Customer Reviews


596 Reviews
5 star:
 (465)
4 star:
 (75)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best.album.ever.
I have never had a reaction like this to an album- it is like reuniting a long lost friend. The combination of songs with specific artists is nothing short of genius, the harmonies are breathtaking, the memories it brings back.....This is by far my favorite album of all time. I have waited impatiently for this to be released and have not been disappointed.
Published on March 26, 2012 by E. Allison

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Songs, Good Performances, Mixed Results
First, there's the legendary Lionel Richie whose voice today is just as wonderful as it was in the beginning. Next, you have a group of country performers, some legends, some soon to be, who are just as successful in their own right. In the middle, you have a phenomenal Lionel Richie hit song. All together, this should have made for an exceptional collection. But the...
Published on April 15, 2012 by Lady Action Fan


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best.album.ever., March 26, 2012
This review is from: Tuskegee (Audio CD)
I have never had a reaction like this to an album- it is like reuniting a long lost friend. The combination of songs with specific artists is nothing short of genius, the harmonies are breathtaking, the memories it brings back.....This is by far my favorite album of all time. I have waited impatiently for this to be released and have not been disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: DELUXE Edition is NOT same as Regular Edition, omits Jason Aldean & Tim McGraw!, May 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought the original version of the CD when it first came out, and I played it over and over again in my car for weeks, singing along and enjoying the fantastic duets and harmonies. When I saw that there was a Deluxe Version which included a DVD, I jumped at it. Knowing that it was coming in the mail, I gifted my original purchase to my brother who lives 350 miles away while I was on a business trip. Upon returning home, I opened my new package from Amazon and initially noticed that there was an additional track on the Deluxe Version, a song I'd never heard of called "Angel," which is a duet with Lionel and a singer I'd never heard of named Pixie Lott. I figured, "what the heck, it's an extra," and besides I didn't know the song "Just For You" (with Billy Currington) from the initial album, and it's quickly become a favorite. I popped the CD in the car stereo and went for a drive. On the second song, I immediately noticed something wrong. Jason Aldean wasn't singing on "Say You, Say Me." Turns out to be some guy named Rasmus Seebach. Glancing at the track list I realized that Tim McGraw was dumped from "Sail On" in favor of someone named Jill Johnson. I'm not saying that Seebach, Johnson, or Lott are bad singers. But if you wanted Aldean and McGraw, DO NOT BUY THE DELUXE EDITION! And the DVD portion doesn't contain music videos or anything. They're brief vignettes with Lionel and the artists who appear on the original disk. Nothing particularly special that you'll watch over and over. Thanks to Wikipedia I learned that Jill Johnson is a Swedish country/pop singer, Rasmus Seebach is a Danish singer/songwriter, and Pixie Lott is an English singer/songwriter. If you're European, this might rock your world! But if you were looking for Aldean and McGraw, you're out of luck with the Deluxe version. Buyer beware! Now if the makers of this album really want to make me happy, release a DVD from the Television special and include a corresponding CD for all of the live performances, including those by Martina McBride, Lady Antebellum, and The Band Perry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent remake, March 14, 2012
Richie provides us with a skeletonized, distinctly-arranged yet lushly-produced re-recording of his great hits with, not to duplicate the known, current artists listed in the product description. Rejecting the techniques of his earlier overproduced and overtly multi-tracked recordings, Richie's remake is significantly cleaner, lusher, and less distorted, as he explores the essence and soul of his now-classic hits. The good thing is, Lionel has not lost his voice and conviction with advancing years. I think this can be a contender for one of the year's best recordings that newbies who are not familiar with Richie's career and time in place will enjoy as much as those of us who grew up in the earlier era when All Night Long was a daily practice, not just the title of a song. Richie just proved to old and new fans and those who will be both, that his music is ageless, and cannot - will not - be dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Southern Lionel, March 26, 2012
This review is from: Tuskegee (MP3 Music)
The past few years have really been very hard to hit in the soul with R&B music. Especially for Lionel Richie with the past several years with the tragic deaths of Don Cornelius from Soul Train whom tragically committed suicide, Michael Jackson and Whitney Houston each losing their lives due to extreme heartbreak and vices. But for Lionel, he has not really made a good album in quite awhile and just enjoying rolling out and performing the classics he has made with The Commodores and his solo works. His last albums 2006's Coming Home 2009's Just Go really was not very strong, but his songs have always came around for new generations to come and go. But when I heard that he was going to rework his classics to a whole new era with a twist, Country twang into it, I was very skeptical about it. To be honest with you, it actually works very well in his latest album, Tuskegee. Does it show with a new generation, yes it does.

