a 11 and up., September 16, 2002
By 
This review is from: Turok: Evolution (Video Game)
I recently gave this to a 13 year old who describes it as one of the best of the year. I've been watching over his shoulder (he was so much better at this game than I was), enjoying the lush jungles - the bushes that move as you move through them - and the hundreds of dinosaurs and other animals populating the environment. Is it too violent? I don't think so. Its bloody but then, you are hunting dinosaurs, crocs and dinosaur men that fully intend to kill you first. I was impressed the way the game distinguished between the herbivores and the predators. Even the 13 year old learned to make the distinction quickly. This is not the stark landscape of Halo, but here you will see butterflies flitting by, lizards scampering and stegasaureses (stegasauri?) grazing. Of course, the 13 year old also loves those weapons which get more and more impressive as you move through the levels.
This is a long game that takes considerable time to finish. You will definitely get your moneys worth. And then there are a whole range of multiplayer games,once you finish the 15 chapters (40 hours minimum I would guess for a decent gamer). And the game is very addictive. Some people have said how much the game improves after the third chapter. I disagree. It was fun from the beginning. Yes, my 13 year old reported a couple glitches where dinosaurs seemed to get stuck running in circles, but certainly nothing that harmed the enjoyment of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inconsistent, September 21, 2002
This review is from: Turok: Evolution (Video Game)
Turok: Evolution has a terrible multiple personality disorder: sometimes it's this great action packed shooter with awesome lighting effects and high-res textures, and sometimes it's this really ugly-looking, tedious-playing, evil twin.
Turok: Evolution follows the story of the original Dinosaur Hunter: Tel Set. You learn how he was originally transported to the Lost Lands to become a Turok.(well sort of anyway...The story-line's kind of muddled.) Most of the game is just your standard FPS fare: you move through completely linear levels wreaking havoc and shooting everything that moves. It starts off really slow though, with lots of tedious sniping and ugly graphics, but things start to pick up around the fifth chapter or so. You then start doing more indoor levels, which show off the cool lighting and reflection effects, and allow you to engage in more close range combat. Also your weapons arsenal starts to get a lot more interesting.
I think the weapons are probably the coolest aspect of Turok. Most weapons have two modes of fire and some of them transform into completely different weapons (such as the Flechette gun, which can be transformed into a Mini gun). The graphic effects of some of these weapons are truly stunning: the heat-waves on the rocket launcher and flame-thrower are most impressive. In fact, I think the rocket launcher in Turok is probably the coolest rocket launcher I've ever seen in a FPS. There are some really interesting weapons here: for instance, there's the gravity disrupter, which when you press the trigger quickly, will knock enemies backwards, or you can hold the trigger in and it will charge up for a shock-wave attack. You can also switch to the alternate mode and use the gun to pick up enemies and hurl them off cliffs, or bash them against walls and other foes.
The controls are nearly identical to those found in Halo, only the aiming isn't nearly as precise, and your turning speed is far to slow...and then far to fast. You see, Turok has the same problem with aiming that MOH: Frontline suffered from: first the controls move far to slow, and then as you slowly press the thumb-stick further, they suddenly reach a point where they jump to high-speed, and move far to fast, causing you to overshoot what you were aiming for. Fortunately though, with the auto-aim feature enabled, this problem is far more manageable.
There are a few levels where you hop on the back of a pterasaur and fly through canyons in a rail-shooter mode. While the concept of a pterasaur shooter, (complete with lock-on missiles and radio chatter) is super cheezy, and the graphics are quite ugly, I still found it to be kind of thrilling soaring through canyons, narrowly avoiding obstacles, and pulling out of steep dives just in the nick of time. It's nothing terribly great, but it's not as bad as it sounds.
The graphics are just so incredibly inconsistent. Some levels look nearly as good as Halo: with nice lighting effects and reflections. However, some of the levels look like something from an average PS2 game. Even the textures within the levels can be inconsistent. Sometimes you'll notice some really nice looking high-res textures and then a few feet later there'll be an ugly blurry mess. Some of the effects (such as the rippling heat-waves from the rocket launcher) are quite impressive, but some effects are sorely lacking (like water for instance, which is just a flat bluish texture). The frame-rate is alright on the indoor levels, but it does drop a bit when you're outside.
One of my biggest gripes with Turok is the lack of save-points. You can only save after completing a level; this was acceptable on the N64, due to hardware limitations, but the Xbox has an 8 gigabyte hard drive and there's no excuse for using such an archaic save system. I get the feeling they used this system because they knew the inconsistent enemy AI just wouldn't have made the game challenging enough otherwise.
You see the AI enemies in Turok are just really unpredictable (in a bad way). For instance, sometimes you can attempt to snipe an enemy and he'll alert all his buddies to your location, and they'll all instantly know where you are and will immediately proceed to attack you. However, sometimes you can shoot an enemy and he'll just stand there and take it-as if he can't even feel the bullets ripping through his flesh. Again the problem here is consistency.
The multi-player modes are pretty much the usual: capture the flag, death-match, ect.. The frame-rate is fine when you play two players but it really takes a hit when you play with 3 or 4. Unfortunately, Turok does not support the System Link feature-which seems kind of stupid to me. I mean how much time does it take to add in System Link support?!
With 14 chapters, each consisting of several levels, Turok is quite a large FPS. I think maybe, it would have been better if they made the game smaller and then spent the extra time polishing things up. It seems they just spread themselves to thin and weren't able keep the level of quality consistent. At times Turok really shows some glimpses of brilliance. Perhaps, with another six months development time, Turok could have been a good solid FPS, but as it stands now, it's really not worth playing. There's just too many other FPS's of higher quality coming out this fall and Turok: Evolution just doesn't have anything original to make up for it's technical shortcomings.
Sound: 7/10 The sound is pretty solid, with some nice back-round music and cool sounding weapons.
Graphics: 5/10 A real mixed bag: sometimes they're really good, other times they're terrible.
Controls: 7/10 Would be terrible, but fortunately there's an auto-aim option.
Game-play: 6/10 Your typical FPS: Shoot everything that moves. The reliance on the limited save-points to make the game challenging is really annoying.
Originality: 1/10 Nothing new here.
Value: 8/10 With 14 chapters, and each chapter consisting of several levels there's a good 30-40 hours of
single player, plus there is a multi-player mode. No real replay value for the single-player though.
Difficulty:7/10 Hard due to lack of save-points.
Final Score: 6/10 If it could have been more consistent, it could have been a good solid shooter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What is the hype all about?, September 17, 2002
By 
Matt Jachyra (Brooklyn, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Turok: Evolution (Video Game)
I remember my friends raving about original Turok (N64) and how great it was. I read couple of reviews...and it seemed that all the people loved this game but probably most played only the demo instead of the full version. But being hyped by great reviews I decided to give it a try. Well I wouldn't call this game a total disappointment but a huge letdown. Things that would transform an average FPS into a great one are non existent. Enemy AI is not there. There is no challenge to fight the enemies if you can spot them from far away. If by any chance you engage in combat all you have to do is move back while shooting. Enemies don't take cover, don't run, don't use any tactics (unless charging you in a group is a tactic). Weapons are seriously weak. Yes it's fun to use bow and arrow for a change but it gets boring very quickly. Graphics was the part that everyone raved about. I'm asking what graphics? This things looks like a PC game from 2 years ago or N64 game. I don't understand why Acclaim didn't take full advantages off Xbox hardware. Yes the dinos are beautifully rendered and scapes are really nice but right away you start imagining how great they would look if only time was spent to sup them up. Controls are pretty straight forward. Saves are far apart and game saving feature may be a bit confusing. Only four different games can be played at the time. This may not be a problem for a regular folks but it becomes one if you share your Xbox with people. It's just an average first person shooter, nothing else. And to quote my roommate who was trying to finish a flying mission somewhere in the mid of the game: "I never had less desire to replay the level, this game has absolutely no reuse value". A funny thing is that people also rave about the gore and violence in the game. Violence and gore in Turok are as follows: you shoot an enemy, he bleeds a lot. Simple. Nothing else. Than the body disappears. If you want to see a real gore and violence play "Soldier of Fortune 1 and 2". I'm not trying to bring the game down but when buying it don't expect miracles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I really didn't like it, September 1, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Turok: Evolution (Video Game)
First off, I'm a huge first person shooter fan and I was really looking forward to this game. I even put a copy on reserve at the local store. I ended up taking it back the next day and exchanging it for something else. I just didn't enjoy playing it. It was like I had to force myself to play it which is saying a lot since I can be completely content playing Unreal Tournament of the PS2 for hours, or beating Halo for the Zillionth time. Anyways, here's what I thought:
1. Graphics were mediocre at best. If you expecting this to look anywhere near as good as Halo your in for a big disappointment. It doesn't even look as good as Red Faction or Unreal Tournament on the PS2.
2. The game play has much to be disired. I found it hard to control and aim. It's very touchy.
3. The weapons are weak. This is one of the main reasons I returned the game.