Lionel Richie's latest album Tuskegee, is a twist of country music into his classics from his solo days and his era with The Commodores. Unlike the remake albums from the past several years from other artists, this one works absolutely well for Lionel Richie. The mixture of country artists bring new life into his classics work absolutely well including Dancing On The Ceiling with Rascal Flatts, Shania Twain and him on Endless Love, where Shania makes it her own in place of what Lionel already did with Diana Ross, Sugarland's Jennifer Nettles on Hello works like a charm and keeps it simple with guitar and heart and You Are with Blake Shelton work absolutely well. The other songs here don't feel overpowering, but maintain and showcase a strong and simple class of what made Lionel's music for over 40 years so special to so many generations by keeping it elequent and simple. Every song feels fresh and relevant to its simplest form from every performer from Tim McGraw, all the way to Willie Nelson and Kenny Rogers.

Overall, if you are a die hard fan of Lionel Richie and The Commodores, than you'll enjoy Tuskegee. It actually handles very well from beginning to end, and every act makes Lionel's classics their own with a great compliment to his soulful voice and style. If you are new to Lionel's music, but have loved Country music, Tuskegee still is a great buy. There haven't been many universal records from the past several years that have came out that have been worth enjoying from other acts. While it isn't a 5 star record, Lionel Richie's Tuskegee is worth the money.

Album Cover: B

Songs: B+

Price: B+

Mastering: B+

Overall: B+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Songs, Good Performances, Mixed Results, April 15, 2012
This review is from: Tuskegee (Audio CD)
First, there's the legendary Lionel Richie whose voice today is just as wonderful as it was in the beginning. Next, you have a group of country performers, some legends, some soon to be, who are just as successful in their own right. In the middle, you have a phenomenal Lionel Richie hit song. All together, this should have made for an exceptional collection. But the result was just ok. Much of it didn't mesh for me.

Richie as always sounded great. As he should have. It's pretty darn hard to mess up your own songs. And for the most part, the country performers did well. The different vocal styles they brought to the table were good. I just didn't feel that their vocal styles necessarily worked with Richie's. Richie sounded like this was all old hat for him. His performances were easy and comfortable. But when the other performers came in, the resulting song sometimes sounded a bit chaotic. (Interesting that Amazon's samples only have Ritchie's parts.)

On some songs, it sounded like a vocal competition (Darius Rucker, Kenny Rogers, Shania Twain). An attempt to see who could outdo the other. On others, honestly, the country performer just wasn't as strong of a singer as Richie. Their voices couldn't compete with the strength of his (Jason Aldean, Shania Twain (a wail is still a wail)). It was a competition lost from the start. Their performance on the song was like an after thought that could have been left out all together. And, finally, on a couple, the country performer sounded lost period, confused. It was like they didn't know what to do with the song. How to sing it. (Blake Shelton, Rascal Flatts, Jimmy Buffett).

However, there are some notable performances. "Lady" with Kenny Rogers. Of course, both men had hits with the song. It, rightfully, should have been like an old comfortable shoe for them both. The ease of each with it shown through. The problem was it was too comfortable. When one sang a verse, it reminded so much of the recorded hit, that you temporarily forgot it was a duet.

Another exception was "Hello" with Jennifer Nettles. She could likely have a hit with it on her own. It was a very interesting arrangement, probably the most updated of them all. The problem with the duet was that her style is so upbeat, forceful where Richie's is so at ease. Each part just sounded like a completely different song. And this time, it sounded like Richie had a hard time keeping up.

Darius Rucker too could have a hit with "Stuck on You." He was probably the best vocal match to Richie, though maybe too similar. At times it sounded like he was trying to out Richie Lionel Richie.

Little Big Town probably had the best collaboration on the album with "Deep River Woman". Sounded like they had been singing that song for years.

I also enjoyed Tim McGraw on "Sail On". That collaboration was just as good as the one with Little Big Town. Though the funny thing on that one was if you weren't paying attention he sounded just like Richie. Their styles on the song were very, very similar. Not a bad thing, just unexpected.

"My Love" with Kenny Chesney was good. Like with McGraw their voices worked well together. But it didn't particularly stand out to me.

The duet with Billy Currington, "Just for You" was also good. Their voices also worked well together. I just hated the song. Good chorus, but bland overall. The kind of song you forget about while it's still playing. It was the one song on the album that I don't recall the original. Hmmm....that might explain it.

Then there is Willie Nelson on "Easy". It is easy to see why he's a legend himself. His style is so much his own, that he didn't need to bring Richie along for the ride. Here, Richie could have been left off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BETTER than the originals, March 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tuskegee (Audio CD)
I'm 68 years old. Five decades ago I was a disc jockey on Top 40 radio, where we played lots of "one-hit wonders"--performers who got a hit record by luck or by fluke. It was the rare singer who could assemble enough hit songs to make a career of performing them. Even rarer were artists who could sustain their talent not just for a few years, but for decades.