4. It's bloody. This is one thing I liked about this game. The opening scene was great. The characters put on a very dramatic show when you kill them, spraying blood up in the air (even though it doesn't really look very real) and getting arms blown off...even decapitated.
5. The water effects are pitiful. It just flat clear water. No waves, no reflection, not even any water noises. In fact, when you swing your tomohawk under water, you can still hear the wind sound effects.
6. The flying part is awful. I haven't cursed at a game this much since "Wreckless". It's like playing starfox 64 only it handles much worse, you have a decidedly annoying woman on a radio constantly harping at you, and if you run into anything at all your dinasour explodes. As a matter of fact, I was never killed by any type of enemy fire. Everytime I died it was from my dinosaur running into a wall or tree (usually when trying to turn around). Very fustrating.
7. It seems to have a lot of gliches. It frequently lags down. In multi-player, my friend suddenly lost his right thumbstick.
8. The enemy AI is a joke. I witnessed a lizard man runnning straight into the side of a tree as I fired my pistol at him....and it took me a while to actually hit him. When you use the sniper bow, you can hit them from long range and they just stand there letting you kill them, and so do the other enemies around them.
Basically, I just had zero desire to play this game after about the first hour. It's definately not worth fifty bucks. But, hey...that's just my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Turok: Evolution Review, September 20, 2002
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Turok: Evolution (Video Game)
(by the way i am 13, not 12, i just couldnt get the adult form to work) Now i just bought this game about two weeks ago. At first i was a little shaky about buying it because of all of the bad reviews i was hearing for this game, but i really wanted a new FPS and i decided this was the game. Overall, i think this game is a pretty good shooter. I will explain some of the cool features that are in the game. Let me start out with the weapons in this game. There are a ton of weapons! A lot more than Halo. Some of the weapons include, warclub, bow, tek-bow(with poison, normal, and explosive arrows), pistol, sniper rifle,flame thrower, napalm gun, grenade, spike grenade, spider mine, shotgun, rocket launcher, swarm bore, nuke launcher, gravity disrupter,antigravity beam, antigravity burst, crossbow, plasma cannon, dark matter cube, flechette gun (steel dart gun), mini gun, machine gun, and a few more if you change the weapons function(you can make the plasma cannon have normal plasma, lock on plasma, or a powerful spreading electric bolt). Now i will move on to the graphics. This game has some good graphics and some kinda bad. First of all the game has really nice looking cut scenes. The weapons look great and so are the effects, character modles, and environments.Plants are mostly flat but shake back and forth when you touch it, which i think makes this game really realistic. The trunks of the trees are not flat though. You can even shoot the trees and they will fall over. Another realistic thing also is if you shoot an enemy right in the head, their head will come clean off with blood oozing out of their necks. The same goes for arms and legs. If you shoot a sleg (the enemies that are half dinosaur/human)with a poison arrow they will drop thier weapons and vomit!now the levels,15 chapters with 4-6 levels on each chapter. On a scale from 1-10 for difficulty i would rate this game a 9 (10 being hard). Luckily for you cheaters there are many codes like, "TEXAS" will give you all the weapons for that level, "EMERPUS" will make you invincible, "SLLEWGH" will make you invisible, "MADMAN" will make you have unlimited ammo, and "SELLOUT" will give you all of the levels. So usually if i am having some trouble on a really hard level i will just put in one of these cheats. Now i will tell you the gameplay. This game has a lot of action and exciting parts. Especially because it is like Halo where you have people on your team. The levels are all a different variety of aspects, like some a stealth, some are team combat, some are solo combat, some are puzzles (the only real puzzles are that you have to find a key to open a door), flight levels where you get to ride on a flying dinosaur with a machine gun and missles. This bring up another subjuct which is flight, about 4 of the chapters have you ride on a dinosaur to complete the level which sometimes gives you a break from the FPS mode. Finally, i will tell you about the multiplayer. If you are having a party, sleep over, or a lot of friends to your house this is the game to have! There are 14 different kinds of different multiplayer modes including, deathmatch, team deathmatch, hunter, capture the flag, one flag, last man, monkey tag, turok fight, team turok fight, warrion rage, blood bath, beginner deathmatch, sniper match, and flight match. So even after you beat the game you will still have many hours of fun playing multiplayer. In multiplayer there are about 10 levels and about 20-25 characters to choose from including raptors which your only weapon is your razon sharp teeth. I think the raptors are cool because you can jump high and run fast. Overall, I think turok gives all that all that a shooter should offer. Its not game of the year but i think it is one you should deffinitly try out. I hope this review was helpful to you . So go rent or buy Turok. Highly reccommended!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dino World, July 28, 2004
By 
coopertex (CA United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Turok: Evolution (Video Game)
Warning: this game is not for kids!