And then there is Lionel Richie. The word "amazing" is ridiculously over-used today, but I am genuinely amazed that an artist who is just five years less-old than me has given the world an album that offers his hit songs performed BETTER than the original versions. In part, that is because they were great songs to begin with, but the other part is that Richie was glad to share the spotlight with some of the best Country (and Pop) artists of today. The result is music that is literally "timeless"--in many cases, better than his own original versions. How generous is that--to team up with other stars, in order to showcase the music at its best.

There is not a bad track on the album. It is worth Amazon's price just for "Deep River Woman" with Little Big Town, "Dancing on the Ceiling" with Rascal Flatts, and "All Night Long" with the perennial party animal Jimmy Buffett. This isn't just a "My Greatest Hits" album. This is an "Even Better Than My Hits" Album. If you like music with soul and heart and loving attention to getting it right, download this one and enjoy the goosebumps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lionel Takes Us Back, April 1, 2012
This review is from: Tuskegee (Audio CD)
Perhaps a day-to-day life with three personal assistants attending to one's every need, right down to overseeing the proportion of chicken to rice for lunch, is not conducive to great artistic output. That may explain why Lionel Richie has not released an album of original, self-penned material since 2006's "Coming Home." It nonetheless happens that "Tuskegee," an album of previous hits re-dressed in country style as duets with contemporary stars of the genre, is a warm, unpretentious pleasure.

Richie sounds energetic and in fine spirits - clearly proud to be looking back on a legacy of memorable hits which have stood the test of time, and his duet partners usually respond in kind. That can certainly be said of Kenny Rogers, who shows up to perform his career-defining 1980 megahit "Lady," penned by Richie. Hearing the pair sing together is a joy and justification enough for the genesis and creation of "Tuskegee." A few grains have accrued in their voices, but that is nothing that cannot be forgiven in light of their clear emotional and artistic investment.

The same applies to the evergreen "Easy," performed as a stark, huggably warm duet with the effortlessly charming Willie Nelson. The rendition is so impressive that it makes a true oldie newly appreciable. The smooth-as-butter take of "Stuck on You," perhaps Richie's biggest adult contemporary hit, with Darius Rucker, makes a similar impression.

"You Are" with Blake Shelton is a particular pleasure. It is a breathy, organic, entirely new arrangement that rechristens the eureka-moment pop bliss of the original while fondly recalling its ingratiating, guilt-free charm. The two vocalists accommodate each other very well, striking the right key. The elder takes something of a backseat, stepping back to let the younger take most of the spotlight - perhaps because he is pleased to hear his iconic words delivered so joyfully.

There are a few missteps. One wishes Richie had paid attention to Jason Mraz's take on "All Night Long," which was released on the latter's recent live album. Mraz breathed new life into the overplayed Richie hit, seemingly without effort. His passion for it was downright remarkable, underscoring its party-time assets. He would have certainly made a better duet partner for the track here than Jimmy Buffett, who sounds relatively phoned in. Jennifer Nettles also blusters her way through the infamously melodramatic "Hello." A subtler approach would have been more welcome, although it is to Richie's credit that he sounds maximally invested in the song after 30 years.

"Tuskegee" is less an album than a winking celebration of Richie's remarkable range of hits. They have cemented themselves into the pop culture lexicon, rarely worn out their welcome and ultimately stood the test of time. His has always been a relatively low-key, unobtrusive presence, making it easy for a culture which prizes extroversion and theatrics to take him for granted. He is too important to forget - he stands as one of music's greatest icons, the craftsman behind some of the most memorable and enduring tunes ever heard - and "Tuskegee" makes that clear in fittingly gentle, classy fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Victory, March 28, 2012
By 
M. Philo (Pacific Northwest, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tuskegee (MP3 Music)
Husband has Loved Lionel forever, has all his records/tapes/cd's. His said there was no way in the heavens that he was going to buy this one, because he can't stand Country Music. I as a loyal fan of great music in general went ahead and got it, because I love both Lionel and Country. Guess who was listening this morning. He wants the CD's for his car. YES way to go, Sir.
Thank you for crossing the road and trying something new. This will bring a new generation in touch with a legend that still has the magic touch and to some of the older generations that are stuck in one genre. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have Mercy!, March 27, 2012
By 
Dana (JEFFERSON CITY, MO, US) - See all my reviews
Two amazingly wonderful worlds combined! I love this CD.....I have loved Lionel FOREVER......I have been a country music fan FOREVER.......thank you LORD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD not up to par, August 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The CD was good and I am enjoying listening to it. But I am disappointed withe DVD. I expected the DVD to be videos of the songs that are on the CD. The DVD is just a compilation of what happened while recording the songs. No full songs on the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tuskegee
Tuskegee by Lionel Richie (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.