Turok Evolution for the Xbox is a first person shooter game (FPS), where you hunt dinosaurs and lizard-like aliens. Your first weapon is a club, then you'll get pistols, shotgun, mini-gun, sniper rifle, and more. The weapons get better as you progress through the game. And the best part is that most of the weapons have a secondary fire mode! There are also a few original weapons never before seen in a FPS. I don't want to spoil the fun for you, just trust me when I say they are cool. The levles are also varied. There are a few levels where you fly around. Then there are levels where you use stealth. They even included some levels where allies fight along your side. The game has a lot of potential but feels kind of limited.

Pros:

+good controls

+good graphics

+secondary fire modes

+lots of multiplayer modes

+good music

+lots of enemies

+flying levels

+stealth levels

+bloody

Cons:

-linear gameplay

-small maps

-limited weapon availabilty

-stupid A.I.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Turok Evolution, September 3, 2002
By 
22yr old Gamer (Central Coast, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Turok: Evolution (Video Game)
This game as many others in the past has fallen way short of all the the things they said it would be. The graphics are not so great at times you think you are playing a PS2 game or even N-64 it is pretty sad. The controls are not responsive at all you have to move the analog stick at least a 1/2in before the character moves aiming is sloppy and not responsive at all in the heat of battle. It seems like this game is a demo or beta version it might be fine for people who have PS2 and don't expect better but I am sorry I wasted my money so don't waste yours it really isn't worth it. The game is setup bad and you play at least 3-4 boards with nothing but the pistol all the cool guns no where to be seen and also takes forever to load it stops game play to load in the middle of whatever you are doing. Once again a game on a 3 system release and anyone with a Xbox gets ... SAVE YOUR MONEY GET A DIFFERENT GAME!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could have been a great game, September 7, 2002
By 
Team Steinert (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Turok: Evolution (Video Game)
I remember playing the first Turok game of this series on the N64. It was good, but had some annoying control issues and infuriating 'jump' sequences. I figured that by the 3rd game of the series they'd have things ironed out - wrong.
There's great potential here - the sound effects are very well done, the levels are huge, and the dinosaurs and A.I. are good. But...
* There are long levels with few saves and sometimes unclear objectives.
* There are 'cheap' deaths. Sometimes you have no idea why you were killed. I don't mind if a game is hard, but it needs to follow some sort of logic so you feel you were beaten fairly.
* The stupid jumps are back. I feel precise jumping has no place in a 1st person shooter unless you can change perspective. For example I just played 30 minutes to get near the end of a level, only to miss a jump and die. I am not particularly interested in starting over...
* The voice acting (especially the flying chick) stinks.
I didn't expect it to compare to Halo, but I figured it would be a fun shooter. I should have known when the box had a blurb from Maxim magazine saying the game was great. I love Maxim but they don't know doo-doo about games (judging by previous reviews).
I wanted to like it. I really did...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, September 1, 2002
By 
"i_dont_have_nicknames" (santa cruz, ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Turok: Evolution (Video Game)
I've been waiting for Turok and hoping...only to be let down. This game is obviously an 'xbox port' as the graphics are simply horrible! Maybe I've been spoiled by the outstanding graphics of Halo, Oddworld, P. Gotham, etc., but nevertheless, Turok is pretty bad. Adding to bad graphics are the barely comprehensible sounds of your allies and a soundtrack that is more aptly called a one-track as there is one repeating track with no variation. The gameplay in FPS mode is OK and I like the weapon choices, but flight mode is a mess and the controls are extremely difficult. I still haven't figured out how to turn in relatively tight spaces. My last complaint is multiplayer mode: no cooperative play! It's deathmatch, capture the flag and a few other head to head games, but you can't play together (my girlfriend especially hates this oversight). One positive thing I can say about Turok is the concept and all the dinosaurs. I haven't played any of the other Turok games, but running around with dinos all over the place is cool. Anyway, hopefully I can get Fry's to take this back or trade it for 'The Thing' on the 6th.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I found it to be the best Turok yet, February 10, 2005
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Turok: Evolution (Video Game)
It's very hard for me to find a game that provides a challenge and the whole Turok series has given me hours upon hours of entertainment.I still haven't beaten evolution,but I've beat evry other Turok game.This game starts off easy enough,but as I started to get into it I found that it wasn't a gimme.While I still think the very first Turok on N64 was the best this game is providing me with hours of entertainment and that's what it's all about right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Turok: Evolution
Turok: Evolution by Acclaim Entertainment Inc. (Xbox)
$31.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.